Hakone Onsen

26 Feb

Giving up a trip to Miyazaki (Japan) and Egypt one after another, I only went to Hakone to seek for onsen to have some rest finally. All I wanted to do was to rest and regain energy, I didn’t even need a company, which means either of my friend or husband. You see how I was tired… But another reason was this: I was afraid to make it happen to me again that this trip is canceled after all for some reason. I only booked it a few days ago. I guess it was traumatic to me that both Miyazaki (due to volcanic eruption) and Egypt (antigovernment demonstration, as you know) turned out to be exactly the places to be avoided for travelling. I mean, why only two without three? In case my 3rd time is blocked…I didn’t want to involve anyone. (*x*)

But it was nice Hakone was not against me. *relief*
Hakone is not that far actually. Normal train trip is OK enough to me. (I didn’t pay extra to get on Romance Car.) Hakone Tozan Tetsudo is a minor train that runs slowly from mountain to mountain.

There were only 4 stations but it took about 30 minutes finally to arrive at Kowakidani station where my hotel was.

There was a pick-up shuttle service from the hotel. I forgot to take a hotel facade picture but here’s the hotel’s website and below pictures are the single room where I stayed.

I prefer bed to futon because I feel futon is just too hard for my back. But I wished to have my meal brought to my room especially when I’m travelling alone. (To enable that I had to choose Japanese tatami room and futon instead though.) But this time I should not complain anything. I’m only happy that it was not cancelled by any means. ^ ^;

Actually too much of Japanese meal was another worry. I normally do not select a hotel that serves Japanese cuisine both at dinner and breakfast. I was worried if I was dying for bread and western meals badly, so I ate pasta and sandwich before and after the meals I was given there. It looks like I was OK. lol

I wanted nothing but bathing in onsen and relax…

There were 3 types of rotenburo (outdoor onsen) and 2 of them I entered. 🙂

People will see whether the private rotenburo is open or engaged by checking this board. I wanted to try all of the 3 private rotenburo baths but 1 of them was engaged when I checked it.

The first one was this.

I even took a video with my camera. (Blogging is half work half fun, it’s always in my mind. :p)

Another one I tried.

Inside…

I wanted to wait till disk but it needed too much time and I gave up. I had a enough time to do onsen hopping one after another before dinner time both at private/public onsen and outdoor/indoor onsen. (Of course no pictures from public onsen, haha!)

I once dreamed about working in an onsen hotel to be able to bathe in onsen every night. But then I imagined how relaxing it is after all when bathing in a work place… Well, never mind my rambling. 😉 BTW, if you don’t mind spending more (25000yen or more per person), you can choose to stay in a room that has a private onsen in a terrace of your room. But usually such private onsen allocated in each room has normal hot water, not onsen water. You can easily see the difference how normal hot water and onsen hot water is different. Onsen hot water keeps us warm longer, while normal hot water from the tap does not.

The dinner was very good, but I totally missed my company. I didn’t feel lonely until this time but finally I wished if my husband were with me.

I had some grilled meat, fish and vegetables and so many dishes I couldn’t eat everything…

I like bathing and onsen a lot. I enjoyed onsen in the next morning, which was so good! I guess I entered 6 different onsen while I was staying there.

The breakfast was also so much to me. I could not eat anything until 3pm after I had this at 8am or so.

Eating alone was a bit lonely but excluding that, I was able to rest well and had some refresh from everyday’s life, which I know is nothing compared to a vacation in Egypt though. But I decided I should take someone with me to have more fun meal time and memory to share with from next time, instead of being scared too much of the possibilities that my plan’s blocked just like Miyazaki and Egypt.

Hope this post gives you some image of onsen hotels in Japan. 😉

34 Responses to “Hakone Onsen”

  1. Tom Gantz February 26, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Urayamashii! I need an onset break. That looks great

  2. Tom Gantz February 26, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Thats too bad, though, that you had to give up those other vacations

    • kirin February 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Hi Tom.
      This is only a small break compared with what I was planning before…
      I was really looking forward to going to Egypt for the first time (T_T)

  3. Julie H. February 26, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Good for your vacation to work out. And very nice of you to share. It must be wonderful to have places like that to stay at.

    I am going to Tokyo next month and I hope everything goes okay. Having to wait for the trip makes it easier to worry. I'd love to be able to go to an onsen someday.

    I've been to Egypt, it's a very interesting place. I think once they get the government set up it will be a good place to go to again.

    • kirin February 26, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      Yes, I hope so, and if I wait for the next best season.
      It was the best season from Nov. to Feb. to visit Egypt. (not too hot)
      I checked out your pictures from Egypt…I hope I can try again in the future!

      BTW, please enjoy your stay in Tokyo next month! 😀

  4. Hanie February 26, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    This is so beautiful! I love the outside scenery in the video!

    • kirin February 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Thank you. ^ ^
      The video went too short but at least it tells more than a photo.

      • Hanie February 27, 2011 at 6:01 am #

        Yes! ^^ I've never been to an onsen before so this is really interesting!

      • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

        Please try it when you have a chance to visit Japan. It's sooooo goooood~~~~! ^_^

  5. Kaisu February 26, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    What a cute place! I wish to visit an onsen some day..and I hope you'll be able to travel to Egypt later! Now I'm in a real need of a hot bath..haha 😀

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      Thank you Kaisu!
      There are so many places I want to visit. I wish I could travel somewhere abroad this year. :p

  6. sedonia2 February 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    What a beautiful place and the food looks wonderful. I wanted to go there immediately after looking at this article! 🙂

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      Hahaha! The food was very beautiful. There were so many dishes with small food on each.
      I think the most impressive experience was bathing in the morning sunlight. I was totally empowered by it.
      I wonder how it's like to wake up early in the morning to have a morning onsen everyday, hearing birds' singing before I start a day. What a bliss…

  7. Cora February 27, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Usually I prefer to go out alone, like go shopping or cycling, cause I'm afraid that I west others time 😉
    Plus, my friends and I will take a trip to Yilan next month, there is good onsen too!

    (my reply didn't be shown so I post again lol)

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Your reply is gone?? Sorry sometimes this system works strange. My comments sometimes disappear, too. 😦
      But thank you for trying to post it again!

      Yilan!! I've never been there, and what's more, you have onsen there??
      Fantastic!!

  8. winnie February 27, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures and place!
    I have never been to Onsen. I hope I can visit an onsen in one of the days.
    I like the view of the video you took!!
    Cute!!

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your comment.
      Please visit onsen, it's so good! Your body is warmed, your skin turns smooth, and it's very comfortable.
      I love onsen very much! That's one of the great things we can enjoy in Japan. 🙂

  9. ichigoichielove February 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Awww, I'm glad you finally got a chance to get away, even if it was just for a little bit. That place looks fantastic, I'm very jealous! 😉 I haven't been to an onsen since I've been back in Japan, shame on me!!! 😥

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

      Yes! Finally!! "even if it was just for a little bit"…exactly!! It makes difference even if it's a little bit of break.
      How is Kirishima area now? Hope things will settle down and you can have onsen with no problem. ^ ^;

      • ichigoichielove February 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

        Well it's calmed down and they've started to clear up the area in earnest now, but there's still soooo much ash everywhere. I went to the park the other day and wanted to sit in the grass but…of course…there's still ash everywhere, so it wasn't possible. T^T Hopefully soon!

      • kirin February 28, 2011 at 5:48 am #

        Ash everywhere…(T_T)
        Hopefully soon!!

      • ichigoichielove March 2, 2011 at 10:50 am #

        Yes, it gets better every day! ^^
        By the way, I should have mentioned this the first time but… that food looks DIVINE!!!! o.O

      • kirin March 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

        Oh good to hear that.
        The food was very beautiful and good, but just too much! haha!!

  10. Steven Stier February 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I wanted to try an Onsen while in Japan but I was afraid to go by myself. I didn't want to be an ignorant gaijin doing something to embarrass myself and the other visitors. The closest I have ever come to an onsen is a friends hot tub. How hot is the water in the onsen? I would guess that you wear no clothes in a private bath, but does everyone wear a bathing suit in the public bath? I am told that you must wash before going into the baths, but does the bath leave you covered with mineral residue that must be washed off? Or perhaps the minerals are considered beneficial and should be left on. Thanks for the blog. And I am glad you enjoyed yourself. Now back to work! LOL

    • kirin February 28, 2011 at 6:00 am #

      How hot? 38-42C
      No clothes on, in any kind of onsen, whether it's private or public. I've never experienced an onsen for mixed gender, but usually men to go men's onsen, women go to women's onsen. Everybody is naked among the same gender. You should not be embarrassed because people around you already have what you do. (lol) Well I have no idea about a gay who has man's body but inside is different. (lol)
      Do not dress bathing suit, unless told.

      Yes, wash your body first before entering a bath. And also shower off onsen water from your body when you leave. (Sometimes the minerals are too strong. But usually it's not a big deal even if you forget that.)

      It maybe embarrassing to bathe in naked at first but when nobody knows you, you feel ok. I'd definitely recommend that you try an onsen next time you are in Japan. ^_^

  11. Sana February 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Thanks for this post, Kirin, I was curious about onsen! I hope your body is relaxed and your mind is refreshed!

    • kirin March 1, 2011 at 7:49 am #

      Thank you Sana!
      Yes, even if it was only a short onsen trip, it was a good change to me! 😀 I LOVE ONSEN SO MUCH!!

  12. Steven Stier February 28, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    Yes I am a little shy, That is typical among Americans. But that is not the reason I did not go to an onsen. I do not know the customs and traditions of going to an onsen and did not want to do something really out of place. Like wearing a bathing suit for instance. Next time I am in Japan I will drag one of my friends with me. I doubt they would resist. It sounds like a wonderful experience.

    • kirin March 1, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      I know what you mean. 🙂
      And yes, it's better you bring your friend who is already familiar with onsen here.
      Good luck!! 😉

  13. Salma March 2, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    The views are marvelous, and thank you for sharing ^_^
    And yes, I remember hearing about onsen a lot. The outer trees in the pictures is wonderful; they are so relaxing
    😀

    • kirin March 2, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Yes, it's so nice to have an onsen in nature. So refreshing and relaxing!! 🙂

  14. zhuravlik37 May 15, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    hi kirin,
    need a little advice from you. as i am traveling to japan on 22 june and am looking at either a day trip or a overnight trip to a onsen hotel. little problem is my friend has a chronic skin problem. though it is not contagious, it is still kinda gross when the skin cracks and bleeds due to weather or something, hence he is looking at a onsen that has a private bath and will drain the water after every soak. i am looking at the ooedo onsen chain, on odaiba or nearby, but they only offer such rooms on their japanese site. hope you can advice me further?

    • kirin May 15, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Ooedo onsen has an English page. http://www.ooedoonsen.jp/higaeri/english/index.ht

      But I see what you mean. This page does not always cover full information their Japanese site does.
      You can find a contact email address in this page. (You'll see it even if all the other parts are in Japanese.) http://www.ooedoonsen.jp/higaeri/otoiawase/index….

      Ask them in English. They should answer you in English as long as they have an English site. Well I think it's not very kind they don't have a contact page from the English page.

      • kirin May 15, 2011 at 11:06 am #

        One more thing.
        It's often possible private onsen installed at each room is just a bath with normal water (no onsen water) sometimes. So you are recommended to check it with your hotel if you are to choose the bedroom with a outside onsen (I say it's often just a bath, not an onsen!) in a balcony or something.

        Hope this helps! ^ ^

Leave a Reply

