Kawaii Aussie Models

26 Jan

Kawaii Aussie Models 1/2
25/SEP/2010

4 top models selected from one of the top-rated TV shows in Australia appeared at NHK to collaborate with Tokyo Kawaii TV. The 4 models are Sophie, Amanda, Kelsey, and Jessica who went through 8-week competition. They are assigned to dress Tokyo Kawaii fashion properly as a model. Tokyo Kawaii TV teaches them genuine kawaii fashion.

Jessica is tallest. She challenges to get dressed in Japanese school uniform, advised by Hiromi Yamakawa. They visited conomi in Harajuku where over 4000 kinds of school uniform items are available since they opened in 2008. There are many foreign customers. Japanese anime and manga have spread kawaii Japanese school uniform fashion in the world. Yamakawa-san is a charismatic sales assistant in this store. “If you wear the perfect size, that’ll make you look like an office worker. To add a cardigan on, then you look like a nurse. “Boyfriend size that looks looser to your body is the best to make you look like a high school girl,” she advises.

Kelsey’s challenge is lolita fashion with Misako Aoki as an advisor. Misako Aoki has been a top model of lolita fashion for over 8 years. She was also nominated as a kawaii ambassador by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and has visited 10 countries to spread lolita culture in the world. She receives fan letters from around the world. She has another job as a nurse. She works 3 days a week as a nurse to help bathe people who need it. She says she wants to continue the work as a lifework.

Kelsey and Misako came to Baby The Stars Shine Bright in Daikanyama. This store has selling lolita fashion for over 15 years. A couple of hundreds of Rococo tasted dresses are available. Kelsey seems to be too tall to wear the skit in a lolita way. Naturally, lolita girls are not supposed to expose their skin. Sexiness is not needed for lolita girls. Kelsey with adult cool face looks like a big baby in lolita fashion.

Amanda’s challenge is Shibuya gyaru fashion, advised by Yunkoro. Yunkoro is a popular gyaru dokumo. She shares in her blog how to makeup with mori (overloaded) style. Amanda doesn’t wear makeup often. She likes simple style. But look how she can change with bling-bling accessory, nails, false lashes, circle lenses and a blond wig! She is totally transformed as a gyaru!

Harajuku Fairy-kei fashion is made from pastel colored clothing, accessories of sweets motif, panier and character. Sophie’s challenge is fairy-kei fashion, advised by Yuu Kimura, a famous dokumo from Harajuku street-kei fashion. They went shopping at a shop that Yuu-chan frequents. Yuu-chan realized Japanese and western people have different body shape. In Japan we like to wear some paniers in layers, but this doesn’t work for western people. That’ll make their hips exaggerate. 2 hours later, Yuu-chan made Sophie a fairy girl successfully.

50 students from a fashion academy in Tokyo are to judge who is well dressed in Japanese kawaii fashion.

Kawaii Aussie Models 2/2
02/OCT/2010

Summary of above story continues till around 09:53 of the movie.

Adrien, a French man who once was working in Kabukicho, Shinjuku as a host fell in love with Japanese host fashion and that was the reason he became a host. He is now trying to establish his own men’s host suit brand with his ex-coworkers. Mr. Ikki and Beni-chan are invited to a host club where most fashionable hosts gather. They check out host fashion there. Yui-san, prince-kei even wears beautiful nails. Ken-san, classic host style, wears nice suit and Italian tie. Casual style is increasing among hosts. They like to use small items to encourage conversations with their customers. Which host spends most for his clothing and accessories? Ken-san’s watch is 1 million yen, and he spends 1.4 million yen for total coordination!! Lime-san’s coordination is least expensive but still 700,000yen in total and 200,000yen for the necklace!

Mori-hair style boom is also supported by hosts. They drop at a mori hair salon before they come to work at host club. The mori-hair stylist says they have to always study what’s new because hair trends change rapidly.
Top 3 host hair styles:

No.3 all back mori
No.2 all front mori (small face effect)
No.1 slant-front mori (70% of hosts prefer)

Now what’s going on in Akihabara (abbreviated as “Akiba”)? “Samurai Girl” is a photo book of Akiba otaku pop that was published in Italy and sold 1.2 million copies. People on the photo book are fashionable and toned Japanese girls that changed the notion that “otaku = uncool”. Mr. Ikki and Beni-chan visit Julie-san, otaku-pop photographer. According to her, there are some techniques to allow otaku appear kawaii.

rule 1: Do not cosplay with ordinary cosplay outfits. Select basic items (must be cutting edge) from Shibuya/Harajuku.
rule2: Choose anime-inspired typical cosplay items in vivid color for accessories and details.
rule3: Choose Akiba for shootings. It’s good to have game stores or figure stores for the back ground.

Mr. Ikki and Beni-chan also try to take otaku-pop photos.

So what has become of the beautiful Aussie models? How did they change?
Misako tells Kelsey that lolita should not walk like a fashion model. Lolita should not be cool.

Which model is dressed in Tokyo fashion best?
1st: Amanda – gyaru fashion
2nd: Jessica – Japanese school uniform style
3rd: Sophie – fairy fashion
4th: Kelsey – lolita fashion

======
Kirin’s opinion:
I think the result reflects personal taste of all those school students. They are at the same age and similar interests. Gyaru fashion is already familiar to them. They were high school students only a few years ago, thus school uniform fashion is also very familiar. I personally liked Sophie and I totally think Kelsey and Misako did a great job. Kelsey even tried to walk like a lolita.
It’s convincing how gyaru fashion is well-received. Amanda definitely changed prettier in gyaru fashion!
What did you think?
======
Disclaimer: Tokyo Kawaii TV is a TV program owned and broadcasted by NHK Japan, and has nothing to do with this blog.

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

15 Responses to “Kawaii Aussie Models”

  1. Emily January 26, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I thought the lolita girl was the best one πŸ˜€ The school girl could have done a lot more with her accessories but I loved all the looks πŸ˜€ I love Tokoyo Kawaii TV!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks for sharing this episode πŸ˜€ I love seeing how girls in your country like to express themselves creatively through fashion and it really sparks my creativity as well πŸ˜€ I recently painted some shirts I got at the thrift store with fabric paint and some cute stamps I found at the dollar store. I love creating my own looks with found items since being kawaii doesn't have to be expensive πŸ˜€ I was talking to a girl in a Chinese restaurant about this recently and I recommended your blog for ideas πŸ˜€ She was admiring my shoes that had Hello Kitty shoe lace charms and I used a fabric marker to paint them purple πŸ˜€ You just can't be afraid to be more creative and spend more time on your look πŸ™‚

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Hi Emily,
      Thank you for recommending TKE blog to the girl!
      As long as we have audience, we can continue this. ^ ^

  2. Lelielle January 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    I'm 180 cm and not model sizes so it's hard to find clothes that fit right even in Canada, I think a lot of Japanese styles are made for shorter girls/women with small hips/butt so it can be a bit strange on a tall gaijin especially sweet lolita style. I think you need to look more for clothing types which are less cutesy if you are tall like me, or only wear a few cute accessories. I think the lolita stylist would have done better to dress the model in gothic aristocrat style with fewer accessories. Gyaru style works best with westerners because it's similar to some styles here so I can see why it won, same with the uniform styling.

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      I'm totally a typical short Japanese girl, but not so thin as to fit into small sizes. ^ ^;

  3. ベーァ January 26, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Thank you so much!!
    I love when you post videos! πŸ˜€

    Gyaru is what inspired me to take care of myself ^__^ So I really think it makes me look better (even if I don't look gyaru actually haha! )

    I have a question: that French guy seemed to be comfortable speaking japanese, but still, there are subtitles! And I noticed that every time they interview a foreigner, there are subtitles even if their japanese seems good. Why? Is it really hard for japanese people to understand foreigners speak japanese? Are we THAT bad?? πŸ˜€

    (ps: and I put a link to your blog because I love it! :D)

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      Interesting question. Japanese TV often likes to have subtitles even if native Japanese speakers speak something. I don't know but we are so used to watching that. Listening and watching the text at the same time, we understand what's spoken better and when it's something fun, it's more fun to see it in text as well at the same time. ^ ^

      Thank you for linking the TKE banner~~<3 πŸ˜€

  4. natalia January 26, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    so cute! I really liked this episode it made me cry at the end it was all so kawaii!

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      I felt very warm at the end, watching Aussie models and Japanese girls hugging and thanking each other. It's so lovely!! Good episode! ^ ^

  5. Lindsay January 27, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    I loved this episode! Although, as a foreign girl with a strong interest in Japanese fashion, I really felt the frustrations of the models, especially Sophie and Kelsey. Trying on Japanese fashions is hard when you're a lot taller than the average Japanese girl- and a lot bigger in some places too. Sticking out in my mind is the part where Sophie goes to the store with Yuu, who initially wants her to wear three skirts. This is what Yuu is used to wearing, but when Sophie wears it, it looks bulky, so Yuu pares it down to one skirt. I really felt bad because I've had the same problems that Sophie has wearing Japanese clothing, and on top of that, I'm also much more "pon-kyuu-pon" than she is! I also have the height and "mature face" problem that Sophie has. So I gave up on trying to imitate Japanese fashion, which I've realized is better suited to Japanese bodies. Instead, I've focused on western clothes and styles that match my tastes, and I've become a lot more comfortable after doing so. However, I will always remember how much Japanese magazines and styles really opened me up to finding my own interest in fashion. I might never be a kawaii girl, but I can be a cute one. πŸ™‚

    • kirin January 29, 2011 at 5:22 am #

      I think it's very nice you have Bon-Kyu-Bon curvey womanly body line with adult face. You can be such a sexy woman. I am Japanese but my butt is bigger and I hate to wear fluffy and bulky skirt that makes my butt look even bigger. >_<;;

  6. funfun February 1, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Call me crazy, but some of those styles looked better on those gaijin models than japanese girls!

  7. Nadine February 19, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Thank you for posting!! On the lolita community we had seen the Australia Next Top Model Version but we never saw the Tokyo Kawaii Edition http://community.livejournal.com/egl/16239430.htm

    Misako is such a dear idol to us lolita girls Im sad she didn't win!

    • kirin February 20, 2011 at 11:18 am #

      I think she did a great job, even though she didn't win. πŸ˜€

  8. namie March 7, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Awh! Poor Misako! I love her so much! she is my Lolita hero~ I think her coordinate was lovely and I was sad to see her cry 😦
    She should know that even though she lost, she is still a huge inspiration to lolitas all over the world!

    • kirin March 8, 2011 at 2:43 am #

      I think she did a wonderful job and everyone would agree with that. She is wonderful. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

