Get free samples at Lcafe

24 Jan

Lcafe
nearest train station: Shibuya
address: 15-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya-ku (Parco Part1 B1F)
phone: 03-5456-6397
open: 10:00am – 11:30pm
close: When Parco Part1 closes

I chose Lcafe for a business meeting the other day.
Lcafe has an unique system as I wrote a post before.

It’s spacious, comfy and not so noisy.

I don’t like basement, but a table like this will be good for business meeting.

1L coin for a drink. For 2 people, we got 2L coins. (Well, to be exact, I got them.) ^ ^; They were given when our drinks were served. But it’s not nice no one in the cafe explained about the coins. As I knew about Lcafe, I knew what those coins were. (I was also not nice I didn’t explain that to the man I was meeting then, haha! Well, I could have but I didn’t think he was interested in some cosmetic samples after all…)

There was a step by step of how-to-register guide at each table. I stayed there alone after we finished meeting, in order to make a phone call to FlutterScape. I sometimes visit their office to drop off the goods, especially when I have to come to Shibuya for other reasons. I would have ignored the Lcoins if I had left with him, but as I stayed there, I decided to register for Lcafe membership.

It started from QR code. Japanese cell phones can read the code, and once my cell phone read it, I was required to send them an empty email. Then I received their email asking for my registration and answers to several questions (questionnaire). Obviously this is the way they do market research. Interesting! 🙂

I was able to gain 1L coin by registration. At a cashier I showed this screen of my cell phone, 2L coins, and I was allowed to select samples that deserved 3L coins. I could also save the coins for next time. But I used up 3L coins then.

So what kind of samples were available then?
A small curry stick for 1L coin. Hmm… not my taste.

A set of 2 sample packs of cleansing cream was for 1L coin.

Bihada Ichizoku facial pack was for 5L coins! (Not 1L coin, as in the video!)

Instant Onsen (a set of 8 bath bombs) was for 1L coin. I liked that. 🙂

So these are all I got from 3L coins!! 😀 Let’s see what else they can offer next time! They said a lunch earns 3L coins. It seems they’ll email me questionnaires once in a while and I will receive 1L coin every time I send back my answer. How clever the system is! They will make us feel like coming back over and over again, while we keep contributing to their market research. But it all depends on how samples are attractive and how their food is good. :p

It was in the middle of winter sale. Not to speak of lucky grab bags, I had no chance of shopping at winter sales. I’ve been pretty busy these days.

I may want to try their lunch next time. Do you have a sample cafe or any unique cafes in your area?

12 Responses to “Get free samples at Lcafe”

  1. shanjae January 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Wow… what a clever system indeed! Thanks a lot for introducing this. I'm definitely gonna check out this cafe when I visit Tokyo! Just wondering, is it necessary to register for membership in order to utilize the Lcoins?

    • kirin January 25, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      No, the registration is optional. It's only that when we register, we can get 1L coin from that and in the future by answering their questionnaire, we can receive more L coins, I guess.
      So in this case, if I didn't register for my membership, I just received 2L coins and exchanged for goods that are equal to 2L coins. ^ _ ^

  2. Sparklewolfie January 25, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    Sample cafe sounds so cool!! I wish we had something like that here. It would be a good way to eat and try new products before buying!

    • kirin January 25, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Yeah. I want more different samples, although they said samples are frequently changed. ^ ^;

  3. yvonne January 26, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    uhm…i think the idea of getting customer to come back! very smart of the company!
    is it easy to find? once u get off shibuya eki?

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Hi yvonne.

      Well, actually you need to walk a little bit from the train station. It's farther than Marui city, it's in Parco and in the first basement level. But the entrance is not dark. You can approach from outside stairs. 🙂

  4. Lisa January 26, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Ohhh yes, I remember reading/watching about this! ^^
    It's really clever – I'd definitely love to check it out sometime! The fact that you get "instant" rewards is really good. I'm going to be posting about a restaurant with…well…not quite the same system, but it does have a "coin" reward system anyway. 😉
    It's from when I was in Tokyo, I'm already overdue on posting about it!! o.O

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      Right! I always think, "Damn, I don't want this point-card, discount it NOW!"
      Yes, the place is quite close to where we met in Tokyo! 😀

  5. Mekahel January 27, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    This is a bad combo for me, eating food to earn coins which you can redeem for stuff. I already eat enough as it is! lol Very cool idea though. My Things To Do In Tokyo list is getting incredibly long thanks to your blog, Kirin!

    • kirin January 29, 2011 at 5:13 am #

      Haha, I'm quite interested in what kind of things you listed up as things to do in Tokyo. ^ ^;

      • Mekahel January 30, 2011 at 3:02 am #

        It's not really long and it's only in my head. Just a mental collection of things that I've Googled about after reading about them here or from a Japanese drama. I have come across lots of things from watching Japanese dramas since I'm incredibly addicted to them! 😀 lol

      • kirin January 31, 2011 at 12:57 am #

        How interesting!
        Japanese dramas suggest things to do in Japan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

