Rakeru – A happy dreamworld for Omu-Rice~

16 Jan

(It’s Apple’s post continuing with her lovely day out in Jiyugaoka…)

My friend brought me to Rakeru.

Rakeru is a オムライス(omu raisu = omu rice/omelette rice) specialty restaurant. Whoever can dislike Omu-rice? I can’t!!! Haha!

I wondered why the restaurant’s name was Rakeru. I went to their website and checked it out. Rakeru is actually a name of a beautiful Greek Goddess who brings happiness to all. In English, it is written as Rachel. I had no idea that there was a Greek goddess by that name though… But it doesn’t matter! The point is, Rakeru serves really delicious Omurice!!!!

The image of the Rakeru restaurant is based on an English lakeside country house. It’s cozy and it will warm your heart! ^^ They use a lot of nice fabric and wood to create this toasty, homely atmosphere.


My friend and I sat in this absolutely gorgeous area.


Look at the gorgeous crockery they use! The plates and bowls all have images of  Alice-in-Wonderland and Peter-Rabbit~♥ This is a place all ladies would surely love. ^^


Everything is so beautifully done. ^^


Check out the colourful menu. I really like it! Haha!


You can add some money to make it a really delicious set!


I highly recommend you to try the collagen corn soup. It’s really very good!!

Oh the yums~!

You may notice that on the menu, the word 光 is written next to some of the Omu-rice. For these omu-rice, Rakeru uses their special fresh eggs which are enriched with essential minerals and are highly nutritious! These high-quality eggs are used to make your omelette thick and fluffy~


I ordered this. ^^

I’m sorry, it’s too long ago, so I cannot remember what I ordered. -_-” I think it’s a tomato-based Omu-rice. There is also curry fried rice wrapped in Omelette. That is supposedly Rakeru’s proud creation. So if you like curry rice, do try it!

Anyway, as you can see, besides having a rather small portion of Omu-Rice (seriously, I think it’s not enough! Haha!), there is also a nice garden salad and baked potato on its side. Both of these are reeaaally good. Considering that I’m not a fan of potatoes, this baked potato was so well done to me. It preserves a bit of a delightful sweet crunch which I prefer to having really overdone mushy ones.

And I absolutely have to tell you this.

Notice I didn’t mention about the bread in the corner?

This is because it deserves an introduction of its own.


Wipe away your drool.

Omg, can you see it? It’s absolutely delicious! I under-estimated it! My friend did tell me that the bread is really really really delicious, and she wasn’t exaggerating! I was soooo pleased with the bread. It’s kind of sinful with the melted butter. Gawd. How many calories are in this Rakeru-pan? No idea, and who cares now?! This is worth every calorie!

The softness and the sweet fragrance of this hot freshly baked Rakeru bread is something you will never forget! Pulling it open like this, you will be awed by the beautiful way the fibres of the bread gently seperate, revealing the melted butter within. Absolutely divine taste and texture.

Need I say more? Or are you already convinced? ^^


You know how seriously popular it is when you can even buy it home~ Pop it into the microwave oven or toaster oven for an instant taste of heaven. ^^

Anyway, I think this is a lovely place for couples, for families and for girls’ day out together~ ^^ You should try it! They have many branches around Tokyo, and even in other parts of Japan.

So be sure to try out Rakeru when you’re in Japan! ^^

26 Responses to “Rakeru – A happy dreamworld for Omu-Rice~”

  1. Mutsumi January 16, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Oh my…! "Wipe away your drool" was a good choice! I almost died while reading this!! Everything looks SO delicious!! I'll definitely search this restaurant next time in Japan…oh my god…♥

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:32 am #

      It's indeed delicious, and the ambience was so good! I was at the Jiyugaoka branch. 🙂 Thanks for reading!!!! ^^

  2. kirin January 16, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Thank you Apple!
    It must have been a while since I went to Rakeru restaurant last time.
    Reading this post made me feel like visiting there again soon!! 🙂 yum yum!!

    • barbara January 17, 2011 at 1:21 am #

      yes… Rakeru is AWESOME… but we didn't eat there on our recent trip. We have visited the one in Shinjuku and the one in Kyoto. I did not know the story behind the name as I can not read Japanese, so thank you!

      • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:34 am #

        @barbara – Aww…definitely try it in your next trip!!!!! ^^ The collagen corn soup tasted so good too! You should try it!!!

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:33 am #

      hehe! Yes go go! I only realised we used to have Rakeru in Singapore too…however, it has closed down. Sigh. It wasn't a restaurant though. Just a food stall in a foodcourt. Strange. haha! But still, I wonder if they sold the Rakeru pan there… I miss it!

  3. aaninoue8 January 16, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    woww..love ur post!!
    definitely wanna try that rakeru-pan when im in japan nx time!!
    thanks for the info!!

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:35 am #

      thanks for reading! ^^ Go try it next time and tell me how you like it! ^^

  4. winnie January 16, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Hi Apple,

    We love omu- rice!!
    As for me, I love Baked Potatoes especially with the Skin on!! It is Super nice!!
    We will go to this place on one of these days.
    Thank you for Sharing!!

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:36 am #

      Hi Winnie!

      This is a wonderful place to go with your family. It's not too far from your place too. Anyway, there's another branch in Shibuya/ Shinjuku I think. But definitely go explore Jiyugaoka with your family on a weekend. I know you don't like crowds. Jiyugaoka is a nice, peaceful place. 🙂

      The baked potato was sweet and crunchy!! Yummy!

  5. .•:*.•. ][ εïзSεnυяiţa Mόoηaεïз][.•:*.•. January 16, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    aww that looks good

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:36 am #

      It IS good! Haha! Thanks for reading! ^^

  6. sukipooki January 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    ommmmgg rakeru!!! I love this restuarant! I stayed in a hotel in Shinjuku that had a Rakeru near it and I went to eat there tons of times, I miss the food now!

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:37 am #

      Oh lucky you! Staying so near to Rakeru! Haha! ^^ Thanks for reading and commenting! ^^

  7. sedonia2 January 17, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    lol. Kirin – you're so funny – wipe away your drool. I'm laughing so hard! That food does look delicious. Hugs

    • kirin January 17, 2011 at 3:07 am #

      Actually it was Apple. ^__^
      I'm glad you enjoyed her post.

    • Apple January 17, 2011 at 4:37 am #

      Haha! Thanks for reading!! ^^

  8. Lore January 17, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    jajajj I love the way in what you describe this place!! It looks like If I have to go to this restaurant almost once in life! XD
    The menu looks delicious and the crockery is really cute, I love Alice in wonderland, all its mechan is so girly and has this english look so cool.

    • Apple January 21, 2011 at 1:44 am #

      Then you would absolutely love this place! ^^ I love Alice in Wonderland too~ ^^

  9. Lisa January 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Wow, that looks soooo good!!! Especially the bread, like you said! I love omurice, but it's been a long time since I've had it. I'll have to make the effort to eat it sometime soon. And definitely have to check out Rakeru sometime as well, thanks!

    • Apple January 21, 2011 at 1:45 am #

      Definitely check this place out! ^^ Thank you so much for reading~ ^^

  10. Nicole February 17, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I really love their omurices!!! Yummy ^^

  11. Cindy August 22, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I just discovered tokyokawaii while searching for something on Google. I'll be going to Tokyo next month and I think Rakeru in Jiyugaoka is worth a visit! It's so pretty! Could I just ask if the menu is in Japanese and English or just Japanese?
    The reason I asked is because I don't eat meat and wonder if there are any non-meat omu rice. Else…I can always just have the desserts! Looks amazing!!! ^-^

    Thank you!

    • kirin August 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      Rakeru has many branch restaurants, so it's not always that you have to come over to Jiyugaoka by transferring trains from JR stations. 😉

      I wonder if they had an English menu…no, I don't think so.
      The menu comes with picture, so why don't you ask "No meat?" (I think people will understand such plain English. The point is short sentence and make it easy. ) Or you can say "watashi wa oniku tabemasen" (I don't eat meat) or just "oniku dame" (meat NO!). ^ ^

      Hope you enjoy! ^ ^

  12. Cindy August 23, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    Hi Kirin!

    Thank you for your reply! I appreciate it and the Japanese phrase really helps! Thanks so much!
    I plan to visit Jiyugaoka anyway cos I really enjoy strolling and browsing among the many cute shops!
    Looking forward to my Tokyo vacation! ^-^

    • kirin August 24, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      Oh, if you come to Jiyugaoka, there are many small shops here and there. But the area is not crowded like Shibuya or Shinjuku, so I'm sure you can enjoy strolling there. I often go there because it's the closest Tokyo from my place (5 minutes by train.) ^ ^

Leave a Reply

