Donations go to Japan Red Cross

22 Mar

Thank you for those who kindly donated to Japan through me. Also thank you for those who donated from other ways available in your country. Please don’t panic, the situation is getting better in Japan. What I’m worried about is the negative thoughts created by the panic around the world. That may affect current situation. Please keep praying for us and Japan. When your positive outlook or thoughts towards Japan meet our efforts and struggle to overcome this disaster, we can for sure recover from this and re-build a new Japan that you will love to visit in the near future. 🙂

The money that I collected from the paypal widget and direct payment to my paypal account is as follows.

USD440 was received as USD439.52 (paypal fee deducted) = 34,522yen (@78.5459 JPY) through paypal.
JPY12,000 was received as JPY11,492 through paypal.
======
Total: JPY46,014 from TKE readers.

I added my money to it so the total becomes 50,000yen.

It was my mistake that I set it in USD, because I noticed paypal rate was not very good afterwards. Also JP Yen went stronger against USD, which was quite the opposite of how I expected. It was because majority of readers of this blog come from the U.S that I set it in USD. Anyhow…sorry if part of your money only makes paypal happy. 😦

I am donating this 50,000yen to represent TKE. I’m very happy I can do something good as a Japanese blogger who has readers overseas. 🙂

I’ll show you how I donated that money to Japan Red Cross.
I walked to the post office near my house as it was raining today…

It’s a small local post office. ^ ^;

But it’s always crowded with people. Today is not exceptional…Maybe it’s too small for an office to let people in.

I told a woman who handled my donation that I want to take a picture for those who gave this money. I said this money is from friends overseas.

Again, thank you for your donation. Japan must overcome this disaster for ourselves and for all of you who like Japan!! We will strive for the recovery so that you still feel like visiting Japan over and over again in the future. ^__^

I’ll go back to normal posts and in case there’s anything I must update about earthquake or Fukushima nuclear accident, I may insert some posts. I just wish peaceful days without any threat of earthquake, tsunami, nuclear or volcano…

THANK YOU ❤
LOVE AND PEACE
Kirin

14 Responses to “Donations go to Japan Red Cross”

  1. Caroline Josephine March 22, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    That's so wonderful that you and your readers were able to donate o much! ♥♥♥ Good job everyone. When I get paid I'm going to donate too.

    • kirin March 22, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      It was more than I expected, because there are many ways of donating.
      Thanks! 🙂

  2. chika March 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Great! Kirin. I'm proud of your action as a japanese:)

    • kirin March 22, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Arigatou!! ^ ^
      I want to contribute to our country and our people who need help, and I thought this is one of the ways for me to do that.
      See ya soon~~ 😀

  3. Laura Autón García March 22, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    So great!! I am so happy so many people is helping Japan from the distance 🙂
    And, although I didn't use your blog to donate as I had already donated through other sites, I want to thank you for letting people use your blog to make their contribution ^_^
    Japan will make it! Ganbatte!

    • kirin March 22, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

      Thank you Laura!
      Actually there are many ways of donation so my way was only for those who didn't find proper one. But I guess I could have done it in a better way. :p It was very first time for me to ask for donation.

  4. Robert March 22, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    It's individuals like you that make me want to visit Japan and live there. Great job Kirin! I'm saving money right now for my trip to this wonderful country. God bless you and your family.:D

    • kirin March 22, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      Thank you Robert!
      I hope Japan is becoming more wonderful country with warm-hearted people by the time you come over here!!

  5. barbara March 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Kirin,

    Which is the best charity to donate to the pets who are needing help in Japan?
    *Barbara

  6. meichan March 23, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    Glad to know that the situation is getting better in japan.
    I had did my part in donating in my country.
    Seeing people from all over the world, concerning & doing their part to help JAPAN, really makes me feel so touched.♥

    Kirin, u had done a great job this time.
    I believe that JAPAN will overcome this very soon.
    がんばれ。

    • kirin March 23, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

      Thank you meichan!
      It's great you already did some donation in your country. As Japanese, I'd love to say thank you for helping us and Japan!
      I'm also so touched to see how people in other countries try to help us and Japan. We will never forget this kindness.

      がんばれ日本!ありがとう<3 ^ ^

  7. winnie March 23, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    Hi Kirin,
    Great job!!
    I am so proud of you too.
    I did not donate through your blog because I go straight to Post office. But it also from the information of your blog then I able to know more how to donate through Post office.
    I really learnt a lot from your blog,

    Thank you so much.

    • kirin March 23, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your message! Also thank you for donating from your local post office to save Japan. It's my pleasure to learn that some information in this blog was helpful to you. In fact, I'll always welcome your email if you have any trouble in Tokyo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

