Den Aquaroom is ideal Izakaya for couples

8 Oct

Den Aquaroom
nearest train station: Shinjuku 3 choume, Shinjuku,
phone: 03-5367-4123

I’ve wanted to come to this Izakaya but I had no chance to come over here with my husband. I was glad Apple chose this place from 2 different options I suggested to her. So Apple and I came here when we met in Tokyo while she stayed here some time ago.

Inside the room there are 2 big aquariums that look so good in the dark.

Our seat is like a sofa that is installed along with the wall so that we can sit and view the aquariums naturally. We sit next each other. This makes us feel closer. Apple and I have already become good friends but I’m sure this totally works greatly between man and woman…I mean couple. (For some people it means man and man, woman and woman…I guess.) Staying next each other is definitely better than to face each other, if the two persons want to feel closer right? 😉

Here are the food we ordered. This time Apple was alert enough not to forget to take pictures. I was about to forget that and my mind was totally obsessed with the food, as is always! haha!! ^ ^;

Everything came with small portion but they all tasted good! Yummy!! 😀 I love western food so much~!

We shared these dishes and had some drink but thanks to my free beer ticket it was not as expensive as I thought. It’s also possible Apple and I was too tired by then to eat much. We walked all day long for shopping. ^ ^;

I’d love to come back to this place again some time in the future!

12 Responses to “Den Aquaroom is ideal Izakaya for couples”

  1. Lisa October 8, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    いいな~! 美味しいそう!And the place looks fantastic too, definitely bookmarked for me! ^^
    Speaking of bookmarks, thanks to you I managed to find a reasonable hotel room for when I go to Tokyo in December (when my brother visits) via one of the links you said you use when booking rooms etc too. There was a lot to choose from and quite a lot of reasonable prices too! o.O やっぱり日本語の勉強はいい事だね~。助かった、ありがとう~! :D

    • kirin October 9, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

      That made me so happy, Lisa! I'm glad my information was helpful to you. 😀
      それだけ日本語がわかるようになったLisaもすごいよ!^ ^

  2. sedonia2 October 8, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Nice place and that food looks fabulous! Like I said, you have so much better places there than in the US!

    • kirin October 9, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

      Every dish is so small though, especially compared with American size, everything is just too tiny over here. haha…^ ^;

  3. Troo October 9, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I'm going to have to bring you some Marmite in December. That'll put you off Western food for life! 🐱

  4. Troo October 9, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Yeah, I only made it yesterday. Trying to remember how to use Adobe Illustrator 😀

    Marmite is quite like Australian Vegemite. It's, erm… In a way it's quite like natto, in that people either love it or hate it – there's no real middle ground. The taste is very strong and pungent, quite tangy – like a hyper-concentrated Worcestershire Sauce. You spread it on toast, put it in sandwiches, or, well, whatever you fancy with it really.

    For the record, I think it's disgusting 😀

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:18 am #

      Oh you made it by yourself? Cool~! I like it! 😀
      Marmite is like Vegemite? OMG~~~~~I know what Vegemite is! I worked and traveled in Australia for 1 year before so I know what it's like…Some people like it, but I don't. *yuck* So you have a similar one in the U.K? lol

  5. Steven Stier October 10, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    You are right! That looks like a wonderful place to take a date. The food looks oishii. And the fish tank creates a romantic atmosphere. I am not sure I agree about sitting next to your date while eating. I like to look directly at a person while I am talking to them. And that is more easily done sitting across the table. The time to sit next to your date is back home or in the theater after the meal. Perhaps this is another cultural difference. BTW when I was young, and I took women home to meet my mother she would always prepare spaghetti. She said it was a good way to tell if a person had learned proper table manners and was mature. I wonder if Japanese mothers do anything like that.

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:38 am #

      Haha, I like your idea. Maybe it's better to sit across a table when we eat. But psychologically sitting next each other works better than across the table, if my memory was correct. I forgot which was which, but right or left side of the face reflects her true mind. So…I really forgot but I've heard it works so well when a man sits next to her true mind side. Whichever way, it's said when one wants to be closer to someone, it's better to sit next to her than to sit across the table.

      Maybe busy Japanese people have no time to go somewhere after this? lol

    • kirin October 11, 2010 at 1:38 am #

      Japanese moms would make whatever they are good at, and they don't think of checking manners by the certain food. I think our culture is not very strict against table manners. Unlike your culture, we have only chopsticks. However there is a big must-not rule on chopsticks though. We should never stick chopstics into the steamed rice because this is what we do for people passed away. Also handing food by chopstics to chopsticks from one person to another is considered a bad manner because that resembles collecting bone ash by chopsticks at a crematorium when somebody dies.

      Slurping is considered normal especially when we eat udon, soba, somen or ramen in Japan.

  6. Fred M. September 14, 2011 at 5:31 am #

    The place itself looks really nice. I love Japanese food especially ebi tempura.

    • kirin September 15, 2011 at 11:55 am #

      Usually such place offers western food. ^ ^
      I love ebi tempura too~~<3

Leave a Reply

