Popular sweets from major convenience stores

5 Nov

Sweets that are produced by major convenience stores in Japan are not bad. Reflecting Uchi cafe boom, more and more people tend to buy cakes or confectionery from convenience store rather than depachika or a patissier.

Major convenience stores in Japan
Lawson…Uchi Cafe Sweets
Circle K Sunkus…Cherie Dolce
Family Mart…Sweets+
Seven Eleven…7iRo Cafe

5th-ranked popular sweets from popular convenience stores
Lawson: Platinum cake choco (230yen)
Circle K Sunkus: Hanjuku (=soft baked) doughnut (-shaped) mango (130yen)
Family Mart: Whip cream oni mori pudding (230yen)
Seven Eleven: Baked and rare cheese cake (198yen)

4th-ranked
Lawson: Mochi syokkan (=texture) roll (295yen)
Circle K Sunkes: Tenshi no (=angelic) creamy tube cake (230yen)
Family Mart: Uji Matcha parfait (260yen)
Seven Eleven: Pudding chou (=cream puff) (170yen)

3rd-ranked
Lawson: Platinum cake Mont Blanc (210yen)
Circle K Sunkes: Creamy baum roll (180yen)
Family Mart: Ore no roll cake (roll cake for men) (150yen)
Seven Eleven: Gokujo (=superb) roll cake (150yen)

2nd-ranked
Lawson: Platinum cake Tiramisu (210yen)
Circle K Sunkes: Kiwami no (=superb) cheese cake (198yen)
Family Mart: Pudding a la mode (290yen)
Seven Eleven: Annin (=almond jelly) (150yen)

Top-ranked
Lawson: Platinum roll cake (150yen)
Circle K Sunkes: Torokeru (=melting) pudding (120yen)
Family Mart: W cream eclair (150yen)
Seven Eleven: Tororin chou (=cream puff) (105yen)

I do not go to convenience stores so often but I tried the creamy baum roll, from Circle K Sunkus in 3rd-ranked.

Wow, it’s not bad for the price! There was someone uninvited underneath. ^ ^;

But sorry, Pi-chan. I’d never share anything like this with her. That’s for her sake.

The cream is something specially developed by Circle K Sunkus, according to the video, but I felt a bit of weirdness and difference from normal fresh cream. This is why food from convenience stores is reasonable. They add preservatives and artificial ingredients to last the food as long as possible. Trehalose, cellulose, emulsifying agent, polysaccharides thickener, flavor, carotenoid, and etc. For example, ingredients like these are not always found from the confectionery sold by patissier at a cake shop. But 180yen is very attractive when we compare that we must pay 3 times more for a decent cake that expires in the same day.

Have you tried sweets from convenience stores in Japan?
How did you like them? Do you have any recommends from a local convenience store or a supermarket of your area?

39 Responses to “Popular sweets from major convenience stores”

  1. Thanh Thao November 5, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Hello there!! I got to know your blog from Bloomzy cause I'm one of her follwers and I read the interview with her the other day and subscribed to your blog! πŸ™‚ I arrived in Tokyo about 4 days ago to try a year of Working Holiday. I graduated from my university in Germany this summer, my major was Japanese Studies πŸ™‚ Yes, although I look like an Asian I'm actually German XDD

    I love Japanese combinis, they are really handy! But I did not try out that many sweets yet. But I still have some time to try them. Would you mind meeting me, too?? I'm new in Tokyo and hardly know anybody XDDD

    • kirin November 5, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi Thanh, welcome to my blog and thank you for subscribing to it. ^__^
      I also experienced working holiday in Australia about 10 years ago! (Germany, France and Korea were added after I finish mine!) I'm sure you enjoy your working holiday so much, and yes, I'm always happy to meet up my readers!

      Please feel free to contact me from the contact page http://tokyokawaiietc.com/contact
      to exchange private messages, if you are pleased. We could arrange the day for meet-up in the email conversation. πŸ˜‰

  2. Patty November 5, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    You know, by first glance, it seems like a very good price for something delicious and pretty. But then you are right, if it is cheap and full of perservative and artificall agent to keep them lasting as long as possible. Imagine what it is doing to our bodies… The good and bad of convenience…

    • kirin November 5, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Yes, exactly. It looks good from first glance. But I found out 7-eleven uses less artificial stuff, compared with circle K sunkus.

  3. sana November 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Japanese people must have incredible self-control! I can eat a shocking quantity of choux-cream!

    I try to avoid foods with lots of additives, too. But I hear Japan has very high food standards compared to the rest of the world, so I like to buy Japanese groceries when I can. I have never tried a fresh dessert though, they all look so delicious! I'll get fat if I visit Japan…

    • kirin November 6, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      Haha!! ^ ^ Compared with U.S size for example, everything in Japan is small sized. I don't know where you are from, but if you are used to American size, you'll feel so sad to see how ours are small. ^ ^; Haagen Dazs for example http://www.haagen-dazs.co.jp/, I've never seen American size sold in Japan.

      • sana November 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

        I'm in the UK, so I won't be too surprised at the sizes! Although most of our food manufacturers have now been bought by American corporations, so perhaps we'll see things get bigger and sweeter!

        I think Japanese sweets are about the right size for me. Especially snack kit-kats (yum)! I think perhaps the only thing I would miss is the very dark chocolate we can buy here…

        I once bought some Japanese bread that used an alcohol patch to preserve it, that's so clever! Some bread manufacturers in the west use a protein extracted from hair to make it last longer! I don't know how they discover these things…

      • kirin November 7, 2010 at 7:30 am #

        I agree with the point that Japanese size is appropriate after all. But when the large ice cream in the U.S costs as much as the small one in here, I feel so sad. Paying the same amount of money and we can get only this much. :p But for me, it's better to have small container, otherwise I will find it very difficult to stop eating it at a certain point before there is still much of yummy ice cream left in the container…. ^ ^;

      • sana November 8, 2010 at 11:28 am #

        Sometimes I worry when I see things that are too inexpensive…

        A few years ago, there were whole turkeys on sale here for £2 – that's around 250 yen!!! How can that happen? Considering the shop has to make profits, after paying for delivery to stores, the packaging, the butcher's profit and the farmer's profits… what did those poor turkeys eat for the 10 months they were alive? I worked out that they couldn't have spent more than 10pence on food for each turkey. THAT makes me sad

        OK, I'm ranting! And off-topic! Let's get back to ice-cream!

        Happy cows + happy chickens = the yummiest ice-cream! I would rather pay more for a small amount of that good stuff, than the same money for a bigger portion, but where lives have been made to suffer, or the ingredients are scary XD

        Um, was that too intense?

      • kirin November 8, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

        Oh I mean both are Haagen Dazs ice cream. Same brand and almost same price but the size was totally different. ^ ^;

        But I agree with paying for good quality with small amount than bad quality with large amount. I don't like buffet because the quality is not good and I will end up eating more than needed.

  4. Juliet November 5, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I just discovered your blog today. ^_^ hooray! Circle K's(Circle K sunkus) and 7-eleven's in the US would never have anything that looked this good to eat..maybe they need to follow Japan's lead… πŸ˜›

  5. Angel November 5, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    I've never been to Japan (oh I wish!!), so I haven't had any of those snacks!

    But there is an asian market store around where I live and they carry Japanese, Korean and other asian food goodies. One thing like to I get is this really delicious Taiyaki icecream snack! It's only a $1!
    The company that makes it is actually Korean, but it still reminds me of Japan because of the Taiyaki shape. πŸ˜› http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2643/4087952427_06

    It might not be "healthy" but it is a great treat!

  6. Exotic Japan November 5, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Those are interesting ranking stats. I agree that even though they look delicious, I'm always worried about that weird preservatives or other chemicals I'm putting into my body when eating those conbini food. I see my friend Thanh Thao found your blog and commented above. I hope you two can meet since she is a very nice person. πŸ™‚

    • kirin November 6, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Wow, you two are friends!? It's interesting friends meet here. ^ ^; It's nice she already have some friends in Japan~.

  7. sparklewolfie November 6, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    I try to avoid too much processed and artificial food, but sometimes it is so convenient to get the bread or cake fro 7 instead of a bakery. In Taiwan we don't have the same brands I think, but there are similar cakes, and I always notice the strange flavor of the cream, also! I think the cream has the most preservatives because it expires much faster

    • kirin November 6, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

      My computer froze while I was typing this. -_-; Well…I always feel sick to see this egg salad sandwich that somehow can be preserved at normal temperature and that lasts several days. http://www.yamazakipan.co.jp/brand/02_03.html

      • sparklewolfie November 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

        Ahh those scare me too!! Eggs and dairy must be refrigerated, and if they don't you probably don't want to be eating them!!

        I just had some Yamazaki bread for dinner actually ^u^v Haha but it was the fresh kind – Coffee Bread!

      • kirin November 7, 2010 at 7:31 am #

        Maybe bread is not that bad, but the sandwich, having egg inside and not cooled down is very strange, right?

      • sparklewolfie November 7, 2010 at 7:40 am #

        Hm, I think bread is not as bad because it naturally keeps for longer since it's been baked. Oh no, now I want to go to Yamazaki and buy more bread!

  8. Apple November 6, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    i was always so tempted to buy sweets from Japan because all of them look soooooo delicious! But ever since I helped my friend with her sweets business, i became more aware of ingredients used in sweets, and have unbelievable self control now. Now, I can taste artificial taste. Natural ingredients are always so much better. So, I don't really look forward to eating sweets anymore…haha! I'm horrified by the amount of chemicals we consume! ^^"

    But I used to love Lawson's Rilakkuma's maple syrup pancakes. soooo delicious! And I loooovveee Rilakkuma. But of course you already know that. Hahahaa!

    • kirin November 6, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

      To be honest with you, I don't know much about our foods from convenience stores, because I rarely go there in my daily life. :p But I know Lawson often ties up with Rilakkuma and I feel so frustrated I cannot reach them if I don't collect stickers by buying some items from Lawson. ^ ^;

      Once I bought a book about food chemicals and I was so shocked to learn there was almost nothing to buy at a local supermarket. The book was too extreme, but it's not too much if I said most of our daily food contains some kind of food chemical, preservatives or agricultural chemical. :0

  9. Fran November 6, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    I love Japanese convenient stores! Back in my hometown Hong Kong it’s pretty awesome too, but since I’m not living in New Zealand, our convenient stores are so………inconvenient. All the foods are either chocolate bars, really gross pies, cookies or chips. Nothing like 7-11 in Japan, where we found instant miso soup with REAL CLAMS with their shells inside!

    Also I prefer Japanese (or Chinese/European) cakes/deserts, as they’re not as sweet as the commercialized/instant here. I feel like I’m killing taste buds when I eat NZ/Australian processed foods! x_x

    • kirin November 6, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      Oh that's boring if you have only those options. 😦 That's such an…inconvenient store! lol
      What's good about Japanese convenience stores is that they always try to attract our attention with something new. I don't go to convenient stores often but I can understand how people love it. ^ ^

      • Apple November 7, 2010 at 12:51 am #

        Ohhh!! You remind me, Fran!

        When I first went to Japan and saw their conbini, i was soooo amazed by what they offer!!! so much more! In Singapore, there is only one 24h conbini, and that is 7-Eleven, and even then, it's like what Fran said it's like. Just chips, chocolate bars, drinks, cookies, gross pies and bread etc. Hahahaha! When I saw that Japan's conbini had really delicious-looking food like oden, onigiri, sushi, bentos, delicious sweets, wonderful promotions, I fell in love immediately. Hahahaha!

        One of my favourite things to do in Japan after a whole day of fun is to browse the conbini near my accomodation. haha!

      • kirin November 7, 2010 at 7:38 am #

        Wow~, I've never ever thought of how our convenience stores are doing wonderful jobs compared with other countries!! (*o*)

  10. Diyana November 6, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    I've tried rare cheese cake at a Japanese summer festival before and that's all =(
    How I wish 7 Eleven here in Singapore sells sweets too. They only have cookies, but they're not too bad~

    • kirin November 7, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      Haha, Apple just mentioned something similar above! ^ ^; It's so strange, you know Singapore is well-known for the craze for foods. You guys love to eat and you have so much variety of great food. Then why convenience store can be boring like that?

  11. Amanda November 9, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    I tend to like most sweet things but have to agree that things start to taste strange when they have too many preservatives in them. It's interesting because the traditional Japanese diet is so healthy but these days there is a LOT of processed food.

    Eaten in moderation though… it's okay. πŸ™‚ I think one of the first things I'm going to buy when I get back to Japan is パロンパン!

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

      γƒ‘γƒ­γƒ³γƒ‘γƒ³οΌŸIs it something unique here? I've never thought of that. lol

      • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 1:10 am #

        Yeh it's Japanese! πŸ™‚ Oh how I miss it… ^^

  12. pinkplasticglitter November 13, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Whoa, some of them have so much cream, it makes me sick just looking at them. XD

    But those roll cakes look really good! I loved the combini sweets when I was in Japan. My favourite is melon pan, though, haha…

    • kirin November 14, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

      Actually I don't like whip cream so much, either. So…too much of it is not good for me. :p

  13. anna November 14, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    I love sweets you get in Japan! But even the bread from the combini is full of additives! But I still end up eating a lot of combini snacks =o= 7/11 must take so much of my wages!

    • kirin November 14, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      7-eleven is still better than others, in terms of preservatives and etc. ^ ^

  14. Tokyo fro's November 23, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I don't really look forward to eating sweets anymore…haha! I'm horrified by the amount of chemicals we consume

  15. kari November 26, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    of course! there is a circle k near my house and i have eaten waaaaaaaay too many sweets from there…. maybe the reason i got so fat since moving here! lol. i do love the pudding from cherie dolce… and i also like the chou-cream from there. they're pretty good.

    i also like the many different kinds of ice-cream snacks and how they change with the seasons (am sometimes annoyed by this too if i really like one thing and i can't get it anytime!) i also love the rilakkuma pancakes from lawson… oh and it's not really a sweet, but i love nikuman! it's soooooooo good, haha….

    • kirin November 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      Sounds like you love Japanese conbini so much! ^ ^;

  16. felicia the sweets January 8, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    I’m big fans of wagashi.. πŸ˜€
    πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

