I just checked out Hello Kitty's Kawaii Paradise!!

8 Nov

I had a chance to go to Odaiba the other day. The game center on the ground floor of Venus Fort was closed down and was replaced by Hello Kitty’s Kawaii Paradise, which opened on Friday Oct. 22, 2010. I found the most of the area on the floor was renovated with new shops, while I could find the familiar dog goods stores remaining. ๐Ÿ™‚

I went out on weekday evening, but I was kind of surprised to see how small people were there, nevertheless it only opened about 2 weeks ago. Well, I think it’s because of the place. Odaiba is a bit away of central Tokyo. It’s possible that not many people would feel like visiting such a place after work or school. :p

I’ve also updated the video on Youtube.

But I’ll explain one by one with pictures I took from there.
At the entrance, there was a vending car that was selling Hello Kitty Yaki, or just like Taiyaki, from several options of different flavors.

This is a huge Kitty statue located at the center that represents this amusement facility. ๐Ÿ™‚ Kitty looks like a goddess or something!?


Next to the Kitty statue, there is a Hello Kitty shop.

Inside the shop looks like this. Everything is just pink, pink and pink…^ ^;

The interior is lovely!

Of course Hello Kitty goods are all around the shop. But I guess most of them can be purchased elsewhere, because I’ve seen these goods at other shops already.

I guess I’ve seen these health sandals at Don Quijote Shibuya.

At the same time though, I also found some unique goods I am not familiar with. I didn’t check out how to play with this. lol

This blotting paper case maybe good for a gift. ๐Ÿ™‚

They even have Hagoita! Isn’t it too early to think of new year now? ^ ^;

This is it! This must be one of the unique goods that were made for Sanrio’s 50th anniversary!

Outside the shop there was a Hello Kitty fountain (I didn’t see water then) and a game center and purikura booths.

It was a bit weird to enter such a dark world right after pink world. ^ ^; There are many game machines, regardless of Hello Kitty. I think this part is inherited from the game center that existed here before it was replaced by Kawaii Paradise.

For example, Taiko no tatsujin has nothing to do with Hello Kitty. There were almost no people when I was inside.

I wondered why this game center had to be inside Kawaii Paradise, because the atmosphere was so different.

Some UFO catchers have Sanrio’s 50th anniversary goods. Too bad I am so poor at games like this. (>_<)

There was no one in the pancake restaurant. I believe people will queue up on weekends.

Even if I don’t like crowds, I don’t like to be an only customer there.

There was a Chinese menu, too. Speaking of Venus Fort, they have signs in Chinese everywhere. I think Chinese tourists love to come over here. ๐Ÿ™‚

They seem to hold workshops…for kids?

There is another entrance/exit from inside the building.

Each of these pictures were the ones I uploaded on my Facebook page.

I was just so surprised how less people were there at the day I went there. But I’m sure this is a place you must check out if you love Hello Kitty or that you have small kids (girls)!! Ah, also as you can see on Youtube video, there were many purikura machines that will do a good job. So don’t forget to take your puri when you visit Hello Kitty’s Kawaii Paradise at the ground floor of Venus Fort, Odaiba, Tokyo. As for me, I just dropped at Venus Fort only to finish shopping some dog food and goods, I had no purikura taken this time.

Venus Fort already started Christmas illuminations. This is a good place for a couple to enjoy shopping together. ๐Ÿ™‚
I always get lost at Venus Fort. You know what I mean if you’ve been there. :p

Well…thank you for reading. The post is getting too long with so many pictures, but I hope you enjoy it. ^ ^;

How do you like Hello Kitty’s Kawii Paradise? I love its naming!!
Do you have a similar place in your country?

50 Responses to “I just checked out Hello Kitty's Kawaii Paradise!!”

  1. sana November 8, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Oh, kitty-chan! I would love to go somewhere like this :3 It doesn't quite look finished, as if there are not enough products. Do they expect it to be so busy that all that space will be filled? That's a lot of people!

    That liitle girl in the shop was cute! That's how excited I would be, haha!

    • kirin November 8, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      Surprisingly there were very small number of people at the store, which is why it looks spacious with less goods. The store opened with everything finished. I have no idea how it looks like on weekends. I usually try to avoid crowds. :p

      • sana November 9, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

        Eek, too many people! I don't think I'd like that, either, it would be too difficult to find anything to buy.

        If something like that opened near where I live, I expect it would be busy for a few months. We don't have enough cute here! But where there are other shops selling the same thing nearby, it seems surprising that it would get so busy.

  2. Thomas Gantz November 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I haven:t been there since they remodeled. I should go there with Sakie now that I'm back in Japan finally. Wow, that Hello Kitty store is kawaii overload, lol. But I guess that's why they call it Kawaii Paradise. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin November 8, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      I guess some new shopping malls have opened in Kichijoji and Nihonbashi or Marunouchi some time ago. Tokyo is too large for me to catch up with what's new.

  3. sana November 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Oh, kitty-chan! I would love to go somewhere like this :3 It doesn't quite look finished, as if there are not enough products. Do they expect it to be so busy that all that space will be filled? That's a lot of people!

    • sana November 8, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      How did I manage to double-post? Oops! Sorry!

  4. Miru November 8, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    oh myyyyy! sooo kawaii *-*!!!!

  5. Lore November 8, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    How big is the shop?? It looks huge!!!
    In my town there's a sanrio shop but it is small, I have never been inside even I like very much hello kitty goods but in my opinion they're to expensive for some kind of things.
    The game center is the oposite of kawaii paradise!! it's more like a darkness world ๐Ÿ˜„

    • kirin November 8, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      How big? It was large. It's not like just a shop.
      Haha, you feel the same weirdness against the game center connected to kawaii paradise!! ^ ^;

  6. blooomzy November 8, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    I'm not really a big fan of Hello Kitty.
    I feel it's for younger people but it is cute and I would visit this place if I was in Odaiba, just to see it.

    I have been to Odaiba before but I am hesitant to go back as it is quite expensive.
    However I did not go to Venus Fort and I want to see it ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kirin November 8, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

      I am not crazy about Hello Kitty but I think it's cute and many people enjoy reading about it. I like Rilakkuma more but since I started to live with my dog (Pi-chan), she is the cutest thing to me. I wish I made her character goods. (*~*)

      That's true, it's more expensive to take Yurikamome line or Rinkai line than JR or metro. I rarely go to Odaiba, either.

  7. sergio November 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    kawaii,,!!!

  8. Italy and Japan staff November 8, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    If my daughter will visit this place I will never be able to take her home ^v^ she's a huge HK fan. Btw it seems so kawaii that I'll visit it as soon as I will visit Japan with her. Ciao ciao Ele

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      Oh I'm sure your daughter will love it so much!! ๐Ÿ˜„ Indeed, it's a paradise to kids. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. ritzyroxie November 8, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Wow, what a cute place! I wish there was a Rilakkuma Kawaii ParadiseXD

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Me too! I'd love Rilakkuma Kawaii Paradise, too!! lol

      • sana November 9, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

        A Rilakkuma cafe would be fun… with lots of cushions and bean bags!

  10. Amy November 8, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    I think Kitty might be dressed as an angel, not a goddess. Just from the harp, and the fact that there's a little Cupid above her.

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Ah~ you're right. ^ ^; Thanks for telling.

  11. Steven Stier November 9, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Yes, we have hello kitty shops in America, but they are no where near as elaborate as your shop. They are called "Sanrio's". They are very small, and they sell Hello Kitty merchandise as well as a few other related characters. It is fun to look at the Hello Kitty toys and merchandise because the character is sooo cute. And if you want to impress a girl (any age) just take her to one of these shops and you will move quickly to the top of her list of best friends. I bought a girlfriend a Hello Kitty charm for her cell phone. and she couldn't have been happier if I had bought her a diamond. Weird but true.

  12. Sabrina November 9, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    This place is so cute. In the first pictures it looks like a museum! ๐Ÿ™‚ The Venus Fort is so beautiful. The lights look like fireworks! Just amazing

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      Yes, Venus Fort starts Christmas illuminations from some time early November to…till after Christmas or even all during winter time. (I forgot) The interior of the building is designed like Italy. Even the sky is painted and lighted. But I believe it's not only I that easily get lost inside there. :p

  13. cin November 9, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    yes i got lost in venus fort too ๐Ÿ˜„ but the interior is sooo pretty!
    i'm surprised the photos looks so empty!! but cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      You got lost, too?! I do always! lol
      Yeah, I think people will come to this place on weekends. I saw some foreign tourists and only some local people. It was so empty.

  14. Troo November 9, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I MUST GO!!!

    Funnily enough we were thinking of taking the himiko from Asakusa to Odaiba in December, and I was wondering what to do when we got there. Poor, poor Mr. Troo ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

      Wow, I didn't even know what Himiko was. I Googled and found this. http://www.suijobus.co.jp/cruise/line/as_od_line….

      It looks fun! It's a good choice for travellers. For locals like us would rather save money and travel by train with the 1/3 of the fare. lol

      FYI, if you want to know how to get from one station to the other, and how long it takes, use this website. http://www.jorudan.co.jp/

      If you set the time or arrival, you can learn which train you should take in advance. ^ ^

      • Troo November 10, 2010 at 9:35 am #

        It does look fun, I agree. Hopefully the trip is pretty, otherwise I agree with you on using the train! LOL.

        Ooo, that's a really useful website! *bookmarks* Thank you!

      • kirin November 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

        People in Tokyo are always busy, we make the most out of the tool like that to save a second! lol

  15. happyparfait November 9, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    looks super adorable!!!! is kawaii paradise like sanrio puroland, or is it as big? i'm planning a future japan trip and i'm trying to decide whether i should just pick one to visit or schedule a visit to both. thanks!!

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      Puroland is much bigger and it covers other Sanrio characters too! Compared with Puroland, Kawaii Paradise is just a big shop. ^ ^

      • happyparfait November 10, 2010 at 11:39 am #

        thanks so much! i think i'll visit both, i can't bring myself to pass up on 1 of them lol.

  16. Sui November 10, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    I'm not much of a fan of Hello Kitty, but I have a friend who loves it to death. I like the other characters of Sanrio a lot more…But nothing beats Rilakkuma! :p

    Venus Fort looks awesome! It's so big, probably takes a whole day to really go through it all (if you're a tourist or a lover of shopping). Hm, in America, a lot of the bigger malls have maps placed here & there so you can find where you want to go & where you are currently… Maybe someone should suggest this to the Venus Fort management. ^^; Or is it that they have maps but people still don't know where they're going?

    • kirin November 10, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

      Oh there are maps here and there in Venus Fort, and it's only my fault because I'm too lazy to read it seriously. I'm kind of person who'd rather starts walking anyhow than stop and look at the map. Because of this, I'm always lost there. lol

      Rilakkuma! I'm happy to learn there are Rilakkuma lovers because in fact, I love it more than Hello Kitty. :p

      • Sui November 11, 2010 at 1:47 am #

        I don't often stop at the maps either, but when old stores close & new ones open, I need to figure out where they are in the mall. I'm also the type to just wander around, but luckily I have friends with a better sense of direction than me :p

        Yes, Rilakkuma is so adorable! I would buy more goods, but I stop myself because I tend to choose things that are not useful (plus it can become an expensive spending habit). But great for a little reward once in a while; we can always use more cute things in our lives. โค

      • kirin November 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

        Haha, I understand that. When we are with friends who are good at directions we always rely on them and never try to read maps by ourselves seriously. ^ ^;

  17. Cel November 10, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    Thank you so much for this lovely post. I was there in September so it hadn't opened yet. I love Odaiba, even if it is a bit far, I think it is one of the most fun places in Tokyo. So with your sweet post it was like going there again ^____^

    • kirin November 10, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      Cel, I think your Kitty iphone deco is brilliant. I wanted to leave you a comment as open ID but somehow I failed.
      The Kawaii Paradise opened on Oct. 22 2010. So you can try it next time. ^ ^

  18. Sara Mari November 10, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    I think it was a really smart idea to replace the arcade with this Hello Kitty Kawaii Paradise. It looks super cute, but really empty! I feel nervous when I am the only person in a shop. Thanks for sharing all the great pictures, it makes me want to see Odaiba again when I come back to Tokyo in December.

    The last Sumida river cruise I took to Odaiba was filled 90% with Chinese tourists, it must be an interesting place for them^^

    • kirin November 10, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      Thank you Sara Mari. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah, these days the numbers of Chinese tourists are increasing because our government issued tourist visa to more Chinese people.

    • telicia January 13, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      Hey, anyone happen to know the ticket price into Hello Kitty's Kawaii Paradise?

      • kirin January 14, 2011 at 4:14 am #

        It's free.
        It's only a shop like any others. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. moneygrower November 10, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    This is so cute!!! I must check this out when I go there!

  20. Cath November 13, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    I'm definitely going back to Odaiba but I wonder how long I can hang out here with a little boy! Maybe I can confine him at Toyota showroom! Haha..

    • kirin November 13, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      Why don't you ask your hubby and a boy to look around the showroom while you and your daughter look around Kawaii Paradise? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. kari November 26, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!! i need to go there… lol.

  22. lilynail February 20, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    i need to go here ! i'm coming in tokyo in march i think i visit !!

  23. Belinda April 1, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    It is my dream to go to a place like this!!!

  24. Gigi February 4, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    can you shop online for any of this ?

    • kirin February 4, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      No, unfortunately they don't have online shop. But they are selling Hello Kitty goods which you can also buy from other online shops. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

