How to travel in Japan while spend less?

18 Sep

Due to bad economy, hotels in Japan have been suffering from gaining customers. They struggle how to attract customers today in order to survive from downturn in sales. “No over-night stay with 2 meals” seems to be a breakthrough to turn the situation around.

Tourists can stay at a hotel and enjoy 2 meals (lunch and dinner) there and check out before 8pm, for example.

Let’s take a look at Hakone Yunessan‘s case.
Check-in is open at 11am and the customers can stay as long as 9 hours at the room before check-out time at 8pm.

1) Check-in
2) Lunch can be chosen from 4 restaurants.
3) Play in the swimming pool or green tea bath or anything from the total of 26 amusement spas, as well as onsen.
4) Rest or sleep in the room when tired.
5) Buffet dinner
6) Check-out

If one stays there over night, it costs 20,000yen. But only without over-night stay, the price turns to be 8500yen.

How is another example at Hotel Accion Tateyama in Chiba prefecture?
Their no over-stay plan is open from 11:30am to 9pm.

1) Check-in
2) Chef’s recommending lunch
3) Relax in onsen, swimming pool and even with Balinese esthetic treatment.
4) Japanese full-course meal at dinner
5) Check-out

If one stays there over night, it costs 24,240yen. But only without over-night stay, it’s 16,950yen.

Good News!
Haneda airport in Tokyo will have completed a new runway, as scheduled on Oct. 31. This allows flights to 9 more cities including Los Angeles and Paris. Unlike Narita airport, Haneda airport is a lot closer to the central Tokyo area, which means we can make use of late-evening flights to Haneda airport after work! The flights to Europe and U.S will be scheduled later than 10pm. Even busy Japanese workers can manage 5 days holiday to Hawaii as following way.

1st day: Departing from Haneda at 10:30pm.
2nd day: Arriving at Hawaii at 10:40am and then free time.
3rd day: free time entire day.
4th day: free time and then leaving Honolulu at 7pm.
5th day: Arriving at Haneda at 10pm.

89,800yen for this plan, for example.

Kirin’s opinion:
It’s nice to stay hotels at reasonable price only by giving up the stay over night.
Now everyone looks for something at affordable and reasonable price, it’s necessary for any kind of service industry to suggest budget offers to attract customers in recession. But at the same time, I think I would prefer gorgeous lunch at a nice restaurant only or body massage at a relaxation salon only rather than buffet and everything at OK level.

I’m looking forward to how Haneda airport changes. 🙂 My station is not that far from Haneda. Some of you may be shocked how short our holiday plan in Hawaii as a sample plan looks like. I think this is considered a good plan in Japan. You see how hard it is for us, Japanese to take a vacation in Japan. Not many of us can afford vacation over 10 days or 2 weeks.

Another News!! (from Sept. 13)
The other day I just read we can finally have Air Asia flights from/to Haneda within this year!!!!! Last time when I traveled from Malaysia to Singapore, I flew with Air Asia. It was quite reasonable. However there was no Air Asia or Tiger airways service available from/to Tokyo then, I remember I was so much disappointed. I hope Air Asia flights from Tokyo should not end up with relatively high price though. Anyhow this is what I’ve been waiting for, and for the people from Asia pacific who like to travel to Japan, this must be a good news, too right? 😀

10 Responses to “How to travel in Japan while spend less?”

  1. Suzy September 18, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I've always use Tokyo as my stop-over everytime I pass by South Pacific. This is an excellent piece of news. Thank you, Kirin. You've made my day ! n_n – I wonder is JAL will have any flights through there?

  2. blooomzy September 19, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    Thank you for the information on the hotels.
    I was really interested as I want to visit Hakone during my stay 😀

  3. Cath September 20, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    I'm very concern about the raising yen… =(
    I was thinking of going to Hakone but decided I'll wait till Samuel (my 17 mos old boy) is older. Then I won't have to spend half my dinner time crawling/running after him! Hahaha…And I can order kids' meal for them.

    • kirin September 20, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

      Strong yen! Now is the time for ME to travel outside Japan….I'm frustrated why I cannot do that this year, in spite of strong yen that makes everything cheaper~~!! Let me know if you ever come to Tokyo.

      • Cath September 23, 2010 at 4:46 am #

        =P Perhaps you can keep some US$ or other currency first? Was reading the news and it seems your Govt is going to weaken the yen?
        Yes, we will be in Tokyo… Is Saitama (Kita Urawa) too far from your home?

      • kirin September 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

        You know our economy is supported by exporting companies such as TOYOTA, Panasonic, SONY, etc., strong yen makes them cry. That's why our government try to make it weaker.

        Kitaurawa is rather closer to my parents home. It's a bit far from my place but anyway we can see somewhere in Tokyo, right? 😉

  4. hikaru_low October 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    yes, kirin-san! airasia is awesome and the promotion prices are really cheap…~ i'm looking forward to tokyo again next year…~ 😀

    • kirin October 5, 2010 at 1:15 am #

      Yes, it's really surprising how reasonable the price goes once we choose not stay over night. ^ ^ There should be more of this sort of plans if we look for.

  5. Walter June 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Thank you for blogging about this. Unbelievable you fly to HAwaii for 90,000 Yen.

Leave a Reply

