2011 Fukubukuro, or lucky grab bags info.

12 Dec

I thought it’s still too early to search informations on Fukubukuro, or lucky grab bags in 2011, but it was not. It’s high time to book lucky grab bags from your favorite fashion brands online if you don’t want to make a long line to shop in the crowds of the new years sale. As for myself, I somehow never feel like buying garments without trying them to see how the size or color is, no matter how much they are discounted. It’s only a few times in my life that I’ve shopped clothes from online shops, nevertheless I am such a frequent online shopper who buys most of the other things from online shops. :p

Lucky bags are the same thing to me. I cannot try what’s inside the bag before I buy it. But I think I am minor, practical, realistic and boring type of person after all. ^ ^; Most of the Japanese people love these bags. The fun thing about lucky bags is the entire experience of wondering what’s inside and sometimes we have to compete for the bag when it’s the last one. All these things and high discount rate are attractive enough. Moreover, these days the content of the bag, which is supposed to be a secret, is released beforehand so that the shoppers should not have to find it disappointing.

I think lucky bag is a nice system. Shops can sell out extra stock and shoppers can enjoy them with much discount and fun experience of getting them. Especially if you have some specific brand you love, it’s a great chance to get many items of that brand’s with big discount!

While not many shops have started anything about lucky bags, Shibuya 109 has started lucky bags’ online booking since 24th Nov. (The booking period will have been over by the time this post is released.) As you can see, some brands have already sold out! (Delivery is later than 3rd Jan. 2011)

Takashimaya, Isetan, Mitsukoshi and Tokyu department stores have also started receiving online orders of new year’s lucky bags. (Delivery is after 2nd Jan. 2011)γ€€γ€€

Yurakucho Seibu already started selling lucky bags because they are closing down within this month.

How about a lucky bag with Nintendo Wii and 408 game softs (all the softs that Nintendo has released so far) for 1 million yen?

Disclaimer: photo credit

It’s said lucky bags sold in Osaka have a lot more items inside a bag than the one in Tokyo. Now most of shopping malls are obsessed with Christmas and no room to think of New Year yet, but once Christmas is over, they will announce their lucky bags for 2011 as well as the end-of-year sales and new-year-sales info. Yes, the bargain season for autumn and winter clothes is coming. Before March is coming, they will have sold off winter clothes and goods and prepare for spring. It’s nice to have 4 seasons. πŸ™‚

What do you think of Fukubukuro, or lucky grab bags? Have you got it? Do you like it or not? Let me hear your thoughts! πŸ˜€

25 Responses to “2011 Fukubukuro, or lucky grab bags info.”

  1. Lisa December 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I love the lucky grab bags, but I had no idea you could A) order them or B) that they were taking orders so early!!! o.O Wow, I guess I've missed out, haha!! Oh well – I usually manage to find a good deal or two anyway. πŸ˜‰

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 5:40 am #

      Sorry 8 + ) or B + ) can be described as a smiley icon…hmm…I don't know how to fix this problem…
      Some people may order from this period, but I think the people will go shopping in new year. ^ ^;

      • Lisa December 13, 2010 at 9:18 am #

        Haha, I didn't even notice that! I'll know for next time. Maybe 1) or 2) is better. ^^

  2. ベーァ December 12, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh I'd love so much to get the GLADNEWS lucky bag!!!
    But I don't even live in Japan, I'll have to wait to go back to Tokyo and maybe get one next year! ^___^

    I'm like you in this point: I usually never buy clothes I cannot touch and try before!!
    I like the GladNews bag because the bag itself is really nice!! ahah so even if I don't like what's inside, at least there's the bag! :DDD

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:27 am #

      Oh, you are like me. I wish I could shop clothing from online cheaper… The other day, I bought some room wear from Uniqlo and I ordered gloves too only to reach the amount free from delivery fee, but the ones delivered to my house were too small. 😦 My fingers were longer than I thought… I returned them but I don't want to do this again.

  3. winnie December 12, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    I do like Lucky Bag but it had to depend on what things. If clothes, I prefer try first before buy. Because sometimes, when its states Free Size, it may too small for me or Too Big for my girl.
    One more thing i like is the 500 yen Lucky Dip at 7eleven , Family mart or Lawson. Just today is the Tony Tony Chopper which is One Piece Character, 7 eleven have the Lucky Dip. I was so Happy. but my Luck is not good so cannot get A prize.
    Very Sorry, I am out of Topic.

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:29 am #

      Hi Winnie,
      Never mind being off the topic. It's fun to talk anything here. πŸ™‚
      I didn't know the Lucky Dip thing from conbini, because I rarely go there. haha! But I'll check it out if I have a chance!
      Thank you for sharing something interesting, Winnie!! πŸ˜€

  4. yvonne December 12, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    well, I LOVE Fukubukuro ALOT!!! I was a exchange student in sendai back when i was in high school….and LOVE THE Fukubukuro SYSTEM!!! Although some are a rip-off…..i really enjoy buying Fukubukuro bags! because you will never know what's inside the bag!! however, sometimes they are hell of a good deal!

    ps: i think sendai's Fukubukuro bags are better than the ones in japan!!! =)

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:31 am #

      Wow, you've already tried them in Sendai!!
      It'll be fun to shop Fukubukuro from various places in Japan and compare which area is the best. ^ ^

      • yvonne December 13, 2010 at 6:49 am #

        my sister got a Fukubukuro from CECIL McBEE & LIZ LISA LAST YEAR FROM both Sendai & Tokyo. She told me the ones in Sendai are a better deal and the clothing inside are more expensive [ when compared with the same bag and same price] I was shocked to learn that, i mean , after all, tokyo IS THE MUST SHOP CITY right?
        and i totally agree with my sister, i perfer Sendai over Tokyo because :
        1) too many ppl in tokyo during oshogatsu
        2) sendai has bascially everything and is at a better deal!

        I was browsing Rakuten last week and ordered some Fukubukuros online already! great deal too =)

      • kirin December 13, 2010 at 7:03 am #

        Good point, yvonne.
        After all, most of the famous brands can be purchased at big cities such as Sendai, Fukuoka, Osaka, Nagoya and etc. It's not always that it's got to be Tokyo all the time. Rakuten malls also start dealing with Fukubukuro. I forgot to mention that in the post but you are amazing, you already acted for that!! πŸ˜€

  5. yvonne December 12, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    oh yeah, i've been reading your interesting blog since this early december! and IM LOVING YOUR BLOG!!! it sure bring back me a lot of memories when i was a student in japan!!!
    ganbatte!

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:33 am #

      Arigatou~~, yvonne!
      Thank you so much for writing that to me, I am encouraged. In fact, many readers of this blog love Japan and have experiences of staying in Japan once or several times before. πŸ™‚

  6. akisera December 13, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    Ooooo I love love to buy fukubukuro unfortunately we never went to Japan during winter…but i think chances are the stuff inside won't fit me…but its thrilling to see whats inside. I think if I went to Japan I'll be buying a lot of fukubukuro hehehe..

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:34 am #

      wow~, so many people like Fukubukuro~~!!
      It's exactly as you say, its thrilling to see what's inside. That is the big reason that attract people as much as discounted rate. ^ ^;

  7. Sara Mari December 13, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    I like fukubukuro! I think its not only the great deals and discounts that are alluring to people, it may also be the thrill of not knowing what you will get. Like gambling or something haha! I have purchases two lucky bags from my favorite gyaru brands, but I hesitate to buy bags from brands I only somewhat like .

    • kirin December 13, 2010 at 6:37 am #

      Hi Sara Mari,
      Yes, you're right~. It's like gambling and so many people love it as an exciting event or something besides much discount.
      You've already purchased 2 of them? Good. The locals also stick to the favorite brands, and do not gamble them from OK brands or unfamiliar brands. ^ ^;

  8. Sansan December 14, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I have never bought fukubukuro,but the idea of it sounds brilliant..
    My friend said they can buy me fukubukuro from some shops,like UNIQLO,but I think if it is not just accessories or something like that,it is no use..
    Since Im affraid clothes wouldnt fit me πŸ˜₯ but if they could tell what bags has the big size (L&XL) then it would work for me :p

    • kirin December 15, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      Hope that will work for you! Wish you good luck~~! πŸ™‚

  9. Mekahel December 15, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    This remind me of these bags they use to sell at a store near my house when I was young. I loved them! I bought tones of them. πŸ˜€

    I'd love if they did something like this here in the US once a year. I'd be more inclined to go shopping as I do most of my clothes shopping online. I hate clothes shopping at public stores more then anything. :p

    • kirin December 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      Sounds like you are opposite to me, haha! I like to shop clothes at public stores, talking with the sales assistant which color looks good on me, how the item can be coordinated with other items, how to wash and etc. I really love chatting with sales assistants most of the time, and it's possible when the sales assistants are good at suggesting good ideas, I tend to make up my mind purchasing the item. haha! ^ ^;

  10. Diyana December 15, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    I like the lucky bag system too! I used to buy lucky bags filled with candy when I was a kid. Even though I may feel cheated sometimes, it's the whole experience that makes it fun~

    • kirin December 16, 2010 at 2:41 am #

      For a kid to get a bag full of candy…such a dream! πŸ˜€

  11. Kayne January 17, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I'm sure you'd like to know..

    we don't call them 'softs' but software (also the plural). However, as the Wii is a games console, you can say 'games'. All 408 games released. …

    I liked the post about 福蒋 but I will not buy one, because I'm very fussy to choose and not Japanese size, I think.. ..

    • kirin January 17, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      Hi Kayne,
      Thank you so much for taking time to correct my mistakes!!
      Ah~ "software"~ right! "soft" is Japanese, as well as "game softs"! lol

      After all I didn't even have a chance to go shopping for Fukubukuro or even winter sale this time.

Leave a Reply

