Who missed Pi-chan?

10 Oct

Once in a while I’ll post about Pi-chan because some readers ask me how she is doing. ^ ^;

These are the pictures before she got a hair cut. She looks like a little mop and I really like this. Her face also looks so mild and soft. But for hygienic reason I give her a haircut every once in a while. In fact her face smells like Natto (lol) so soon especially during summer time, no matter how often I try to wipe or wash it off.

She sits next to me all the time. She is as small as to fit inside the seat.

She looks so different once she has her hair cut. I like both Pi-chan. πŸ™‚ Pi-chan with short hair doesn’t make her look like a Shih Tzu.

I cannot stop playing with her~. πŸ˜„ Her eyelashes grow so long that I sometimes ask a groomer to cut them. She cut them too much this time.

I like this picture, too. She looks like a beautiful girl. I think Pi-chan was a kawaii girl if she were a human being. She’s got big cute eyes with long eyelashes and her face is very small. ^_^

Meanwhile her black hair around the mouth looks like her mustache…which always reminds me of “Karl Ojisan” lol

She likes to join me for a nap or rest as always!

Which hairstyle of Pi-chan’s do you like better? Short hair or fluffy hair?
Till next time… πŸ˜‰

39 Responses to “Who missed Pi-chan?”

  1. Lore October 10, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    jajja it's funny, she has a really small ears

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:36 am #

      Oh, I guess that's because I ask the groomer to cut her ears as short as possible. I found shorter was cuter. πŸ˜‰

  2. Steven Stier October 10, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    I like both looks. She is so cute. But I prefer the long hair. Sad for you because long hair is hard to keep clean and is hard to keep long hair off the furniture and floor. In America dogs must have a license and wear it on a collar whenever they are outside. Do Japanese dogs need dog tags? We also must give them rabies shots. And in most cities dogs must be on a leash when you take them for a walk.

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      Hello Steven!
      Yes, it's the same over here. Every owner of a dog must give her dog rabies shots every year, and certificate sticker and a dog tag are given in return. But it's nothing like we must carry the tag all the time with our dog. The sticker however is recommended to be put on the entrance door of the house to let neighbors or visitors know that we have a safe dog that already had rabies shots.

      But again there's no strict rule determined by the law, nor fine required due to violation. That's why it's true there are some bad mannered owners who ignore shots, complaining that Japan does not have rabies any longer anyhow.

  3. sedonia2 October 10, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    She's adorable either way. <g>

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:50 am #

      Thank you. Grooming costs 6500yen (USD80, now because of strong yen) and every 1.5 month. This is not cheap but it's nice I can enjoy both Pi-chan looks. ^ ^;

  4. Mari October 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Ooh~ I really like both too! I think Pi-chan looks cute no matter what.

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Thank you Mari. I'll tell her. lol

  5. Troo October 10, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    ぴけゃんはかわいいでγ₯ね!!!

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:55 am #

      γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ† ^ ^ (でγ₯γ­οΌοΌžγ§γ™γ­οΌ‰ I'm amazed at your Japanese. You can also write some Japanese? Cool~!! b(^0^)d

      • Troo October 11, 2010 at 9:38 am #

        Ack, I did a typo! Now I am horrified!

        I'm being very lazy with my Japanese. I need to crack on with it and stop making excuses!

      • kirin October 11, 2010 at 9:52 am #

        Oh it's OK, don't be horrified. I'm sure your Japanese is good enough you can travel around Japan by yourself already. πŸ˜‰ I thought I should correct your typo because there are many readers who study Japanese, too. ^ ^
        You can improve it whenever you use it. πŸ˜‰ I want to do that with my poor Spanish. haha!

  6. Nami October 10, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    She's so cute either way ;w; I just want to hug her hahaha.

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 12:58 am #

      Her body temperature is 38C usually, which is normal for a dog, but it's like when we have a fever. So it's too hot to hug her in summer, but very comfortable to sleep with her in winter because that makes me feel like having a bath. haha!

  7. Liam October 10, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    The short one if she smells less like natto πŸ˜€ she is ok with the groomer cutting the hair on her face?

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:03 am #

      Short one smells less like natto. But I ask a groomer to give her a hair cut only once in 6 weeks or so, because grooming costs like USD80 every time. She is OK with the groomer cutting the hair on her face. I think she is just shivers on the grooming table while her hair is cut. But I'm too scared to do that by myself. I'd be happy to pay for professional skills.

  8. Cath October 10, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    I like both looks for different reasons. n_n
    Fluffy Pi-chan is cute but I’ll hesitate to hug her. Short-haired Pi-chan looks much cleaner. πŸ™‚

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:09 am #

      Pi-chan cannot be free from smells on her face because she has no muzzle. Her eyes, nose and mouth are located almost on the flat face. This is why food, tears, runny nose and etc. can be mixed up in her face. I think this is the reason for the smell. I try to wipe her face off as often as possible, but Japanese sticky summer encourages this and I cannot catch up with it. (@_@);;

      • Cath October 11, 2010 at 8:21 am #

        She doesn't drool a lot, does she? My uncle's golden retriever is real sweetheart BUT I'm not going near him cos his saliva is all over the place!!! My children love to hug him though… I try not to look and just bring them home for a good shower. LOL

      • kirin October 11, 2010 at 9:58 am #

        No she doesn't drool at all. When she does, it'll be when she keeps walking without drinking water at all. I'd feel the same way as you feel under that situation, Cath. Many dog owners love whatever dogs, but I am kind of owner who loves her own dog and that's it. lol Of course I like dogs but I noticed I am not acting like some dog lovers who treat any dogs so well. (i.e to give a kiss to other dogs. I can do that only to my Pi-chan.) ^ ^;

        BTW, kids do love dogs so much! I don't know why but most of all kids just love dogs so much, which is remarkable.

  9. xMickii October 10, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    *Puts hand up* I did miss Pi-chan!
    @_@ She's so cute!
    Umm.. I like both hairstyle, really.
    When she has her fluffy hair, she looks like a stuffed animal x)
    And when she has short hair, she looks feminine πŸ™‚

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:10 am #

      You are very good at expressions! I guess that's it!! ^__^

  10. Amanda October 11, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    I like both! Looking at fluffy Pi-chan I just want to cuddle her :3 but short haired Pi-chan is adorable too and her eyes look so big!

    Does Pi-chan mind when you clean her face? I'm no good at doing that for my dog, she always moves her head. I'm good at giving her medicine though! πŸ™‚

    My boyfriend, well, fiancée thinks I should be a vet because I love all sorts of animals. I'm not so good with blood though and don't like to hear them in pain. 😦

    But yeh, did you see on twitter/facebook that I got engaged? Russell took me to Malaysia and proposed to me. ^-^ Maybe you could write a blog post about your engagement/wedding! πŸ™‚

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      OMG~~~, really?? I'm so happy for you to hear that! You know I am not a frequent user of facebook and I often forget about twitter too, I totally missed what you just mentioned here! γŠγ‚γ§γ¨γ†οΌοΌοΌοΌοΌI'll go to your facebook to search for the part later.

      My engagement is far from anything romantic and I'm sure it's nothing interesting. I am very different from most of people and we didn't even have a wedding. Japanese people are always so surprised to hear why I was not interested in anything like this. It'll be a long story. I'll tell you if we have a chance to talk face to face. ^ ^;

      Anyhow…congratulations on your engagement!

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Pi-chan does not mind my wiping her face, although she doesn't let me brush her teeth. I'm concerned about her dental health. I have everything prepaired for her. A chicken flavor tooth paste for dog, a tooth brush for dog, dental gum, my deco free short nails. But she keeps rejecting my brushing her teeth. Even with my fingers she tries to avoid me. She only eats dental gum, but that's not enough. 😦

      Well, I'll go check your fb. Thank you for your comment<3

  11. mandy October 11, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I agree with the hair being long looking more cute and like a shih tzu and when it`s short it looks funny.
    It`s exactly the same with my shih tzu tula – she looks more cute with hair covering her eyes!

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

      Most of Shih Tzu kept in Japan are cut in short hair because owners are too bothered to take care of combing. lol

  12. blooomzy October 11, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I'm glad Pi-chan is happy and well πŸ˜€
    I think she looks so cute with her long hair, but also when she is groomed.
    She looks more like a puppy when she has short hair.

    I think I like short better haha

    • kirin October 12, 2010 at 7:08 am #

      I thought I liked her long hair first, but noticed I liked short hair later. haha! ^ ^;

  13. Maria October 11, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I like of the Pi-chan's short hair style. I have never seen Shih Tzu with such a short cut πŸ™‚ Very cute.

    • kirin October 12, 2010 at 7:10 am #

      Thank you Maria. It's so funny but over here short cut shih tzu dogs are not rare at all. I guess I am too buzy and lazy to take care of her everyday if she has long hair like normal shih tzu dog. lol

  14. Amika (Detroit, MI) October 13, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    I love Pi-chan's new haircut. The little whisps by her ears are so cute!!!
    Thx for posting pics. I missed seeing her.

    • kirin October 13, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      Thank you Amika. ^ ^ I feel like sharing her pics once in a while because she is too cute for me to enjoy alone. lol

  15. hikaru_low October 13, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    gosh pi-chan is so adorable..~ it's so hard to choose..

    long hair is more elegant…~
    short hair definitely brings out her beautiful eyes…
    i'll go for short hair pi-chan..~ ❀

    yes, pi-chan is a beauty if she were a human girl…~

    • kirin October 13, 2010 at 11:46 am #

      Thank you hikaru for your opinion. ^ ^
      She looks cute but she acts stupid. She sneakily eats dirt on the floor. lol I have to vacume the floor before it gets dirty. She creates a lot of work, which I want to be free from. lol

  16. Sui October 14, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    I think she's cute either way! I love animals and wish I could get a small dog like Pi-chan but my mom hates them (too much work & they smell very bad, apparently…. I think she has a really biased opinion just based on her speculations & not actual fact). I was thinking of raising a dog when I move out to an apartment on my own, but it's so much more cost-efficient to live with my parents/family having recently graduated college a year ago…

    Anyways, I always enjoy seeing these cute little posts about your dog! It's a great way to de-stress after a busy day, etc. πŸ˜›

    • kirin October 14, 2010 at 6:53 am #

      Dogs are not stincky when you take care of them properly. Depending on the type of dogs, their characters differ one another. Chihuahua for example is very easy to be kept by a single working woman because they are very independent they do not feel lonely to be left alone in the daytime. Chihuahua also do not need walk because their tiny body does not require much exercise. They don't need hair cut, either.

      This is why most working women in Japan like to keep Chihuahua as a pet. Shih Tzu is not independent. Pi-chan always misses me and she always stays next to me. She needs 1 hour walk everyday and hair cut every 6 weeks. Pi-chan is not good for people working outside. I was able to choose her because I work from home. πŸ™‚

      You can have your dog later. You're still young. I waited for a long time until I decided to take Pi-chan. πŸ˜‰

      • Sui October 17, 2010 at 2:29 am #

        I know! I've played with a few of my friends' pets (cats & dogs) and they smell just fine because they are well taken care of. I really think my mom just feels like it's too much trouble.

        A lot of people also have Chihuahua & Pugs here in America! At least in California anyways… They are easier to have around especially if you rent an apartment (some place don't allow big pets…only fish, rabbit, hamster are more widely acceptable).

        Well, owning a pet is a big responsibility for some people, so I think I will get a dog later when I have stable work. It's much better when I am in charge of my own financial decisions since a pet adds so many extra expenses.

        Anyways, keep posting pictures of Pi-chan whenever you have time! I can always look at cute dogs for now until I get my own~ :p

      • kirin October 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

        I agree, owning a pet requires certain responsibility and limit for one's life. Sometimes owners have to go back home to feed or walk their dog by giving up their own night life. I have a lot of limit because of Pi-chan, especially because she easily vomits and needs small amount of food x multiple times a day. 😦 (She's not sick, but she is just like this by nature.) But there's no one else who takes great care of her but me.

Leave a Reply

