A shop that has local foods from throughout Japan

30 Sep

Shokoku Gotouchi Plaza
location: Basement floor of JR Tokyo station
phone: 03-3212-0020
open: 9am -8:30pm

Have you been to Gotouchi Plaza in Tokyo-eki Ichibangai? In other words, it’s in the same area as Rilakkuma store and character street. That is to say, you can get yummy or strange local foods that are usually only available at every local city Japan, while you can get your favorite character goods and Japanese foods at one place.

Local chips

Wasabi chips from Shizuoka…wow does it make us cry? ^ ^;

Local curry. They are so tempting. I want to try them as many as I can~ while I cannot visit these local cities. I was brought up and spent my life in around Tokyo. I’ve never lived any other part of Japan but Tokyo area. (I’ve never lived inside Tokyo, to be exact. That’s because it’s expensive to rent an apartment there. I’m originally from Saitama, and I’ve lived in Chiba and Kanagawa. Any of the locations are very close to Tokyo. That’s why I say “Tokyo area”.) I thought I was lucky because I could shop at Harajuku for example since I was a very kid. But now I feel like living more different parts of Japan to explore new life.

Local ramen also look so good! I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like ramen.

But everyone has different tastes, especially when it comes to ramen! This means we do not always like highly rated ramen. For example Kitakata ramen is just OK to me. I don’t love it so much.

Hokkaido is also famous for its ramen. But when I tried some Asahikawa ramen in Asahikawa, I didn’t like its too much oil over ramen. They use much oil to cover ramen so it should not get cold under their cold weather. That makes sense. But I don’t like too oily stuff. If I have to take in extra calories, I do want it from the food I love. ^ ^;

Local furikake. Furikake is a sort of seasoning that we eat to put it over steamed rice.

This year Japanese people went crazy about “ra~yu” or chili oil, that contains some food flakes inside. “Karasoude Karakunai Sukoshikarai Ra~yu” (meaning something like this; Ra~yu that looks spicy but not that spicy in fact but a little bit spicy) by Momoya was a mega hit this year in Japan. It’s always out of stock at any supermarkets or online grocery shops.

Local candies…but some of the flavors are very weird!

Who in the hell likes garlic candy? Potato x butter flavor is good for chips but how is that for candy…?

Or beer candy? …lol Most of candies from this corner looked weird enough.

Anyone who misses Takoyaki from Osaka, here’s Takoyaki flavor snack. As for myself, I don’t like Takoyaki so much, which is because I’m fed up with it. My father is from Osaka. He cooked Takoyaki every weekend and my mom also cooked it often as a snack for us to eat in-between meals when I was a kid. This made me dislike Takoyaki any longer. Same can be said to most of Japanese foods, I guess. :p

29 Responses to “A shop that has local foods from throughout Japan”

  1. Lore September 30, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    That local candies remind me the all tastes candy from harry potter XD

  2. Lisa September 30, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Wow, who knew there were so many interesting treats! I've seen a lot of weird soft cream flavours that I keep thinking about trying, but don't really want to incase I don't like it… Like wasabi! o.O I'll have to try it, one day!
    You make a good point about the ramen though – I don't know anyone who doesn't like ramen either! ^^ Now that I'm in 九州 I'm exploring their famous flavours; they really take it seriously here! Every ramen bowl has been an amazing experience so far. I guess I have to change my favourite base from 醤油 to 豚骨 though! ^^

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 1:54 am #

      That's very interesting, Lisa! So…it's like people will tend to love ramen from the place they live in? As for myself, I like thin wavy noodle and salt or soy sauce based soup. I think like Ebisu ramen for example. But what happens if I move to Kyushu? It's possible I get to like tonkotsu just like you!

      I'm happy to hear you enjoy your Miyazaki life like that. I wish I could live in more different parts of Japan. ^ ^;

      • Lisa October 1, 2010 at 4:06 am #

        Yes, it's really a great place – especially for me; I love the ocean and beaches (and warm weather!), onsen and such! ^^ But I do miss the intensity of Osaka, as well as the fashion and shopping. ^^; But, that's what visiting is for! Miyazaki's not really one of the most popular tourist destinations in Japan I think, but if you come here I can show you around, hehe! ^^

      • kirin October 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

        You know I like warm weather (not too hot), onsen, ramen, sushi, beaches, too!! Your Japanese blog posts were so good I really thought of possibilities of having another life at some local cities in Japan. Really. Your Miyazaki posts made me question myself about my city life around Tokyo, which I continue from my childhood.

        But I know I'd definitely miss shopping, restaurants and much of fun experience I can have in Tokyo.
        I also like Osaka so much. 😀 I guess I could move somewhere from Tokyo! I need a change~~~~~!

        Thanks to governor Higashikokubaru, Miyazaki has become one of the popular prefectures to visit for the locals.
        Oh, I also like "chicken nanban" from Miyazaki.

        Wow, I'd love to visit you in Miyazaki while you stay there. :p That must be fun~~~<3

      • Lisa October 4, 2010 at 12:45 am #

        Haha, well, it wounds like Miyazaki is the perfect place for you, too! Onsen season is starting soon, so my co-workers and I have begun debating over places to go. I'm really looking forward to it! ^^

        Wow, really?? I'll have to keep posting interesting things to get that travel bug in you active then, haha! ^^ I agree, though. I really love it here, but it's just *too* far. If Osaka was closer, I think it would be perfect. (大阪はやっぱり自分の日本の実家みたいですね。I always think of it as the place to go back to, even though my 'real' family doesn't live there. ^^)

        There is actually a surprising amount of good shopping here, but it's not as easily accessible as Tokyo or Osaka, and a lot of the bigger brand shops aren't here (yet). Although last week a Comme Ca Store opened nearby! I don't really buy so much from there, but I like the style and I'm always happy when something 'familiar' is close. ^^

        Definitely, if you have the time, please come visit Miyazaki!! Since I have a car here it's very easy to drive around and see the sights. 😀 Let me know if you decide to make plans to come here!! 😀

      • kirin October 5, 2010 at 1:35 am #

        How about 福岡? It's rather a big city and not that far from Miyazaki…no?

        Wow, how exciting it sounds! I never thought of that but unless otherwise I don't know if I have any reasons to visit Miyazaki. I'll check out plane ticket or hotels and I will contact you if I find a budget plan. I'll email you later~~~~Thank you Lisa! 😀

      • Lisa October 5, 2010 at 8:09 am #

        Fukuoka is about 4 hours by highway bus! o.O So it's not exactly a day trip unfortunately. It probably takes less time by car, but it's still quite far. ^^;

      • kirin October 5, 2010 at 11:23 am #

        Oh I see…I am totally a stranger there, even though I am Japanese~ lol Then I'm sure you'll miss shopping experiences you can easily have in a big city while you live in Miyazaki. ^ ^;

  3. Sharon September 30, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    the weirdness of japanese/food/clothes/culture is what makes japan unique. i love them, dont hate on japanese food kirin-san !(:

  4. sedonia2 September 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    That all looks so good! And I love how colorful the packaging is. It's fun just to look at it. We have an Asian grocery store near my house called Fortune Cookie and they sell a lot of stuff from Japan – probably some of these things are on the shelves I just don't recognize them. 🙂 But it makes me want to come visit there so much!

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 1:57 am #

      Yes~ our snacks have packages like these. Sometimes too much information is written there. lol

  5. Troo September 30, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    YES! This is perfect! Thank you so much, Kirin-san!

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 1:57 am #

      Have you been there? If not yet, please try that while you are in Tokyo! 🙂

      • Troo October 1, 2010 at 7:37 am #

        Last time I went to Tokyoeki all this was still under construction – the Character Street was open, but the rest was under wraps.

        I'll be there again in December, so this is definitely on the list!

      • kirin October 2, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

        I see~. 🙂 The place still looked under construction especially the ceilings as in the first picture. But all shops were open, I guess. :p

  6. Steven Stier September 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    It seems strange to me to hear you talk about how good a noodle tastes. To me all noodles taste the same. Maybe it is because we have only a few to choose from in America. But ramen noodles, odon noodles, spaghetti noodles all taste the same to me. When you say that one tastes better than another is it because they add a certain seasoning or other foods like meat or vegetables to the noodles? I feel so foolish asking but……

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 2:02 am #

      IMO ramen, udon, soba, spaghetti, and etc. all taste differently. I'd feel sick if I had to eat spaghetti soaked in ramen soup. Or Udon mixed with tomato sauce, you know. If they all taste the same, this becomes possible. But no~, that'll be strange taste and no one would do so.

      Ramen noodles can be thick noodle, thin noodle, straight noodle, wavy noodle…and mixture of them. All ramen soup tastes different and combination of noodle and soup makes each ramen very unique. 😉

  7. Tinny October 1, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I love anything with wasabi in it… So I tasted some wasabi flavoured potato chips a while ago, and they were great! They weren't the brand shown here, though. My only complaint was that they could have had more wasabi to them.

    Another thing that sounded a bit weird to me at first, but turned out to be awesome is wasabi covered peanuts. For quite some time they were the only snacks we ate! But now the place where we used to buy them near our house doesn't sell them anymore, and I am frantically looking for another shop!

    • kirin October 2, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      wasabi peanuts look good, especially with beer~. http://www.mamemasa.co.jp/shopping/shosai.php?pid

    • Apple October 3, 2010 at 1:03 am #

      haha! I'm a wasabi fan too and as i'm reading your comment, i'm snacking on wasabi peanuts right now. nom nom nom! if you can find wasabi pistachios…those are great too!

      • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:47 am #

        I feel like getting some for myself…:p yum yum…

  8. astrorainfall October 2, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I do love to shop in this area at Tokyo station – character goods AND food from regional Japan! I never noticed weird-ass candy though…. Your posts are always so entertaining!! ^_-

    • kirin October 2, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

      Thank you~! 😀
      "regional Japan" ah~ good expression…I wanted to say this~. ^ ^; I'm still learning English, haha!
      I didn't feel like trying these candies but let me know if you ever try them in the future. I'm curious how they taste~. ^ ^; I could buy some if they sold them by 10 grams or so. Then I'd try little by little of every single flavor! lol

      • Apple October 4, 2010 at 2:36 am #

        actually kirin, i've tried them before and they tasted really mazui. i bought ramen flavour and some butter potato flavour. the first taste felt sensational, but you'll feel really sick if you finish the whole candy. it has this really artificial aftertaste and the butter potato felt oily somehow! haha! my friend and i threw the whole tins of candy away after trying one. Haha!

  9. Brittany November 28, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    yeah, who in the hell like garlic candy? i would really like to meet you one day if i ever come to Tokyo 🙂 you are truly amazing ^^ great post.

    • kirin November 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

      ^ ^ Thank you, Brittany. Let me know when you have a chance to come over here~~ ^ ^

  10. Piperita Patty February 7, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    I totally love wasabi snacks! When I was in Japan even my hostfamily's otoosama was surprised to see how much I loved wasabi.

    But I don't think I would like that tastes of candy…

    • kirin February 9, 2013 at 2:58 am #

      Oh thank you for your comment to this old post…^ ^
      I can imagine your host father was surprised to see you like wasabi. BTW, Otousama sounds like very polite and it makes me feel that you are from a wealthy family or something (maybe you are! then it's natural you call him Otousama, calling mom Okaasama). Normally Otousan is OK. ^ ^;; It's up to you though.

Leave a Reply

