J.S Burgers Cafe

4 Jan

J.S Burgers Cafe, Shibuya
address: 1-20-17 1F Jinnan, Shibuya-ku
phone: 03-6415-2017
open: 11:30am – 11:00pm (Mon.-Sat.) 11:00am – 10:30pm (Sun. & National Holiday)

I’m not a big fan of burger and chips. But I don’t dislike them. I’ve wanted to try the one from non of the popular fast food chains such as McDonald’s, Lotteria, Fast Kitchen, Mos burger, Freshness burger and so on.

But I have missed the chance for basically 2 reasons:
1) I don’t feel like spending more than 1000yen or even more than 1500yen for a meal of a burger, chips and soda.
2) The burgers from these burger restaurants are usually too big for me to eat up.
But this day I was somehow very hungry at 5pm. It was a great chance to try an American burger. Lucky enough, I encountered J.S burger cafe while I was walking in Shibuya.

It was 5pm. There were only 2 other customers in the cafe.

So I took some pictures. In crowded restaurants, I’d refrain from taking pictures because that’s considered very annoying for most of Japanese people.

Avocado burger regular size with chips and ginger ale was 1280yen. I was able to eat it up because I was very hungry. The burger was not bad, but it was not something that changed my 2 thoughts in above dynamically. ^ ^; But I wouldn’t mind trying another burger cafe some time again in the future, if only I am very hungry.

Do you know any good burger restaurants in Japan or in your country that you can recommend to the rest of the TKE readers?

26 Responses to “J.S Burgers Cafe”

  1. Lore January 4, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    When I go to a burguer I only choose between Mc Donald or Burguer king for two reasons:
    1) I go to this places when I don't want to wait for my food and they are fast.
    2) In many other places the burguers are too oily for me
    3) They use to have some economic menu wich is smaller than the other menu but are the size perfect for me and I don't expend much money 😉

    • kirin January 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      I don't eat burger so often but if I go, I will choose Mc Donald's or Mos burger, depending on my mood. To me that's enough. It's very unlikely that I feel like paying over 1000yen for a burger meal, while I wouldn't mind paying the same amount for a bowl of ramen. lol

  2. Fran January 4, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Yum! Is that place a franchise?? I don’t remember seeing it. I remember when I was in Japan, we tried all sorts of burgers! MOS Burger was interesting, but most of all Lotteria was our favorite!

    Compared to burgers here in NZ, the standard Japanese burgers were a lot smaller.. I found they were the perfect size for me but for men, they would probably not be filling enough as my friend was still hungry afterwards lol!

    I’ve seen gourmet burgers here in NZ, (which I’ve also seen in the US) that are bigger than my face! They almost take up an entire plate by itself,and it’s so hard to eat lol..

    • kirin January 4, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Yes, the restaurant is a franchise. They have a pan cake cafe too. http://journal-cafe.jp/
      I agree. Japanese burgers must be too small for men. They'll need 2 burgers at a time. ^ ^;

  3. sedonia2 January 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    You know, I've eaten burgers in other countries, i.e. Italy and Israel and they tasted strange. I don't know why. Truthfully, if you want to eat a good burger that will make you think, wow! you need to eat one that's been made from Black Angus beef and chargrilled. For some reason that's the only way it comes out just right. There's only one restaurant I've ever eaten in that makes the best burgers and it's not a chain. Here in West Palm Beach, Florida, we have an old diner from the 1950s called Howley's and they make the best burger and the best food in the whole area. That's the place I would recommend if anyone is ever in Florida. Hugs!

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 5:47 am #

      Thank you for telling me that, Sedonia.
      I think the best thing is to try American burger in the U.S at half a price or twice as big as Japanese one. haha! ^ ^;

  4. Patty January 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I don't eat alot of burgers anymore, but this place looks like a normal eatery you find in the States. I would recommend The Counter, if anyone were to visit the US, especially on the West Coast (i.e. California/Oregon). In Texas, there's a place called BRC they have really good lamb burger. It looks like a normal bar but it has great food.

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 5:49 am #

      Thank you Patty.
      There must be many nice burger restaurants in the U.S, and I can imagine they are very big! ^ ^

  5. Apple January 4, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    i've been in love with McBistro burger over here in Singapore McDonald's recently. I'm usually not a McDonald's burger fan. But this one really got me! The chicken is so juicy and yummy. Does Japan have McBistro burger too? ^^

    Anyway, your burger looks great! I love avocado!

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 5:51 am #

      I've never heard of the McBistro burger in Japan.
      I don't know why but once in a few months I desperately feel like having McDonald's. :p

  6. Phil January 4, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I just checked the yen – dollar exchange rate and that meal would cost an American $15.60!

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 5:53 am #

      Yes, it looks so expensive, right? Besides the fact that yen is stronger to USD, the original price itself is high, because beef is very expensive in Japan (especially east Japan). That's why I'd rather feel like spending that money for something other than burger, fries and soda meal. ^ ^;

  7. nao January 5, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    hi all,
    i don't eat burgers. so i can't help with such a information. ((
    happy new to all! ))

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 5:55 am #

      I guess you like more healthy food, don't you nao?
      Anyhow happy new year to you. 🙂

  8. Thao January 5, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    I think the best burger I've eaten was the Tex-Mex burger I've made myself from StartCooking.com. Something about it being fresh out of the oven and juicy and smaller than the average burger made it much better. The only time I would get a burger is if I'm short on time and need to go through a drive-through, then I'll grab a cheeseburger from McDonald's or Jack in the Box.

    Or if the restaurant sells burgers of strange meat, such as buffalo, deer, etc. Then I'll eat one just to try and see. A good place for that would be Fuddruckers. I know there's one in California for sure. 🙂

    • kirin January 6, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      It's cool you make burger by yourself.
      Ah, similar to me. I often choose McDonald's when I don't have enough time but want to eat something… ^ ^;
      It sounds like there are many good burger restaurants in the U.S. I should try them there, not in Japan…

  9. Pakkaskukka January 5, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    You can get Angus Beef in restaurants that are called "American diner" in Finland. The smallest beef is 180g which is quite large, I think. So it is a hamburger with 180g beef and french fries, and the price is around 13€. Soda costs 3€, so the meal costs 16€ which is 1765 JPY. The size of the meal is larger than the avocado burger Kirin ate (a loft more french fries). Always when I eat there I can barely eat the hamburger but no fries.

    • kirin January 6, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      You are from Finland, Pakkaskukka?
      I hear things are very expensive there.
      But if the portion is big, I could share it with my friend. The burger I ate was regular size but I wouldn't have been able to eat it up if I had not been that hungry then. ^ ^;

  10. Lisa January 5, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    The location looks pretty nice! ^^

    • kirin January 6, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      The store looked…not so old. I think it's rather new, although I don't know when it opened.

  11. winnie January 8, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    today, we went to this restaurant after we went to violin shop nearby.
    Maybe, is because our taste buds is different.
    We were very disappointed because the burgers are too oily and too much pepper.
    Normally, if we have choice, we will say NO pepper because it will cause the food lose it flavour.
    We seldom eat burger so we cannot comment much.
    Last July, we ate once at Monster burger in Odaiba. It is so far the nicest. I checked their website. But I think they do not sell burger anymore. http://musclepark.jp/chitose/cafe/index_1.html

    Thank you for sharing.

    • kirin January 9, 2011 at 3:38 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Ah, it might be oily. I was starving then, so it might have tasted different if I were not that hungry. But I don't know if we have any burger restaurants we can ask without pepper in Japan.
      Thanks for sharing your experience! 🙂

  12. barbara January 11, 2011 at 4:27 am #

    We ate at the Shinjuku location a couple weeks ago. I do not eat meat, so I had the vegetable burger. We had been to this location 18 months ago, but the design changed greatly in the interior. Before, the burgers were cooked in a kitchen that looked like an old car…. very nostalgic. Now, it appears that they have all be designed to look like each other. It is still a good choice for vegetarians.

    • kirin January 11, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your experience as a vegetarian! 🙂

  13. Kayne January 17, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I live in Fukuoka and love the small place called “bur bar gur”

    … and when I’m in Brisbane, Australia I love Burger Urge. However, I’m not sure if it will be open with the floods destroying West End and New Farm last week 😥

    http://r.tabelog.com/fukuoka/A4001/A400105/400194http://www.burgerurge.com.au/

  14. Kayne January 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    actually, I also forgot these places in Fukuoka. Its great for burgers here~
    Sea Diner which is like a real American style dinner. Its kinda tacky, has old magazines, an American radio station in the background, but the burgers are wonderful

    http://r.tabelog.com/fukuoka/A4001/A400104/400002

    Also this place is wicked! … but a little pricy
    http://www.burgers-japan.com/

Leave a Reply

