International Gyaru Blogger

2 Mar

International Gyaru Blogger
12/FEB/2011 on air

Who is this beautiful gyaru?
She is Xiaxue, a super gyaru blogger from Singapore.

Lie is a Japanese mode-kei gyaru model. Maiko teaches how to wear gyaru makeup at a career collage in Tokyo. Those 2 girls from Japan flew to Singapore to look for Xiaxue.

The 1st episode (above) shows how these girls searched Xiaxue in Singapore.
The 2nd episode (below) shows digest from the 1st one and after they finally met Xiaxue.

19/FEB/2011 on air

Lie and Maiko were finally able to visit Xiaxue at her apartment in Singapore. However they were puzzled to see a girl who looked very different from the Xiaxue they were recognizing from her blog.

Japanese fashion magazines and those translated into Chinese are available in Singapore. (Japanese fashion magazines imported from Japan are 3 times as expensive as those in Chinese.) Many fashionable Singaporean girls like to read them, go to a Japanese hair salon, and ask them to copy the hairstyle they found in the magazines. Shunji Matsuo hair salon for example is the largest salon in Singapore that has 53 seats with 7 Japanese hair dressers and their price is more than double compared with local average. Not only Singaporeans but also foreigners from neighbor countries visit this salon to get Japan-like hair style. Kinokuniya is a great place to find a source of good hair style samples. People go to Kinokuniya, buy some Japanese magazine that has nice hair styles they might want to try, and visit Japanese hair salon to get that hair cut.

There are some Singaporean girls who can speak Japanese and dress like Japanese. Maiko teaches them how to wear gyaru makeup. “When you draw an eyebrow, starting point should be right upper the corner of your eye.” “Imagine a line that connects your nostril and tail of eye. Your eyebrow should end where the line reaches.”

Lie and Maiko talked:
“Gyaru is nothing without this makeup!”
“I can’t show my boyfriend my face without makeup!”
“I can’t talk like this without this makeup!”

Lie, Maiko, and 2 Singaporean girls went to a purikura shop in Singapore where new purikura machines are located. 1 purikura costs 800yen, double price of Japan’s!

Lie and Maiko were invited to Xiaxue’s house. Xiaxue explained what kind of tools she uses when she uploads her pictures on her blog. 5 minutes’ photoshop work makes her look so pretty and thin. It was 8 years ago when Xiaxue started her blog. Now she makes living from blogging. Her blog income is as much as 450,000yen.

There are many kind of gyaru in the world: Yamamba gyaru (which is way too out of date in Japan), para para dancing gyaru, and gyaru circles are active even outside Japan.

In Japan, GRP (Gal Research Press) has created an entertaining website that is designed for gyaru. They try to collect gyaru’s opinions to develop new products. Gyaru often like to share beneficial information and that leads to mouth communication. Many Japanese companies take notice of gyaru power. At a new product development meeting that involves gyaru marketing, gyaru are honestly speaking their opinions what is kawaii and what’s lame. What’s well received by gyaru but what’s not.

Xiaxue’s gained a rich life and a wonderful life partner from blogging. Her husband is an American who fell in love with her at fist sight. He moved to Singapore and now works as an engineer. Xiaxue is so proud of her life. She’s got wealth and happiness thanks to her blog. Her blog changed her life!

Tokyo Kawaii TV will interview Malaysian gyaru later.

=====
Kirin’s opinion:
Xiaxue is such a successful blogger. “All the good stuff in my lilfe are from blogging!” I wish I could say this someday…haha! But the truth is, I wish to manifest a world-travelling blog after Tokyo Kawaii, etc. My dream is to travel the world while update my travel blog. Tokyo Kawaii, etc. is a blog before that which enables me to make friends in many different places in the world. Anyhow…I respect that Xiaxue has continued blogging for as long as 8 years! This should not have been that easy. People will pay attention to her success but her persistence is worthy of remark.
=====
Disclaimer: Tokyo Kawaii TV is a TV program owned and broadcasted by NHK Japan, and has nothing to do with this blog.

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

35 Responses to “International Gyaru Blogger”

  1. ichigoichielove March 2, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Ohhh yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!
    I'm so happy you posted these!!! I missed them both because I was out and about doing other things!!!
    Thank yooooou πŸ˜€

  2. Vermillion March 2, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Thank you for sharing, I love to watch this show! 19:35 (first vid) looks like characters from the text book I use XD

  3. Emily March 2, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Awesome episodes πŸ˜€ It was so sweet how the Xiaxue gal and her husband met πŸ˜€ My husband and I met from Facebook. I don't really wear makeup much, if at all unless I'm going out somewhere special. I used to wear makeup all the time because I wasn't as confident as I am now. I'm ok going out without my face on πŸ˜€ Thanks for posting πŸ˜€

    • kirin March 3, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Wow, you met your husband from Facebook?! That sounds so up-to-date! There's no way we should forget about SNS for friendship or relationship. In Japan, online dating is considered scary because it's used in a bad way. But I hear happy stories like yours from my foreign friend, too. πŸ™‚

      • winnie October 29, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

        it's very common for us to date online. i met my boyfriend on facebook too!

  4. Patty March 2, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    I think you’re doing a great thing here, so don’t give up! You are like an ambassador for those of us aboard and wanted to see the Japanese culture from the ground up, and not from a corporate point of view. Keep up the good work!

    • kirin March 3, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      How sweet of you, Patty! Thank you for the encouragement!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. Kettuki March 2, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    oh wow.. this was so much fun!!!! can't wait for the part 3!!!! ♥γ€€The wig's look so convenient.. makes me want some ;D

    Thank you for the links

  6. Anna March 2, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Xiaxue is Gyaru??…she said she was not on her blog…

    • kirin March 3, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      I don't know but the way she looks is like a gyaru, and the Japanese gyaru regarded her as a gyaru. Whatever, she looks great!

      • Miki April 3, 2011 at 7:26 am #

        Ah she is not a gyaru. But she said she just went with the flow for the interview.

    • wtf June 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      she's obviosly NOT…she's always been into american stuff….now all of a sudden -> japanese.WTF.

  7. Bisque March 3, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    Cant wait to watch it! I've been waiting for it to be posted on toykokawaiietc

  8. nanda March 3, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    whaaa im so excited nhk found xiaxue! ive been her fans for years!!!! πŸ˜€
    next ep would be cheesie (cheeserland.com) & audrey (fourfeetnine.com) from malaysia (but i heard nhk will air it april, why so long *sigh*)
    they're very funny and also friends w/ xiaxue πŸ˜€
    a must watch! i cant wait!! πŸ˜€

    • kirin March 3, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      Yeah, the Malaysian gyaru episode is to be sometime in April.
      The place appeared to be Bukit Bintang? The Nando's there…I guess I remember it.

      • Hanie March 9, 2011 at 8:27 am #

        It happened at Sungei Wang, KLCC, Pavillion, Cheesie's house and Lie and Maiko's hotel room. ^^

      • kirin March 9, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

        Thank you Hanie. Ah~ Sungei Wang Plaza! ^ ^

  9. Kerry March 3, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Thanks so much for the uploads! I read xiaxue's blog and I was waiting for this ^_^ yeah it's true, she looks very different without photoshop..

  10. Sana March 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    I was amazed when I saw all that camera equipment! Beauty lights are so expensive! O.o

    8 years is a very long time to be writing regularly, and keeping it fresh! Nobody's life can possibly be so interesting, haha! I wish that success for you too Kirin! Ganbatte ne!

    • kirin March 6, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

      Haha, thank you Sana.
      All I wish is to make friends in the world from blogging and enable to work from online so I can earn income while I travel in the world. This blog is a tool to enable that….I hope. ^ ^

  11. Cath March 5, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    I don't have good impression of XiaXue actually. Her blog is usually littered with rude words. And I shan't continue in case she sues me!

    • kirin March 6, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      Actually me either, Cath. I basically don't like any blogs that are filled with rude, vulgar and insulting words and so I've stopped following her blog since I found that. As a reader I don't like that way, but I respect the fact she has continued updating blogging regularly in the past 8 years and now she earns enough income from blogging.

      Full time professional blogger is one of the coolest things to me. For me it may not be easy to make a living from blogging only but I want to do that from working online. To become a digital nomad is one of my dreams. ^ ^

  12. trashtastika March 8, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Hehe, I too have followed Cheesie and Xiaxue for a while…and while I at first was shocked at the 'f" word, I think you have to understand that it's not considered so rude in Malaysia and Singapore blogs. It is always FML and WTF, and it ends up seeming cute to me. Certain words just are more offensive in some cultures than others. But all that aside, they really are very funny girls with good writing style, as well as being pretty.

    I too am envious of their globetrekking lifestyles, but when you said 450,000 yen, that's only $5,400 a year…not enough to live on at all. I mean, it's great to get that income from a blog, but would only cover say one trip to japan for me πŸ™‚

    • kirin March 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      I thought 450,000yen per month. But I avoided adding "per month" above because it was not spoken clarly in the episode. When she makes living from only blogging, this will mean she makes that income monthly. If yearly, as you say it's not enough. ^ ^;;

      • Hanie March 9, 2011 at 8:29 am #

        Oh, but Xiaxue has a lot of sponsors so I guess that helps her saving money too. πŸ˜€

      • kirin March 9, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

        That's cool! πŸ™‚

  13. lala March 18, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    oh no how come the videos do not show up? 😦

  14. Jennifer May 21, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Oh! no more Tokyo Kawaii TV on your blog? Because it is banner? I really love your blogs!

    • kirin May 21, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      I'm afraid I don't get what you meant in your comment….is there anything wrong??

  15. Brianna January 14, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    Did I hear 'Forget you' in this πŸ˜€ lol, I was singing badly, yelling, fogrget youuu! Ah whowho! xD

  16. Flora February 1, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    do you have the video on cheeserland? πŸ˜€

    ilovecirclelenses.tumblr.com

  17. Cute April 28, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Where are the videos?
    😦
    I watched them a long time ago but now they vanished, what happened?? Can you re-upload them please ♥

    • kirin April 30, 2012 at 3:53 am #

      Sorry there's some technical problem and I can't. 😦

  18. Clare November 6, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    I know this is unrelated, but could you post more of the Health & Beauty things?
    I loved them all!♥
    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

