Do you like Mori Girl?

17 Oct

★Autumn Fashion★
3/OCT/2009 on air

This episode was from autumn 2009. I missed a chance to share it last year.
Fashion comes and goes very quickly in Tokyo. Some of them are already out of date today. But it’s still interesting to see what kind of styles were popular this time last year.

The player will show in this paragraph

Kirin’s opinion:
It was interesting Mori Girl style was most popular last year. It’s understandable the style is supported by many people, any generations. Mori means forest. Then why “forest girls”? That’s because they look as if they came from forest, because of soft and relaxed atmosphere from loose-fitting clothes, earth colored clothes, fluffy texture and natural materials they wear. Thus, in spite of the name Mori (forest), it has nothing to do with outdoor activities! Forest is just an image. 😉

Ribbon! I saw it everywhere last year. I personally don’t like ribbon, that’s why I gave up buying some nice dresses only because they got a big ribbon in front or somewhere.

This year it’s still very warm in Tokyo. I still wear T-shirt at home. I’m sure people dressing like “autumn” will sweat inside their warm clothes. :p

8 Responses to “Do you like Mori Girl?”

  1. Rosa October 17, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Thanks for posting another episode of Kawaii TV. I really enjoy your blog and check it everyday for updates. Luckily I can understand a little bit of Japanese, so I don't need subtitles most of the time but your explains a great!

    • kirin October 18, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      Thank you for your comment, Rosa. 🙂
      I try to update this blog every other day~. Stay in touch!!

  2. Lore October 18, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    I like the style and I complete love ribbons!!! if one day I hava a baby girl…..I will dress her full of ribbons!!! XD

    • kirin October 18, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      That sounds so cute~ ^ ^ Did you see ribbons everywhere last year too? You would have liked the ribbon fashion last year in Tokyo.

  3. Sui October 19, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I usually don't go for trends, but end up buying some items according to trend because that's the only thing available in stores! I use to dress more casually in t-shirts, jeans, & hoodies (and a little bit of punk now & then) but now that I'm a bit older, I like to mix things up with casual business-wear. My eyes go immediately to slightly fancier items that have lace; basically items with a delicate look. And I'm just starting on my trek getting some blazers, cardigans, business-inspired shorts, and darker colored jeans.

    However, dressing too maturely makes people think I'm older than I really am, so I constantly find ways to make it more youthful/playful. Now that my hair is much longer, I can do sweet updo hairstyles which will match perfectly with my style~ Of course, on lazy days, I just resort back to t-shirts, jeans, & hoodies because it's easy & simple.

    Anyways, Mori Girl style is really nice & I like the soft gentle nature it portrays.
    As for ribbons….a little too young. I like ribbons on my clothes, but nothing too dramatic or else it'll look completely ridiculous.

    It's already cold here in California, raining on & off. So I'm looking forward to wearing boots & heavier sweaters~

    • kirin October 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your style, Sui.
      It's nice you know what you like and what you dislike. I like to mix things up, without losing the balance. ^ ^

      In winter, everything is covered by coat, but autumn is nice we can show off layered clothes.

  4. Lisa October 22, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    An interesting episode! I was aware of some of the trends (mori girl fashion is getting especially popular in Europe since it's already very close to the Scandinavian natural fibers/simple stype) already, but it's always nice to pick up extra fashion styling tidbits. I should really have a notebook in front of me when I watch! I was really impressed by the designer's photo book though, wow! Even if I took that many pictures for inspiration, I don't know if I could be bothered to print them all out and organise them… :$

    • kirin October 23, 2010 at 2:04 am #

      I see! Scandinavian simple style is like mori girl fashion…very interesting! Then it's like we imported Scandinavian style and arranged it into Japanese way, haha!

      Yeah, I'm just amazed at how every worker in Japan, no matter which industry he belongs to, works so hard! I guess we cannot rest well while everyone is such a hard worker in Japan. When I ask something by email, it will be answered next day or next after next day in Japan, while it took me 4 or 5 days when I did business with some European companies, with less than half of my questions only answered. lol

      I guess this is why we, the Japanese work like a horse. Convenience makes business! It's possible that I'm already used to it too much to adapt myself to easy-going laid-back style in the rest of the world! lol

Leave a Reply

