Apple joined Tokyo Kawaii, etc.

12 Sep

I’d like to announce you officially that I’ve got a wonderful team mate, Apple as a regular writer to Tokyo Kawaii, etc.!!! (^0^) Yay~~!

I wonder if you remember her guest post to this blog but it was just a one-time guest post. As you can see she is a good writer who loves kawaii just like me, it didn’t take much time until we became good friends. Her interests that she likes writing, kawaii and travelling around the world completely fit mine. The more we exchanged emails, the more we got excited at what we have or feel in common.

We even met in person in Tokyo! Here are our kawaii purikura pictures!
It was so fun! The purikura spot in Shinjuku was so nice they even offered cosplay costume totally for free for anyone. It was my first cosplay and I even felt so young myself wearing school uniform for the first time since graduation. 😀 It looked so funny to see myself in school uniform when I think of my age. You know I am double x high school girl age! I think I finally get why people like cosplay. haha! 😀

Apple and I look like friends from the same high school although Apple is a lot younger than I…^ ^

There were some purikura machines and each one has been developed for better quality compared with the time I was in my 20s. It’s so true, the pictures taken by purikura often look better than normal photos we take by ourselves.

For more information on Apple, please find the About page.

I’m sure she will be a great host who helps to grow Tokyo Kawaii, etc. to the next level and we will continuously update interesting posts and videos for you. ^_^

53 Responses to “Apple joined Tokyo Kawaii, etc.”

  1. Matt Sheffield September 12, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    This made me smile, exactly what I needed 😀

    • kirin September 13, 2010 at 4:07 am #

      So you wanted to see purikura pictures just like these? ^__^

  2. m m September 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Hello!!!
    I just found this blog and I like what is here.
    It is very interesting.
    Last time my friends went to purikura, I could not go because I had to study for exams.
    I feel silly saying that I have never been to purikura.
    bye!

    • kirin September 13, 2010 at 4:10 am #

      Welcome! ^ ^
      Purikura in Japan allows us to add decorations on the photo in a limited time. This always makes use feel so busy! ^ ^;

      • m m September 14, 2010 at 6:00 am #

        Hello again!~
        Purikura sounds so fun!
        But the limited time must make it more interesting?
        I wonder if the purikura is the same in Japan as where I live.
        bye!

      • kirin September 15, 2010 at 1:03 am #

        Haha, then next time I may want to take a video when we play with purikura. 😀

  3. Sparklewolfie September 13, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    Yay Purikura! I love Purikura! haha the technology they use to make everybody look beautiful is pretty nice ;D You don't even have to wear makeup to look perfect!

    • kirin September 13, 2010 at 4:11 am #

      I'm totally amazed at their technology, because I know how it was 10 years ago!

  4. megan September 13, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    Hello Apple! 😀 I look forward to seeing your articles!

    Your puri pictures are cute!

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Hello Megan!!!!!!

      You're so nice!!! I look forward to writing interesting articles for you~ ^^

  5. blooomzy September 13, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    I'm pleased that you have a new team-mate. I can't wait to read her posts 😀
    The purikura is so~ cute. I want to take it there if the cosplay is free haha

    • kirin September 13, 2010 at 4:17 am #

      There were several different styled uniforms available. It's such a good idea, people feel like trying more and more purikura with different cosplay. ^ ^;

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      Hello blooomzy!

      I actually read your blog!!! hahaha! i commented on your blog before!!! I love to read your blog and can't believe you can't wait to read my posts!! haha! so cool!!! ^^ I'm really happy now! haha!

  6. Loan Grenouille September 13, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    HEY!! you look so kawaii in your photos!! 😀

    i love it! ❤

  7. Junko September 13, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    Ahhh so Kawaii i want to take pictures like that!
    And you can try on different costumes and take pictures in them,
    thats my kind of place. -.-
    i wish i could have gone!

    oh and i never noticed, but you have beautiful eyes.
    Thank you for sharing your pictures with us.

    ^^;

    • kirin September 14, 2010 at 12:22 am #

      Thank you. ^ ^ My eye color is lighter than normal Japanese people and that's why my eyes are sometimes weak against strong sunshine. ^ ^;

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      I think your eyes are beautiful too, Kirin! It pulls people in!

      • kirin September 15, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

        Oh, thank you Apple! I never thought anything but weakness about my eyes. Good to hear that. ^ ^

  8. Sharon September 13, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    the both of you look so cute in puricura !especially when kirin-san is in uniform !and apple looks so much like a doll……i want to keep her in my pocket haha.

    she is from the same country as me?!wow O_O cool hahaha

    • kirin September 14, 2010 at 12:25 am #

      Haha, it was kind of strange but funny experience for me to wear school uniform again. But sailor-style school uniform was the first time to me because I didn't wear it in my jr. high and high school.

      Yes, Apple is Singaporean~. ^_^ I made many Singaporean friends from this blog.

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Hey Sharon!!! Yea!! We are from the same lovely country!!!

      And thank you!!!!! I love it when people say I look like a doll!!! HAHAHAHA! I like you already!!! ^^

  9. Diyana September 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Congrats Apple and Tokyo Kawaii, etc!

    Purikura~ Even though it's readily available in Singapore, I've only taken it about 4-5 times in my life! It's really expensive but i find that if you take it with more than 3 friends, then it's not too bad. I recently took a purikura when wearing my yukata!

    • kirin September 14, 2010 at 12:26 am #

      Purikura at the place in Shinjuku costs only 400yen. 🙂

      • Diyana September 16, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

        In Singapore, the newer machines may cost $12 or even more since the last time I took it in town area was in 2007. Double the price =(

      • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:47 am #

        Wow, that's indeed expensive!! (*_*)

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Thank you Diyana!!!!

      Yea…I can't afford to take purikura anymore in Singapore I think… 😦 I used to take them almost everyday when I was still a student. hahahaha!

      • Diyana September 16, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

        Everyday!? That's amazing~

      • Apple September 17, 2010 at 10:25 am #

        Yes!

        Haha!

        I remember my classmate posted on my Friendster's wall, "I never took neoprints before…until we met. And in just one short month, my brand new neoprint book was full."

        I was very wellknown for being the camwhore in school back when taking pictures of oneself isn't common yet! HAHAHAHA!

  10. Sabrina September 13, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    That's great! Is it Apple that wrote the post about the chi and the chinese medecine? If so, I can't wait to read her posts! ^_^

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Hey Sabrina! ^^ Yea I wrote that! You like that post?? I'm so happy! I hope you will continue supporting my posts! Thank you so much!!! ^^ I will do my best! ^^

  11. sedonia2 September 13, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Kirin – those photos are of you and Apple? Wow! You're so pretty!

    • kirin September 14, 2010 at 12:28 am #

      Thank you ❤
      I really felt as if I went back to a high school girl (and I wish I could in reality). lol
      Cosplay was fun! ^_^;;

  12. Amanda September 14, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Your purikura photos are really cute! 🙂 I'm glad you have someone to help you out, you do so much work! 🙂

    • kirin September 15, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Thank you for your comment, Amanda.
      Yeah, I knew someday it'd be just too much of work to do only by myself. At the same time I want to grow this blog more. ^ ^;

  13. Cath September 15, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    Haha… they're cal Neoprint in Singapore. Don't see them around anymore but I'm so glad it's still popular in Japan… Ah… I must remember to take some pictures with my family.
    Yes, we've booked the tickets!!! Will be coming end Nov. n_n

    • kirin September 15, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      Oh you did? Wow! Means your daughter is ready for the trip? ^_^; Anyway contact me if you think we can meet up for a lunch or anything. 🙂

      • Cath September 15, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

        No, it means we're prepared to collapse in frustration at a restaurant! Hahaha… Oh, we'll try our best to make the most of this trip. We really need to come back and be refresh. Looking forward to meeting our other Japanese friends too.
        Perhaps this is too early, but will you keep 5th Dec free?

      • kirin September 16, 2010 at 11:53 am #

        Oh, OK ^ ^;; Hope you have good time over here! haha!

  14. Miki September 15, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Ahhh! Applesan has such big and dark eyes! o: Im jealous!
    Kirin, you looked like a high school girl in that picture! Was your graduation not very long ago? 😀
    Welcome, Apple! > w <

    • kirin September 15, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Can you believe my graduation was 18 years ago? Hehe, now you know I am 36!! lol

      • mikidii September 17, 2010 at 2:54 am #

        Ehhh!? You sure don't look like it! I thought you would be much MUCH younger!!! o:

      • kirin September 17, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

        Hehehe ^_____^ V
        When I traveled in Europe last year, I even got a student discount without student ID!
        I was thinking like "Hey, I could be a mother at my age!" inside my mind. But instead I said, "Sorry, it looks like I left my ID at the hotel room but yeah, I'm a university student." lol I wonder how long this works…Well, I could wear school uniform! lol

    • Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      Thank you Miki!!!!

      Actually I have tiny eyes with single eyelids! It's all makeup so there's nothing to be jealous about! Haha! ^^

      • mikidii September 17, 2010 at 2:53 am #

        Ohh! To be able to use makeup that well is still very envious! o: I have squinty eyes, so I don't use eyeliner much because it makes them look even tinier. ^ ^'

        You're welcome!!!!

      • kirin September 17, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

        Let's expect Apple's sharing her makeup tips on this blog~~ :p

  15. Apple September 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Hey Kirin!!!

    Thank you for this warm welcome! I'm so happy!

    When I saw our puris on this blog, I was really sooooo happily surprised!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    My friends all thought you were my age when they saw our puris!!!! You really do look young for your age, Kirin!!!!!!!! so good!!!!!

    Anyway, I will do my best in TokyoKawaiiEtc. I've been writing and amending my post I'm going to send you later for 2 days~ Hope it would be fine. ^^

    I also want to say a big thank you to all TokyoKawaiiEtc's readers for giving me such a friendly welcome!!!!! ^^ I'll do my best!

    • kirin September 15, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      I'm just so happy my readers are looking forward to your posts!
      Haha, tell your friend my real age. lol
      I never thought cosplay purikura was so much fun! ^____^
      When you are here next time, let's do it again in different costume~ ❤

      • Apple September 16, 2010 at 11:59 am #

        yes yes! let's! ^^ i find it fun too!

        when my friends knew your age, they couldn't believe it! They thought you were the same age as me!!!! omggg! haha!

      • kirin September 17, 2010 at 12:46 am #

        LOL I wish I were there too, to see how they reacted! You know friends from my age in Japan wouldn't go to purikura because they'd feel they are too old to play with it. So…it'll be when I'm with young friends, but most of young friends are from this blog and they are not Japanese. ^ ^;

      • Apple September 17, 2010 at 10:26 am #

        it's ok! I think non-Japanese enjoy taking purikura too!! You can take many purikura with your international friends when they go to Japan!! ^^

      • kirin September 17, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

        Good idea! Then I will get used to the purikura's quick selection and decoration afterwards, too! lol

  16. KingaTat May 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Apple and Kirin look so lovely !!! . I wonder why we don't have purikura in my country? And all the more cosplay is possible. It must be such fun to change into whatever chara one wants! What cosplay chara are there to chose from?
    I wonder what I would like to change into? It must be such fun!!!!!
    Thnaks for Your space ^ – ^

    • kirin May 11, 2011 at 5:52 am #

      Thank you for your sweet comment<3
      Actually this time it was just a costume of high school uniform and it was not a costume of specific anime character or something. But yes, it was FUN!!

      I thought I knew why people like to cosplay.
      If you have a chance to come to Japan, try these. Actually there are so many kinds of purikura machines and they are always developing for new model or new function. You'll be surprised how Japanese purikura is! ^ ^

Leave a Reply

