Cafe Cabanon

24 Sep

Cafe Cabanon
nearest train station: Jiyugaoka (Tokyu Toyoko line)
phone: 03-3724-7990

I often go to this cafe with my best friend Chika. I don’t like crowds, I like places like Jiyugaoka or Nakameguro a lot better than Shibuya or Harajuku. Moreover these places are closer from my station. It doesn’t even take 10 minutes to go to Jiyugaoka from my station.

Sandwich lunch with salad and coffee or tea for 1200yen.

Galette lunch

Special Lunch of the day

My seat ^_^ We have lunch at this cafe every other week. We somehow like to settle this table at the upper level near the window. If the weather is not this hot, we may prefer the table at the terrace.

Inside the cafe.

I don’t know why it took me so long time to share the posts where the locals like us eat out. Well…I guess it’s because I don’t eat Japanese food so often. Especially when I eat out, I’ll hardly choose Japanese cuisine because to be honest, I don’t like Japanese food so much. :p I like cheese a lot more than tofu. I like pasta a lot more than soba or udon. I like western sweets but I dislike Japanese sweets, what we call “wagashi”. lol

This makes no sense why I was born as a Japanese. ^^; But I try to eat Japanese food at home. I cook Japanese food mostly to eat something good for health, not because I love eating it from the bottom of my heart. So when I pay for good atmosphere and nice food outside, I have no reason to choose Japanese food, which I don’t enjoy from the bottom of my heart! haha!!

So far I thought I should share what I ate at Japanese restaurants and no matter how long it takes, I never visit a Japanese restaurant after all. I don’t know if my readers want to know any non-Japanese eateries but let’s see how you like this kind of post.

Please feel free to comment. What kind of local eateries do you want to see in this blog? Nice cafe, Izakaya (Japanese style of drinking place), or ramen restaurant? Oh speaking of ramen, I like ramen exceptionally, if it’s also counted as a Japanese food. ^^; Sushi, ramen, unagi, yakiniku…these are exceptional, yet I don’t eat them often. haha!!

28 Responses to “Cafe Cabanon”

  1. Sharon September 24, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    ahhh i cant believe kirin-san like western delicacies over japanese cuisine (im chinese so im biased /: )…i love dango especially. um curry rice perhaps?i have a love for curry too….paired with the sticky japanese rice<3

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:15 am #

      I even like Chinese food a lot better than Japanese food~! ^ ^

  2. Patty September 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I love to read anything about daily life in Japan. It doesn't matter if it's very trivial like going to the supermarket or going to the train station. Just something to show daily life. Right now, in the states, it's very popular to blog about food, because every one has to eat, and everyone is a critic (just not the official ones), but it's neat to see what people get, their taste, and their reactions. Thanks for the blog, keep up the good work!

    • Apple September 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      it's popular to blog about food in Singapore too! Hahahah! I think food is always popular~

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:19 am #

      OH I SEE~. Those places are too everyday thing for me even to think of!! Sorry, I always forget that opinion. ^ ^;

    • Troo September 25, 2010 at 3:12 am #

      This is a good point. I'd actually really like to see a post about a supermarket, Kirin-san. It's hard to find anything more than a combini in Tokyo centrally, so an idea of where to go for a proper supermarket would be great!

  3. Apple September 24, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Hi Kirin!!!

    The food look lovely! I love Jiyugaoka too! It's a nice, peaceful place to spend a day with a best friend i think! this post makes me miss Japan a little… >"<

    I went to Nakameguro last year because I read that it has many nice furniture shops (I like to see furniture and zakka in Japan!), but maybe I walked the wrong way or something. I couldn't find anything nice. Hahaha! I would love to check it out again someday! ^^

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:22 am #

      Oh you mean Nakameguro furniture street? ^ ^ I'll blog about it if I have a chance!

  4. sedonia2 September 24, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    Me too! I love reading the posts just to learn and see what it's like. The food in this place looks good too. But just because you're Japanese doesn't mean you have to like Japanese food. That's why in the United States, we have every kind of restaurant you can imagine so that people can have different things all the time. 🙂

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:23 am #

      Oh good, then I'll freely blog about non-Japanese food~ ❤

  5. Phil September 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Nice post. Japanese food isn't my absolute favorite food, either, but I do like Japanese restaurants as an experience. I had a fabulous Kai seki meal in Shinjuko once – it must have been one of the best eating experiences of my life. I'm not crazy about sushi or sashimi – I like my fish cooked. I love the experience of an izakaya – some serve great food. What I love about Japanese restaurants is their attention to freshness and presentation. Even a bento is often a work of art!

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:25 am #

      I love Izakaya because they have variety of food and drink! I'll publish one of Izakaya posts very soon~. Stay in touch!! 😀

  6. Troo September 25, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Mmm, you said Izakaya, my heart fluttered and replied "Doma Doma"… Omnomnom!

    We all grow up with our own cuisine, so if something more interesting becomes available later in life it's not really surprising that we love it 🙂

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:35 am #

      I sometimes envy my friends or my father who naturally like Japanese food more than anything else, because they eat favorite things and also stay healthy and good shape. When they happily eat tofu with soy sauce, I'd eat cheese with chili sauce. The difference in everyday meal changes everything after all. I have not had tofu or miso soup for quite a long time!

  7. m m September 25, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    hm, maybe people don't like the foods they almost eat all the time.
    I grew up in Chinese community, so I eat Chinese food almost all the time, even though I'm not Chinese.
    Maybe that is why I don't like Chinese food that much?
    I like the junky foods…. > <;

    • kirin September 27, 2010 at 6:05 am #

      Haha, I guess that' why I don't like Japanese food so much honestly. I think I dislike dishes that my mom liked to cook almost everyday, which means grilled fish and miso soup. But I like steamed rice a lot more than bread or noodles. I love Chinese food BTW. :p

  8. Junko September 26, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Wow, its so nice looking there! I want to eat somewhere like that, we don’t have anywhere like that around here, and I don’t have a job (or a car) to go outta town. 😦
    I have been super busy and Haven’t had time to visit your blog it. 😕
    mm id like to hear about ramen eateries, Ive been eating a lot of it lately. i was watching the movie Ponyo (not sure if you’ve ever seen it) and saw her make noodles with a covered bowl like this

    and i happen to have bought a set of bowls like that about a year ago and never found out what to use it for, and i made ramen and it was the best ramen Ive ever had.
    ^ ^
    i was so excited I have been eating ramen with my girlfriend so much lately.
    :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    • kirin September 27, 2010 at 6:05 am #

      Thank you Junko! Ramen post will be up soon~ ❤ I just went to a kawaii ramen restaurant the other day! 😀

  9. blueberryfox September 27, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    haha i'm western and i like Japanese food its so yummy

    • kirin September 28, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      I like some Japanese food but I think I'm bored. haha, it's interesting people look for new things. ^ ^

  10. blueberryfox September 28, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    ya i think people get bored with what they have and can get easy so we look fun new stuff ^_^

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 2:15 am #

      Thank you for your honest opinion. My problem is I guess I'm bored with Japanese food while my readers want to know more about it. lol But I like certain Japanese food such as ramen, I could share more about these. 😉

  11. Slywan September 30, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    Looks like you like french food, in fact. Isn't it ? 🙂 This restaurant looks like a french one, even the name !! The 'galette' we see is the same as the one I eat with my little family at weekend.
    This place must be very restful.

    • kirin October 1, 2010 at 2:20 am #

      Hi Slywan,
      Yes I think you are right. I especially like French, Italian and Spanish cuisine, even though I say I like western food. This doesn't include fast food from the U.S, although I feel like having a burger and french fries desperately once in a few month or so. ^__^

      So…"cabanon" is a French word?

      • Slywan October 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

        yes it is ! (small wood house I would say)

      • kirin October 3, 2010 at 1:45 am #

        Ah~, OK, thanks. Well…then the interior or exterior of this cafe is not like a wood house. lol Whatever it is, I like this cafe. ^ ^

  12. Tom October 9, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Kirin do you like mexican food?
    I only ask because I remembered because you mentioned nakameguro and I think I got off the at that station to go there.
    I liked the food and the cocktails but maybe it's a bit heavy. The place was nice but small but it was themed nicely inside. It didn't feel like being in Tokyo anymore haha.
    Maybe if you like mexican food you should try it out.
    It's here:
    http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=&rlz=1B3GGLL

    Oh P.S. I love your blog, any type of food is fine, as long as you keep showing us nice places to eat!

    • kirin October 9, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you Tom for sharing that Mexican restaurant! I'm not very much a fan of Mexican food but I just thought how wonderful it'd be if I can drink with Spanish speaking people so I can improve my poor Spanish. :p

      I bookmarked it on my Tabelog page. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

