Hi from home

18 Mar

I made a short video telling you how I am doing here in Tokyo. (To be exact, it’s Kawasaki only a river across Tokyo, but almost no difference. ^ ^)

I cannot always reply to each of your message or comment but just want to tell you I’m doing fine and still safe. 🙂
I’ll keep watching the situation especially what’s happening in Fukushima and try to update this blog when I can.
It’s far better to pray and expect for better outcome than be worried too much from being totally panicked.

Next time, I’ll try to make a video how I make a donation from a local post office for the people who kindly donated through me. Strong yen was the last thing I expected. I should have asked donation in JP Yen from the beginning…:( Sorry as it was the first time to ask for donation, the idea may have been lame.

Catch you later!
Kirin
ps. Please wait for normal blog posts for a while. I want to concentrate on Japan earthquake and nuke threat topic until things settle down.

24 Responses to “Hi from home”

  1. Sana March 18, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    It's astute of you to wait for the yen to fall, Kirin ^^ I'm impressed that you can think of such a thing with all that is going on around you. It looks like the measures to reverse the appreciation of the yen are having an effect, so perhaps next week would be a better time to convert the dollars to yen. I think it was a good idea to collect in US dollars in any case, those that can contribute in yen will have already done so.

    Your people and country are incredible, no other nation could withstand such catastrophe so well. Please continue to discount the sensational foreign media and trust the amazing people around you ❤

  2. shanjae March 18, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Well done, Kirin! I'm impressed by how you are trying to help by gathering donations and reporting the actual situation in Tokyo. I believe that many things about the nuclear radiation are just being exaggerated by the media, but I do not blame all the people who chose to leave too because their families must be worried sick. Anyway, hope everything goes back to normal soon and until then, please take good care!

    • kirin March 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Thank you Shanjae. ^ ^
      Are you coming back to Japan (Yokohama) some time later…maybe a while after all these things settle down or are you staying in Singapore?

      • shanjae March 19, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

        I will definitely go back to Yokohama after people stop being so paranoid about the nuclear situation, especially my parents. =P Hope to see you in Japan then! =)

      • kirin March 20, 2011 at 1:46 am #

        Thank you Shanjae. Please watch things carefully and come back to Japan when everything settles down. I live in Kawasaki (but very close to Tamagawa river that run between Tokyo and Kawasaki) and it's also next to Yokohama.
        I hope to see you in the future.
        Take care and please have a good time for now with your family and friends in Singapore. 🙂

  3. reina March 18, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    As always, it’s nice to see things from your point of view. My husband keeps saying to me, the Japanese a strong, strong people. So we are admiring you all and wishing you the best of luck.

    • kirin March 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Please tell my best regards to your husband.
      Thank you for believing in our strength and efforts.
      We will over come this for the world that is offering support in many ways.

  4. Hellolynn March 18, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Kirin! i m so happy to c u and "hear" pi-chan thru the video.. u look great :)))) we will stay with the belief that the strong resilience and fighting spirit of the Japanese will keep you all going through this catastrophe. over Singapore, we have a number of channels for making our donations. See link http://sg.news.yahoo.com/how-you-can-help-japan.h

    We will definitely do our part to help Japan in terms of financial aid. So far the collection by our local Red Cross Society for the Japan earthquake relief hit more than S$1 mil. I believe this amount will continue to multiply….

    We would continue to keep you all in our daily prayers 🙂 Gambatte Japan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • kirin March 18, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Thank you for your comment Hellolynn.
      Thank you and Singaporean people who pray for us and Japan.
      I'm touched how many of other countries offer support to Japan.
      Arigatou ❤

  5. Patty March 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    So glad to hear you're ok, always good to know the point of view from the ground. Stay safe.

    • kirin March 18, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Thank you. I'll watch things carefully and will be well prepared for the time we have to move out of Tokyo (unlikely happening). Hmm…still restless but I'm OK!

  6. Salma March 18, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Deat Kirin,
    I wish you and everyone in Japan in the best ^_^

    • kirin March 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank you Salma.
      Now I cannot see how Egypt and nearby countries such as Libya are, because I'm too busy with what's happening in Japan. ^ ^; Hope you are well.

  7. sedonia2 March 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Thank you for the update. I am glad to know how you're doing. I pray every day for the situation to get better.

    • kirin March 19, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thank you, I'm moved how my friends are concerned about us and Japan.
      We must overcome this for everyone who prayed and thought for us.
      Arigatou!!

  8. Nicoletta March 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Hi Kirin!
    I'm so happy to see you (and you look great!)
    Hope the situation is getting better as soon as possible!
    I'm firmly conviced that press has emphasized the situation (but when I say that here in Italy, nobody cares me).
    However, please take care!

    • kirin March 19, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Thank you Nicoletta!!!!!
      I may not have been able to reply to all of your emails, but thank you so much for your warm-hearted messages to me.
      You cannot come to Japan for a while, but I'd love to see you in person if you ever can come to Tokyo in the future (or I ever can visit you in Italy) and show you how much I was healed with your kind messages. ^_^

  9. laura March 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    i am glad to hear that you and yours are well, Kirin. Stay safe.

  10. Pippo March 18, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Very good video. There's a crinking sound like you are opening senbei(?)
    Ganbatte kudasai!

    • kirin March 19, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      LOL Thank you Pippo, your comment just made me laugh under such restless situation. (^0^)
      It's a dog toy that makes noise. Pi-chan started to play with it next to me!

      Arigatou!!

  11. Mel March 18, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Its great that you are fine!!!! 😀
    I’m so happy n_n ❤

  12. kirin March 19, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    When Roma has higher radiation level than Tokyo and they lead normal life there, why should we panic in Tokyo? http://www.rainews24.it/it/news.php?newsid=151021

  13. Dior March 19, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    Im happy to see you are and your family are doing well! If you need things sent to you (food/supplies) let us know, my sister sent ups package (from NYC) to her work colleagues in Tokyo, they received it 3 days time. Stay strong and God bless

    • kirin March 19, 2011 at 9:47 am #

      Thank you for your kind offer. Although we have no milk, rice, bread, and etc. there are still enough food in local supermarkets. We are patient and supportive in nature, we can definitely overcome this, and of course we must thank people outside Japan like you who pray for us and keep encouraging us.

      Thank you for your kindness, and also, thank you to your sister who helped some Japanese people.

Leave a Reply

