Shippo Boom

27 Dec

In my last trip to Tokyo in September, I noticed many shops and the fashionable shop assistants with…this:

Yes, with shippos (tails)!!!

When I first saw them in the shops, I thought, “No…can it be…?”

If you remember, there was the same trend 9 years ago, in 2001, started by Ayumi Hamasaki.

In her PV, Evolution.

Did you get your own shippo at that time?

Well, anyway, they are back, and they are larger than ever!!

From the shops in Shibuya 109, I observed that they were retailing from ¥3000~¥5000.

What do you think of this trend? Do you think it’s cute? Will you like to own one?

Here are some tips from Popteen on how to wear your furry friend.

1) Hook them onto the side of your jeans, pants, or skirts.

2) Hook them onto your phones and cameras and just let the shippo hang out from the pocket you put your phone and camera in.

3) Hang it on your backpack.

And here’s the ideal way of wearing your shippo:

1) At the side, covering a little bit of your thigh.

2) With a big oversized bag in your other hand to balance it off.

3) Wear heels for leg-lengthening effect.

I think it looks really good in this manner. ^^

Do you think everyone can pull this off though? I think this tail is so big this time…though the one you can see in the Ayumi Hamasaki picture looks about the same size as the current shippos. In my memory, the tails weren’t that big that time! Haha!

36 Responses to “Shippo Boom”

  1. Vicki Fox December 27, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Very cute.
    Are many of the shippo made from real fur?
    The pictures suggest that fox tails, whether red or silver, are popular.

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:18 am #

      Over here in my country, it is starting to gain popularity too. And from what shop owners tell me, some of them are made of real fox fur…. I wonder if it's true… They tell me that's why what they are selling are a little bit more expensive. Hmm…but I would not buy any shippo made from real fur! 😦

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      Anyway, it's interesting that you are Vicki Fox. Haha! Are you interested in getting one? 🙂

  2. ベーサ December 27, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    That's a trend I don't really like…

    I mean, it can look good, but still, to me that tail is kinda creepy. Maybe if it was a little bit smaller?
    Anyway, I just don't see where's the point. I don't think it makes people look better/prettier/cooler… ^__^

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      Haha thanks for your comment! Like you, this is a trend I'm not hot for. I used to have one 9 years ago. I hung it at the belt hook of my jeans and I don't think it made me any cooler. Hahaha!

  3. Runi December 27, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    I usually like Japanese trends…but this one I'm just not so sold on… 😛
    Japanese girls always make anything look cute…but I would get some serious stares for wearing this in the US!

    I hope these are fake fur tails… I personally do not like fur real or fake realistic fur because I love animals.

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Haha! I think Japanese girls always make everything look cute too. It's amazing somehow!

    • kirin December 29, 2010 at 6:52 am #

      I agree, and I think most of them for ordinal young girls to buy are fake because the real one is too expensive. And this is just trend, I don't think they will wear it next year or a few year later again. Thus, people who buy it will not want to spend too much money for it.

      I feel so bad if people should kill animals only to catch up with trends. 😦

  4. Fran December 28, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    So that’s what they’re called! I keep seeing them in the magazines lately, but I was pretty sure it was from the recent ‘Twilight’/vampire/werewolf trend that’s exploded within the last couple years! Not a fan of the fad myself, but I do like the tail as an cute accessory-but never bought one because over here they’d think I’m a 13 year old vamp-kid lol..



    …here’s a video on American teens into this trend to show you what I mean…and if you keep watching you’ll see the shippo as their favorite accessory! hehe.

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      woo woo!! Thanks for sharing the video!!!! XD It's so funny seeing it on these teens somehow! It's a totally different kind of look from these Japanese girls here. Haha! I think the American teens ARE influenced by the recent Twilight/vampire/werewolf trend like you mentioned.

  5. shanjae December 28, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    I love these tails! I think just by adding one of these can make a simple outfit look more fashionable.
    In fact, I got myself a tail recently too! It's a pretty small one though, cos I think only girls who really dress up and wear heavy make-up are able to pull off the big tails well.
    And now that you mentioned it, it does look better to wear heels with the tail. Thanks for sharing the tip!

    • Apple December 28, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      No problem! I think it's a little bit difficult to wear the tail properly somehow… It's probably for the truly stylish people! ^^ I'm glad you found this post helpful though! ^^

  6. Sui December 29, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    I've been seeing these everywhere~ On Japanese fashion magazines, (Japanese & non-Japanese) fashion blogs, etc
    I admit I'm a little attracted to the furry tails just because I think they are a cute winter accessory for a bag (and not on my person b/c it seems a little ridiculous when you need to go to the restroom with this gigantic thing in the way).

    I like how this year's ones are nice & fluffy…but way too big -> making them pretty awkward to have.
    And of course, the fact that a ton of them are made of real fur is a big turn-off.
    (At least the faux fur ones tend to be a lot smaller & less overwhelming)

    So, instead of the shippo trend, I stuck with one of those furry ball charms for my bag or cellphone. ^^;

    • kirin December 29, 2010 at 7:02 am #

      "Ton of them are made of real fur" Really? I'm so disappointed to hear that. 😦
      The furry ball charms are very cute. 🙂 With only 1 winter tasted accessory to be added on your bag, the bag looks good. You don't have to buy the furry bag that you cannot use in spring and summer. I like that idea.

      • Sui December 30, 2010 at 3:10 am #

        Well, the really big & fluffy shippo tend to be made out of real fur & the price makes it a little more obvious.
        Medium to smaller sized ones are more likely to be made of faux fur & pricing is more affordable (which is good because it is only a seasonal trend after all).

        I don't exactly understand why so many people buy so many fur-trim items (coats, bag, etc). I usually avoid wearing my faux fur trim sweaters & coats all at once because it'll become an overload. 😡

        But yes, I was very satisfied with just having a furry ball charm (well, I got 2 -> one in black & one in pink so I can match to outfits & bags) and I even got it at a low price of $1.25USD each! The quality is fairly nice too, so it was a good deal~ :p

  7. xiao hui December 29, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Lol , my friend is currently selling this in her blogshop. Its quite funny she told me that there was once when she was ordering chicken rice at a hawker center and the person notice her tail and thought that she was a demon fox, so funny.. Whenever she went out with the tail , it seems to draw people's attention.

    • Apple December 29, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

      woo~ I haven't seen many Singaporeans carrying this around yet…. I guess that's why it draws ppl's attention! How is it selling in her blogshop so far? ^^ Is it popular?

      • xiao hui January 6, 2011 at 6:07 am #

        Lol , i not sure whether its popular anot but she normally get one or two orders of the tail in one month. Last time how much u spend on the tail? She is selling them at 30++

      • Apple January 6, 2011 at 8:44 am #

        Mine was a tiny tail in the form of the keychain. 9 years ago…I can't remember the price! But it was surely less than $10. Anyway, my friends are all buying the tail now, though I haven't seen any of them wearing it yet! Haha!

  8. Mink December 29, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    I know big fashion houses like Chanel and Dior were pushing them last year, and they caught on a little bit, but not a whole lot. I think it might be because of a connotation to a certain subculture…

    • kirin December 30, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Really? Chanel and Dior too? Then it was not only in Japan…

  9. Lisa December 30, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Ahhh I'm a sucker for the tail. I've been eyeing them for ages and finally gave in when I walked down Takeshita Dori earlier this week. I got mine really cheap though, so it's definitely fake. 😉 Sizewise it's pretty big, but with a big bag in hand it balances out. I mainly like it because it's soft… ^^:
    I was a bit reluctant to get one because it doesn't really fulfill any proper function, buuuut… I still really like it. 😉

    • kirin December 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      Hey Lisa! I liked your shippo the other day when I saw it! ^_~
      I was busy talking but I liked many of the stuff, design, colors, and etc. you carried on the day. I missed the chance to say this then.

      • Lisa December 30, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

        Ahh me toooo!!! I really liked your outfit and your necklace too! Yes, we talked about so many things!!
        I hope we get the chance to meet again soon and talk a lot more – and of course take purikura pictures as well. 😉

      • kirin December 31, 2010 at 1:10 am #

        Thank you! Yes, I hope to do that, too. ^__^

  10. Sara Mari December 31, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    Apparently only nerdy/otaku people in America wear foxtails, but I've never seen them doing so. Indeed they've gotten quite popular again in Japan though^^/

    Like it says, its best to wear them without too many other furry/big accessories. But the X picture with the furry boots and foxtail – actually I see lots of people doing that in Shibuya hehe I guess they don't care so much about wearing it perfectly XD

    • kirin January 2, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      Maybe because it's too cold not to wear boots in this season? :p
      It's interesting how the trends are treated by the people in different countries. ^ ^;

  11. Amanda January 2, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Oh Ayumi 😦
    I'm worried about her.
    I don't like the look of that Manuel guy she just married in Las Vegas.
    I mean, a shotgun Vegas Wedding?! Really?!
    As long as Ayu is happy I guess it's okay but if Mannie breaks her heart…. there will be hell to pay!!

    Sorry… コメントがちょっと関係ないw

    • kirin January 3, 2011 at 1:54 am #

      I didn't even know that Ayu were married recently. haha!
      だいじょうぶ、I only knew it from your comment this morning. 😉

    • Apple January 5, 2011 at 8:09 am #

      I don't know much about the guy, but I love Ayumi, so I give them both my best wishes!! 😀

  12. Lore January 4, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    jajjaja I never see nothing like this, it's funny and cute, I don't mind wear one shippo

    • kirin January 4, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Oh, so it's not popular in Spain…^ ^;
      It's interesting, we can see how the trend is spread in the world.

  13. kari January 5, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    i don't think it looks cute, except on tiny tiny gyaru japanese girls. most times i think it looks retarded. however, everytime i see one in a shop, i find myself drawn to it, haha… but 3000yen + for one is a bit excessive, i think…

    • Apple January 6, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I think it's expensive too! But it's a really big tail. Haha!

      I got into the craze 9 years ago, so I don't think I will fall for this again now… I don't think I will wear it if I bought it. So I'd better not buy it. Haha!

  14. Sandy January 25, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    I fell in love with this trend when I saw LV runway show SS 2010 — when I saw a few months ago that they are popular overseas not only on bags, but on clothes, I was so excited! I've been looking for cute ones on ebay since and have bought a few colors. I still only wear them on bags though! Even so, they draw lots of attention!

    • kirin January 26, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      You totally enjoy it! Good to hear that. 😉

Leave a Reply

