Why power spots?

6 Apr

Why power spots are so popular these days in Japan?
Power spots boom is still active today, and especially supported by women in Japan. The other day I had a chance to speak my own opinion to Metropolis magazine (a free magazine especially dedicated for foreigners living in Tokyo area) about this topic. I briefly commented to them but it’s a good topic to share with my readers as well. Here’s my thought.

For a long time, something spiritual or psychic sounded somewhat dubious to most of Japanese people. However since the TV program titled “Aura no izumi” started, Ehara-san and Miwa-san‘s guide to the spiritual world was so natural that we realized it was OK (safe enough) to speak about things like that. In other words, they succeeded in creating the atmosphere throughout Japan that speaking of something psychic is not seen weird or crazy. I think the “Aura no izumi” was an eye-opening TV program to most of us. Yes, I loved to watch it as much as I could, although I normally don’t watch TV often!!

Ehara-san has also become very well-known icon as a spiritual counselor. He has published a number of self-help books that teach us how to think and live with happiness. Above all, it’s highly possible that the book titled “Shinkikou (η₯žη΄€θ‘Œ)” published in 2005 can be a great motivator or trigger to power spots boom.

Ehara-san and Miwa-san are also connected with many celebs and high-profile figures in show business in Japan, some talent started to mention their experience of visiting power spots on TV. Japanese women especially like to follow what’s new and hot, they want to take over what the talent they like are experiencing. It was a big profitable chance for mass media and related businesses, there’s no way they miss it. They treated power spots repeatedly on TV, magazines and books, to make it a sort of fad by involving more people. Those people who watched on TV that someone achieved her goal after praying at a certain shrine of certain power spot, will be likely to visit that place.They are willing to travel to the place, shopping related items such as lucky charms and maybe spending more money. It’s a fad and a business that creates a good reason or a trigger to make them open their wallet in a bad economy. That’s how I think.

That’s why those who like to follow power spots boom are not always sincerely following such way of thinking naturally. Some people only like to follow the fad and when it’s gone, they may even forget about that. Or our diseased economy or society can be another factor that makes people rely on anything that might change things better.

However, whatever the immediate reason, I think it’s true that more people are now aware of invisible things than materials and this is a good phenomenon.
What do you think about power spots? Have you visited one of them and had some good effect or luck?

17 Responses to “Why power spots?”

  1. Sanaa April 6, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Hello, Dear Kirin πŸ™‚ !

    First of all, I wish that you are fine and have a good time!..Its really my wish,Kirin!
    Its so interesting and good topic!….I really love it. Especaily, it add some information to my information background.
    Thanks to you as well! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Actually, I have never visited a power spot!…and what am I thinking about power spot??.

    Hmm…Sometimes while I m walking in street. I look the others around me , and I start to think,and think, till I hear just the sound of my mind and heart, I couldnt hear others around me…and then I look the faces of others…Sometimes, I can see some are smiling, and some are laughing, and some are sad and worry! and that was clear on their faces…and some of those who were smiling, the pain and sadness were clear on their faces too…So, I ask myself..what are the keys to feel happiness and rest?..
    Sometimes, I ask myself what are the things that make me and those poeple in street united and one!..maybe, because we are all Moroccon. Yes, maybe?…If so, what make me and the poeple from others countries are united and one ?

    I think what make all of us one is that we have the same goals…You are from japan, and I m from morocco..and this man from french and other one from Egypte..Yes, we are different, we came from different countries and cultures, religions
    But, we are one…all of us and all human around that whole world are one and united!…what make us one, our same goals…your goals and mine and theirs too…is to be happy, to be sucess, to be have a rest and nice life,, and what is more to be helpful for others!!!..and so on….

    Everyone has its own way to be happy, visit power spot is a way also to reach the rest and get feelings of happiness…But, in fact the keys of happiness are inside us. If we understand ourselves good. we will find this keys of happiness inside us. but, if we dont understand ourselves , and we dont know what we want . we wil never reach our happiness!

    To be satisfied about what we have, and what life gives us….to be confident also .. beleive on ourselves , and beleive we do well..because,its enough that we're doing our best, and all efforts…and make others a happy and smile, by being helpful for them and caring about them..we're getting the keys to be so happy human!..In this case, our souls will reach its rest and its feeling of happiness….Its all my thinking πŸ™‚ .

    I apologize for my bad english!.

    Again,;I would love to thank you from my deep heart about your nice post~~.

    Be happy all,,,,,,,and smile always πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ .

    Have a very nice day!~~.

    Sanaa.

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Hi Sanaa,

      Thank you for your comment. I'm amazed IntenseDebate (this comment system) accepted such a long comment. It usually doesn't. You often end up with being requested to make it shorter. If in the future that happens, you can just split your comment into 2 or 3 times. πŸ˜‰

      Replying to your comment, I liked this part of what you commented. This is so true!
      "The keys of happiness are inside us."

      Happiness is from inside our heart, not from outside. Thank you for reminding me of that. πŸ™‚
      Take care, and have a nice day~~
      ^__~

      • Sanaa April 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

        Hi, Kirin!
        Oh! you are always welcome, dear kirin!…:) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        Oh! it is so nice of you , that you informed me about "intenseDebate"…I will do as you told me.
        Thanks to you always!^^.

        you too have a very nice and happy day.
        Take care good of yourself!

  2. Steven Stier April 6, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I am not a believer in psychic phenomena. Although I used to be. I was born in Virginia Beach, VA which is the home of Edgar Cayce. He was a world famous psychic, back in the 20 's 30's, and 40's. Back in the 70's, I would often I visited his library at the ARE (Association for Research and Enlightenment). But, all I ever heard was talk and never saw any proof. People would make claims of special "gifts" but when I pressed for a demonstration or proof, I would get excuses instead. I believe that ghosts, telekinesis, profits, mind readers, and religions are an attempt to explain things we do not understand. And if those beliefs make someone happy, that is fine by me. But, most of the time they are used as a way to "Open our wallets" But, aside from that, temples and shrines are beautiful places to visit and relax.

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      Interesting comment, Steven.
      I like psychic stories and phenomena, but I have no such power in myself. Somehow I have friends who have such power around me. So I basically believe in that. But I don't like to follow trends, I think they should visit shrines and etc. because they like it not because it's a boom.

  3. Steven Stier April 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I am not a believer in psychic phenomena. Although I used to be. I was born in Virginia Beach, VA which is the home of Edgar Cayce. He was a world famous psychic, back in the 20 's 30's, and 40's. Back in the 70's, I would often I visited his library at the ARE (Association for Research and Enlightenment). But, all I ever heard was talk and never saw any proof. People would make claims of special "gifts" but when I pressed for a demonstration or proof, I would get excuses instead. I believe that ghosts, telekinesis, profits, mind readers, and religions are an attempt to explain things we do not understand. And if those beliefs make someone happy, that is fine by me. But, most of the time they are used as a way to "Open our wallets" But, aside from that, temples and shrines are beautiful places to visit and relax.

  4. laura April 7, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Wow, Kirin. I never heard about them until this post. I think they're interesting… something I'd like to look more into. But I sure would like to visit one for good luck!

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      I guess most of people in Japan can recognize the word "power spots" now because it has been always on TV and magazines. ^ ^;

  5. shanjae April 7, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    The only power spot I've visited is Imado Shrine. I went there last June after seeing it on TV. And well… guess what? Less than a year later, I am now happily attached to a wonderful guy. (#^-^#) I am not sure if it's the effect of visiting the shrine but I guess there's no harm trying! πŸ˜‰

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Wow, Shanjae!! I'm happy for you~~~(^o^)

  6. Sanaa1989 April 7, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Dear kirin, Thanks to you as well about this nice post!

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      My pleasure!!

      • Sanaa April 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

        Thanks always!

  7. Jenny April 15, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Oh thank you for writing this! I had always wondered about power spots. My take on things like this is I enjoy these type of things. Wanting to hope to believe that maybe it WILL help my wishes come true! But also I half know that maybe it's not real but it's still fun for me to experience.

    • kirin April 16, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Haha, Jenny you can try these spots in Japan or other places such as Hawaii, as there should be many power spots there. ^ ^

  8. b & b hotels india April 16, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    I never heard about them until this post. I think they're interesting… something I'd like to look more into. But I sure would like to visit one for good luck!

    • kirin April 16, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, if you find it interesting, there should be books about power spots. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

