Guest Post: Weekend delight at Tanzawa

2 Sep

This is a guest post from my friend Chika. She shared with me her photos of excursion to Tanzawa that she went to with her friend the other day. I translated her Japanese write-up into English so we can share an example of casual trip from Tokyo that the locals enjoy.
=======================================================
Weekend delight at Tanzawa
=======================================================
Living in a big city sometimes makes me hungry for nature desperately.
Beach near Tokyo is just crowded with people, and first of all it’s not beautiful enough.
Then where shall I go?
Walking in the mountains sounds nice, but which mountain is suitable for one day trip?
Actually it’s not hard to reach mountains from Tokyo, when we realize that 80% of Japan’s land is occupied by mountains.
An hour or two by train is enough for us to reach one of the mountains from Tokyo!

Tanzawa is only 1.5 hours trip by train from Shinjuku.
What’s so nice about it is that we can enjoy casual walking, which is not as hard as mountain climbing, and onsen after that!

Iiyama Kannon is one of the holy sites and this temple “Chokokuji” is also famous for the god of marriage.

Walking course starts from where we pass the temple.

It’s hot but nice weather!
Within 2 hours, we have passed the top of the mountain, kept walking, and time for bento lunch! 😀

Onigiri, pickles, boiled egg, and a lot of fruits!
How nice to have lunch surrounded by nature with wonderful views!
We rested for a while and went down the mountain.

Now it’s time for Onsen!
It looked like a small Onsen town, since there were about 10 Ryokans (Japanese styled hotel) around the area.
We do not always have to stay over night to bathe at the Onsen of the premises. It’s 1000yen for bathing in the Onsen and there is also an option of a set of bathing and lunch.

We chose a small, cozy and nice one of Ryokans to have Onsen.
The bath was also small but the cypress bath smelled so good!!
I guess the quality of Onsen was good, my skin has become so smooth. 🙂

It’s so nice to have a weekend like this. It’s as simple as this but such a bliss!

==============================This post was contributed by Chika.
Kirin’s opinion:
How nice to have an excursion just like this! I have to admit I’ve been too busy to think of something like this lately. 😦
This post made me feel like having Onsen trip in the highland. It’s true we are totally stressed out from concrete, too many people and too busy life in Tokyo. Sometimes I become so numb that I don’t even feel what I was missing for a long time. I guess I need a break, I’ve been too busy lately. >_<

14 Responses to “Guest Post: Weekend delight at Tanzawa”

  1. Emily September 2, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Me 2! My husband and I are way overdue for a vacation :p Awesome post 😀

  2. Suzy September 2, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Thank you for sharing, Kirin. Living in the city is very intense and I, myself is craving desperately for a good vacation. Nature does wonders to city dwellers like us. I am glad I am surrounds by it. Sometimes, when I have a bad day – feeding the ducks in the park turns out to be a wonderful breakaway from daily routine. n_n

    • kirin September 2, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

      I agree with you. I walk Pi-chan (my dog) in the park every evening. This is another task to me, but the thing is I am healed by that activity. I'd have gone crazy alreay if I didn't have that routine. But that's still something to make me feel OK, I need to be refreshed all over top-to-toe. (@_@)

  3. Sabrina September 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    This kind of trip seems so relaxing and at the same time, exciting! It must be so pleasant to do hiking on this mountain! Your friend is so lucky to had experience this trip! 🙂 But is there a lot of tourists in Tanzawa?

    • Chika September 3, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you for reading and commenting, Sabrina. Remarkably,there were few people in Tanzawa that day. It was too hot to go hiking, I think. It's terrible heat in Japan this summer!!!

      • kirin September 4, 2010 at 2:47 am #

        Welcome Chika! I'm so happy to have you here, and thank you so much for your post. 😀

  4. Lore September 3, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    ooo it looks like a beautiful place!!! This year I can't go anywhere on holiday, fuuu! and I only went to the beach one time, it sucks!!!

    • kirin September 4, 2010 at 2:49 am #

      That sucks! lol Yet, still better than me! lol

  5. Chika September 4, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Thank you for your comment. And I wish both of you can get wonderful vacation,Lore and Kirin!!

  6. Steven Stier September 4, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    When you visit an onsen, do you bring a bathing suit, do they provide one, or is there a special garment to be worn while bathing? I have heard that there are separate bathing facilities for men and women at some onsen, while others share the same bath. I had a chance to visit an onsen while in Hiroshima but I did not go because I was afraid that I would embarrass myself by doing something stupid. I would love to see a blog on proper etiquette for onsen.

    • kirin September 5, 2010 at 1:59 am #

      Usually you can take it in this way. Japanese onsen is quite different from what you call spa in western countries. Basically onsen is devided for men and women, which is normal. But yes there are onsen for both men and women together, too. But that's more minor.

      No swimming suits, no special garment, just naked with a face towel only, maybe. http://tokyokawaiietc.com/travel-in-japan/manza-o

      I know many foreigners are embarrassed. But that'll be the same that we feel embarrassed against node beach.

  7. Amanda September 6, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    That looks like a nice place to visit to relax ^_^ Thanks for showing us Chika-san!

    • Chika September 8, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      Thank you for reading and commenting, Amanda!
      Yes,I really need to be close to nature. So…I'm going to go another mountain this weekend 😉

      • kirin September 9, 2010 at 2:33 am #

        Another mountain! I think your life style is cool. Love it!! XD

Leave a Reply

