Guest Post: Game soundtracks worth listening to

16 Sep

Let me introduce a Japanese writer who kindly contributes to Tokyo Kawaii, etc. His name is Kiyoaki Mitsubayashi.
We met on twitter first and as it turned out I invited him to my blog as a guest writer because I felt sure he can write Japanese well from his blog. I especially liked his translation of English songs because I am not good at poetic translations. I just thought that he loves writing as much as I do, or even more. Follow Kiyoaki on twitter if you like his post, too. πŸ™‚

About Kiyoaki.
Kiyoaki is a Japanese man who works for a human resource development company, providing trainings for employees in Tokyo. He majored foreign literature in university. He loves foreign culture, just like the readers of this blog. He is interested in literature, translation, music, etc. He is happy to introduce Japanese culture to the readers of Tokyo Kawaii, etc. Have fun!
================
I think you may know Japanese video games are popular in the world. I guess you may have heard the titles of the games, such as Final Fantasy, Dragon Warrior, Chrono Trigger, etc. Have you ever played any one of them?

Some people may not be interested in video games, and even take no notice of them.

But have you ever listened to the soundtracks of these games?

There’re a lot of great tracks worth listening in these games. If you give no reason to play games, try it just for the heck of it.

I’d like to introduce you some of my favorite composers’ masterpieces!

Nobuo Uematsu

I think this is the one of the most famous tracks.

Koichi Sugiyama

This track is named “Soaring in the sky”.

Yoko Shimomura

Heavenly tune… but it is little known that the same person composed the OST of Street Fighter II.

Masashi Hamauzu

Hamauzu may not be as well known as Uematsu or Sugiyama. I really like his works.

How do you like them? Is there anything new to be discovered?

================
Kirin’s opinion:
I’m happy to open an opportunity for Japanese writers to write a post in English, because most of us want to improve English. While at the same time I totally understand how hard it is to build a blog from scratch and attract many readers because that just takes much time and effort. Having some Japanese contributors on this blog enables more posts in variety from local’s life than the ones only from my life. πŸ™‚ But don’t worry it doesn’t mean I stop writing posts. I want to develop this blog onto the next level, and I have come to the point that single player cannot do anything more. I knew someday that point would come to me, and it actually did.

BTW I like the music of Koichi Sugiyama, the 2nd one of this post. I totally remember the time I was playing with Dragon Quest! :p
To be honest with you, I didn’t pay much attention on game soundtracks and anime songs. But I’m surprised how good they are indeed! It’s possible sometimes it’s nobody but me who block things and disconnect myself with new world.

13 Responses to “Guest Post: Game soundtracks worth listening to”

  1. Sharon September 16, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    cool, its nice to see tokyo kawaii etc expanding !:D

    • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:48 am #

      Thank you for telling that, I am happy, too! πŸ˜€

  2. Cai September 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    The only game I ever obsessed over back in elementary school was called Chrono Cross. It had one of the best soundtracks I've heard which was by Yasunori Mitsuda. I still listen to the music until now πŸ™‚

    The ending song was really beautiful:

    • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:50 am #

      I like that too, Cai.
      Thank you for sharing the link. πŸ™‚

  3. Jade Nayan September 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Good list of soundtracks, but I would also recommend The King Of Fighters'97 OST, specially Mirthless, the ending song you hear when you are done playing KOF, it's a piano tune, very good! : )

    • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      OK~~thanks for sharing. Will check it out later! πŸ™‚

  4. Cath September 16, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    You see? This is another reason I esteem the Japanese. So much effort and passion in the things you do! It's like the Japanese drama (Shinzanmono)… only 10 episodes but there're 21 tracks on the album for the drama! I was amazed!
    Back to the topic… I would love to get a CD compilation of these. Are they sold?
    They first caught my attention when I was watching YT video (Fuzkittie). The lady (fuzkittie) uses them as background music in her makeup tutorial.

    • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:59 am #

      Shinzanmono!! I see how much you like it. I think I want to rent the DVDs to watch a whole story before I see in December. ^ ^;;

  5. Loan Grenouille September 17, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    I LOVE YOKO SHIMOMURA πŸ˜€

  6. dwayne2d3d September 17, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    δ»Šζ™©γ―ιΊ’ιΊŸ
    this isn't related to the post but i wanna say that i love your honesty. From being aware that you can't go it alone, to saying that game music is not your thing ect..ect…ect……
    it's hard to be honest when you have an audience to please, but you still stay honest……
    It's a small trivial thing but i think i should comment on it..

    But make sure you don't stop writing post, as you promised of course :^)

    -btw-
    i live in NYC and if you want i can get {current} pic or videos of anywhere in the city if you request it..
    i would do it *free* for your because you take your time to make great post for everyone here to read……
    i hate crowds just like you so i avoid Manhattan but if you want i wouldn't mind doing it, i could even do Brooklyn where i live,
    or Bronx and Queens too………
    -peace-

    • kirin September 17, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. I act as I am but it's true some people like you come to me saying that they like my honesty! haha!! ^ ^ I never thought of anyone's paying attention to such a point, because I just act as I am. But it's so nice of you to take your time and tell me all the way about how you liked my personality!! (^0^)γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ†οΌ

      Also thank you for your offer about current pics or videos of NYC. But I will focus on all things about Japan on this blog. So I'd rather ask you for advice when I ever travel in NYC. I've never been there but I'd love to, if I have a chance! πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for reading my blog. I promise I will not stop writing my posts, even if I have Apple and Japanese contributors now. Writing and traveling is what I love as much as something kawaii! πŸ˜‰

      • dwayne2d3d September 18, 2010 at 4:36 am #

        lol!!!
        hi Kirin, in reference to your honesty, what can i say "i just call it as i see it"
        I like the part where you write "I act as i am" i'm gonna have to borrow that phrase from you……lol!!

        -btw-
        take your time in comming to NYC is really not that special !{0_0}!, but if i'm not in Japan by the time you
        get here then i give you all the good travel advice i can think up

        -peace-

      • kirin September 19, 2010 at 2:45 am #

        ^__^ If you ever have a chance to come to Tokyo, please feel free to contact me from the contact page on this blog.
        I'd love to meet my readers in person when I visit their place or they visit Tokyo.

        I just have so many places I want to travel to and so many people I want to see in the world, while I have so small coins in my hand now. lol

Leave a Reply

