Zakka shopping in Jiyugaoka

10 Jan

(It’s a post from Apple)…sorry I forgot to mention it -by Kirin

I really really like 雑貨(zakka).

Do you know what is zakka? According to wiki, it is everything and anything that improves your home, life and appearance.

But to me, zakka is more than that. It’s the little things that add colour and charm to the otherwise everyday routine and ordinary life. I especially appreciate handmade zakka. Zakka can make me feel very happy inside!

Zakka that I am particularly interested in is room zakka. I squeal over pretty and cute drawers, photoframes, clocks, lamps, vases, stools, toys, bedsheets, pillows, small tables, mirrors, 2-seaters and so on. I really like to see all these inspiring room furniture and imagine how they would look in my room.

I also like zakka that can be found in the kitchen! For example, colourful chopsticks, cute spoons and forks, pretty bento boxes, dainty plates and bowls, charming glasses and cups…

Zakka is better seen than described I suppose. Haha!

Well, anyway, I had a stroll with my long-time Japanese friend one fine summer day in one of the places in Tokyo with many zakka shops – Jiyugaoka.

Let me share with you some pictures I took while in Jiyugaoka~ ^^

So, did you see anything that you like?

Besides being a place for zakka shopping, Jiyugaoka also has many pretty cafes and is famous for having many sweets cafes! You can get to eat famous sweets there. Do you know Sweets Forest? 🙂

Anyway, I will introduce a really nice restaurant in Jiyugaoka that my friend brought me to in another post. ^^

If you like zakka like me, I will recommend you to come to Jiyugaoka. Other places I like to go zakka shopping in are Shimokitazawa, Koenji and Shibuya. You can find many interesting shops there. I particularly like to go to Village Vanguard. ^^ And also, even in Loft, you can find some nice zakka. 😀

And oh yes! I almost forgot! I want to share with you what I bought that day!


It’s a Suzie Zoo calculator! And look at the plastic bag!!!! Isn’t it adorable!!!! It’s so clever! I felt so happy when I saw it.

My friend also gave me presents which can be called zakka too~ ^^

Kirin had also given me a present when we met. It’s a slim beautiful pouch with a cute pig in the middle! I classify it as zakka too. I use it everyday now for putting my lip balm. ^^ I will show you a picture when I have the chance. 🙂

So, do you like zakka? How about sharing some of your favourite zakka? 🙂

13 Responses to “Zakka shopping in Jiyugaoka”

  1. Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    They say "the Japanese have a word for everything" and it's soo true! What a good word, zakka. I know exactly what you're talking about. ^^ I wonder if you have seen these books before, I think you would like them: http://www.paumes.com/book/book.html
    When I have more pocket money I think I'll get one. They're photos of inside the homes of stylish people in places like London and Paris and they look FULL of zakka! 😀
    You must like etsy too right? There's heaps of cute handmade stuff on there! ^^

    • kirin January 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      I love to see interior designs and decorations of those books!

    • Apple January 11, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

      oh wow!!! Thanks for the link! I didn't know there were so many of them! I had read 3 of them though. 😀 2 of them I've read were about some designers in Paris, where they showed their rooms and teach some handmade stuff, and the other one is making some amazing food with children. I love them all! I wish I can buy them too but they're a little expensive. I think I will get one eventually, but it's hard to make up my mind on just ONE. haha!

      And yes, I do like etsy! ^^ My friend and I handmake stationery too! He's very good at making books. Love his books to death! They are adorable!

  2. Fran January 10, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    aha…soo cute! It looks like that “frog shop”, only sells things with a frog character,if so that’s pretty neat. Thanks for introducing Jiyugaoka, I’ve never been there before so it’s nice to see what other places are like that aren’t as well-known for visiting tourists like me!

    • kirin January 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      There are many zakka shops, cafe, small shops and etc. in Jiyugaoka. I like Jiyugaoka, too. It's very close from my station. There are some dog goods shops I visit once in a while to buy things for my dog. ^ ^

    • Apple January 11, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you for reading this! Yes, the whole shop sells only frogs items. Hahaha! I don't like frogs very much unfortunately, if not, I would be crazy about this shop! Haha!

  3. Lore January 11, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    All the things are so beautiful, I love the rilakkuma doll of the picture!! 😄

    • kirin January 11, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      I have the same one but without the outfit at home, hehe! ^ ^ That one with outfit is cuter~<3

    • Apple January 11, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Yay to another Rilakkuma lover! ^^

  4. Marc Azada July 12, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Aww so cute! I really like the calculator. It's so different. I have never seen anything like that before.

  5. boot camp marketing February 1, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    nice!this is the kind of blog i love! keep it up and i hope you will create again!!

  6. Rick Kramet March 26, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    Hi Apple,

    Is it a great idea to add Zakka in the bathroom?

Leave a Reply

