Kutsushitaya (Tabio)

30 Mar

*Kawaii socks*
Kutsushitaya

Kutsushitaya is one of the well-known socks brands that belongs to Tabio. (Tabio has also expanded their shops in the U.K and France.) And the stores are located throughout Japan. In Tokyo, this page tells where it is. (just so many…)

Here’s one of their stores in Tokyo when I bought my leg warmer the other day. I know fashionable people always dress like a few months ahead, which means they like to dress like spring in a cold of February. (This post is written during Feb., even though it’s released in March.) But not only because I don’t care that much for fashion, but because I like being comfortable anyhow, I still cannot get rid of leg warmer while it looks like going backwards that I purchase it among most of all the other products’ being designed for spring and summer. ^ ^;

You see, they are deigned for spring and summer. Fashionable people have started mixing up with color or items designed for spring and they have already taken off boots to be replaced with pumps with their bare feet in under such a cold… (Well, this really sounds like I’m an old lady! lol)

Some pictures from their 2011 spring collections catalog.
(1365yen)

(1260yen)

(840yen)

I’d like kutsushita (it means socks in Japanese) a lot if my toenails were not all looking upwards. 😦 What I hate most is both of thumb toenails of mine are making holes in socks very soon because they are too steeply upward. It’s a waste if I buy such kawaii colorful socks but ruin them after a short while. Thus I end up with Uniqlo’s plain black ones that come with 4 pairs for 990yen or so. lol

BTW, if you like 3 pairs for 1050yen, go to Mighty Soxer. They are also one of the brands from Tabio but are less expensive than Kutsushitaya! 😀

Whichever, the problem that I often here from western people is that they cannot find their size in Japan. That’s so true. Usually most of their products are designed for 22-24cm for women because that’s the average size of the feet to cover most of Japanese women’s. Did you also have problems finding your size in Japan? What do you think of kawaii socks and etc.?

24 Responses to “Kutsushitaya (Tabio)”

  1. Salma March 30, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Wow, so kawaii socks ^_^ I like them!
    Yeah, I actually remember the problem of finding the suitable size of either socks or shoes in Japan, but for my parents not me (because I was a kid and I could easily find my size ) 😀

    • kirin March 30, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      Just as imagined!
      But you visited Japan when you were a kid? *lucky kid~* ^ ^

  2. nao March 30, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    i love those socks!

  3. winnie March 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I love the socks from Tabio . They have wide ranges of socks!!
    Suit my girl and me too. We often buy socks from them.

    I like to wear them with my sandal, sneakers and boots
    But I hate to wear socks with Pumps.
    First reason, the pumps looked horrible on my foots.
    Second reason,the pumps will slip off or drop from my foots when i walked.

    I prefer to have my own styles and comfortable which is important.

    • kirin March 31, 2011 at 6:53 am #

      I see what you mean. As for me I really don't like short socks that do not stay fit on my feet as I walk. >_<

  4. Alice March 30, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Yes, it would definitely difficult for me to find shoes/socks in Japan. My size is 26.5 cm which is also quite large for women in Germany (and also difficult to find shoes here). I know that Bodyline sells shoes up to 27 or 28 cm in Japan, bought a pair of lolita shoes some time ago. Socks should work if they are quite elastic.

    • kirin March 31, 2011 at 6:56 am #

      Thanks for sharing your opinion. I think most of Japanese shoes/socks stores carry similar size, which means a little smaller or bigger than 23cm, right? This is not friendly to western people..

  5. Angel March 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Omg! I love the striped ones with the bow on it~ Very cute.
    I think I would be able to wear Japanese socks. I'm a very petite girl.

    I'd be more worried about shoes. I have a hard time finding comfortable shoes in the US because my feet are not very wide, so I sometimes have these gaps on the sides of my shoes. 😦 I'm not sure what Japanese shoe sizes are like 😛

    • kirin March 31, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      Most of Japanese shoes sizes are less or more than 23cm when it comes to women. The width is…hmm…not optional, unfortunately. 😦

  6. Char March 31, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    It is torture finding my size here in Japan, though the real torture is that there are so many kawaii socks, shoes and clothes and I have to shop in the men's department, and my husband will have to wait until we go home for holidays!!! At least my daughter is having a blast. Urgh, I can loose weight, but I can not shrink my feet or height… I will just have to be satisfied with window shopping. Love the blog.

    • kirin March 31, 2011 at 7:00 am #

      Oh it's sad you have to give up kawaii socks only because the size doesn't fit. >_< I really think we should have more options for more different people because now many foreign people also live or visit Japan…

  7. Kaoru March 31, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    I love JAPANESE SHOES & SOCKS !!! THEY ARE SO CUTE!!!
    I usually go to tutuanna for socks & stocking! they are cheap and nice!
    When I was in Sendai, I couldn't find any shoes that fit me. I wear size 9.5 (i think it is 25.5cm in japan)
    There are so many cute shoes that I always wanted to buy; however, they NEVER fit me =(
    I actually get my mum to ship it to me from Canada! =(

    • kirin March 31, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      Ah, tutuanna!! I sometimes buy leggings or tights there. They are reasonable. ^ ^ Kutsushitaya's products are more expensive but better quality, I guess… ^ ^;;

  8. Laura Autón García March 31, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I love socks!! I really mean it. I have a collection of 21 pairs of lolita socks (specially angelic pretty ones), not to mention the legwarmers that are from other brands ^^U I would have a lot of fun taking a look into these stores, as my size is 23.5~24cm, and would probably buy a lot of socks that are suitable for day to day dressing (angelic pretty ones are kind of difficult to wear with "normal" clothes ^^U).
    Thank you for posting this! When I travel to Japan I will take a look for sure! 🙂

    • kirin April 1, 2011 at 9:13 am #

      Oh! Great!! Your size is the same as ours. That means you have hundreds of kawaii products to choose from. Compared with Kutsushitaya, Mighty Soxer is more reasonable. One of the Mighty Soxer store was on Takeshita street, Harajuku, just the opposite side of Daiso. ^ ^

  9. Amika April 1, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Sounds like I would have a horrible time shoe/sock shopping there. Most women I know have shoe size 8-9 (US), which is about 24-25.5 (Japan sizing).

    However the US sells lots of size 5-7 shoes here – you would have no problem buying size 22-23.5 shoes here 🙂

  10. Sara Mari April 2, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    I have some socks from this brand, but I didn't pick out such cute ones (my taste was different back then). I have 26cm feet and I can still wear these one size socks XD Maybe I should stretch them so far haha!!

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:17 am #

      Really? Ah, your comment reminded me that they (or it might be Mighty Soxer) had larger socks for the people who have 25-26cm feet. ^ ^

  11. ichigoichielove April 6, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Haha, I remembered this post when we walked by a Kutsushitaya today! XD
    I have no problems with socks or shoes in Japan for the most part thank goodness – I have more trouble at home, than here!
    (My shoe size is about 23 cm here.) ^^)b
    I'm one of the lucky few perhaps.

    Anyway thank you for today!!! I had a great time… but off to bed early, haha!! Night night. 😉
    Hope to see you again soon! ^^
    My post from our day out should be up by the weekend – hope you don't mind me putting up our purikura pics? 😉

    • kirin April 7, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      The store we passed through that day looked far better but after all I would be too nervous to take pictures there, hahaha! Even the ones above, most of the rest of pictures blurred.
      Your shoe size is 23cm? Really? You are taller than me but my feet size is bigger than you. I wear 24-24.5cm! No wonder American people found it strange that I am as short as child, but my feet are as big as adult. ^ ^;

      Please go ahead putting up our purikura in your blog, I'm looking forward to seeing how you are going to blog about it. ^ ^ It's always fun to read your posts. 😉 Thank you for that day, and I'll also blog about it later~~!

  12. kelly May 16, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    i have always wanted to get socks and shoes from japan, they come in so many cute styles. my feet are 23cm, so i guess i would be able to. i wonder what the average height, weight, waist/hip size, ect. is for japanese women also ? i have also heard that most women in japan are very small and petite. i will move to japan eventually, so i am very curious.

    • kirin May 16, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      These days young women are really very thin. OK, please look at this chart. (2 charts from the top are for women) http://www.rakuten.ne.jp/gold/dinos/info_size.htm

      5, 7, 9, 11… this is Japanese way of showing size. The Japanese say bust, weist, and hip size.
      Most Japanese women are sized 7 or 9, S or M in these charts. Some are as thin as size 5.
      Average height is like 155-160cm I guess. Average weight is like 45-50kg…I guess. Hope this helps. ^ ^;;

      • kelly May 17, 2011 at 2:10 am #

        that was very helpful, thank you for helping me kirin ! ^_^

      • kirin May 17, 2011 at 9:12 am #

        My pleasure!! ^___^

Leave a Reply

