Kugatsudo ramen cafe

2 Oct

Kugatsudo ramen cafe
(official name: らーめんと甘味処 九月堂)
nearest train station: Shibuya
phone: 03-6327-4056

I went to a ramen cafe in Shibuya with my friend, one of my loyal readers of this blog who had a chance to visit Tokyo! 🙂

Let me call the ramen restaurant “a ramen cafe” for convenience sake.

You see what I mean. 🙂

It’s not an ordinary ramen restaurant that is narrow inside and not suitable for relax.

I’d say this ramen cafe is for girls!! It’s just like a cafe, don’t you think so? I like the interior and the concept that we can have something sweets and coffee after ramen at a reasonable price.

We choose what to eat from ticket vending machine first. Many ramen restaurants like to have this system.

There is a menu at a table, but we cannot order there. We have to buy tickets at the vending machine. ^ ^;

Special ramen for 950yen…the price is little bit higher than ordinary ramen restaurants, but instead we can relax. At ordinary ramen restaurants, there is a sort of air that makes us hurry to eat and go. Considering the ample place and relaxed atmosphere with kawaii interior, I didin’t think 950yen was expensive at all. 😀

The egg we often eat with ramen is half boiled in the soy sauce based soup so it’s already absorbed good taste as itself. It’s good to eat it with ramen soup!
The char siu, or barbecued pork that is thinly sliced, was excellent taste! I totally loved the egg and char siu!! Oh, we could choose strong soup that is rather oily or the light soup with less oil. We chose less oily one. I’m afraid the portion of ramen was not enough for a man. This again convinces me that this ramen restaurant targets women who like to eat ramen in a relaxed atmosphere.

Sesame ice cream and coffee set is for 500yen.

Many Japanese women would feel reluctant to go inside a ramen restaurant crowded with men. (I’m rather OK…I wouldn’t even mind going into Yoshinoya beef bowl restaurant alone if I had to.) It’s so nice to have such a cute womanly ramen cafe in Tokyo, except the point it’s a bit far from Shibuya station. ^ ^;

26 Responses to “Kugatsudo ramen cafe”

  1. Apple October 2, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    omg! What a great idea!

    I want to go to this ramen cafe too!!!

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:21 am #

      I think you like this cafe, too~. ^w^

  2. Cel October 2, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh my, that's such a cute cafe! And it's a ramen cafe? Awesome. The food looks delicious from your photos ^_^

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:25 am #

      The noodle was not really my favorite type but especially the pork and egg tasted sooooo goood~~~!

  3. sedonia2 October 2, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    looks very good. From what I read of your posts, Kirin, it seems that everywhere one can go in Japan, even to have a bowl of ramen, is a bit of an adventure. 🙂

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:28 am #

      Especially young women tend to hesitate to eat ramen alone at the counter table next to male customers. Well…I'll publish another ramen post some time in this month, from which you see the difference. I can tell you this type of ramen restaurant is very rare. Actually I've never been to such a ramen restaurant ever before I tried this one.

  4. Junko October 2, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Ohh! Ramen ga daisuku desu! Mmm…. now i'm hungry! It is so kawaii it definately looks like a cafe.i don't think 950yen is that much since your paying for such a nice atmostphere and yummy ramen! ramen vending tickets? Sugoi!

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:30 am #

      Yes, exactly!! I really liked the interior of the cafe! 🙂

  5. Cai October 3, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    How cute! I rarely eat ramen alone when I'm in Japan but I don't mind going to this one the next time I'm in Tokyo. And even though it's a very different type of ramen restaurant, they still have the vending machine tickets haha

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      I'd suggest you should go there with a friend or two if you want to get seated at the same table as in the picture. (There are only 2 tables like it.) If you are alone, you may be asked to sit at the counter table. ^ ^;

  6. Sparklewolfie October 3, 2010 at 5:17 am #

    wow that is so cute! I love love love cafes of any type *u*

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      *u* <- I like this. Yeah, this ramen cafe was so cute~!

  7. Lisa October 3, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Wow, for a ramen shop it's quite おしゃれ! I'm impressed; it looks like a really comfortable spot to eat. ^^

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      おしゃれ!こういうお店がもっとあるといいなぁ~ ^__^

  8. Cath October 3, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Ah… that's why some customers look at me strangely when I step into those "all-men-eat&go" places. =P
    950 yen is the typical price we pay for ramen here in Singapore. =(

    • kirin October 3, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      Yes, that's why~! As for me, I guess appetite wins over embarrassment! lol

  9. Danielle October 4, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Great interior, and the ramen looks good. So does the sesame ice cream! I had some for the first time yesterday and I loved it!

    • kirin October 5, 2010 at 1:05 am #

      You liked ramen? Good~. I think everybody likes ramen. 😉

  10. Diyana October 4, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I hope to go to Japan next year but it seems like it will be hard to find a halal ramen shop there.

    • kirin October 5, 2010 at 1:09 am #

      Halal ramen? Never heard of it. But I found this link when I googled. http://item.rakuten.co.jp/portex-japan/beef/#beef

      But why you want a halal ramen, which you can reach from your country anyhow?
      Try Japanese ramen from ramen restaurants. They are so good. I'm sure you'll love to experience so many varieties of ramen we can offer. 🙂

  11. Miki October 5, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Me and my friend Virginia made a tradition to go to the nearby ramen restaurant the Friday of every two weeks. The bowl was much much MUCH bigger than the one in your photo, so Im conused haha! > w <

    I like negi ramen the best, I don't know why- but its soooo gooooddd~!! ❤

    D: I want to visit Tokyo someday and visit Kirin too! Sadly, I don't have that kind of money at the moment though. xD

    • kirin October 5, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Haha, ramen bowl like this size is designed for a Japanese woman. (This ramen cafe definitely targets young women who do not eat much.) I can guess this is too small for people from the U.S, because I feel everything is just too much when I go to the U.S.

      Miki, don't worry. I am here, and I open my blog here. You can take your time to learn and plan for your future trip to Tokyo. No need to hurry, but so much to prepare if you want your trip to be something fulfilling. 🙂 I love to see my readers in person. That's one of the reasons I started this blog. ^ ^

  12. Joey October 6, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Aw man! This is a really cute cafe! It looks so inviting and friendly. And the food looks delicious too. I love the framed menu. This place looks great! Thank you for sharing~

    • kirin October 7, 2010 at 9:24 am #

      My pleasure~. ^ ^ I'm happy to hear that many readers agreed the cuteness of the cafe. ^ ^

  13. Diana October 7, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    omg http://tokyokawaiietc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010… I SAW THESE when I was in Okinawa!!!!!!! I didn't know what it was though… i thought you got the bowl out of the machine too! hahahaha!

    Wow. Your food looks SO YUMMY but not enough of it!
    My fiance who is Japanese, he tells me about Ramen restaurants all the time!
    When we go to Japan to meet his parents, I want to go to a restaurant like that!!!!!!!!!

    • kirin October 31, 2010 at 1:40 am #

      Ramen vending machines always look like that anywhere in Japan. ^ ^ I think soba or udon restaurants or teishoku (set meal) restaurants also use the same kind of machine.

Leave a Reply

