Earthquake and Tsunami

12 Mar

Hi everyone! Just a quick blogging about the earthquake and tsunami that hit Japan yesterday!!
Thank you for caring about me. I’ve received emails, messages, tweets and etc. from the readers of this blog and my friends abroad since yesterday. I’m telling you that I’m safe. I’m fine! All my family and friends are fine. Thank you for your concern.

Some of you might watch the breaking news on TV and this horrifying image freaked you out.

Tokyo was affected by the earthquake as well, but the damage was not that big except for blackouts and confusion of telecommunication. The devastating areas are rather northeastern part of Japan, especially Miyagi and Fukushima. The problem in Tokyo was that public transportations such as metro and JR railway services suspended operation, and people were stuck in Tokyo, lost the means to go back home. Hence many people like me decided to walk, while other people stayed over at a hotel or somewhere safe. (Thank goodness I was not wearing high heels or having a heavy bag last night! 10km walk took me 2.5 hours, which was OK!)

Some trains still remain out of service, but most are recovered by now.
It’s not a relief yet, as there will be continuous tremors and another big earthquake might happen just like the one in Nagano in this morning. I’ll make steamed rice now to avoid peak time to use electricity. I’ll save electricity and also refrain from making calls for the people who desperately need it.

I’ll check my email and twitter from time to time. (Those should be working while we have electricity!) Now while I’m writing this, there was another earthquake. OK, I’m out. Catch you later!

46 Responses to “Earthquake and Tsunami”

  1. Thomas Gantz March 12, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    I’m glad to hear you are OK. Sakie and I finally got back home OK from Hakone today after being stuck in Odawara yesterday

    • kirin March 12, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Oh you read my tweet, good. ^ ^ But you happened to be travelling this time, wow…relieved to hear you and Sakie are safe.

  2. Cath March 12, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Perhaps you can make more food to store. Don't forget water too.
    Thanks for the update, Kirin.

    • kirin March 12, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Thank you Cath.
      Actually I went to a grocery store only to find many items were sold out or not even supplied, due to the earthquake. Thank goodness my house is not damaged, nor blackout.

  3. Cel March 12, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Glad to hear you are safe! Please take care.

    • kirin March 12, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Thank you. But I feel restless…Now the problem is radiation leek from one of the atomic power plants.

  4. Gray March 12, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    My prayers are with you and people and in Japan! Stay safe and sound!

    • kirin March 12, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Thank you, I am praying for my people.

  5. Alexandra March 12, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    When I saw the news at Tv I was crying so much.I was so sad because of that I hope the people are not hurt seriously and to find as many survivors.I would like to never happen again this tsunami or the earthquake there.Well I wish you to be strong on this moment.

    • kirin March 12, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Thank you, that image was so shocking. I feel so bad for the people who lost houses, friends, families…

  6. Salma March 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I'm so glad to hear from you here, and I wish you and everybody in Japan are ok (with prayers and all wishes for everything to be all right soon) 🙂

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 2:38 am #

      Thank you Salma.
      As time passes, I am learning what has happened to the northeastern part of Japan, which is so devastating. Majority of people in Tokyo area should be fine. I'm concerned about the people who lost house, family, friends, work…. It's so sad to watch those people on TV. Now is the time I should think what I can do for those people, and at the same time, I should prepare for another earthquake that may come.

  7. ichigoichielove March 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Glad to hear you're still doing okay. I'm still having a hard time grasping the reality being faced by so many people up north right now. I realise that the aftershocks are forecasted to continue for some time, but I hope they're not so severe as to delay or make the relief aid more difficult than it already is.

    And it's definitely a good thing you weren't wearing heels or had a heavy bag like you said! Please take care, thinking of you.

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:05 am #

      Thank you, Ri-chan (Is this the name you prefer using online? I was not sure how I should address to you online haha!).
      I still feel so restless. Yesterday I went to a supermarket and saw all breads, deli, onigiri, sushi, cup noodles and bottled water are gone! (We have a lot of drinking water already saved at home.) Just in case I saved water (to use in toilet or to wash hands) and some food for the worst case in the future.

      There were some tremors in Chiba…

      • ichigoichielove March 15, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

        Completely irrelevant given the circumstances, but just use any name that feels comfortable for you to use, I'm not picky. 😉 (Ri-chan's perfectly fine if that feels good for you! ^^b)

        Please let me know if I can help – I just sent you an email, so don't feel shy about asking for anything, anything at all!

      • kirin March 16, 2011 at 3:40 am #

        Thank you. I was wondering about this as you used "Ri" when you won the giveaway of the handmade accessory the other day. (I watched the video from your blog.) Also, at Nandeyanen podcast I remember you used "Ri". ^ ^;

        Sorry, will you send me that email again? I can't find it.
        But thank you so much for your offer, even though we have less food and water in supermarkets, my husband, pi-chan and I have enough water and food already in stock at home. I will refrain from shopping grocery for a while so that people who really need it can get it.

      • ichigoichielove March 16, 2011 at 8:16 am #

        Ahhh for the giveaway, it's just that my Blogger username is "Ri" so it ended up being that automatically. To be honest I should probably change it, but it's from the days of the podcast (*like you mentioned!) and I just haven't changed it. ^^;

        Glad to hear you're holding out okay though – got your email reply, thanks! ^^ Do let me know though if you need anything. ^^b

      • kirin March 17, 2011 at 1:50 am #

        Thank you! My father and brother evacuated to Osaka, and I wonder if my family has to consider that too…(but it's very difficult to find a furnished weekly mansion that allows Pi-chan to stay with us.) I'll watch what's happening next and be prepared for move in the worst case…

  8. reina March 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Hi Kirin, glad to see you are well, really am.

    I’m glued to NHK at the moment; the country and culture I admire so much…it’s heartbreaking to see the before and after footage. I hope everyone remains as safe as possible.

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:07 am #

      I feel like crying when I saw people on TV how they were saved and that they are crying claiming their family members are gone…

  9. Chimster March 12, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Hi Kirin-san,

    I am so glad you and your family are well. We were able to reach my brother in Tokyo by email and my family is doing well. I feel so bad for the people who are going through this horrible ordeal. Please stay safe. I am praying…

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:11 am #

      Thank you Chimster.
      Glad to hear your brother was safe. I cannot think of anything but this earthquake. But thank you, I am fine, I have electricity, water, food and a place to live in safe with my husband and an innocent little dog who doesn't know anything about what's going on in the other part of Japan…

  10. Patty March 12, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    So glad to hear you're ok, which I know where you are is not close to Sendai, but I know you must've felt the quake. Stay Safe and keep us updated.

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:17 am #

      Thank you Patty!
      I was in the hospital in Gotanda (Tokyo) when the earthquake happened. I noticed it was an unusual big quake. The hospital is rather new and its structure should be safe enough. My husband and Pi-chan were at home then. Thus I had to come back home alone, but there were so many people walking like I did, I didn't feel lonely or scared so much on the way back home on that day.

      As you say, Tokyo is away from the epicenter. Everything is OK except for the blackouts at some part that night.

  11. Layla March 12, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    So glad that you are safe ❤
    Stay strong and please know that i'm praying for you and all of Japan and i sincerely hope that it recovers soon. The images are so terrible and it's so sad that so many people have died and are missing. I hope that they are found soon and that all the families that have lost people know that everyone is praying for them so to feel happy that they are in a better place. Hopefully the radiation leak won't affect or harm people and also that my country (UK) and others from around the world will help Japan recover.

    love xox

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:23 am #

      Thank you Layla.
      When my husband and I first heard the leek of radiation, we thought of the possibility that we could not go out of the house for days without goggles and face mask. We then went shopping at a grocery to buy food for several days to store at home. There were already so many people in the supermarket and many items were already sold out.

      But later, this radiation thing turned out not that serious, we are relieved. But we never know what's happening next. I still feel restless.

      Thank you for your concern and praying for our people. Over 60 countries have offered support to our country. We really appreciate this.

  12. Phil March 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Thanks for this update, Kirin. I'm glad to know that you're safe and not awfully inconvenienced after this quake. I have friends in Tokyo who I haven't heard from yet so your post is reassuring for me that they're probably just fine.

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:29 am #

      Hi Phil.
      Now telecommunication especially by mobile phones is in confusion and it's said that we should refrain from making calls (even from house phones) to save the line available for those who really need it. I think majority of people in Tokyo area should be safe. It's reported there were like 5 people died in Tokyo, while hundreds of people are dying in northeastern Japan, such as Iwate, Miyagi, and Fukushima.

  13. nekomeow March 12, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    it's really great to know that u and ur family are safe, but also feel sad at the same time for the other unfortunate people, may their soul rest in peace. God Bless

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:31 am #

      Thank you for your message.
      Yes, we were safe, we are alive safe and sound. So when things settle down, I want to help damaged people in some way.

  14. MN Guest March 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I think your visit to Costco was a good idea, because you stocked up on some items!! I am so glad that you are OK!

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:36 am #

      Yes! I didn't have to worry about tissues for example. ^ ^

  15. nao March 12, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I am so happy to know that you are safe. The situation in Japan made me to be very much sad, and I pray for all of you.

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:38 am #

      Thank you nao.
      I believe we help each other and stay strong to survive this disaster, as we did from Hanshin-Awaji earthquake in 1995.

  16. Troo March 12, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Lots of love to you and your family Kirin-san!

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 3:39 am #

      Thank you Troo.
      We are fine, the people who totally damaged are in northeastern Japan such as Iwate, Miyagi and Fukushima now.
      But we never know when another one is going to hit us. Will be well prepared and stay strong!

  17. John March 13, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    Very glad to hear you're safe. Take care!

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      Thank you. I've been following TV news and now it's said the magnitude was 9.0, over 3000 people are dead or missing…Still concerned about the safety of atomic reactor and true affect of radiation leak…:(

      • John March 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

        The news and pictures are terrible. The extent of the devastation is beyond our comprehension and the recovery will take an immense effort. However, I am sure the unity and strength of the Japanese people will prevail. Be strong and take care, Kirin-san.

  18. Randi March 13, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    my prayers go out to you and all of japan!

    • kirin March 13, 2011 at 7:48 am #

      Thank you. I'm still shocked and restless…:(

  19. Kaoru March 13, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    Kirin san,…
    im glad you are fine….
    i am desperately looking for my host family in Sendai…..still have not contact me yet…and i am very worry…..
    my japanese friends who live in tokyo told me not to call them as the chances are low……i tried calling them but no luck….i am very worry because my host family lives close to the ocean…in the town call shichigahama…..
    my japanese teachers lives in fukushima…and, she too, has not contacted me….

    i am soo worry but i will STAY positively….

    stay strong & pray for the best….
    kaoru

  20. Naru March 13, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    It’s good to know that you’re okay ! In the news, we keep seeing the same horrible images again and again.
    My prayers go out to Japan and condolences to those who lost their families and friends.

  21. Tinny March 13, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I'm so glad to hear you and your family are safe, but terribly sad and worried for all the people who have lost their families and homes 😦 I especially hope that the situation with the nuclear plants can be sorted out soon.

  22. Lore March 15, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Thanks you and your family are good, my best wishes for you. In spain hear notices about the nuclear centers, I hope nothing wrong happend.

  23. kirin March 16, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Thank you for your kind messages, the lovely readers of Tokyo Kawaii, etc.
    The situation is quite unstable and scary, as now we are under threat of radiation leakage from Fukushima nuke that may affect Tokyo area as well…

Leave a Reply

