square watermelon for over USD200?!

4 Sep

Watermelon’s season is getting replaced by pear, peach and grape now. But do you like watermelon?
Yes? Then how would you like watermelon for these shapes and prices?

Square watermelon is for 20,000yen (USD220 or so now) each.

Triangle watermelon is for 15,000yen each.
Calabash watermelon is for 15,000yen each.
Pyramid watermelon is for 20,000yen each.

Yellow watermelon is for 10,000yen each.

Heart shaped watermelon is for 15,000yen each.

I took these pictures some time ago in Yokohama, wondering who in the heck will like to pay this much for a funny shaped watermelon. Would you? I wouldn’t. Even if I could afford them, I’d use that money for something else. lol

17 Responses to “square watermelon for over USD200?!”

  1. Sharon September 4, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    these watermelons are great as gifts, its classy and presentable. but apparently its target audience is the rich people hahah.

  2. mint September 4, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    its quite pricey here in Singapore, too!

  3. Cath September 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I'd love to cut the heart-shaped one! I think it should look really pretty when served. Hahah… I would have to be a millionaire before I'll willing to buy one… and only for a special occasion where more people can see it! Hmm… I've love to know how they're shaped though. n_n

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:42 am #

      It'll depends on which way you cut. If you do it in a wrong way, you'll just get an oval shaped counterpart, I guess. ^_^

  4. Steven Stier September 4, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    I just bought a watermelon today. It was not square, or yellow. It was $4.95 and delicious. Here we eat watermelon one of two ways. The first is to slice the melon with a knife. The second way is to smash the cold watermelon on the ground and reach in and grab a chunk. It is messy but it tends to break apart at the seeds and leave seedless chunks. How do you eat watermelon?

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:39 am #

      Same ways. πŸ™‚
      And normal round shaped watermelon costs 1000-2000yen. But most of us buy it that is cut into half or quarter size because a whole watermelon is too big for us to preserve in a fridge.

  5. Joey September 4, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I would love to buy a funny shaped watermelon, but I would not pay those prices for them! $220 can usually buy maybe a month's worth of groceries. Paying that much for one fruit is a bit outrageous. I think I'll stick to regular watermelons, haha!

    Those are some very awesome pictures though.

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:45 am #

      I think you can get food at a reasonable price there. We spend USD900-1000 per month for food and that is for 2 people. We do not eat out so often, though.

  6. Mini Mo September 4, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Hahaha! They look so cool! But i wouldnt buy them ( i dont know how much is that in dollars or pounds πŸ˜› ).

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:46 am #

      The square one and yellow one was rather big, but others were smaller.

  7. Lisa September 4, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    I've always wondered about that actually, because melons as a whole are already soooo expensive in Japan! o.O And then add the novelty of funny shapes… Crazy! Amusing to look at, but I agree – I would rather spend my money on something else. (Like right now I'm craving Mister Donuts doughnuts!! ^^;)

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:50 am #

      LOL you like Mister Donuts? I like it more than Krispy Kream, actually KrispyKream is too sweet for me. (>_<)

      • Lisa September 5, 2010 at 9:31 am #

        Yeah, I like Krispy Kreme, but mainly because I get a sense of nostalgia from it (the first store was opened in North Carolina, where I'm from in the US). I definitely prefer the flavour of Mister Donuts! ^^ I probably like it too much… ^^;

  8. Junko September 5, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    Awww. So Kawaii but if i bought it thats all i would eat for the whole month! Way to much to afford that and other food, haha. i think i like the triangle one most, im not sure why though.

    • kirin September 6, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      I like the calabash shaped one, if I were to choose from there. :p

  9. Amanda Sablan September 5, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    Oh my God, even if I did like watermelon, I would never spend that much for one. Although my mom would flip out for the heart-shaped melon. ^^

    • kirin September 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Haha, looks like the heart shaped one is most supported by my readers! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

