The second button (第二ボタン)

20 Mar

Apple shares with you the story of second button among school boys and girls in Japan. As I went to a girls school in high school, my only chance to get/ask for a second button was at the graduation of middle school but at that time I was not in love with anyone, and no boys were to offer me his second button. lol In spite of being Japanese, I totally missed this experience! Thank you Apple, it’s one of the best topics for graduation season in Japan!! …comment by Kirin ^ ^;
===Apple’s post starts from here===

The Japanese school year starts in April, and graduation ceremonies are held around March, so it’s really coming soon.

My Japanese friend shared a Japanese custom that happens during graduation ceremonies that I found interesting, so I really want to share this with you. ^^

Do you know that on Graduation Day, the guy will give the second button of his school uniform to the girl he likes???

Just hearing this only, without knowing the significance behind it, my head was filled with images of cool Japanese senpai (先輩=senior), shyly, but sincerely and courageously, taking off their 2nd button and giving it to the cute girl he likes, and I found myself getting dizzy with the romance of it all.

When I finally got back to my senses, I asked, “But why the 2nd button?”

He said, “Because it’s the closest to the heart. The 2nd button will contain memories and feelings he had during these past few years in school. If you receive a 2nd button from a guy, it means that he wants you to remember him and understand his feelings for you.”

I went into my state of trance for the 2nd time.

I don’t know why but I just love the subtleness of how Japanese expresses their feelings! It’s somehow just so romantic to me!

My friend continued, “It can also work another way. The girl can ask the senpai she likes for the 2nd button.”

How nice is that! You know how hard it is sometimes to tell somebody you like them? And it’s really sad to just not be able to muster up your courage at your last chance to confess your feelings to the person you secretly admire. To ask for the 2nd button…it may make things slightly easier, no? ^^

“If you receive a 2nd button, and you like the senpai too, you can maybe give a little personal something of yours to let the senpai know that you feel the same way about him too. Isn’t this custom interesting?”

Indeed, it’s very interesting to me. It’s at times like this that I wish I were a Japanese student. Haha!

Anyway, a few scenarios were in my head after knowing about this custom.

1) A really popular and cute girl may receive more than one 2nd button!

2) The disappointment of seeing the 2nd  button already gone from the senpai you like.

3) The feeling of surprise when a senpai gives you his 2nd button!

4) The disappointment of receiving no buttons at all during the graduation ceremony (haha!).

I think it’s all very youthful and fun. A memory that you may remember for years. And it would be super romantic if years later, you marry the guy who gave you his 2nd button!

Is there any custom like this in your country during graduation ceremonies? I don’t think there is such thing at all in mine. I can’t remember any… I can only remember clapping for the top scorers of our school, and being relatively excited for the coming new stage of my life. Haha!

22 Responses to “The second button (第二ボタン)”

  1. Salma March 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    I'm so impressed by knowing this way of expressing romantic feelings ❤ ^_^

    • Apple March 21, 2011 at 2:39 am #

      Yeah! I was so impressed too! ^^

  2. Diyana March 20, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Interesting read! Japanese student customs are really sweet.
    And yes, how I wish I were a Japanese student. But I'm too old for that now. hahaha

    • Apple March 21, 2011 at 2:38 am #

      I know right! Japanese students seem to have so much fun! Haha!

  3. Patty March 20, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Well, in US if you're dating someone, they can give you their class ring. The girls wear it on a necklace and people will know it's from their boyfriend. I think some 'old school' tradition, the boy will lend the girl their letterman jacket. They still do that in some places, either they do any sport or if they do any clubs. Very rare that the girl give the guy anything in return… but it's cute idea.

    • Apple March 21, 2011 at 2:40 am #

      Oh!! I think that's so cute too! In my country, there is nothing like this at all. Haha! In fact, in my school, relationships are strongly discouraged.

      • kirin March 21, 2011 at 9:43 am #

        I like that U.S way, too. 🙂

  4. Angel March 20, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    That's soooo cute! I'm surprised that I have not seen this in more animes. It seems like a very cute thing that would be added into animes since there are so many animes based around highschool life.

    Ah, unfortunately, there is no such custom here in the USA. I wish there was!! That's just too cute… ❤
    >_< I guess we have yearbooks which we sign , but I believe they have those in Japan as well?

    • Apple March 21, 2011 at 2:41 am #

      It's cute isn't it! I wonder why I don't see this in animes or high school dramas too!

  5. ichigoichielove March 21, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Hmmmmm. I should add that I've heard this story from friends too and there's another angle I think you may need to explore. 😉

    What seems to be most common is that guys are *asked* for that second button. Popular guys end up going home buttonless. 😉 A friend of mine got the second button of her sweetheart, but only because she beat a whole bunch of other girls to the punch by asking him first, hahaha! ^^)b

    I agree though, it's super romantic! Ohhh to start again (and also go to a public school, since a lot of private schools prefer blazers/suit jackets and ties these days)…. ❤

  6. nina March 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    wahh~ i read mangas a lot. and i love this kind of custom they have in japan! it really sweet~~<3 i realized that japanese have a lot of unique custom! btw, i would like to know whether japanese girls always confess to their crush. i read a lot of mangas and realized that they really brave to confess to their crush. somehow, i started to follow their steps.lol xD

  7. Stephanie March 22, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    OMG..i finall know why the 2nd button ! nice !! In my country the only graduation custom is that, since everyone has to wear a white shirt on that day, all your classmates write on it leaving you messages and thoughts to remember. I still have that white shirt.

    • Apple March 22, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      ohhh your graduation custom sounds really nice as well. It's interesting to learn about 'graduation custom' of each country! ^^ Thanks for sharing!!

      • kirin March 22, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

        I think it's such a nice custom, too!

  8. Ruby April 18, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    I'm currently playing this DS game 'Tokimeki Memorial Girl's Side' where you play as a Japanese highschool girl, with the aim of getting a confession out of one of the boys lol. I like all the side events like the New year temple visit, Valentine's day, white day, fireworks, class trips, this button-giving and many others….Aaah how I wish I was a Japanese student 😦

    • kirin April 18, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      The game sounds interesting. It's like you can have simulated experience as a Japanese girl?? (^w^)

  9. sedonia2 May 4, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    OMG – that is sooo romantic! I love it. It has totally inspired me to write a story with that as the title. ❤

    • kirin May 10, 2011 at 5:20 am #

      How wonderful! You are so keen that you can find hints for your work from everywhere. At the same time, it's my pleasure you find them from this blog! ^ ^

  10. sedonia2 May 10, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    Yes – I get so much good stuff from your blog. But even when I don't get ideas for a story, I just enjoy reading the posts and seeing the pictures. I love seeing Pi-chan and I do enjoy when you take pictures of what you're eating. lol As far as this post, omg, it's so romantic and sweet – as a romance author, I absolutely would be foolish to pass up this kind of material!<3

    • kirin May 11, 2011 at 5:49 am #

      I'm so glad to hear that you enjoy my blog so much!
      Thank you~~<3 ❤ ❤

  11. Aditi November 12, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    Wow ! Thank you for sharing such an amazing instance. I've been reaing shoujo manga alot ! And I effing love the way they express their feelings. I'm so moved by them and they never seem to fail to inspire me to move forward ! Thank you! :3 Did ytou ever recieve a 2nd button, though?

    • Apple November 13, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      Thank you for leaving a comment! I like shoujo manga too~~ ^^ I received a 2nd button after I posted this article and a friend read it. haha! it was not from a uniform though. ^^"

Leave a Reply

