Hattifnatt in Koenji was such a kawaii cafe!

21 Nov

Hattifnatt Koenji
nearest train station: Koenji
phone: 03-6762-8122
open: everyday 12pm – 12am (Mon.-Sat.) 12pm – 9pm (Sun.)

I think this cafe is the best suit with Mori girl. It was Apple who chose this cafe for our lunch when we met in Tokyo in September 2010. (It’s a collaboration post with Apple. I pass the torch to Apple after the sequence of pictures so she explains it better! ^__^)

The facade of the cafe is so cute. We arrived before they opened, but to my surprise, there was already a line of people who were waiting for the opening.

When we looked up, it was apparent that the house was very old.

Apple understood what they offered from their Japanese menu. I didn’t know her Japanese was that good. (link)

Inside the house, there was some nice atmosphere of old Japanese folk house. It’s nice they keep the atmosphere, but this area was not popular. All the people hurried for the next room to take a seat.

No wonder! Look at the cute paintings on the walls all over!! 😀

These paintings and wooden furniture will make us relax even though the space is very small.
Yes, it was a very small place. There were stairs that were so steep with very small space to step on. It was little bit scary but fun enough for me to try them once in a while, but I felt sorry for the waiters who have to carry dishes and drinks all the time using those stairs.

It’s understandable kids love this place, too. We saw many kids with their moms. The cafe was full of people before I realized.

I had a doria (rice casserole), salad and iced tea, and later I ordered chiffon cake.

Look at Apple’s choice!

Isn’t that adorable! And heya! This is Apple here, continuing this post from what Kirin had shown you~! ^^

Now, I’ll tell you a little bit more about Hattifnatt Cafe.

Hattifnatt Cafe is actually pretty well-known among foreigners living in Tokyo, I think! I’ve read about it from many English Tokyo blogs written by foreign students studying in Tokyo.

Well, anyway, Hattifnatt Cafe used to be just a very normal building with a very small space. The owner put in a lot of effort to change it into a happy and fairytale-like place as you can see.

The cute paintings on the wall is by this pair of young artists, Marini and Monteany. Check out their artworks! They’re totally beautiful! The exciting life of a girl with funny ideas is the main theme of their artwork. Using their fascinating imagination and bright, cheerful colours, M&M have done a few wall paintings in restaurants and cafes. Their zakka series, “ecoute”, are also very popular among students and OLs. Uniqlo has also invited them to design T-shirts.

You should definitely check them out. ^^

So back to Hattifnatt! Besides making you feel like you’re in wonderland, the food here is pretty wonderful too. It has this home-cooked feel to it, and it’s healthy and delicious.

There aren’t exactly a lot of variety to choose from. In fact, I can list down all the main dishes for you here, so I shall do so~! ^^

There are:

Mushroom Curry Genmai Rice ¥893
Croque-Monsieur  (a kind of French sandwich with ham, tomatoes and Emmental Cheese) ¥788
Avocado Tacorice ¥998
Octopus Tacorice ¥893
Cold Tomato Tacorice ¥998
Tomato Gratin ¥998
Vegetables Penne Pasta ¥998
Grilled Nasu Curry Doria ¥893

So, have you decided what you want? ^^

You know that Kirin had Grilled Nasu Curry Doria.

As for me, I had Vegetables Penne Pasta~ ^^

And I totally recommend trying their cakes!! Because they’re so pretty!

One thing about this place, the menu is in Japanese, and you actually order through this small voice box on one of the pillars. The waitress only serves the food up to you, and doesn’t take your orders by your seat. So…what this means is…you might have a little problem ordering if you can’t really speak or read Japanese… I’m very lucky I went with Kirin. She did the ordering for us. Hahaha! I can read Japanese, but I get pretty flustered and shy when I have to speak to a Japanese in their native language…Haha! I hope I can overcome this irrational fear soon!

You should definitely go to Hattifnatt when you’re in Tokyo! Koenji is actually a pretty cool place. It’s not often mentioned to foreigners, but Kirin and I think that it is actually a very interesting place for you to visit. Especially so if you like ShibuHara or Vintage styles. There are many interesting shops for you to visit. We spent a lovely afternoon there together~! I love Koenji a lot a lot a lot! ^_^

If you can’t get enough of Hattifnatt cafe and want to read more about Kirin and my day out together, feel free to visit my personal blog~ ^^ See ya! ^^

28 Responses to “Hattifnatt in Koenji was such a kawaii cafe!”

  1. Cel November 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Such a cute place! And the food looks yummy too. Thank you ladies for this lovely post, now I want to visit this cafe too someday 🙂

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 1:33 am #

      Thank you Cel. 🙂 Make lists of where to eat and shop in Tokyo!
      My friend from Europe, who has been a reader of this blog for a long time, takes note of the places she wants to visit in Tokyo and she brings the memo every time she comes here. ^ ^

      • Cel November 22, 2010 at 9:53 am #

        That sounds like a great idea!
        I usually do shopping lists and karaoke song lists.
        But a restaurant list would be really helpful too ^____^

    • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

      Do visit it!! ^^ You will love it!

  2. sana November 21, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    'Hattifnatt'. What a great name 😀 It sounds Scandinavian, like a Moomin haha. Are the owners Japanese?

    I love stumbling upon little places like that. And now I finally know what chiffon cake is!

    Apple's dessert looks yummy. What is it? Panna cotta?

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 1:25 am #

      Wow, it was a word with meaning!! lol I never thought of that~. Thank you for telling that. 🙂
      Apple's dessert was a rare chocolate cake, you cannot see what it is from outside~~ :p

      • sbn October 15, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

        Hattifnat is the name of some small weird creatures in the moomin-books wtitten by the Finnish author Tove Jansson.
        They "sparkle" or give off electricity, and the don't speak, the moomins are rather frightened by them.
        I'd recommend reading the Moomin books!
        Thank you for a great blog!

      • kirin October 17, 2011 at 2:04 am #

        OMG!! Their name was Hattifnatt?? http://www.google.com/search?q=%E3%83%A0%E3%83%BC

        Their Japanese name is Nyoro-Nyoro. lol

    • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

      I wonder what Hattifnatt means too…In my Chinese guidebook, it translates it as 'Nest'. But I wonder what language is this! Haha! And yes, the owners are Japanese. But they studied art and design when they were students. Which explains the creativity of the whole of Hattifnatt!

      And I've never tried Panna Cotta before…I want to try it…because I made it in Cooking Mama! Hahaha!

      • sana November 23, 2010 at 11:34 am #

        Ah, 'nest'! That's a great concept! Especially when a lot of cafe owners want customers to order, eat and leave quickly so that they can make more money. At leat, that's what happens where I live!

        And I heartily recommend panna cotta! No point in waiting if you have a good recipe! But what to eat it with at this time of year… berries are good. Oh, now I'm feeling greedy haha

  3. Lisa November 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Oh, it looks so cute! And the food looks great! ^^ I have to say as well though, as a Mumin fan, the name is the best part. ^_^
    Thanks for sharing, it definitely looks like a great place to check out!

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 1:27 am #

      Oh, I'm sure you are familiar with the name, if it's something from Scandinavia. ^_^
      They have another one in Kichijoji. http://r.tabelog.com/tokyo/A1320/A132001/13090486

      • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

        Ah…so it's really from Scandinavia? I mean, the name, Hattifnatt….even I don't know about that. We should have asked the waitresses there, Kirin! Haha! "WHAT DOES HATTIFNATT MEANS!!!" haha! Now it's a mystery to all of us. hahaha!

  4. sedonia2 November 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Wow, the food looks so cute and the place is kawaii! Do you know where I could learn to make that doria?

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 1:23 am #

      Doria is not very difficult to make. You'll need followings and just bake it in an oven. 😉
      -butter rice or dried curry or any kind of seasoned rice with ingredients stir-fried,
      -white sauce
      -cheese (easy to melt with heat, like mozzarella cheese or something)

    • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      It IS kawaii!!! you have to comee~! ^^

  5. Italy and Japan staff November 21, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Hi girls! This place looks so cute. I love how they've decorated the walls. The food looks yummi ^w^ good job!

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 1:34 am #

      Thank you~. Sometimes my memory is not good but Apple helped me with details. ^ ^;

    • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      HELLO!!! ^^

      the food is yummy and nutritious~! You should try it!! 😀

  6. Mirkka November 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    What a cute cafe! Definitely want to check it out next time I go to Tokyo!

    • Apple November 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      Definitely check it out, ok? 😀

  7. Amr Boghdady November 22, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Wow, I envy you for having such a cute cafe !
    Wish I had a similar place somewhere nearby 😦

    • kirin November 23, 2010 at 12:38 am #

      You could open your kawaii cafe like this, maybe? ^ ^ hehe

  8. tad5552 November 22, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    kawaii!:)

    • kirin November 23, 2010 at 12:39 am #

      Thank you! Wow, so many people agreed with the cuteness of this cafe! ^ ^

  9. Lore November 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    The cake looks delicious and funny. I would like to visit this cafe if I travel to japan someday but it's a problem to order the menu if it has to be in japanesse, I imagine it will be probably equal in many other places. I have to learn japanesse in a intensive way!!! muajajajajajaa.

    • kirin November 30, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      Don't worry, at most of other places people come to your table to take order. So you can just point out the picture or letters. ^ ^ If you go to this cafe, you can ask me to come with you! I wouldn't mind visiting such a cute cafe again~~ ^ ^

      • Lore November 30, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

        Ok, I will use the famouse language of finger pointing 😄 and don't worry when I'll visit japan I let you know ;), I'm planing the travel for the 2012 but I'm still thinking about wich seasson go, spring or autum. Wich do you recomend me better?

Leave a Reply

