Kurihama beach

26 Sep

My house is not far from Tokyo, while it’s not so far from beach and mountains, either.
Having a hard time taking vacation with my hubby who is busy working and studying, I went out to Kurihama by myself. I just wanted to locate myself somewhere different from ordinary life, and noticed Kurihama (Yokosuka city) was within 1-hour travel from my station. I also found a dog goods store there, which was a good reason because I needed to purchase a dog food urgently anyhow. πŸ™‚

There were only a few people during a daytime on weekdays at Kurihama. I wanted this. I don’t like crowds.

It was about 15 minutes walk or so from the Keikyu Kurihama train station. I don’t drive. I don’t even own my car. My driver’s license is gold, which means “excellent driver”. That’s only because I’ve never driven a car since I got it. lol To live somewhere near Tokyo while wish to save money needs no car. My life is quite compatible without a car at all. Buses and trains are available every 5-10 minutes. I use a bicycle a lot for shopping at grocery stores or drug stores in my daily life. I’d feel so stressed if I have to drive a car as daily chores…Yes, I’m so bad at driving!! I could kill people or myself. I have a strong feeling that driving will collapse my life. lol

I like the shade and bench under trees along with the beach.

Too bad I see no nice cafe around the beach. The eateries on the other side of the street were far from cozy and good atmosphere restaurants. They looked shabby and old. 😦 I searched convenience store and just bought something left over. The time was past 1:30pm, nearly 2. Most of snacks were sold out at the minor convenience store I found near the beach. But I didn’t feel like going back to 7-eleven. First time for me to try the Starbucks ready-made coffee from convenience stores (only available at convenience stores) but…I didn’t like it. It’s far from original taste of course, and I thought I liked ready-made coffee from Doutor or some other brands even better.

I didn’t go inside but there was a Perry Park across the street. (The arrival of Commodore Perry from the United States in 1853 marked the end of Japan’s isolation and the resumption of overseas trade.) Well…we’ve been open for overseas trade but mentality of Japanese people sometimes gives the impression of isolation to foreigners even today.

The sign reminds us that we live in a country that can be hit by earthquakes any time.

Then, how can we explain this condominium just next to the beach? Some rooms are still on sale. “1 minutes to the beach!” sounds great, but how do they cope with Tsunami? I was curious. :p

I like looking at houses inside and outside, anytime anywhere. That’s because I was engaged in house renovation business before or because I am interested in properties to invest in. It’s also fun to imagine a life in the place. I asked the reception at the condo (they have a room model inside the condo) if I can see the room. I asked how they are going to cope with Tsunami and salt breeze that could deteriorate the facade or the structure of the premises. They answered that they built the 1st floor 1 meter higher than the ground level so the Tsunami, which is supposed to be 80cm at maximum in this area, should not hit the premises. They also used stainless steel instead of normal steel to avoid deterioration due to salt breeze. The view from the balcony was great, even though it was 2nd floor. I wonder how calm and soothing my life will be whenever I look outside it is just a tranquil sea, instead of the detached house I see from my house.

I wish I could stay there longer but since there was no good cafe around and I had to shop a pack of dog food and walk Pi-chan after going back home, I decided to go back home.

It was just a short day trip but it was a good change to me. I thought casual day trip like this once in a while maybe good until I’m prepared for a big trip abroad next time. πŸ™‚

16 Responses to “Kurihama beach”

  1. Suzy September 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Good for you, Kirin. I can't help it but to say in order to seek, explore and discover – go to Starbucks first ! wow, what a beautiful beach… and not crowded. Like you said – "we’ve been open for overseas trade but mentality of Japanese people sometimes gives the impression of isolation to foreigners even today" . Maybe Japanese are striving hard to keep your identities and ideas, without being too much western and isolated foreigners by having everything good only written in Japanese.

    • kirin September 27, 2010 at 5:53 am #

      Thank you Suzy. I don't know why but younger people are more inclined to stay inside Japan. Many of them say Japan is No.1 for anything and they never feel like going all the way to travel or study or work in foreign countries because they love Japan so much. I wish I loved my country that much…lol

      But seriously some people say that young people (early 20s and younger) have become like that because of our depressing economy for decades. 😦 They don't want anything adventurous, they want something stable and safe.

      • Suzy October 2, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

        This truly have broaden my insight on life. That's definitely is true. Perhaps through media, they have learnt living in foreign land is no better. or they don't want to suffer and just want to indulge in the comfort of home – so different from those born before 1980s – I've learnt alot from you, Kirin. Thank you.

      • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:43 am #

        Oh, it's my pleasure~ ^ ^
        I have in her 30s friend (and so am I) who went to Italy to study Italian language for 1 year. She met Japanese girls in their 20s, like 21 or 22. She said "You are still so young you can stay here for a long time so you can learn so many things from Italy. I really envy you."

        But those young girls answered like, "No way! We just came here because our school was on holiday. We wouldn't risk our time. All we want is to work for a stable Japanese company to earn stable income and to have a stable family. We are too scared to spend as long as 1 year in a foreign country, which does not guarantee our future. It's just too risky and waste of time."

        It was wow to me…it's a pity you know we can experience many things even including failures while we are still young and when we have enough time left in our life. These girls are too defensive for their age and I'm sorry they must have lost good experiences they could have at their age. 😦

  2. Steven Stier September 27, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    Darn, a trip to the beach and no pictures of "kawaii" women in bathing suits. I am very sad. lol

    • kirin September 27, 2010 at 5:55 am #

      Too bad, Steven! There were only a dad and a little boy on the beach as you can see in the first picture. Including me there were only 3 people. It was sometime in weekdays, daytime. :p

  3. Cai September 27, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Whenever I visit relatives in Japan, I never go out of Tokyo. I'm usually too afraid to explore and go out of the city alone because my Japanese is not good. All the locals think I can understand them! But next time I go to Japan, I'll visit this place. I hope you write more about places outside Tokyo! Thank you for this post πŸ™‚

    • kirin September 27, 2010 at 6:01 am #

      Thank you Cai for your comment here. πŸ˜‰
      You may feel little scared before you reach this beach from the train station because you have to keep walking for about 15-20 minutes. ^ ^; I was not sure if I was walking to the right direction, but phew, I was relieved to glance at the blue horizon ahead of the street. ^ ^; Considering how easy to access it from central Tokyo, you could try this place or Zushi, Kamakura, Hayama….or Chiba prefecture, too. There are actually several options. πŸ˜‰

  4. kelsey September 27, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Wow I shop at the Cainz there all the time!!! The beach is ok but a little dirty. Hayama beaches are better~~~

    • kirin September 28, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Ah, Cainz was next to the condo! XD
      I had an image that most of Japanese beaches are dirty and litters here and there. I expected something not so good, so when I saw Kurihama beach it was a lot better than I thought. There was a shoe (scary…^^) only. No litters on the beach. The water was also not as bad as I expected. But yes, I'm sure Hayama beaches are better. Lands there are also more expensive, huh? ^ ^;

  5. Lore September 30, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    It looks like a amazing place, I would like to live at 1 minute to the beach, even with risk of earthquake!

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 2:29 am #

      I liked the view from the balcony. I wondered how calm it is to lead a life that allows me to look at the sea anytime I want right from the balcony of the room. The balcony measured 4 meters in depth, which was enough to locate a table and chairs, too. But it was not good in a way that every balcony was completely watched from other balconies. Meaning, if someone wants to have a private, calm and fresh morning alone at the balcony, he or she has to see other families chatting or looking at him or her from next balcony or next after next one. 😦

  6. Amanda October 25, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Hello!
    I heard of a beach in Japan where the sand sparkles.
    I saw a website selling japanese goods, where they had sand from that beach in little bottles
    and you can hang them on your cell phone. (I really want one, but I can't remember the site x_x)
    Do you know the name of this beach?

  7. Miho January 10, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Stumbled upon this site and this post caught my attention. I really miss Kurihama! It's been almost three years since I last visited what I consider as my second home–Yokosuka.

    Thanks for posting this! πŸ™‚

    • kirin January 14, 2013 at 3:11 am #

      Thank you for your comment! πŸ™‚
      I'm sure you had a lot of fun there.

Leave a Reply

