Ameyoko is a good place if you want…

8 Sep

I do not visit Ueno area very often, but if you want to buy things cheaper, Ueno – Okachimachi area is where you can get things at discounted price, as well as Asakusa – Bakurocho area or Nippori. Speaking of Ueno, it’s famous for Ameyoko. Ameyoko, the short form of “Ameya Yokocho” is said to be named from American black market after world war two or Ame (meaning candy in Japanese) stores.

***Ameyoko is not my taste of kawaii, but let me put this article under “kawaii shop” for the sake of convenience for my readers! ๐Ÿ™‚



Ameyoko is busy with many people passing and shopping, but it doesn’t mean it’s unsafe. It looks like an Asian market just like you can see in other Asian countries, too, but the big difference is that they don’t sell copy brands. It’s strictly prohibited in Japan to sell fake brands such as copied Louis Vuitton, for example. However I hear from my friend in Osaka that they sneakily open temp stalls at Shinsekai, Osaka. They are so alert they know when police come, according to her. (*w*)!!

Things are rather cheap in Ameyoko, but you cannot expect you can get everything you maybe looking for. Ameyoko is a good place if you are looking for fruits and fish.

It’s also a good place if you are looking for American street casual outfits such as T-shirts, jeans and caps.

Or shoes, especially sneakers maybe…

And bags, especially backpacks and casual bags maybe…

Some people like to shop discounted snacks.

Or cosmetics, especially inside the Ameyoko Plaza.


This Rolex watch store could be fake if it were not in Japan. But here again, they must be genuine Rolex store. “The cheapest Rolex store in Japan” according to them. No wonder, they deal with second hand watches.

These places offer good food for very reasonable price. But as they are located just under the railway pass, people have to eat uneasily. It’s always very noisy and not very cozy but the food tend to be good. Well…I personally don’t like these places so much, honestly. :p

But I needed to take a rest. The Antenor Cafe at Matsuzakaya was not bad. Especially I found 850yen or so for the 3 cakes, 1 scoop of icecream and coffee set was quite reasonable! I remembered old days when I was working in this area about 10 years ago. I often dropped at the Depachika of Ueno Matsuzakaya after work to look for something sweets.

And ABAB to browse kawaii fashion. At that time ABAB was not that much of Gyaru taste. I may want to focus on ABAB in the kawaii shop section some time later again.

Ueno used to be such a familiar place to me before I got married. Ueno and Ikebukuro were rather closer parts of Tokyo from my parents house. Especially Ueno was the closest part of Tokyo from my apartment where I lived alone when I was an university student. Since I now live in somewhere very close to south-west part of Tokyo such as Shibuya, Ebisu or Shinagawa, I rarely go all the way up to Ueno.

It was kind of nostalgic for me to see Ameyoko, Matsuzakaya and ABAB which just looked the same as when I was hanging out there. I had no time to check out the great discount shop called Takeya in Okachimachi. This store is awesome. My family like the store since my grandparents found it long long time ago. This store even reminds me of my childhood because I often went there to shop furniture or anything with my parents. I remember at that time I was very ashamed and sad to find that my parents had to buy things at such a discount store. (You know that time Japan was enjoying good economy.) Takeya has become popular today but at that time, it was “people who know it, love it” kind of store.

Ameyoko video

17 Responses to “Ameyoko is a good place if you want…”

  1. sergio September 8, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    sugoii

    • Larissa Schmitz November 12, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Ameyokooooooooooooooo … i wanna goooooooooooo !!!

      I love you Japaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. sedonia2 September 8, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Thanks, Kirin. This looks like a cool place to go to shop. I'm not much of a shopper but If I were in Japan and needed things, I'd go there first! ๐Ÿ™‚ When I lived in Jerusalem, I lived across from a wonderful open market place which these pictures reminded me of. It was much better to shop there than in a mall or department store for me,

  3. Steven Stier September 8, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    I traveled through Ueno while visiting Tokyo, and I had the opportunity to walk through Ueno park for several hours. What a beautiful park! I did not know about Ameyoko but I would have liked to have seen it. It looks like it has many small shops to explore, and shopping is FUN! Even if you don't buy anything. Your snack looks yummy. How can you eat like this and stay so thin? Maybe you take Pi-chan for very very long walks.

    • kirin September 9, 2010 at 2:29 am #

      Oh good you've been to Ueno park. But too bad you missed Ameyoko then? lol
      Just as you say, it's fun to look around even without buying anything! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I am not thin~~ I am even too scared to step on a weighting machine for months. I want to stay away from reality, which increase more fat. I know that. :p But yeah I walk Pi-chan everyday for about 1 hour. Pi-chan makes me healthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. blooomzy September 9, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    I really like Ameyoko, even though I never bought anything there when I went.
    I found that Ueno didn't have many Gyaru fashion places but maybe I need to look more?!

    • kirin September 9, 2010 at 2:25 am #

      If you like Gyaru kind of fashion, you should check out ABAB, and also I passed pop girl, you know the one of the branch stores I saw in Nippori. (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/5231) ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • blooomzy September 9, 2010 at 7:06 am #

        Thanks, I will check them out ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. sedonia2 September 9, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    Yes, I lived there for 8 months way way back in 1994. I was supposed to be there for a year but I got homsesick. I was studying to be a cantor (the one who sings the scriptures in the Jewish temple) but I didn't finish school. It's a really amazing city. If you ever go there you'll really like it. Wonderful food and good people.

    • kirin September 9, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you for sharing that with me. You have such an unique experience! I hope I can visit there one day. I'll keep that in mind. Thank you โค ^ ^

  6. Magda September 9, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Ahahahah, I loooove that video! ๐Ÿ˜€ Even though everything is so cheap, everyone's service is perfect and always with a smiling face :))))))))))))))) I want to go there and buy some chea stuff xD

  7. Lisa September 10, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    ใ‚นใ‚คใ‚ซ้ฃŸในใŸใ„๏ผ It's soooo hot right now, that stall wit hteh watermelon is looking miiiighty delicious right about now. Interesting post! I stayed in Ueno once a few years ago, but didn't know about it being a discount area. I'll have to check it out probably sometime in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin September 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Haha, this year it's extraordinarily hot in Japan. If you stayed in Ueno, you could have shopped ใŠใ‹ใ— (both Japanese and international) or ้ญš at very reasonable prices. Try to check out Ameyoko and Takeya next time!!

  8. Phil September 10, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Great post, Kirin! Like a couple of other commenters, I spent time in Ueno without ever seeing Ameyoko. I learned about it later and was so sorry I didn't know about it. This is exactly the kind of place love about Asian cities – these great markets are so interesting even if you never buy anything. Ameyoko reminds me a bit of the "night markets" in China. Regular shops on modern streets like in Ginza are uninteresting compared to places like Ameyoko. I'm envious of you living as close as you do to such places as this. My city is so boring! Keep up the good work.

    • kirin September 10, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

      Hi Phil. ^ ^
      Thank you for your comment. It's just a big surprise to me to hear foreign tourists tend to miss Ameyoko even though they visited Ueno. Why? Ameyoko is not on the guidebook? Hope you can try there next time you ever come to Tokyo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Cath September 12, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    I can't remember if we've stopped by at Ueno before but I would certainly take note of it! Thanks so much for posting this cos this is one side of Japan I'm not exposed to! n_n

    • kirin September 13, 2010 at 4:21 am #

      If you've never been there, you should definitely try Ameyoko next time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

