Pi-chan disturbs my work

30 Jan

Pi-chan (my dog) lately seems to be frightened by dog clothes.
She didn’t have any problem wearing clothes, but somehow lately she starts shivering when I try to get her dressed. I don’t want to dress her only because that is cute. Air is too dry during winter over here, she always attracts dust and dirt whenever she walks outside because of static electricity. Her white colored legs turn gray because of dust and I don’t feel comfortable enough even if I wash her legs well with soap. I decided to give her a short haircut even though it’s in the middle of winter. I thought it was OK if I got her dressed with her clothes.

Well…I was wrong. She keeps shivering and looks so insecure and uneasy once I get her dressed. She never tries to stay away from me.

Usually this is the position she likes to stay, while I am working on computer.

Now I feel uneasy with her on my knees. ^ ^;

She must be wondering where to place her chin to relax.

I’m sure this should not be comfortable to her…lol

Funny face! lol I was more interested in taking her pictures than continuing my work. This is why I say she is disturbing my work. ^ ^;

She didn’t move for hours.

I feel sorry that I have to dress her no matter how she is frightened. But I have to because she will feel so cold without long fur. First of all, I wonder what was the cause that made her feel scared about wearing clothes. Now I give her a little treat whenever I get her dressed so I should change her fear to excitement against wearing clothes. I know I should give up dressing her clothing for her sake, but for some practical reasons and yes for my sake, it’s difficult.

What do you think about dog clothing? Is it good or bad, practical or superficial?

29 Responses to “Pi-chan disturbs my work”

  1. anonymous January 30, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    As long as you have a good reason to dress her, it's ok Kirin-san.

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:03 am #

      Thank you ^ ^ I think I have good reasons to do that. ^ ^;

  2. winnie January 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    Pi-chan is so cute with or without clothes! All the pictures are so sweet!!
    Maybe she still feel cold? Or Is she trying to producing heat to keep warmer. Especially now is getting colder.
    So sorry I did not have any Pet dog experience.
    My area have many people own dogs.Some of the dog without clothes tip toes while they are walking. They look so cold to me!
    I think dogs wear clothes is good during colder weather.

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your comment. ^ ^
      Lately (I usually write up a post whenever I have time and save for the near future) she shivers less and so I don't have to dress her except for the time I walk her. Maybe during winter I should not get her short cut no matter what reason…

  3. Amelia January 30, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    aww, she is so cute! (and I don't even like dogs … cat-person)

    Dog clothing … partner look for dogs and humans is stupid in my opinion, but otherwise clothing for dogs is okay as long as it does not cost inhuman amounts of money … no pet needs to wear real diamonds

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:17 am #

      Thank you Amelia.
      Some dog clothing is extraordinarily priced such as 9800yen (=over USD100) but that only looks so crazy to me.

  4. Steven Stier January 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    It is not unusual for a dog (or people for that matter) to suddenly become afraid of something. Usually it is because of some traumatic event that causes pain or emotional distress. Just like when you cut their nails and accidentally cut them too short. They will be afraid of getting their nails cut. Perhaps on of her outfits was too tight somewhere and rubbed her skin badly. Or her fur was caught and pulled painfully. Or perhaps another dog made laughed at one outfit and she is emotionally scarred for life . That last one is joke. I am sure that giving her a treat each time you put on an outfit will eventually help her to feel comfortable with her outfits again. Pichan loves you and trusts you. She wants to make you happy! Just like you love her and want to make her happy.

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      LOL at your joke, Steven. I liked that. What a creative imagination you have!!
      I laughed so much, thank you. 😀
      Yeah it's possible she had some traumatic events related to her clothes. I have to help her get rid of that.

  5. sedonia2 January 30, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    She is so cute! I love the picture with chin on the desk. I laughed so much. I wondered if maybe she started shivering because some of the clothing irritates her skin by making her fur rub the wrong way. That could be terribly uncomfortable. Just a thought as to why she shivers. Maybe you could ask her vet. They might know why.

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      Oh good, sedonia, you laughed at the same pictures that made me laugh. ^_^
      Yeah, that's possible. Last year Pi-chan was thinner she had some air between her clothing, but this year she's gained and her clothing is fitting her body line, which could rub her skin…
      Thank you for your idea. That sounds reasonable.

      • sedonia2 January 31, 2011 at 12:28 am #

        The reason I thought that is because when I used to ride horses, we had to be very careful when we put the saddle on and the pad underneath it – we had to be very careful to smooth the pad on in the direction of the horse's hair otherwise it rubs and the horse in in pain.

      • kirin February 2, 2011 at 1:41 am #

        Oh I see. I'm convinced. Thank you!

  6. laura January 30, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I think you're doing a good job giving her treats if you wanna give her incentive to wear her clothes. I used to dress up my cat (i know, it's cruel. cats are just mean, mean, mean :D) because we would cut her long, dirty hair and she would get cold. But she hated it and so I just let her long hair grow in the winter and just brush it extra to keep it clean.

    your doggie is adorable!

    • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      Thank you laura for your comment.
      I have no idea how to take care of cats, because I hear they clean their body by themselves. haha!
      Thanks for sharing. Pi-chan will be so happy to be flattered. ^ ^

  7. Ale January 31, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    If her clothes are fitting her tightly the fabric might be a problem too. Some fabrics are some comfortable than others (just like people). In my opinion, if a dog is being dressed because of the cold the fabric should be warm and comfortable (soft knits work well) and the clothes should fit snugly (otherwise that defeats the purpose). The pictures were so cute by the way >,< !!! I have 2 Chihuahuas and they always rest on my legs too……I wonder if it's a dog thing…..lol

    • kirin February 2, 2011 at 1:43 am #

      Thank you for your comment, Ale.
      Now I feel her clothing might be too tight. I'll try larger one and see.
      I can imagine how cute your little Chihuahuas are!! 😀

  8. Lisa February 1, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    I think often for small dogs, lap dogs like Pi-chan and larger shorthaired dogs it's a necessity to have a coat or something warm to wear in winter. They're not really built for that kind of climate (unlike mine, that was bred specifically for it! ^^).
    Also, like you said, to keep them clean – I've dealt with enough traumatic dog showers to know that's a good idea, haha!!!
    I'm not a big fan of clothes like full outfits and stuff though. ^^;

    Pi-chan is as cute as ever! That's a shame about her being scared though – were you putting on a new item that she'd not had on before, or something? Perhaps it smelled odd/different? It's so hard to tell when there are a lot of variables. :/ Well, I hope she gets over her fear and can stay warm happily. Giving her positive reinforcement (treats :D) should help a long way though! ^^

    • kirin February 2, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Thank you Lisa!
      Actually she is scared of the clothes she was wearing last year. lol
      But while I reply to the comments here, I noticed there was 1 big difference between last year and this year: Pi-chan gained weight! She was very thin last year she had so much space between clothing and her skin. This year, it's kinda "pichi pichi" you know what I mean. ^ ^; I'll try with bigger one.

      Thank you for your comment. ^ ^

      • Lisa February 4, 2011 at 10:01 am #

        Ahh, haha!! Maybe that's part of the trouble then. I certainly hope it's something as easily fixed as that. Good luck! 🙂

  9. Salma February 2, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Nothing wrong at all in clothing pets in general. It's a sort of change for the pet itself. Pi-chan may feel unaccustomed to the piece of clothing you put on her, but gradually she will feel used to it and like it too.
    Maybe the black color of the clothing annoys her.

    • kirin February 4, 2011 at 11:17 am #

      I don't think it's a problem of color, because she is scared of any kind of clothing she has now. 😦

      • Salma February 4, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

        Aha, I see.
        Well, what about making Pi-chan see other dogs wearing clothing in general?
        In case she is scared in general of clothing, she may need to feel that the matter of clothing is something ordinary even in other dogs but not dedicated to her only.

      • Salma February 4, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

        It's just a suggestion to help 🙂

      • kirin February 5, 2011 at 6:24 am #

        Thank you Salma.
        It's so nice of you to think of suggestion for me. She should have seen other dogs' wearing clothing but I will try to be patient. I believe one day she will finally learn it's nothing scary to be dressed. At the same time, this is only the problem during winter season. She doesn't have to be dressed in all the other 3 seasons. ^ ^

  10. blooomzy February 7, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Oh no, it always upsets me when animals are sad D:
    I am sure she is ok, but maybe it makes her feel a little uncomfortable sometimes, or it did in the past.
    Either way she seems very happy to be with you and it calms her, so that's good.

    • kirin February 7, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Thank you bloomzy. Yeah, it's possible she had some uncomfortable memory with clothing in the past.
      Now I dress her before walking and undress her after walk. I teach her dressing is related to walking (something fun). ^ ^;

  11. Sui February 14, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Awwwwww Pi-Chan is so cute! So adorable! Little face is so sweet! Dog clothes… in the west there are people who are quite against it. I think for men who own Dogs its more a macho thing.
    Dogs can withstand cold more than us humans but if it is extremely cold a Dog coat doesn’t do harm. I think it also depends how much exercise Pi-Chan does. If you walk and run Pi-Chan, a coat might be a little too hot but a brisk walk a Coat might be required.
    Kirin I think its a personal thing if you want to and Pi-Chan likes it then it is okay 😉
    I have a miniature Dachshund and he will not move with a coat on hahaha 😆 such a shame I want to buy many cute outfits for him!

  12. Jack December 19, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Dogs are animals. Not people. They neither need nor like to wear clothes. In Japan especially people seem to be obsessed with anthropomorphic ideas about dogs. In Tokyo once I even saw a poodle once in shoes desperately trying to stand up. all the people watching this unfortunate creature were laughing and saying how KWAIIIII it was. Read the book INSIDE OF A DOG for concrete research backing up what I say about dogs and clothes.
    Jack

    • kirin December 19, 2011 at 2:50 am #

      Thank you for your opinion.
      I wouldn't dress my dog for my sake, but when I do, I do it because she shivers in the cold winter walk. In this picture you can see her dressed in dog clothing because I asked her groomer to cut her fur too short by mistake. It was too short for the season. Otherwise, I normally don't dress her.

Leave a Reply

