Torinoichi at Ootori Shrine, Asakusa

23 Nov

I was able to check out the “Tori-no-ichi” at Ootori Shine, Asakusa the other day. People come to pray for prosperous business. Usually we have Torinoichi 2 or 3 times in November every year and this year, it was 7th and 19th (open from 12:00am to 12:00pm, 24 hours).

I dropped by the second one, the 19th one in the evening, but I wish I could have made it in a daytime or in the morning when there should have been less people around. I was just overwhelmed at way too large number of people there and I gave up making a line to wait for more than 40 minutes or so for praying. :p You know I don’t like crowds, I was not feeling very good on the way back home. I was exhausted with stiff shoulder and pains on my body, until I had a hot bath at home.

Anyhow, I skipped praying. I didn’t want to join that long queue. This sounds so bad…I wonder if this brings bad luck to my business. Well…let’s see how things turn out.

There were so many stalls and people eating and drinking. Too bad I just dropped by and so I was alone, and finished dinner already. I just had a onigiri rolled with pork. It’s called “Niku maki onigiri” and originally from Miyazaki. I was going to try it when I go to Miyazaki this winter but I couldn’t wait. ^ ^; I had the one with pork seasoned with soy sauce, the very simple one. It was not bad but not that special to me. I expected addictive taste from its appearances but it was not really. I may want to try more complicated ones in Miyazaki later. :p

I decided to buy something to bring back home and eat it with my hubby later.

It’s a video I took at a Takoyaki (octopus dumpling) stall while I was waiting. I am not a fan of Takoyaki, but the big lump of octopus that is as fresh as sashimi inside the ball was very tempting. ^ ^ I bought one to take away.


Did you know ramen burger? I didn’t. I saw it for the first time then! It’s originally from Kitakata, Fukushima. I should’ve tried it, but no…I was not hungry then.

You see how crowded the place was.

But I liked this atmosphere.

There are quite a few patterns of Kumade decorations (rake shaped bamboo charms) but basically Kumade is full of lucky symbols such as crane, turtle, sea bream, Manekineko (beckoning cat), Okame (the fatty flat faced woman) and so on.

Look, Hello Kitty is in the Kumade decoration!

Oh~, Sanrio’s Kumade! I know your business is pretty good thanks to Hello Kitty lovers around the world!!

It’s nice to see something like this. I hope our economy turns better…

Here’s my small Kumade. I cannot afford the big one. This small one was 2000 yen but was discounted to 1000 yen. lol

The back looks like this. Yes, it’s a mini rake. Rake is called Kumade in Japanese. ^ ^

Such a small Kumade with Hello Kitty!

I’d recommend you should be there if you ever stay in Tokyo while Tori-no-ichi is held. I think it’s fun enough to stroll around the stalls. What do you think?

14 Responses to “Torinoichi at Ootori Shrine, Asakusa”

  1. sixmats November 23, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Every time I have gone to this festival, it has been really cold. How was it this year?

    • kirin November 24, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      It was not cold. I thought it'd be cold in the evening and so I wore heavy clothes, but after all I had to carry my coat. ^ ^;

  2. Lisa November 23, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    肉巻きおにぎりを食べた!?びっくり!もちろん、宮崎にもっと美味しい肉巻きおにぎりありますよ~ ^^ I'm really surprised they have it! I talked to a man who has a Nikumaki van here and he said he'd be in Osaka for the illuminations etc, but I didn't know there were 'fulltime' stalls already in Tokyo!
    I've never seen a ramen burger before either, very interesting! o.O I'm not sure it would be my first choice when checking out the food stalls though. 😉 Thanks for, as always, an interesting post! (all of it was interesting, I just always managed to focus mostly on the food… ^^;)

    • kirin November 24, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      肉巻きおにぎり食べたよ。350円だったかな?でも宮崎で本場の食べるつもり。^^
      I think I saw Nikumaki Onigiri full-time stall at Ameyoko. http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/5612

      It's getting popular everywhere now? 宮崎グルメ万歳!(^0^)

  3. Lore November 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Hello kitty is everywhere!!!
    It's really original the ramen hamburguer but at first look I thougth it was a weird kebap XD

    • kirin November 24, 2010 at 11:45 am #

      There were kebap stalls, too. And Thai ramen, Korean food, and a lot more!!

  4. cinnamon_girl November 23, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    OMG ramen burger!!!!!!
    I would like to try it! 😀

    • kirin November 24, 2010 at 11:46 am #

      I should've tried it. :S Maybe next time…

  5. winnie November 24, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Hi kirin, I love matsuri . Many interestings stuffs and foods. But i am very afraid of many people, it make me dizzy.
    I dont know have this matsuri at Asakusa, i have missed it. 😦
    Ramen burger sounded interesting. Hope i can see it in other place.
    Thank you for sharing this Post, I can learnt more about Japan from you.

    • kirin November 26, 2010 at 1:35 am #

      To be exact, the shrine is located somewhere not so close to any stations. http://www.otorisama.or.jp/basho.html

      But usually there are too many people at night. It's better you choose the one in weekday (there are 2 torinoichi days) and during daytime or in the morning. I wanted to do so but I couldn't make it then.

      • winnie November 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

        Hi Kirin, i went to Senso-ji Temple one time. Is Ootori shrine near to Sensoji Temple?
        Thank you for the link.

      • kirin November 27, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

        I roughly checked and found following information.

        Senso-ji…5 minutes walk from Tsukuba Express Asakusa station.
        Ootori shrine…8 minutes walk from Tsukuba Express Asakusa station.

        So…these 2 shines are not far each other. ^ ^

  6. winnie November 27, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Thank you very much for your information and help. 🙂

    • kirin November 29, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      My pleasure! Hope you make a lot of good memories while you are in Japan. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

