Blackouts, aftershocks and confusion in Tokyo

14 Mar

Again this is a short blogging that tells you what’s happening in Tokyo area. Because we are lacking in electricity, TEPCO (now their website is too busy being browsed by too many people at a time!) announced scheduled blackouts in Kanto area (east Japan, several prefectures near Tokyo) but their information is not clear. It’s just misleading and confusing. They announced schedule which area should go through blackouts from what time to what time, but they changed their plans several times, which only upset us!! Under such confusion, trains cannot run properly. Many train services suspended operation again or delayed in this morning. People who tried to go to work were stuck in train stations to catch a train. Is it only I that have to wonder if they had to work today?

*Disclaimer: photos quoted from MSN JAPAN.

Those who commuted to work should have hard time again to come back home. 😦
I don’t know if my house will go blackout in a few hours from now as scheduled, but I will have to prepare for that. BTW, Please allow me to insert such short blog posts among ordinary posts. I just don’t feel like talking about anything else now. (Sorry Apple, I postponed your post. >”< )

Catch you later!

25 Responses to “Blackouts, aftershocks and confusion in Tokyo”

  1. loma March 14, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    I'm touched with everything that's happening with Japan these days. I wish the best for u, hope things get normal soon. I'm happy to know that everybody i know in Japan is okay but i cant help getting worried.. kisses =) have a nice week.

  2. Julie H. March 14, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Hope you are okay. Yes lack of clear information is not helping. Since I don't understand much Japanese it's much harder. I did find the english translation button for the tv but lost internet for a bit here in Shiba.

    Probably best for people not to go out right now since they are still having problems with those plants. Hoping I will be able to get to Narita Airport on the 22nd. I imagine trying to get a flight out now is very difficult. At least I am able to get info out to people outside of Japan.

    • kirin March 14, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      Yes, I believe staying at home is better if you can. I cancelled some meetings with friends this week.

  3. Apple March 14, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Kirin, don't worry about my post being postponed! I'm sure everyone would want to know how the situation is like in Japan right now instead. We all wish things will get better soon. *hugs!*

    • kirin March 14, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Thank you Apple. We are helping each other everywhere. I'll update about that later.

  4. Cecilie March 14, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    Dear Kirin. All our thoughts and best wishes go to all of you in Japan in this difficult time ❤

    • kirin March 14, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Thank you Cecilie.
      Now is the time we must remember good-old Japanese way: people help each other, in respect for others and harmony!

  5. Camille March 14, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    People are still required to go to work? D: that 's very worrying. I hope the Japanese government pause business operations for a while. My prayers go out to you and everyone in japan 😦

    • kirin March 14, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      In this country working is considered something very important all the time. But I expected people could stay at home early this week. 😦

  6. Cath March 14, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Thank you again for the post. It helps me to stay in touch with what's really happening in Tokyo. I went to my mother's place just not and she advised me not to go to Japan for the next 2 years! =(

    • kirin March 14, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      2 years? I can feel that the news of radiation leakage from the explosion of the nuclear plants were reported with too much of warning and exaggeration overseas. It's not as serious as Chernobyl case. It's a lot safer than that case.

  7. ichigoichielove March 14, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I don't think you need to apologise for posting a very relevant reality for you and millions of others right now.
    I love your comment "people help each other, in respect for others and harmony!" and have to agree.
    Today I went to Sagawa transport co to send some batteries and candles up north – Kuroneko isn't delivering to the area right now, but Sagawa still is to certain areas, even though it takes longer. Either way, I wasn't the only one asking about getting stuff sent up, which was really touching. There was a steady stream of people coming in and asking/sending supplies to people they know. 🙂

  8. yumii March 14, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Kirin, i dunno why but im crying my heart out for japan! we don't care about other posts, we just want to know if you and your family are okay or not through this blog. do stay in touch with us through here! i hope everything will be alright soon.

  9. Stargirl March 14, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    i really hope you are ok. thats the first thing i thourght of when i heard about this… i cant believe everything thats happened in japan so suddenly. it makes everyone else who heres about this be grateful that they are not in that situation. best of luck. ^__^

  10. Benny March 14, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Hi Kirin, I just want to say that it's really heart-breaking to see those images from the TV and newspapers. I'm glad to know that you're ok. Hopefully those rescue teams will discover more survivors asap and Tokyo will return to normal life soon. Take care. (No need to reply).

  11. Mary March 14, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Oh, this is such a worrisome situation to be in! I wish the best for you and your family Kirin! I know you guys can pull through!

  12. Mel March 14, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    I hope that everything will be better soon u.u I’m so sad for all these situation in japan 😦

    ❤ Japan ❤

  13. melanie March 14, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    The catastrophe that the Japanese people are dealing with breaks my heart. Please keep us posted with your blogs about it.

  14. Steven Stier March 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    The whole world is watching Japan right now. It is clear that no other country was more prepared for the events that took place last week than Japan. But no amount of preparation could have prevented the loss of life and property that you suffered. Believe it or not there were people walking on the beach in California during the time the tsunami was supposed to hit their coast. Lucky for them that part of the coast was unaffected. I believe Cath's mother is right. It will be years before Japan is back on it's feet again. But life goes on and the Japanese people are strong and determined. You should be very proud. Everyone expects you to learn from your experience and grow stronger because that is what the Japanese people do.

  15. Stephanie March 15, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    well, how can we talk about something else? i live really far away from japan lol and even i can't stop talking about it . It is something you can't ignore and ver tragic 😦

  16. barbara March 15, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Hi kirin, I am very glad to know that you are ok. Me and my family in Norway wich all the best for Japan. WE LOVE JAPAN, and I hope that soon you menage to build up again
    Best wishes
    Barbara

  17. Sana March 15, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Kirin, please continue to write about this for as long as it helps you. I'm not a twitter subscriber, but I did check your feed periodically to see if you were ok ❤ I can't imagine what it feels like for you, but I know the Japanese people will help each other through this, and hope that, eventually, you will feel reassured by the support of other nations. Ganbatte, Nihon!

  18. Tinny March 15, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Thanks for doing these updates, Kirin.

    People are very worried here over the possibility of a nuclear disaster in Japan (most adults remember Tshernobyl from 1986, when we were in similar danger). We all hope and pray that the worst would be already over.

  19. anon. March 15, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    ahh! IM SO SORRY KIRIN D:
    I hope you and your family are alright!
    I hate it when a natural disaster occurs
    AND THE EARTHQUAKE'S EFFECTS WERE UNBELIEVABLE!
    I'll pray for you guys 🙂

  20. kirin March 16, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Thank you everyone for your encouragement and warm-hearted comments.
    I cannot reply to each comment, but the situation is fluid, it's changing all the time. I cannot stop watching TV as much as possible to catch up with the latest news.

    Situations could be critical in any moment, especially since the nuke crisis! The first 2 plants explosion was not that serious but the 3rd one that happened yesterday (15 Mar.) was considered serious.

Leave a Reply

