"Dokonoko no Kinoko" cute song for kids

20 Oct

Sometimes children songs can be well received by adults in Japan.
According to “Recochoku” or the market place for cell phone ringtones, a strange kinoko (meaning mushroom) song is 5th ranked. This means this song was downloaded for ringtones many times by many people.

Followings are lyrics in Romaji so you can sing it in Japanese without reading Japanese.

sarunokoshikake kitsuneno chabukuro matsutake shiitake arittake~

(1)
dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko morino kinoko

morino kinoko wa rappa ni natte
onpu ga kumo made tondetta

puppuru pappa~ purupappa~
puppuru pappa~ purupappa~

sora niwa naisho no hanashi dayo

(2)
dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko sora no kinoko

sora no kinoko wa rakkasan ni natte
aoi namima ni maiorita

surusuru rara~ sururarra~
surusuru rara~ sururarra~

umi niwa naisho no hanashi dayo

(3)
dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko umino kinoko

umi no kinoko wa kurageni natte
midori no mori no yume wo mita

yurayura ruru~ yurarurru~
yurayura ruru~ yurarurru~

dare nimo naisho no hanashi dayo

dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko morino kinoko

dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko sora no kinoko

dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko umino kinoko

dokonoko no kinoko kono kinoko dokono
dokonoko no kinoko kinoko kinoko
kamisama dakega sitteru yo

lol This is like tongue twister. But I’m sure you learned one Japanese word “kinoko” (きのこ) that means mushroom. lol
Speaking of “Dokonoko no Kinoko”, it reminds me of “Dango 3 Kyodai” back in 1999. It was a big hit, I even heard it in Hong Kong! ^ ^;

Lyrics in Romaji.

kushi ni sasatte dango dango
mittsu narande dango dango
syouyu nurarete dango dango
dango sankyoudai

ichiban ue wa chounan chounan
ichiban shita wa sannan sannan
aida ni hasamare jinan jinan
dango sankyoudai

otouto omoino chounan
niisan omoino sannan
jibun ga ichiban jinan jinan
dango sankyoudai

kondo umarete kurutokimo
negai wa sorotte onaji kushi
dekireba kondowa koshian no
takusan tsuita andango dango

aruhi kyoudai genka kenka
kogeme no kotode kenka kenka
sukimano aita dango dango
demo suguni nakanaori

kyou wa todanade hirune hirune
sannin sorotte hirune hirune
ukkari nesugoshi asagakite
kataku narimashita

haruni nattara hanami hanami
akini nattara tsukimi tsukimi
ichinen tooshite dango dango
dango sankyoudai daigo

dango dango
dango dango

dango sankyoudai
dango sankyoudai
dango sankyoudai
dango!

I remember I had a request from a reader of the blog and I wanted to post about children songs. But it was not that easy for me who have no kids to find out what kind of kid’s song is popular now. I roughly searched on Youtube but I couldn’t find anything new and nice then. But now I can finally share the kids song supported by kids and adults in Japan! 😀 As far as I see comments on Youtube, many Japanese kids naturally start dancing to the Dokonoko song. How cute!! XD

10 Responses to “"Dokonoko no Kinoko" cute song for kids”

  1. Steven Stier October 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    This was a fun blog. I had to look up dango to find out what it means. I was pretty sure it was some kind of food, but was not sure what it was made of. Next time I come to Japan I want to be there for hanami. I will try dango then. BTW I always like it when I have to look up a meaning for a word or phrase. It helps me to learn.

  2. Francine October 20, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    dango sankyodai! I remember them! They were so big in Hong Kong like you said! I remember having so many of their stationary goods and toys! That’s what you call ‘natsukashiii naa’… and now I have that song stuck in my head again 😀

    • kirin October 21, 2010 at 12:53 am #

      Yes, natsukashii~~ ^ ^
      I happened to attend a wedding ceremony of my friend in Hong Kong then. Natsukashii desu~~, such a long time ago!

  3. Valerie October 23, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Unfortunately, the first video appears to be blocked due to copyright issues :/

    • kirin October 24, 2010 at 12:40 am #

      o_0; Thank you for telling, wow, it's so fast. I replaced it with another link, although I have no idea how long this is kept. 😦

  4. Tinny November 11, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I love the "Dokonoko no Kinoko" -song! It reminds me very much of Russian or other Slavonic folk music. I guess that's why I liked it so much; I've heard music like it all my life here, just not in Japanese 😀 I'm afraid the song will be stuck in my head all day now…

    • kirin November 13, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Yes, many of us also are addicted to this Russian-like melody. ^ ^;

Leave a Reply

