Koumen ramen restaurant

22 Oct

Koumen Ueno store
phone: 03-5807-4535
open: 10:30am – 6am (mon.-sat.)
10:30am – 5am (sun. & national holiday)

I think Koumen is well known among foreign tourists because they have English ads. But anyhow Koumen is also popular among the locals. I had a chance to eat their ramen for the first time in years since I had it in Ikebukuro or somewhere last time.


Probably I was attracted by these free one of the dishes I can choose! lol

I didn’t know they have upper floor. Why didn’t they suggest that to me? Usually workers at ramen restaurants are sensitive enough to female customers’ feelings. I mean I am OK to eat ramen alone among men on the counter table. But most of Japanese young women are too embarrassed even to enter a ramen restaurant alone!

So I took a seat on the counter table near the entrance without knowing there were more seats upstairs. Many women would feel uneasy about eating ramen like this. But who cares? I started to take pictures for this blog. lol

Menu looks like this…

and this.

I ordered a pudding as a free dish, instead of other options such as steamed rice or half-boiled egg or extra noodle.

This is the ramen I ordered. It’s got every topping Koumen has to offer. It was a bit of surprise to me when I saw the toppings were prepared separately from ramen.

I put the toppings on the ramen by myself. 🙂
The volume of ramen was little too much for me. But I ate everything. However I usually do not drink up the soup no matter how good it is, because I want to avoid extra fat as much as I can. The noodle was not my favorite type but it was good.

Again it was a surprise the pudding was served with its case and a top sealed as if I just bought it from convenience store…Well, I guess I should not expect any more for a free dish. haha! :p

I love vanilla beans!! 😀 The pudding was very good. I like this kind of soft pudding. Actually I never expected to be able to have such a yummy pudding at a ramen restaurant!

My lunch was for 990yen. Due to strong yen these days this price may sound a little bit expensive to some people. But when I think back some foreign countries I traveled last year, I think 990yen for the ramen with all toppings, drinking water and the pudding was quite reasonable. I guess that’s because of deflationary economic slump that Japan has been suffering from for years. So this is a good sample of ordinary ramen restaurant. You can see how the ramen cafe was special. lol

17 Responses to “Koumen ramen restaurant”

  1. sedonia2 October 22, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    The food looks delicious – it reminded me again of that movie I recommended, Tampopo. It's wonderful and a big part of the plot is this man teaching a ramen restaurant owner how to make proper ramen because she does everything wrong.

    However, I was intrigued by your comments about women feeling uncomfortablt eating alone with the men there. This is so different from over here in the US. We wouldn't really think about that, that I'm aware of. Very different dynamics it seems.

    • kirin October 23, 2010 at 1:45 am #

      Yes, many young Japanese women are too uncomfortable to go to a ramen restaurant like this alone. As for me, I guess appetite wins over embarrassment! lol

      • sedonia2 October 23, 2010 at 1:49 am #

        lol. Kirin, you are so kawaii! In seriousness, though, how are male/female dynamics in Japan? I know that's a generalized question but is there "equality" in the way we think of equality here in the US? What's it like?

      • kirin October 23, 2010 at 2:10 am #

        hehehe~~ :p About male/female equality in Japan, I guess I should write a post on that later. With one word, it's unlike the U.S. There is so much of inequality and unfairness at work. Well, thank you for suggesting a great topic to me. I will write about this soon. Stay in touch! 😉

      • sedonia2 October 23, 2010 at 2:13 am #

        oh, wow, thanks, Kirin! Yes I'd love to read and entry about that. And I will keep in touch. I enjoy your blog so much.

  2. Steven Stier October 23, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    I don't think that I have told you lately how much I appreciate your excellent work. You put so much time and effort into creating something interesting each time. This blog is a good example of how you take something as common as a noodle restaurant and with pictures and a few words make me smile. Thank you. Please keep up the good work.

    • kirin October 23, 2010 at 2:20 am #

      Thank you for your kind comment that makes me smile! ^____^
      Blog posts will be a trigger to our communication. I really enjoy exchanging comments with you.
      Many of my readers love Japan and wish to travel or move to Japan. I want to create the online space where such people can feel Japan today casually. ^ ^

      It's also good to me too, that I make international friends, improve my English, and even get job offers around the world by updating this blog. hehehe~~ ;p It goes exactly as I wished (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/about). When it's good for many people including myself, I'd spend my time creating a new post rather than watching TV.

  3. Cath October 23, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    I agree with Steven! Keep up the great work, dear! 😉
    The ramen looks heavenly!
    I will appreciate having a ladies only floor. I think most ladies I know will agree too. So exclusive… But of course, is there another meaning to this in Japan?
    Also, will a ramen restaurant like this have children seat?

    • kirin October 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      Thank you, Cath. ❤
      Ladies only floor is a good idea. 😉 I'd choose that floor, if there's the one.
      Sorry I didn't get what you mean by exclusive part. But as for children seat…I really have no idea. I never paid attention to that. Sorry. (x_x)

  4. Troo October 23, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    24 hour Ramen! YES!!

  5. Cath October 23, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    I just checked… Yes, they do cater to kids. n_n The name is funny to me cos 光 can mean “empty/ bald” or “light” in Chinese. 光麵 is sounds like “bald noodles” to me. LOL

    • kirin October 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

      Oh, good. ^ ^
      光 means just light in Japanese. It looks fun to me that it's got a meaning of empty or bald?! Empty is 空 bald (with no hair) is 禿 in Japanese. lol So 光麺 gives me the sense of shining noodle or something. Bald noodle sounds funny. lol

  6. astrorainfall October 24, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    Love reading about how Japanese behave or view certain situations eg Japanese women tend to feel embarrassed about eating alone in a ramen shop…. I have noticed that such noodle shops are predominantly male but never figured out why women didn't want to go there. I just thought the food was not appealing to women, ie. too fatty or oily or not enough veggies etc.

    • kirin October 25, 2010 at 12:38 am #

      The food is appealing to women too, because there are so many variety of ramen in Japan. If she doesn't like too fatty one, she can choose "assari" -kei (less fatty) one. 😉 But it's true ramen has less veggies. ^ ^;

  7. blooomzy October 25, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I found your comment about Japanese women not wanting to eat with men or by themselves very interesting. I often feel this way when I am by myself or with girl friends. And I wondered why I did not often see many women in Ramen stores. So this answers my question XD

  8. Sabrina October 25, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    It looks so good! Oishi! 😛

Leave a Reply

