I'm NOT travelling to Egypt!

6 Feb

Unlike Singapore, I don’t think I have many readers of this blog in Egypt. But I’d like to announce that I am finally having my vacation and I am travelling to Egypt with my father. This is not for business but for holiday, finally! (Too bad I had to cancel my Kyushu & Osaka trip this winter. Hope I can re-schedule that in the future!)

Too bad~~! I have to cancel my trip again!!
I was going to release this post as “I’m travelling to Egypt!” only a few days before I leave Japan, but I have no reason to travel to a dangerous place. There should be some readers from Egypt and I hope things are not so bad in their area as reported on TV. 😦

Most of Japanese travel agencies including mine cancelled all of their tours to Egypt until the end of Feb. This time I was planning to join a tour with my father, all the money is to be refunded. (What a relief! I normally do not join a group tour but to plan my trip all by myself, arranging air tickets and hotels separately, but this time I think we were lucky. Money should not be refunded if we have purchased air tickets and hotels by ourselves instead of participating in a group tour.)

Anyhow, the funny thing is as if the universe prevents me from travelling, whether it’s inside or outside Japan!! I’ve kept working with almost no holidays since this small onsen trip in June 2010. I should deserve holidays by now…(*~*)

I’m not depressed or shocked so much but I even feel it so funny how many times my will that I want to travel is turned down by the universe especially since summer 2010… Have you ever experienced anything like this? :S

20 Responses to “I'm NOT travelling to Egypt!”

  1. ichigoichielove February 6, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    OH noooooo!!! That's such a shame!! Of course going somewhere dangerous isn't good so it's better to stay at home, and it's good that you got your money refunded… but yes, what a shame – first Miyazaki and now Egypt's a no-go too. 😦 (Although admittedly Miyazaki isn't the best place to visit right now either I guess… ^^;
    Hmm… Yes, I know what you mean about feeling like everything's going against you. (I felt that way yesterday – I really wanted to get Golden Bomber tickets in TKY in May, but they sold out too fast!!! …or rather, I was too slow. I hope there's still a chance to get some though…) I'm beginning to get a bit nervous about my plans for TKY as well to be honest… Gotta remember to breathe deep and just keep going.
    And things have a habit of working out… so hopefully that's the case this time too! I really hope you can take a holiday soon, you deserve it!!

    • kirin February 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you Lisa!
      Watching everyday's news I was even scared to see what's happening in Miyazaki and Egypt. I mean, look, Miyazaki = Miyakonojo area, Egypt = Cairo area…both are exactly the place I was planning to visit! What kind of coincidence is this??

      Sorry about the tickets thing…but don't be nervous. I'll be waiting for you in Tokyo~~^ ^

      • ichigoichielove February 6, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

        It's indeed a rare situation for two places to be like that! On the other hand, you might consider it lucky that it didn't work out – since you got refunds for both trip plans! :/ What if you had already left and things got bad once you were here/there! Not exactly a silver lining I know… ^^;

        Ahh yeah – and the tickets! I forgot to mention I entered three lottery draws to be able to pre-order and didn't get those either. πŸ˜‰ I wouldn't be sooo disappointed, but I have a friend visiting at that time and that would be her only chance to see them, possibly ever. o.O

        Yay, I look forward to meeting you again! ^^ Next time, definitely purikura!!

  2. Salma February 6, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Yes, that's true! You'd better not visit Egypt nowadays, unfortunately!
    Things are not so well these days 😦 Maybe you can travel, but later on.
    I hope everything is gonna be better.
    I even experienced unfortunate moments in which I had to cancel some of my trips too especially when I was a college student.

    • kirin February 6, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Oh I wanted to ask if you are OK. I remember you are from Egypt. I really hope things will be better soon.
      I guess I will go to onsen (hot spring) in Japan instead…haha ^ ^; I miss my holiday too much!

  3. Salma February 6, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Oh yes, things are still complicated around.
    In any case, thank you very much for asking ^_^

  4. Steven Stier February 6, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    It is true. The universe is conspiring against you. You can never travel again. LOL. I have the same problem with making money. It seems the harder I work the less money I earn. I think we should just allow the current of life to carry us in the direction it wants to take us. Fighting just makes us tired. If we relax and just enjoy life, we find peace.

    • kirin February 7, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      The harder we work, the less money we earn. That sounds true.
      Without making use of leverage, we just have to work, work, and work. I'm also struggling. -_-;;

  5. sedonia2 February 6, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Hi Kirin -I'm sorry your trip is cancelled and that Egypt is having such upheaval. There is already so much sorrow int eh world, why does there have to be more?!

    What is happening in the Miyazaki area? I'm assuming this is in Japan?

    I was once going to spend a summer in Greece with the American Field Service program but just before I was to leave, there were terrorist bombs in the Athens airport and so I cancelled my trip.

  6. KylerGu February 7, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    That's unfortuante 😦 poor Kirin… I hope you will get a holiday soon!~

    • kirin February 7, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Thank you. At least I want to go to onsen during this winter season.

  7. blooomzy February 7, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I'm so sorry to hear that D:
    I really hope you can have a holiday soon – you deserve one!

    • kirin February 7, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      Thank you bloomzy. πŸ™‚

  8. cinnamon_girl February 7, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    I'm sorry to hear, that you had to cancel your plan. But I hope, that you'll be able to arrange a new trip and enjoy your freetime! πŸ™‚

    • kirin February 7, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      Thank you! I hope so, too. ^ ^

  9. Emmyj February 7, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Aww.. I'm sorry Kirin.
    I'm sure you'll be able to go somewhere else nice soon. πŸ˜€

    • kirin February 9, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Thank you for your comment, Emmyj~<3 ^ ^

  10. Tinny February 14, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    I'm sorry to hear your vacation got cancelled 😦
    Not traveling since June 2010, that is a too long time to go without a holiday! Don't work too hard and wear yourself out. I hope your next plans work out fine and you get to go someplace fun! ^ ^

    My family was a bit worried over a relative who was on a vacation in Tunis now as things got difficult. My relative did not worry (he has been in stranger places than that), but he had to come home with his group anyway. He said "it wasn't so bad, you could only hear the shooting in the tourist areas, it's not like it was happening right there." O.o We told him he is a strange old man.

    • kirin February 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Thank you Tinny for your comment. ^ ^
      Yes, I think I should go to onsen or something instead. I need to relax~~~! πŸ˜„

      Oh Tunis! I'd tell him he is a strange man, too. (o_0)

Leave a Reply

