Vegetable Cake

22 Feb

Patisserie Potager
nearest train station: Nakameguro
address: 2-44-9 Kamimeguro, Meguro-ku
phone: 03-6279-7753
open: 10am – 8pm (everyday)

There is a public library near the Nakameguro station where I often borrow books. Patisserie Potager is a cake shop within 10 minutes’ walk from there. What’s special about this cake shop is that their cakes are made from vegetables.

It was already dark outside.

I wanted to come here with my friend but on second thought, we don’t want to spend hours outside chatting and sipping cold coffee in the cold.

There is only a small space to eat inside the cafe.

I chose to take away.

What I bought: carrot chocoflan
This was good, but I was not able to taste carrot much. I wonder if I ever notice this cake contains carrot if I don’t know it’s from this cake shop.

and pumpkin cake.
This was not good, and same as above, I didn’t taste pumpkin so much. I wonder if it is good or bad that we don’t sense taste of vegetables in vegetable cakes. Well, other cakes may be different, or it’s only that I am not sensitive enough to perceive it. ^ ^; I shared these 2 cakes with my hubby and he was more confused he didn’t even sense the difference of these 2 cakes. lol

Both cakes were not so sweet, which was no problem to me because I don’t like something very sweet. But I’m sure some people don’t like these less sweet cakes. I am no longer surprised to hear people can eat 3 or 4 cakes from this cake shop. They are not sweet, heavy or oily.

Ah, let me tell you, speaking of sweetness, Japanese cakes are basically not so sweet as average American’s. American cakes, in average, are way too sweet for us to eat. I’m afraid many Japanese people dislike American sweets.

Now I am saying these cakes from this shop were even less sweet than average Japanese cakes. I think it’s good for people on diet, health oriented, and small kids. Otherwise, their cakes are not very attractive. 😦

What do you think of vegetable cakes?

21 Responses to “Vegetable Cake”

  1. ichigoichielove February 22, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Until I read your post I thought vegetable cakes seemed like a great idea! Haha, apparently not.
    In the states there's already a number of 'veggie' cakes (carrot cake and pumpkin pie for example), but as you noted, American cakes are often quite sweet. As for the two I mentioned, I think it depends on who made it and the icing used (for the carrot one).
    But…having said that… I actually think a lot of Western style sweets in Japan are *way* to sweet. Japanese sweets I like, and sweets from Sweden I like… and admittedly it's been a while since I've had anything from back home, but I think Japan's western sweets are soooo much sweeter than what we have back home. ^^;
    Maybe my memory is fuzzy though!

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:23 am #

      "Japan's western sweets are so much sweeter…" Really?
      I'd like to try how sweets are sweet in Europe!

      • ichigoichielove February 23, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

        Especially France and Belgium, it won't be as sweet. ^^ They like their cakes/chocolates/sweets a bit "darker". ^^

  2. Anna February 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I think the vegetable cakes are worth the try even if they don't taste good. The only reason i say this is because i can go around saying that i've eaten cake made of vegetables. Those kinds of cakes are not common here in the US.

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      I think this vegetable cake shop is quite unique in Japan. It's not everywhere. It's very rare over here.
      And it does not taste bad but I suppose people will prefer eating normal sweet cakes after all…

  3. Lore February 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    I like cakes with a lot of sugar, when more it has better, and spanish peopel thinks the same. I have heard that carrot's cake taste is good becouse carrot is a sweet vegetable, at first I thought carrot and cake in the same phrase??, impossible XD, now I want to eat one. I have to look for a good recipe and then I'll try to do it. I'll tell you my opinion then

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:28 am #

      Yeah, carrot cake was not bad. It's good if you can make it by yourself. 🙂

  4. Salma February 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Well, I believe in that the matter of loving sweet candy or less sweet one depends of the person himself/herself in any place.
    You know why/ I am not so fond of much sweet in some candies (even in those of my country), but in some other kinds of my country's dessert, I believe sweetness makes it so tasty ^_^
    Generally speaking, the majority of eastern desserts are sweeter than the Japanese.
    I remember tasting one of the Japanese desserts my family received from Japanese friends of my father. Actually, I liked it 😉 (but I couldn't know its name because I couldn't read Kanji on its box cover) It looked triangular in its shape, made of something like rice dough and filled with rise inside. It was of two colors: white and dark green.

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:31 am #

      Hi Salma,
      I cannot imagine what it was from your description (sorry) but dark green can be matcha (green tea). Matcha is often used for sweets and many people regardless of Japanese or non-Japanese love it. (But I don't like it so much…:p)

      • Salma February 23, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

        Oh yes, I see.:D

  5. Sana February 22, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I'm a big fan of veggie cakes! Actually I have a japanese recipe for steamed kobocha cake ^^. My favourite is probably chocolate and beetroot cake, it's such a beautiful colour.

    I'm with you on the sweet western cake thing. Carrot cakes can be lovely but are often topped with a very sweet yoghurt icing that sticks to your mouth and prevents you from actually tasting anything!

    Ooh, did you ever try the vegetable kit-kat? I found it surprisingly pleasant!

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:36 am #

      Kobocha…you mean kabocha (pumpkin)?
      Vegetable kit-kat?? No~~~, I know kit-kat in Japan has released so many interesting flavors but first of all kit-kat is too sweet to me. If I like, I like kit-kat with dark chocolate, black biscuit, and less sugar than ordinary ones. And I like something simple, no flavor just an orthodox one. haha! ^ ^;

      • Sana February 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

        Oops! KAbocha! 🙂 Yes, I tried the recipe with orange pumpkin because I haven't been able to buy kabocha here. With pumpkin it had a nice colour and texture but the flavour was a little disappointing 😦 Perhaps kabocha has a stronger taste?

        Haha, I like very dark chocolate, too, but I couldn't resist trying such a strange flavour. Now I remember I also tried a kit-kat that was made with a potato type – sataimo maybe? As you say, too sweet. Black biscuit sounds nice, I will look for that.

        Have you tried dark chocolate with chilli?

      • kirin February 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

        I think normally kabocha is good to be used for sweets. ^ ^
        Dark chocolate with chili!? I think I'm too conservative to try something so unique especially when it comes to sweets. ^ ^;

  6. laura February 22, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    yum!!! they look sooooo delicious! i find american cakes to be WAY too sweet for me. and i find myself craving asian cakes more and more these days.

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:37 am #

      American sweets were way too sweet to me too.
      But I now remembered I was so surprised to find how sweet the pie or something I ate in Italy last time I visited there. ^ ^;

  7. cinnamon_girl February 22, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    These cakes look good! 😀
    I've never tried vegetable cakes before, so if I get a chance, I'll definitely eat one!
    I don't know much about American cakes, but when I ate sweets or cakes in Japan, their sweetness was normal for me. I mean I didn't feel they're less sweet than those I'm used to in my country.

    • kirin February 23, 2011 at 12:39 am #

      I'm used to Japanese sweetness, and so I find American sweetness is way too sweet compared with ours. I don't know much about things in Europe, but I guess it depends on the country. 🙂

    • kirin February 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Oh I guess I've replied to your comment but sometimes the comments I left seem to disappear…:(

  8. Kaoru February 23, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    i know this store!!! isnt the owner a female pastry chef? i think she was feature on tv too =)
    she is a very smart person to open!!!
    i would definitely love to try her cakes the next time im in japan!!!
    i think vegetables cakes are a good healthy choice if , for example, one who cannot eat too high in sugar sweets/food.
    I would see why she is famous in Japan as well. Since many females are always on a diet…..they would rather choose vegetables cake to satisfy their want for sweetness!

    • kirin February 24, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      That's right, Kaoru.
      She has appeared on TV several times I guess.
      Actually that was why I got to know this store. :p

Leave a Reply

