How to open your account on Ameba blog

22 Sep

I see foreign people who study Japanese or those who like kawaii blogs will like to start up “Ameblo” or Ameba blog.
Ameba blog has become most popular free blog in Japan, because they successfully involved celebrities, fashion models, and many famous people especially from show business in Japan.

I made some tutorial videos on my Youtube channel. I hope they are helpful for those who have trouble in Japanese.

This is my Ameba blog but I have no intention to update it often. If I update it, it’ll be either when I desperately want to write something in Japanese or when I just want to play with the “paco” as I was playing in the video. lol

It seems running a Tokyo Kawaii, etc. blog itself is just enough for me. I have no power or time left to maintain other blogs, which I know from experience. :p

But if you just want a cute blog for free and easy, take into account Ameba blog. This especially is a good idea if you study Japanese, because you have to read signs and directions in Japanese. You’ll be convinced how cute it is when you see the themes from over 500 designs! Japanese blog gives us everything needed from the beginning, while we have to add things we need by ourselves on WordPress or Blogger. You don’t even have to add analytics tools to check the traffic to the blog, because it’s already available from the dashboard.

I wanted to help my readers who had hard time trying out Ameblo. ^ ^;

===Answers to common questions===
*How to change the theme from the original one?
To change the theme (banner), you can do it this way.

1) Go to your dashboard and click “デザインの変更” at the left side under your blog title in parentheses. It’s accompanied by NEW! mark now, but it may disappear someday, so I’ll say it’s accompanied by 4 squares mark to the left.

2) Choose a new theme from either of the following options.
-新着 (latest themes)
-ピグ (Pigg, themes that have your Ameba pigg, or an avatar)
-おすすめ (recommended themes)
-カスタム可能 (customized themes)

3) You probably wish to customize your theme.
Click カスタム可能 and find out the basic theme from which you will modify. (CSS knowledge required) But as you can see, it’s not 100% at your disposal. You can only change some parts.

62 Responses to “How to open your account on Ameba blog”

  1. Jamaipanese September 22, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    didn't watch it all but interesting tutorial that could be useful. I also dont have the energy to maintain any more blogs but might use this to practice my super crappy Japanese

  2. sergio September 22, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    gracias !!!
    thanks !!
    I'm Mexican ..
    and I have amoeba … and had some problems ..
    and the video .. as I helped.

    but I can acer a question?
    as I can put my picture on the top? http://ameblo.jp/akyhem/

    • kirin September 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      De nada! It's my pleasure.
      But as for some technical things, lo siento….yo no se. I'm so poor at HTML and technical things. All I can help is some basic things. >_<

  3. Lisa September 22, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Great post! Actually I've been thinking about switching to Ameba blog now that I have an iPhone. Blogger's iPhone page isn't so userfriendly; I can't upload pictures easily and the options are very limited unfortunately. 😦 It's always good to have some extra info incase I move it over though, thank you! ^^ I'm sure many people will find this helpful. 😀

    • kirin September 23, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      Let me know if you move to Amabe blog because I bookmarked your Japanese blog (although I cannot check it that often). 😉

  4. laura_sayuri September 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    You are so kind Kirin! I never heard about Ameba blog before,but it sounds so cool that I want to try =) I'll let you know if I do^.~

    • kirin September 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      I hear some of my readers already have Ameba blog but while there are some who suffer from registration in Japanese. I really hope this helps you, too. 😉

  5. Amriga September 23, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    All I wanted to say is that you are a life saver Kirin! For foreigners like me..who struggling to find in this wirtual world sth usefull about Japan. It's funny because I wanted to know sth more about Ameblo lately, and BANG! You blog about this ;D thank you so much!

    • kirin September 25, 2010 at 2:37 am #

      Thank you Amriga for your comment. I'm happy to know it helped you!! 😀

  6. virgirm September 27, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Nice tutorial!! I didn't know how to open an ameba blog 😀 I'll try it
    Thanks

    • kirin September 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. 🙂 I hope this helps you.

  7. akanokakera October 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Thanks for this tutorial, I think it really helps foreigners! ♥

    But I have a question…

    Do you know how to upload your own emoticons on Ameba?

    I heard it was posible but I don't how to do it… Y_Y

    • kirin October 24, 2010 at 12:34 am #

      Can we upload our own emoticons on Ameba?
      How about the 「みんなの絵文字」 button on a new article that is located next to 「Ameba Vision動画」 and draw your own emoticon from 「絵文字を書く!」?

      Unless otherwise, sorry I'm not sure for that. >_<

  8. nagi November 9, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    Hi Kirin..
    thankyou for posting a tutorial up..it really helped, and now i have opened up my new blog!..
    but ive got a bit of a problem..
    you know in the second tutorial video, how you are able to write your blog, and you pointed out that you could change the size letters, and post images, and there are smilies…etc
    but when i went to write up a blog, i could not see any of it:SSS…
    is there a problem with mine?

    • kirin November 9, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

      To write a new post, press 記事を書くfrom your dashboard (it's at the left side). 文字サイズ means the size of the letters. You write something, select some letters with mouse and apply the different size. 画像 is to post images.
      You will see when you play with the buttons given to you. 🙂

  9. saka November 9, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Hi kirin..
    thanks for posting up ur tuto.
    i havent really been into it, but i though today would write a post..
    i have the same problem..when i went into 記事を書く and i wrote all of my stuff…(i could not see size letter selection…etc)..
    and wehn i wanted to post it publicly..and see it in my blog page..i wasnt able to see it(but i could see it in the preview..
    anyway,is there a way to delete an amebo account…does it cancel out ur infromation.

    • kirin November 10, 2010 at 12:01 am #

      Hmmm….I really don't know what's wrong with that…but if you want to cancel your Ameba account, go to this page. https://user.ameba.jp/leave/input.do
      Press 退会手続きに進む and then enter your Ameba ID and password. It seems you will be asked to answer some questions why you want to delete your account, but I cannot see them because I don't experience that page myself.

      Hope this helps.

      • saka November 10, 2010 at 12:59 am #

        Hi kirin…
        thankyou for telling me where to delete my ameba account..
        i was thinking of doing it again, i hope it works:D

  10. wolf November 17, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Very good tutorial, many thanks!

    But two question, how can i put my one picture own the top, behind my Blog-name?
    and how can I change the background color (left and right)?

    • kirin November 21, 2010 at 7:43 am #

      Thank you for the comment.
      Well…it looks a bit complicated if you want to change things like that, because you'll need to customize it by yourself.
      http://helps.ameba.jp/qguide/blog/post_323.html

      It's too much for me to explain here. You could ask your friend who understands Japanese. I'm sorry this'll be just too much work and time needed and I cannot help it unless you hire me for translation or something.

      Sorry for that, I'm really busy working and I can only help to some extent for free but not everything. Hope you understand. >_<;;

      • wolf November 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

        Many thanks! It is very helpful!

  11. Laura Elena December 1, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Great, I`ts really!
    Im learn japanesse and is so easy to do!
    thanks!

    • kirin December 2, 2010 at 11:04 am #

      ありがとう。:)

  12. EliDee December 6, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Thanks so much!
    Is it possible to delete something you've already posted?

    • kirin December 7, 2010 at 10:46 am #

      Yes, you can. Go to the dashboard and find 「記事の編集.削除」just below the button of new post, at the left side of the screen. Then you will be able to choose which month the post you wish to delete was posted. When the lists of posts appear, you'll see a bin mark, press it and will be asked if you really want to delete it or not. 「はい」means, yes please delete it. 「いいえ」means no, please don't delete it.

      Hope this helps. 🙂

  13. steph January 19, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Hi kirin,
    i was just wondering do you get アメブロ” weekly sent to your email address?
    if you do, umm im not too sure what it is?…
    and do you have to pay or just read it?

    thxxx

    • kirin January 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      I think you have ticked the box "I receive email magazine (newsletters) from Ameba" at "ブログを書く" tab of your dashboard. (at the very bottom you can find "メールマガジン", choose "受け付けない" if you don't need it any longer.)
      It should be a free newsletter, you don't have to pay.

  14. jrockhime January 22, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    thank you sooooo much I've been wanting to make one for awhile there are soo many great Japanese singers I like that have them ^_^

  15. Farah February 15, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Hi
    How do u delete the account?

  16. Lady♥Diana February 18, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Hi ! Thanks for the tutorials !
    How do you add "Amember" ?

    • kirin February 19, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      Click "アメンバーになる" under the profile photo/illustration of the blog you want to be Amember with.
      I don't know further than that, because I have no intention to do that by myself. (I only opened my Ameba blog to make this tutorial.) Maybe you can copy and paste the Japanese words on Google translation.

  17. vienzreika March 2, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    Hi Kirin !!
    about ameba blog, can I change the language? from Japanese become English maybe???
    you know, just like Facebook account.
    or maybe in ameba, there's no option for it?!
    I'm sorry for asking so much.

    • kirin March 2, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      I roughly checked inside but I couldn't find a language option there. 😦
      Basically it's a blog for Japanese and we normally do not use English. So…it's highly possible Ameba needs no other language but Japanese, just like almost all the other Japanese websites.

  18. Keira April 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Hi! I’m just wondering how do I add youtube videos to my blog post?
    Btw this is a really good tutorial 🙂
    Thanks!

  19. KumaKuma September 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    hey, I know this is an old post, but can you please tell me how I can change my nickname on ameblo? 🙂 When I click on the right link to it, a lot of different questions has to be answered and I don't understand it.. ):

  20. alsykt December 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    thanks for this! may I ask how do I remove ads that keeps appearing per post? those of google ads. I'm alright with ameblo's own ads since its at the side bar, but the googles at that keep appearing each post is really irritating…. please help?

    • kirin December 17, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Unfortunately you cannot remove Google ads that come with Ameblo because that's part of the way they make money. That's the downside of using a free blog. What I dislike about Ameblo is it's full of ads and unwanted links and etc. 😦

      • alsykt December 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

        ah~ I see I see, do you pay for it? Cuz i see that your blog, some of the post didn't have the ads. or maybe I just missed it? XD

        haha, i forgot to ask, how do I stop ameba to sent me weekly newsletter to my email, I cant seem to find the settings for the newsletter. ? sorry for asking so many questions and thanks in advance~ =]

      • kirin December 19, 2011 at 2:44 am #

        Hmm..I'm not sure how to stop it, as it's not sent to me. Maybe there is a link included in the email. When you click the link, you will be asked if you want to stop receiving their newsletter. Sorry, not sure for that, but such case is possible, as is anywhere.

        As for the Google ads in this blog, that's what I chose to place, because I need some basic capital to run this blog. 😉
        Thank you for your understanding.

  21. Wira January 1, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Thanks..but i dont know how to manage Application

    • kirin January 1, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      Sorry, I cannot tell everything. It's only the introduction part and if I explain everything, it's going to be huge to cover.

  22. Janelle January 6, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Can you delete a comment you posted on another Ameba Blogger's entry? I made a mistake when replying to someone and I want to delete my comment but I can't figure out how to do that. Please help me. Thanks.

    • kirin January 8, 2012 at 1:14 am #

      I'm afraid I don't know what part you are talking about. I basically do not let anyone leave a comment to my Ameba blog because I don't intend to continue it. Basically you cannot delete your comment that you left someone's blog because it's what the owner of the blog can do.

  23. Yin January 8, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    I made an ameba blog, Just by clicking the most logical buttons and stop when I see something what doesn't belong to the site, but your youtube vid is really helpfull. I'm still trying to figure everything out…. but Thank You!! ⋐(ల◕◡◕ల)⋑

    • kirin January 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      I can share with you only some basic things because I'm not that much into it myself. :p
      But I hope you can manage to figure it out.

  24. Guillermo Condado January 28, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    コンイチワ!!i got an ameba, i understand it though its hard but i got a doubt, How can you upload pictures to ポケット

    • kirin January 30, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      Sorry I closed my Ameba blog, and so I can't advise anything more…

    • kemi February 9, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      you cant upload pics to Pocket. you can just add someone's pictures or artlicle. Or you can do pocket on your own blog pictures after you apploard to ur blog entry.

  25. Hideki Kurniawan June 12, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    Hmmm… Thx for the info but i still dont know to use that –” ,
    Does ameba have configure like change languange, Esp English?

    • kirin June 12, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      I guess the dashboard and page design have been changed from the time I made this post.
      Ameba is a service dedicated for Japanese, and usually most of JP service don't offer the service in other language. 😦

  26. The Dreamer July 11, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    can we export Ameblo entries to other blog?
    how to do that?

    • kirin July 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Basically you can't export Ameblo entries to other blog, even though you can do the other way round. 😦

  27. sandratails August 3, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    well i just downloaded a kyary app on my android and well when ever i want to do something like look at the special pics this ameba thing comes and cus i cant read japanesse i have no idea whats going on and i can see there is this thing that ask for a ID and a password im guessing and i was wondering if i get an account on ameba can i see the rest of the things i cant on the blog or and how do i get an account for my android phone i just got it so im very stupid to all of its things cus i have never had a phone like it before so if someone can help then please do

  28. michelle August 4, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    tnx.
    but where i can find my dashboard ?? please tell us ! ^^
    and I also want to make the cover @@ how i set my cover ? like this : http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-q-DmSccp8IY/UAH-bik6KEI

    please reply ^^

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 5:23 am #

      I'm not familiar with technical things, I only introduced the beginning part.
      Maybe this video helps (in Japanese, but you can see the screen) http://youtu.be/rUPeB8Mpo00

  29. ろすーちゃん September 23, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    えええ!!あめばがすきです。^^
    I love Ameba so much… ^///^

  30. Cheko September 23, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Thanks for the tutorial ^^ And do you know how to change the banner pic .. Yesterday I created an ameba account and I'd to choose one of this blog themes, I choosed the one with leaves but I want to change the banner pic, but I don't know how to do it °_° ^^

  31. Kenzou48 March 6, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    i wanna ask something, is the function of ameba blog, like social media for japanese people ??? i mean, for general people the meaning of blog/site etc is a media for someone to post something (can be an article of science, art and others)…

    or maybe, for japanese people blog is like diary ??? so we can share each other our story like we use facebook ???

  32. Kenzou48 March 6, 2013 at 7:43 am #

    i wanna ask something, is the function of ameba blog, like social media for japanese people ??? i mean, for general people the meaning of blog/site etc is a media for someone to post something (can be an article of science, art and others)…

    • kirin March 21, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Sorry I've already closed my Ameba blog and I can't answer your question. >_<

  33. jackie May 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    can you help me how to dress up myself?

Leave a Reply

