Tsubasa Masuwaka's doll makeup

16 Oct

This is a collaboration post with Apple who has more experience on makeup. Speaking of makeup…I have to confess that I am not wearing makeup so much. :p When I was younger I was thinking makeup could clog the pores and it’ll develop pigmentation on the skin. That’s the main reason I’ve lived with less makeup, but now I got aged and the pores are outstanding without covered, so why not? lol

I’m going to learn it by sharing such an informative post with the help of Apple. I may want to appear on Youtube in the near future with such makeup. ^ ^; Anyhow I’m still such a beginner who is scared to wear false lashes, technically and mentally! lol
Tsubasa Masuwaka is not only a model but also a producer of cosmetics or any products today. I’m sure many people are familiar with her popular products such as dolly wink eyelashes and candy doll cosmetics from Japanese fashion magazines or experiences from shopping at Japanese drug stores or Don Quijote when you visited Japan.

Tsubasa shares her way of makeup to become a doll-looking girl on MORE June issue. Of course she uses her brands!

step 1: Apply brown colored eye shadow on the eye hole (see the area marked by the pink dotted line) entirely. Be careful not to apply it too much though, because it may make a shadow on your upper eyelid.

step 2: Now, using dark brown eyeshadow, apply it parallel to the area of your double eyelids(see pink dotted line). Apply one more layer of the dark brown eyeshadow in the pink circled area, just above your iris. This will emphasise your iris distinctly and make your eyes look bigger.

step 3: Apply highlight on the bottom of your eye to brighten your eyes.

step 4: Use pencil eyeliner to fill in spaces between eyelashes.

step 5: Use liquid eyeliner to draw a line longer than your eyes so it fits with false eyelashes later. The point is to use a liquid eyeliner to make the line thinner at the tail of eyes.

step 6: Apply false lashes along the line you’ve just drawn.

step 7: Apply mascara on both your eyelashes and false lashes all together, but don’t apply it too much! That’ll make your face look scary~!

step 8: Use electric (hot) eyelash curler to make your eyelashes and false lashes look as natural as possible. This step makes a big difference for your looks when you finish.

step 9: Apply false lashes on lower eyelid, too. (Use the lashes exclusive for lower eyelid!) The point is to place it a little bit down from the tail of eyes intentionally. You do not need to put mascara on your lower lashes.

step 10: Apply some lame powder at the bottom of your eye for finish.

Cheek: Use light pinkish-orange, not to be too sweet. Apply it in a large area.

Lips: Apply orangish concealer and orangish lip gloss over it. Make it look like a milky color!

Who want to wear a doll makeup like hers? Hope this tutorial helps! 😉

From Apple:

This is pretty much how I do my eye makeup, just that sometimes I’m lazy to put on eyeshadow and mascara my eyelashes, and I only do bottom eyelashes when I have the time because it takes too much time to get it right.

The key to such nice makeup is practice. I know that even with these detailed pictures and descriptions, beginners may still think that they surely cannot do it. The truth is that everyone’e eyes are a little bit different so every individual may have to ‘tweak’ this tutorial to their own eyes. For example, I don’t have double eyelids, so in the past, I always skipped such makeup tutorials that teaches eye makeup for double eyelids. But in the end, I decided that I’ll just imagine my double eyelids are there (I mean, it’s just a fold, right?) and apply the makeup as usual. My left eye is also smaller than my right, so I have to apply more eyeliner on my left eye to make both of my eyes look the same size.

So, even though a makeup tutorial isn’t a ‘one way fits all’ magical textbook, it does teaches the basics to achieve a certain look you may want. The most important thing to do is to really pick up your makeup tools and start trying the way the tutorial teaches. Without even trying, you would never know if you can do it.

Some parts may be hard for beginners. For example, lining the eyes and putting on false eyelashes. But practice will make perfect. I myself learned how to apply makeup from Popteen! ^^ It’s really not that hard. Anyone can really look like a model in these magazine pages if they put their heart to it! ^^

If you’re interested, I posted some pictures of myself with different makeup in my personal blog. No drastic makeup difference actually (sorry!), but my hope is that it might inspire some girls to try your best and play with makeup! I know some people don’t agree with putting on makeup, but really, it’s fun, and you can look different all the time! ^^

Anyway, who’s into Gyaru makeup here? ^^

21 Responses to “Tsubasa Masuwaka's doll makeup”

  1. Cath October 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    @Apple: Are you a Chinese Australian? I'm just curious. =P I'm just using foundation, eyeliner and blush now… I would love to wear the circle lens but I'm afraid my students will think I'm a wannabe! Hee… I'm almost mid 30s now.

    • Apple October 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

      Hi Cath! I'm a Singaporean. Maybe you can wear the circle lens on your off days! ^^ Just try them out!! 😀 Maybe you will set a trend in school. haha!

  2. Troo October 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    I have never mastered the magic of liquid eyeliner. I can paint perfect lines anywhere but on my face 🐱

    • kirin October 17, 2010 at 1:16 am #

      Same here. My "okubutae" (somewhere inbetween eyelids with no fold and with fold) makes things more complicated! They are so tricky and hard to handle. When I open my eyes widely they become no fold, but the fold appears at some angle. (*_*);;

    • Apple October 18, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      Try leaning your elbow against your wall or mirror when you are applying eyeliner. Haha! I still do that even after so many years…if not my hand will shake sometimes! >"<

      • kirin October 19, 2010 at 12:46 am #

        Thanks for the tip, Apple. I'll keep that in mind. 🙂

  3. iomoo October 16, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    thanks for this! i have dolly wink eyelashes but i never got to using them. this is great! 😀

    • kirin October 17, 2010 at 1:17 am #

      I hear dolly wink and candy doll cosmetics that Tsubasa produced are also well-known and used by people overseas. I hope this really helps! 😀

      • iomoo October 17, 2010 at 3:37 am #

        yesyes! they sell them at my local japanese market. many lolitas and himes enjoy them ^_^ that, or daiso eyelashes–idk why!

        thanks again~

      • kirin October 17, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

        Wow…they are so handy! No wonder!! 😀

  4. blooomzy October 17, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    I do this kind of make-up quite often, but I didn't know Tsubasa also did it haha
    I think it's really popular right now, especially with Gyaru.

    I own a lot of Tsubasa's Dollywink and Candydoll items, they're great for make-up.
    I like to wear top lashes a lot, but I only wear bottom ones when I don't have university, as I think it's a little too much.

    Thank you for this!

    • kirin October 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      I'm sure you are already familiar with this. 😉
      I still feel awkward with makeup like this…haha! But I want to give it a try. :p

      • blooomzy October 17, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

        You should!
        I think this kind of make-up is good for all ages, and it can be adjusted to suit you 😀

  5. Lore October 18, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    I love beautifull make up, and I usually watch tutorials in youtube but the problem is that to get beautiful looks you have to buy a lot of differents make up

    • kirin October 18, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      haha! That's true, we have to carry so many makeup goods with us. ^ ^;

  6. Julie October 18, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    I love this dolly makeup. I wear it all the time so I think I look tired without false lashes on.

    • kirin October 19, 2010 at 12:48 am #

      Haha, it's quite opposite to my case; I look too much with false lashes and I feel relieved to see my face without them. lol

  7. Lindsay October 18, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    I was excited to see that a japanese supermarket in my area was selling Dolly Wink in their toiletries isle…but then I saw the price- USD $15 for one set of lashes is a lot, especially when I had just gone to Daiso and bought similar eyelashes for $1.50. Fifteen dollars is about the same price that M.A.C. eyelashes cost, so it made me hesitant to buy any, even though I wanted to try them. I bought a Dollywink eyelash holder case though, and I really like it!

    I don't consider myself to be gal at all, but I like using gal techniques when doing my makeup. For example, I go very for a very heavy emphasis on my eyelashes with lots of falsies and I like using the creamy soft pastel colors that Tsubasa is using in these pictures. However, I agree with you Kirin in that I feel like makeup can mess up your skin. I feel like my skin is more prone to breaking out if I wear heavy foundation, so I only wear it when I feel like it's absolutely necessary.

    • kirin October 19, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      A set of Dolly Wink lashes costs about 1200yen or so in Japan, too. It's said Dolly Wink's got high quality of lashes, which is totally different from the ones from 100yen shop. (Daiso)

      I'm surprised to hear Dolly Wink has widely been sold anywhere!

      I think it's a good idea to have some off days from makeup for your skin.

  8. WhyLink241 May 25, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    Nice but I dunno why Tsubasa still isn't cute to me

  9. Uichi August 13, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    wow it's really help me~!! thank you so much for posting these tips~! (.>w<.)/ ~*

Leave a Reply

