How to be Moe and attract the guy you like!

10 Feb

Apple wrote about Moe, which is one of the most difficult subjects to me. Great job, Apple!! πŸ˜€
===Apple’s post starts from here====

Valentine’s Day is coming really soon!!!

For single girls who are looking to get a boyfriend, I’m here to save you!! Haha! Actually, these 萌え(moe) tips can be used by girls who are attached too.

Before I start, let me slightly explain Moe.

The word 萌え means ‘budding’, ‘blossoming’ literally. This word is usually used to describe girls who are fresh, innocent and cute. Err… I think it’s hard to describe Moe in words. To me, Moe is a feeling you get when you look at such a girl. I checked wiki and it says that it is usually used to describe adorable preadolescent girls. I think girls who are older can be Moe too.

Who is Moe to you?

To me, I really think Sayumi Michishige from Morning Musume is very Moe! I like her. She amuses me so much.

The younger Kago Ai in her Morning Musume days is Moe to me too.

Well, anyway, today I’m going to share with you 5 kinds of Moe! I read this article in Popteen February 2011 issue. I’m too old to read Popteen actually, but they always have interesting articles with lots of pictures, so I’m really addicted to it. Haha!

1. Sweet Lovely Moe

Guys can never resist sweet and gentle girls! So you can try some of these tips!

  • Gently tug the back of his shirt when you want his attention. When he turns, make sure your head is slightly pointed downwards, and look up at him with your eyes, and maybe with a gentle pout. Note that a overdone pout looks fake, so be careful.
  • Wear clothes that will give off a girly feeling. For example, dresses with lace and ribbons; furry clothes that make you look like a small animal, tops and dresses that look soft. Good material is more important than colour.
  • Let him know you are cold. You can shiver slightly. Or say, “寒い。。。” (Samui = cold), and put your hands into his coat pockets. ( WOW! WIN!)
  • Wear oversized knitted cardigans and reveal only your fingers. You will look super cute and the guy will feel like loving and protecting you. ( I don’t know about guys but I think girls who wear in such a manner are really super cute to me! )
  • Use coquettish words when talking to him.
  • Really enjoy eating chocolate in front of him. It is cute to see a girl enjoy her sweets. (Haha!)

2. “Silly and clumsy” Moe

Girls who are clumsy will win the heart of a guy. The guy will feel manly beside you.

  • Act like you cannot walk properly, that any floor surface is your ultimate weakness. Always fall and trip. The guy will feel like protecting you. (Oh really??!!! Wouldn’t he think you’re an idiot? 😦 )
  • Sit in a high area swinging your legs and look up at the sky or something with a soft, sweet smile on your face and a faraway look in your eyes. The ideal image is to look like you are thinking or dreaming about something. This will make you look like a dreamy schoolgirl.
  • When you realise a mistake you have made, stick out your tongue. You can also cock your head to one side and touch your head at the same time in embarrassment.
  • When you receive something from him, be really happy and jump in happiness like a child, and keep saying, “I’m so happy!!!”
  • When you’re eating ice-cream, consume it with small, tiny licks. This is definitely Moe.
  • Don’t be afraid to be naturally silly. For example, you can act like you are a very strange or weird person. Tell him weird stories of aliens and strange creatures so that he will have a strong impression of you. (Haruhi Suzumiya appears in my head for some reason.) Another example, you can pretend you don’t know what he’s talking about at all. A higher level is to pretend you know what he’s talking about, as in, you nod your head looking like you understand, but you have to look like you actually don’t understand but you are trying your best. You can also say certain words wrongly to make him think that you are adorably dumb.

3. Natural Moe

Usually a guy cannot resist this kind of natural Moe.

  • When guys see rare and natural expressions in girls, it is a very strong attraction point. For example, you can shut your eyes, give a small yawn and say,Β  γ­γ‚€γ„ο½žβ€ (nemui = sleepy). You can also follow up by leaning your head gently on his shoulder.
  • Put on lip gloss to let your lips look very kissable. “
  • Blink very slowly when looking at him. Your eyes will look watery to him.
  • Look at him from afar. When he catches you staring, quickly look away. Now you got his attention.
  • Wear V-necked oversized knitted tops or dresses to create a casual and warm look.
  • Use both hands to eat a bread/ burger or drink soup/ water, just like an adorable hamster!
  • Carry your bag in your hands with both hands and say, “ι‡γ„ο½ž” (omoi = heavy) He will help you carry your bag. (From my humble experiences in life thus far, this doesn’t work with all guys. Haha!!!)

4. Pure, girly Moe

These tips are actually very easy to do and are the most natural. If you are a shy and introvert girl, you can start with these. No guys will hate pure and feminine girls!

  • Even if his jokes are not funny, show an appreciative expression, or at least a slight smile. In other words, don’t roll your eyes and frown and say, “Lame/ Okaaaay,” to his face. Don’t hurt the poor guy’s ego. At least he’s trying!
  • Learn to be a good listener. Don’t hesitate to praise him if he says or does anything that is praise-worthy. (Actually, I think this works both ways! ^^ Girls like to be praised too, I think! Everyone likes it! Even your pet dog! Seeing good things in people is a way of life!!!)
  • Smile often. Even when you’re talking, have a happy expression on your face. Many of the girls who shared these tips said that their boyfriends told them, “I fell for your smile and cheerful personality.” / “You’re always smiling. I could not help but fall for you.” / “I really love your smile.” (Oh! I cannot help but want to tell you how effective this is! This is also the easiest too, I think! It’s easy to smile and be happy when you’re with somebody you like, isn’t it? So smile often! Be happy! Bring joy to everyone around you. You can easily become popular. Also, I think this works both ways. I find myself attracted to guys who are always smiling and happy too.)
  • Always do your best in everything. Girls can be very attractive when they’re serious and hardworking too.
  • If you’re a usually cheerful and strong person, it’s okay to sometimes show that you’re ‘only human’ too. Meaning, it’s okay to show your weaknesses and be sad or cry sometimes too. But don’t use this too many times or it’ll become annoying. (I think this is true! When I was in secondary school, I used to have a classmate who was always very cheerful and nice. Everyone liked her. One day, she cried over something that hit her very badly. I forgot what it was. All the guys were so concerned over her!!! They asked around whether she was okay, and some even wrote her notes and bought her candy to cheer her up. Aww!)

5. “There are 2 sides of me” Moe


You look like you are easy-going, but you actually have your own very strong views; You look cold and unfeeling, but you actually have a soft heart. Showing the side of you that you don’t usually display to him might strongly attract him to you.

  • If you wear contacts or have perfect eyesight, you can sometimes do a small image change by wearing a pair of glasses. And vice versa.
  • When both of you are with a group of friends, you can behave normally. But when both of you are alone, you can show the supremely girly side of you, just for him!!! The difference will make him feel privileged.
  • If you are always joking and playing with him normally, you can have a heart-to-heart serious talk together sometimes. He will have a different view of you.
  • If you are usually silly and clumsy, but show that you can also be serious and do things well when you need to, this difference will definitely attract the guy’s attention.
  • You can sing very cute songs complete with cute actions/poses with cute voice when you go to sing Karaoke together.

So, that’s all!

I must say, I have learned a lot of things. Haha! But really, I think the best way is to be natural. If you’re really not a certain type, don’t force yourself. It will appear fake and the guy may become really annoyed at you, which you do not want. I think it’s better to spot if you’re doing anything that is already listed, and know that, “Ok…so this is attractive,” and maybe be aware of that when you are with a guy you like.

I know that I can never do the “Looking up at him with puppy eyes” or “Sticking out my tongue when I realise my mistake” or “Striking cute poses with cute voice when singing karaoke” because that’s not me. And if I forced it, it would be super weird and it might make people feel uncomfortable. Haha!

But there are certain things which can be easily learned too. For example, it’s easy to learn to become a good listener. πŸ™‚

Do you like any tips here? Did you spot any thing that you are already doing naturally? Do you think it works? Are you going to try anything new from here? Or do you have your own tips???? Guys, what would you like or not like if a girl uses these tips from here? I would love to know!

51 Responses to “How to be Moe and attract the guy you like!”

  1. MN Guest February 10, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    —-Use both hands to eat a bread/ burger or drink soup/ water, just like an adorable hamster!——

    I have to say, when I read this, I was drinking coffee with both hands. I put the coffee down, and backed away slowly from the computer…

  2. ichigoichielove February 10, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Wow, this was really interesting! Some of it made me laugh because it's just so…*not me*, but I can definitely see how a lot of it can be considered attractive if you don't try too hard. Although having said that, I know a lot of guys who find a lot of the behavious above really annoying! (But maybe that's because they know it's not "natural"?) Really fun post anyway, maybe I can try it out in Kagoshima this weekend, just in time for Valentine's. ^^;

    • kirin February 11, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      Same here at *not me* part!! lol

  3. anon.ziu February 10, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    lol.. for some reason…
    I already knew all these things.
    I use it
    because i have many friends who are boys ( not boyfriends πŸ˜› )
    but i dont have a boyfriend ^_^ phew

    • kirin February 11, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      I'm curious how your guy friends think if you act like that. :p

  4. Patty February 10, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Hey, is the article in Chinese? I can actually understand them. LOL πŸ™‚ Anyway, I think the article is so funny… some things I can see why it would work, but some it's really silly. Maybe that works for young people. But, I do agree the part where you try to act casual but do make an effort. Furthermore, you know what this article reminds me of? There's an American article either in Women's World or some homemaker magazine that instruct how a wife should behave. It reminds me alot of that. It's offensive to women today, but it's funny to look back.

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 2:49 am #

      Yes I bought the Chinese version of Popteen this month, so these pictures have Chinese words on them. The same article appeared last month for the Japanese version of Popteen.

      Anyway, when I was younger, I used to read such stuff and act accordingly to the advice I like. HAHAHA! I think it actually helps somehow. I know what you mean about it being like the American article. I think I've seen it before on some vintage website! Haha!

  5. Apple February 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Hey everyone! I'm so happy that you all have enjoyed this post! ^^ I wrote this…but what a big joke that I just totally, I think, I just lost a guy I kinda like. Hahaha! I didn't use any of the tips I wrote about. I forgot all about them. Haha!

    @MN Guest – ooohh!! So you are already naturally Moe when you drink coffee! Hahaha!

    @Ichigoichielove – ahh do try these tips!!! Hope you have fun on Valentine's Day!!

    @anon.ziu – wow! You have many guys to practise with….but be careful that they all fall in love with you at once! Haha! ^^

    • ichigoichielove February 11, 2011 at 4:06 am #

      Oh no, sorry to hear about the guy thing!! :/ Hope it works out!
      Yeah..fun… I'll be at work, but it'll be good!! Doing Valentine's crafts, haha! ^^

      • Apple February 13, 2011 at 12:54 am #

        ah!! i'm so happy!!! He came over last night suddenly and it was fun talking together again~! ^^ And I still haven't tried any Moe tips from this article…hahahahaah!

        You'll be doing Valentine's crafts?? Oh I would love to see what you're making!! ^^

  6. Diyana February 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Pure, girly moe doesn't have a photo? haha, random me.
    I'm far from bring moe. I like to have a brotherly relationship with my male friends and I'm not girly around them at all. Or maybe there are some times where I am. I've bookmarked this post cause they're really great and cute tips~
    However, the silly moe type is something I wouldn't be able to stand if I see it in real life or even in animes. Clumsy moe is okay, lol.

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 2:52 am #

      Yea, when I was writing this and taking pictures for this, I realised Pure girly moe didn't have a picture for it. -_-" hahaha!

      Anyway, yea I can't stand silly moe type too. Actually, I think guys in general don't like that too. But I've seen girls who are just naturally silly and clumsy, and I find them funny and cute. I think this is one of the Moe that you do not learn. It's either you have it in you or not. Hahaha!

      Thanks for the bookmark~ ^^

  7. Sara Mari February 10, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Oh to American (perhaps other western) men almost all of these tips would really be annoying haha. Especially the clumsy tips, to act like a stupid person or a child in America would make people think you have mental problems honestly.

    But I think these tips can work on Asian, or guys who like princessy girls, aged teen to 24 or so, and over 45 (I think guys between 25 and 45 are a bit too practical for moe generally) Haha, still I could never do these, I'm like the tsundere without a soft side haha!

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 2:53 am #

      Haha! Honestly, Asian guys don't really like it too I think! Haha! I think only the Japanese guys like it because the Japanese girls can do it so well! Hahahaha!

      You're tsundere without a soft side??! Haha! Then you're just Tsun-tsun!! Haha!

      Thanks for your comment! ^^

      • kirin February 11, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

        Maybe Japanese boys up to early 20s?
        I guess I'm too old to act like this and men around me are too old to prefer moe tasted girls. ^ ^;
        But it was an interesting post, Apple. Moe is a very difficult subject to me. I was unable to write this. Thank you.

      • Apple February 13, 2011 at 12:55 am #

        I enjoyed writing this too!! ^^

  8. laura February 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    this is really cute! I think I am more of the clumsy MOE, but it's because I'm clumsy and short. And when you're short, people like to call you cute. hahahaha.

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 2:56 am #

      Ah true true! When you're short, people tend to find you cute! ^^

      You're clumsy Moe? Haha! I see myself in one of the clumsy and silly Moe points too. When somebody gives me something which I really like, I just can't help it but tell them I'm so happy. Hahaha! But I don't think I do the jumping around part anymore….hohoho

  9. Lindsay February 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    I don't know…this seems kind of…sad to me. Like a woman can't be smart and strong if she wants to attract a man. And seeing how calculated this all is…I mean, developing the perfect pout, acting clumsy, childish. If that's not your true nature, it's going to come off fake and others will notice. And all this to make a man feel strong and protective? Isn't that degrading for the woman? I don't know, a lot of Japanese guys must feel like a girl has to be delicate and weak for him to feel important, but I feel like a lot of guys who want women to be that way must be really insecure. I think I'd rather be the strong opinionated girl who kind of puts guys off rather than attract a bunch of neurotic guys for being who I'm not.

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 3:04 am #

      Different girls for different kinds of guys! I'm sure there are many guys who like girls with strong opinions too. If you much prefer a guy who is attracted to you because of your intelligence and opinions, then you can just ignore the tips which advise you to be silly, or you may attract the guys whom you don't like anyway. Haha!

      Not all these tips are to let guys feel manly and protected over a girl. I think you may be Natural Moe~! ^^ But I have a feeling you wouldn't like me to call you Moe… Haha! I think you are the kind of strong woman that mature men likes. This is from Popteen after all. Tips for teenage girls to attract teenage guys!

      Thanks for reading!! ^^

  10. Cassandra February 11, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    I Really enjoyed this~ thank you!!!

    • Apple February 11, 2011 at 3:04 am #

      I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you!!! ^^

  11. winnie February 11, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Yo Apple,
    Some of them are so funny that i burst into laughter!! Yes, I can see or feel Moe in real life and Animation!!
    Make me nose bleed…Hahahaha..just joking!
    In real life, I saw some of the girl are really Moe!! Look so cute and natural in some of girls. Some really overdo that look so fake. But Moe can be from both sex too and regardless of ages as long as your partner think so. This is what i think.

    • Apple February 13, 2011 at 12:57 am #

      haha Winnie! I think you would know about Moe more than I do! haha!

      And it's so good that you live in Japan! Haha! I'm sure you're surrounded by Moe girls everyday! Haha! And I really agree with what you say about Moe coming from both sexes regardless of age! ^^

  12. Kaoru February 11, 2011 at 4:54 am #

    i think this only applies to japanese guys…dont think western men would think this is moe…
    BUT very interesting article!

    • Apple February 13, 2011 at 12:57 am #

      Thank you for reading! ^^

  13. Julie February 11, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    I don't agree with the "acting dumb" tip. In my opinion ignorant people are very tacky and unattractive. I'm not a male but I think a guy would respect a smart girl more, I dunno.

    I like the one about eating with two hands like a cute hamster. That is moe!

    • Apple February 13, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      Yea! I think the eating with two hands is really moe too! Haha! ^^

    • pinkplasticglitter February 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      I agree! I always hated those girls who act dumb/weak around guys when they actually aren't.
      But the worst is, lots of guys actually ARE attractaed to that kind of girl!
      I guess it does make them feel more manly…and is appealing to their protective side.

      • Apple February 15, 2011 at 2:20 am #

        HAHAHAHA!

        A lot of girls do that, right??? Pretending they are weak and dumb, and guys totally love that! Hahaha! But you know, if you think about it, guys who feel the need to protect a girl is kinda sweet, huh! Haha!

  14. Sui February 11, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Well, there might be some negativity towards these tips…but I think they are 'age-appropriate' for teenagers, especially ones who live in a society where they believe women should be a little more docile (and thus in appearance, cute/girly). There is nothing wrong with being docile if that is who you are, and there is nothing wrong with being strong-willed if that is your personality. These tips should enhance who you already are and if these just aren't you, don't force it.

    Frankly, most girls should only take this advice half-heartedly instead of seriously. There are many different people & many different situations…you have to be adaptive, not just 'cute' in a certain way.

    Oh, and as for silly/clumsy moe…I'm not sure if I agree with the wording choice they used for the article. I don't want girls to think they need to pretend to be dumb in order to get a guy. Well, it could just be poor wording choice of the article…probably meant something along the lines of being so silly that it's cute (kind of like someone who is pure & naive…don't want to say childish since that has too many negative connotations).

    No negativity intended since I actually find the tips interesting because there are girls who really truly behave like this (not faking it) and I find them cute.

    • Apple February 13, 2011 at 1:05 am #

      Ah! I totally agree with your entire first paragraph! Haha!

      Anyway, actually…you know…I was thinking, maybe I mixed some of my personal feelings while translating the Silly Moe part. I really didn't like some of the tips there. (oops! >"<) I think for Silly Moe, it's only really cute if you're naturally like this. If you're not, you should not learn and pretend that you are dumb. It will surely look fake! Though I guess there are some girls who may be able to pull it off really well!

      I don't know if this is true for all Asian guys, but over here in my country (Singapore), the guys have complained before about Singapore girls being too smart for their own good. They think we should learn from other Asian girls to be more girly, gentle and docile.

      But I think this is spoken only by guys who aren't that great anyway. Haha!

      • Sui February 14, 2011 at 5:37 am #

        I think we all get mixed feelings when we read something about being silly/clumsy…it always tends to be negative in our minds. Don't feel bad about it at all, since you are translating/interpreting it for English readers (many terms in Asian language & culture does not translate well into English since English does not have a true equivalent).

        Well, I guess Asian guys are taught to be super competitive so they don't want their girls to out-smart them due to the pressure. But yeah, generally anyone (not just guys) who says things like that are probably not that great…sorry to say.

      • Apple February 15, 2011 at 2:18 am #

        Ah thank you so much for understanding~ ^^ You're so nice! Haha!

        And yea, you are probably right about Asian guys… haha! ^^

  15. Salma February 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing, Kirin.
    In general, I think I'm more like both clumsy and pure "Moe" (I actually have some characteristics of clumsy "Moe", and others of pure "Moe") :))
    There are actually many useful tips here, especially those ones related to showing good feelings to a guy even when he says something that doesn't deserve so and smilling πŸ˜‰

    • kirin February 12, 2011 at 7:35 am #

      It's actually Apple's post so I'm also thanking her. πŸ˜‰
      Even though I'm Japanese I feel it quite difficult to explain MOE properly, and I am far from being MOE myself. lol

  16. Sana February 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    This really made me giggle! I've been so busy I haven't visited in a while.

    I've really missed you both! ^ ^ Glad to be back!

    • kirin February 12, 2011 at 7:32 am #

      Thank you for coming back to read TKE, Sana!
      We are happy to have your comment again!! πŸ˜€

    • Apple February 13, 2011 at 1:07 am #

      Aww! You're so sweet! I missed you too! >"< And I'm glad that article made you giggle! Haha! πŸ™‚

  17. Mary February 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Haha,hey Kirin, do you remember me? I only posted once, and last time it was on the unalcoholic beer article.@ Apple, your post is really intertesting; I knew "moe" was popular, but didn't know fashion magazines were writing articles on it! XD
    Um.. it seems this magazine uses "moe" as the definition were you develop an emotional attachment to something; but I feel if the girl herself didn't carry some of these personality traits before, it's going to look like an act. In internet life, I try to avoid using moe. Not because the term itself is bad, but because it means different things to different people, so what can come as a compliment to one person can come off as an insult to another. >< (I never came across someone who knew the term in real life.:p)

    • Apple February 15, 2011 at 2:10 am #

      Hi Mary!! Thanks for your comment!!! ^^

      Moe means different things to different people? Haha! I guess so! When I was younger and working in a Japanese company, there was one day I decided to give my eyes a rest and wore glasses instead of my usual contact lenses, and my Japanese colleagues started saying, "AH!!! Moe Moe!!!" I totally didn't know how to react then. I didn't know whether it was a good or bad thing myself. Haha!

      • kirin February 15, 2011 at 3:22 am #

        LOL I wouldn't know either how to react to the "Ah! Moe Moe!!" if I were you. πŸ˜€

      • Mary February 15, 2011 at 5:04 am #

        Well, I like to watch anime and read manga, (not every series; I'm picky :p), and in some english forums at least, the most well… vocal voices tend to be male otaku. When I see some of them use the term "moe" it seems like an easy term so they can characterize their favorite female stereotype. (Ah, the librarian girl! Moe! Ah, the Tsundere, moe! Etc…)( Some) don't seem to care about the affectionate/emotional attachment part in a caring way; it's kinda like a way for them to feel more powerful when they see a helpless female. (At least from some discussions I've read, this seems to be the case.) For girls, it seems to be the emotional/ maternal aspects of wanting to care for a character, (or want themselves to be), which is why they like it,imo. I don't want to stereotype though, I know you can't say this for every single male (or female) otaku that like moe, or every (average) girl that likes it either.
        Ah, sorry for the lengthy explanation,lol, I hope I sound understandable. XD

  18. sweetamago February 16, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    i think these are cute!! obviously, people don't need to do the ones that don't suit them ^^. and i don't really think that there are many women who would do most of those "silly moe" points. but overall the other points are actually really cute, i want to be more moe too~~ ww. hope you don't mind if i reblog some of it πŸ˜€

  19. Toru July 5, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    I have A friend who is like the "silly" moe but she dosn't fake it she is really clumsy and kinda dumb.If you ask me I think she's very cute and whenever she gets hurt (which is a lot)All the boy really worry about her.So it can work outside japan since I live in england but that might just be because she's naterally like that.haha I actually have no idea if they would work since I don't know what guys are thinking,maybe I should just like become psychic.

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Haha, you saw the good example there in your life. It's working outside Japan as well. lol

  20. Yingyee Xiong June 19, 2012 at 12:26 am #

    I think overall, you should just be yourself.

    But when I asked my firends that are guys, "What kind of girls do you guys not like?" and they answered "We don't like Stupid girls, loud girls (shy guys), ugly girls, and girls that force herself to be others. Kay last one was mine.)

    So, In all, I think that you shuld just be yourself. I think that when I was myself, guys like me more. lol.

    • Apple June 20, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      that's great! πŸ™‚ it's true that being yourself is the best. ^^

  21. Shelby September 29, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    Wow. I’m naturally Girly Moe. Talk about freaky. I used to be Sweet Lovely Moe when I had super bad self esteem and I was really insecure but now I’m Natural and Girly Moe. This is so weird though. I don’t try to but wow. I guess that’s why everyone really likes me? o~o

Leave a Reply

