Cute cell phones in Japan

9 Dec

Q-pot cell phone 2010
Disclaimer: The photo is quoted from Docomo
It was a chocolate phone last year, and this year it’s a biscuit (cookie) this year. Q-pot starts receiving orders from 9th Dec. 2010. Only 15,000 phones are available.

Menu screen is also cute. The curvy line on the surface of the phone looks like a milk or chocolate cream. ^ ^ They look yummy and so cute!!

It seems Docomo will also collaborate with some popular fashion brands from Shibuya 109.
Docomo x Cecil McBee

Docomo x Pinky Girls

Docomo x cocolulu

While smartphones are becoming more popular, Docomo seems to attract us by ordinary keitai with cute design. šŸ™‚

20 Responses to “Cute cell phones in Japan”

  1. Vermillion December 9, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Ahhhh~ I love Q-pot! The biscuit phone looks so cute!

  2. Lore December 9, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    oooo there're so cute!!!! I want a new cell phone becouse my actual mobile is to slow and old, but I don't want to expend a lot of money and in my country there aren't mobiles so cute like this. I want to eat the cookie mobile!!!

    • kirin December 10, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      lol I would try to eat it if it smells like vanilla or chocolate. When I was a kid, there was an eraser that smelled like chocolate and was in brown color. The eraser had a caution "Don't eat! It's just an eraser" but every time I used it, I felt like having a bite wishing it were a real chocolate…haha!

  3. S.O. December 9, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Wow! Thank you Kirin! I'm new to your blog, and I must say it is simply amazing!! I enjoy reading your blog because it's helping me prepare for my move to Japan in January!! I will be getting a new cell phone since the one I have is Verizon Wireless. I was told that American cell phones are difficult to maintain if I am living in Japan. I was recommeded to buy a Japanese cell phone. Could you be kind enough to advise me on some kawaii (and inexpensive) cell phones that I could use? Anyway, I will be reading your blog more often! Thanks again!

    • kirin December 10, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

      Hi, S.O! Welcome to my blog. I'm glad you enjoy reading it. šŸ™‚
      I heard that only Japan and Korea have unique cell phone networks that are not shared with any other countries. U.S uses a network called CDMA and Europe or Oceania use GSM network. But Japan uses something only available in Japan, so does Korea. That's why foreign mobile phones do not work in Japan. Some people bring iphone and there seems a way to use it in Japan, but that'll cost them so much for each call or text, which is not appropriate for someone like you who plan to live in Japan for a long time.

      There are 3 major cell phone companies in Japan. Docomo, au and Softbank. They publish new designs very frequently and so it's very difficult which one is reasonable and kawaii at this point. I don't like this but the speed of their publishing a new model is just like fashion trends or something. So just go to one of the electronics retail stores such as Bic Camera or Yodobashi Camera and compare design, functions, price and etc. of all the above mentioned brands' at one place after you come to Japan. šŸ™‚

      • S.O. December 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

        Thank you so much for the advice! I would also like to apologize for commenting twice. I didn't see my first comment, and thought that it did not go through. Instead of being patient and waiting for it to appear, I put another comment in the reply section. Sorry about that! u_u

      • kirin December 11, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

        Oh, never mind. Sorry I approved both comments and so they both appeared here. ^ ^;
        Hope you can enjoy your stay in Japan. Our culture is very different from most of other parts in the world. Most of our people are so punctual, hard working, and shy. Basically most of us don't (want to) speak English. Not many of us like to state our opinions very clearly. But basically most of Japanese people are very friendly and kind. At the countryside, people will be like a big family. ^ ^

  4. sedonia2 December 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    lol. I could never have a phone that looks like a chocolate bar. The suggestion of chocolate all the time would have me eating chocolate bars and I'd get so huge! šŸ˜€

    • kirin December 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      lol I like your comment. ^ ^

      • sedonia2 December 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

        It's just so true. A friend of mine baked brownies this week and I was at her house twice. I saw the brownies in her refrigerator and both times I asked her if I could have a piece. I can't resist!

        ps – I will be going out to take Christmas pictures – it's just be so cold here I haven't been out to walk. We're in south Florida and it's been unnaturally cold, like last year, but now it's warming up for a few days and I plan to go out tonight and take the pictures. šŸ™‚

      • kirin December 11, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

        Haha! I try not to buy chocolates or sweets to store at home, because I will not need them, when without them. But when there are some, I feel like snacking them. ^ ^; Also, I think it's nice to bake cakes by myself, but once I do that, I cannot just make 1 cupcake or something. I will have to make 10 or so at a time, which eventually makes me keep eating them on and on, next day, and etc. That's why I just buy 1 outside when I want it. ^ ^;;

  5. S.O. December 9, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Hello Kirin! I'm new to your blog, and I must say it's simply amazing!! Your blog is really helping me get a more up close look at Japanese culture. I will be moving to Japan in January, and I have been learning about life in Japan by reading this blog!
    I was informed that American cell phones are really difficult to maintain in Japan. I was also recommended to purchase a Japanese cell phone if I plan to live in Japan preferbly SoftBank cell phones. I currently have a Verizon Wireless cell phone, and am willing to give it up for a Japanese phone. I really like the way Japanese cell phones are designed and I'm sure the prices of the phone rates are reasonable. Could you be kind enough to advise me on a kawaii (and inexpensive) cell phone? Thank you again for creating this wonderful blog!!

  6. Steven Stier December 10, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    I can see why someone would want one of these phones. They are very attractive. I can imagine the owner making a call and then spending an hour showing it to everyone in the office. That seems like a very Japanese thing to do. I find it interesting that the writing on the phone is in English. Just as it is on many Japanese products. I wonder if most Japanese understand the words written on the things that they buy. Or perhaps they do not understand the meaning, but just like it because English is in fashion and so it is cool.

    • kirin December 10, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      Yes, you're right. English sign or writing look cool in Japan, that's why English is written on T-shirts, caps, brand names, signs, packages of snack, and etc. However, the weird thing is those English is funny, wrong, or just they don't make sense. English speaking people living in Japan make fun of such English as Engrish.

      But this is exactly what's happening among kanji T-shirts we see overseas. Many times strange kanji (upside down, funny meaning, false kanji, etc.) cracked me up and I kind of miss those in Japan. ^ ^;

      • Steven Stier December 12, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

        I understand. Some Americans have Kanji tatoos. I often wonder if they know what they have written on themselves. I hope that the artist at least knows what he has written. It would be bad if they thought it said "Peace" but it actually said something like "Dog"

      • kirin December 13, 2010 at 7:07 am #

        lol Yes, that's exactly what I mean. But I wonder if I should point out the mistake if I see that person overseas. He'll be so shocked to hear if it was something he didn't wish to have. ^ ^;

  7. Lee-Marie March 25, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Hello, I live in Australia and am DIEING for a one of a kind phone. I am sick to death of the ugly normal black, silver or white phones that all look the same in western countries PLEASE is there a way that I can buy this phone and will it work in Australia and if so is there any type of sim or other things that I would need to buy! THANK SO MUCH I REALLY NEED TO KNOW BECAUSE SINCE I HAVE SEEN THIS PHONE THERE IS NO OTHER THAT COMPARES!

    • kirin March 25, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      These phones are not for SIM type. You have to become a member of Docomo by paying monthly basic fee and actual fee of making phone calls, sending/receiving emails, browsing internet and etc. (It's a post charged type of phone) Even if you can use it in Australia, I think it's like you are making an international phone call from Japan. Also I think you have to come to Japan to buy it with your ID and billing address in Japan. So…unfortunately it's not suitable in your case. If you have a chance to live in Japan, you'll be surprised how many cute cell phones and emoticons we have.

  8. Chisaa April 25, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    im chisaa from indonesia.. do you know another kawaii japan mobile can used in another country?
    i need it to used in my country,, :((
    please

    • kirin April 25, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      No, I don't think so. Basically in Japan, the system is different from most of other countries. It's basically SIM-LOCKED. So if you want to use a Japanese cell phone in other countries, you have to register to purchase it in Japan. You have to have your address and contact no. in Japan. Then when you travel abroad, you can still use that phone but that means you are making international calls from Japan. You will have to pay a few dollars only to speak for a minute. That's nonsense, right?

Leave a Reply

