Kiddyland Harajuku is closed for reconstruction but…

4 Oct

Apple, a lovely member of Tokyo Kawaii, etc. wrote up a nice review on Kiddyland Harajuku! As she speaks at the latter part of the post, Kiddyland was closed for reconstruction but don’t panic! They opened a temporary shop on cat street until summer 2012 when they come back with brand new shop. πŸ™‚

===Apple’s post starts from here==========

Whenever I travel to Tokyo, I like to at least stop by Kiddyland.

And my favourite Kiddyland is at Harajuku. It is 6 stories high, and filled with the most wonderful and interesting toys!!

Pretty awesome, isn’t it?

I think it’s a great place to see the latest toys in Japan. You can find the latest and most popular toys there. There are also funny gadgets and keychains, Blythe dolls, anime merchandise, Sanrio merchandise, stationery and many many more!

Really, it’s just full of fun, and I like to go there to get something for myself or souvenirs for my friends. (I’m a fan of Rilakkuma and I can always find many interesting Rilakkuma merchandise there!!!! It’s always a happy trip to Kiddyland. Hahaha!)

Let’s take a look at what Kiddyland is recommending now~

“If you can find a four-leaf clover, good luck will visit you.”

I’ve never seen this brand before. I have no idea if it’s a brand at all. But anyway, it’s cute to me. I really like the illustrations of all these little creatures. Haha! ^^

Under this brand, there are stationery:

(On the left): B6 Notebook 336yen

(On the right): Memo Pads 378yen

There are also nuigurumi (soft toys).

(On the left): Beetle TenTen < Wow! The beetle has a name! Hahaha!
10cm 682yen
14cm 1029yen

(On the right): Bear Chiroru < The bear too. Haha! I love itttt!
18cm 924yen
27cm 1764yen

Guess what this is used for???

“Bath Time is Relax Time!”

This cute little whale produces bubbles while you relax and enjoy your bathtime in your bathtub~

Wow. I wish I have a bathtub to enjoy my bathtime like that! 😦

Happy Shabon 3360yen

I don’t know if I really want this…but yea, making it in the shape of a whale is pretty cute. πŸ˜€

AND OMG DOESN’T THIS LOOK SERIOUS!

hahaha!

I love this!

Check out its caption!

Welcome to Disney Motors
Ideas come from curiosity.

をむデをはε₯½ε₯‡εΏƒγ‹γ‚‰η”ŸγΎγ‚Œγ‚‹γ€‚
When you’re curious,you find lots of interesting things to do.
ε₯½ε₯‡εΏƒγ―γ„γ€γ γ£γ¦ζ–°γ—γ„ι“γ‚’ζ•™γˆγ¦γγ‚Œγ‚‹γ€‚

Looks interesting doesn’t it!

There’s a story behind Disney Motors!

A long long time ago, there was a car-repair shop, where Mickey and his friends repaired their favourite cars everyday…

However, Mickey and his friends knew the joy of creating their own cars instead of only repairing cars. With that, they decided to make the cars of their dreams!

Mickey conceptualises β†’ Minnie illustrates β†’ Goofy designs the car using Minnie’s illustrationsβ†’ With the design plan, Donald puts together the car.

Although there are times when things do not go as they have planned, and many times they felt discouraged, with their common motto:

“Ideas are born from a curious heart. A curious heart will always open new ways.”

They could do their best.

With their splendid teamwork, they managed to overcome many challenges and trials, and finally at last, DISNEY MOTORS DEBUT in 2008!!!

Disney Motors 787yen

My favourite one is the Minnie Scooter (Chim Chim Minnie Mouse). She made it together with her boyfriend, Mickey. How romantic! Haha!

Well, if only these cars were real! I’ve never had the desire to learn driving despite living just beside a driving school. I’ve tried my best to take interest in branded sports cars and Lamborghinis or cool scooters like Vespa…but really, it gets me as excited as watching a game of golf.

If Minnie Mouse were real, she would make cars that would make many girls like me very excited. HAHAHA!

Well, anyway, there are a lot more stuff in Kiddyland. Click here to browse its character goods, toys, and zakka. Browsing it online is nothing like seeing it for yourself though.

So are you revved up to visit the store yet???

I need to tell you something.

Kiddyland in Harajuku is closed for reconstruction and will be renewed and opened again by the summer of 2012.

You can however visit the substitution store. It’s just along Cat Street.

Well, I didn’t managed to go to Kiddyland in my trip this time. The substitution store wasn’t ready yet when I went.

So all these pictures in this post…I searched from Google. You can click on the images to go to the original website. πŸ˜€ The pancake-toy picture is from my trip last year though. Haha!

Well, anyway, if for any reason you can’t go to Tokyo now, but wants anything so bad, you know who you can count for to get them for you. Haha! ^_-

Hope you have enjoyed this post! Who has been to Kiddyland before and like it as much as I do?? ^^

14 Responses to “Kiddyland Harajuku is closed for reconstruction but…”

  1. girl October 4, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Ah Kiddyland! That was the best place I visited in my short Tokyo trip… sad it is closed, but I guess renovations are always good for a store. Hope it comes back as even cooler than before!

    • Apple October 5, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      ^^ So you like Kiddyland too! yay!

      Yea, I hope they will come back even cooler than before too!!!! I really look forward to its re-opening again! My friend told me that the substitution store is too small.

  2. kirin October 5, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    @Apple, I didn't know you were a fan of Rilakkuma, too~! Me too~~<3 But in my case, since I started to live with Pi-chan, my affection to Rillakkuma has shifted to her. lol Yet, I still think Rilakkuma and Korilakkuma are so cute<3

    • Apple October 5, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      Haha! Yes! I love Rilakkuma! And Korilakkuma!! ahhahaa! They're sooo cute! I have a few Rilakkuma items in my house~ ❀

      • kirin October 5, 2010 at 11:17 am #

        Me too! I have Rilakkuma and Korilakkuma soft toys, Rilakkuma books, coasters, key rings, and etc. at home. I bought them before we had Pi-chan. lol

      • Erin October 9, 2010 at 1:28 am #

        I love Rilakkuma too! Sooo cute! πŸ˜€ I wish my phone had a place for a cute Rilakkuma phone strap….>.<

      • kirin October 9, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

        Then how about Rilakkuma stickers like these~? http://store.shopping.yahoo.co.jp/keitai/250-4914

        Enjoy your kawaii Rilakkuma~! ^ ^

      • Erin October 13, 2010 at 4:05 am #

        Oh my gosh!!! I totally want to get those! πŸ˜€ SO KAWAII!

  3. Cath October 5, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Oh… This is a dangerous post. 0.0

    • Apple October 5, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      because of all the pictures right? >"<

      actually i had wanted to just inform everyone about the re-locating of KiddyLand in Harajuku…but well, anyway, I posted the links of the pictures I got them from. If you think the pictures are nice, please visit their pages. ^^

      • kirin October 5, 2010 at 11:19 am #

        Apple cannot always have pictures taken by herself because she does not live in Japan. I think it's OK she mentions in the post that she borrowed these pictures.

  4. Miki October 5, 2010 at 5:21 am #

    This reminds me a lot of Universal Studios! I went there this past Sunday (I live about half an hour from there) and before you enter real Universal Studios, there is this gigantic mall-like open building! It has many cute, cool, and interesting shops! There was a store that was called "The Sock Factory" and had many kawaii socks! Theyre a bit expensive though. I bought a pair for $12.54 D:

    I want the pancake toys. o ^ o

    • Apple October 5, 2010 at 9:06 am #

      Wow!! I want to go to Universal Studios too!! You're so lucky to live near there!! ^^ I love theme parks!

      $12.54 for a pair of socks is really kind of expensive. You can get socks in Tokyo easily at 3 pairs for 1000yen maybe.

      The pancake toy is played by seeing how many you can stack without them toppling over if I remember correctly! Haha! ^^

  5. Almiraz November 8, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    Wow!…this is soooo much better than Hemleys in London!!

Leave a Reply

