Duck lips are the way to be kawaii?

29 Aug

Duck lips are called “Ahirukuchi” or “Ahiruguchi” in Japanese. (ahiru= duck, kuchi= mouth, guchi is to make kuchi pronounced easier when it’s combined with other words.) Making duck lips is considered kawaii in Japan now, especially among young Japanese girls. I didn’t know Ahiruguchi is even popular as “duck lips” outside Japan!!

I don’t know if the definition of Japanese duck lips is the same as English one, but in Japan “Ahiruguchi” is defined as upcurved lips with thin upper lip.

Beauty essence designed for cute lips was released lately. It helps girls make cute lips, regardless of duck lips. ^ ^; It can be used as a replacement of lip gloss, according to the reviews of the users. My problem is that I don’t like to put on lipstick unless it’s health-conscious product. No matter how beautiful the color is, I just don’t feel like applying it on my lips once I see what’s inside.

People say it’s very small amount of “something artificial” such as fragrance or chemicals inside the beauty product that even affects nothing to human body. I know that, but I feel so bad when I take it into my body every time I drink or eat something. While at the same time I don’t mind eating fast food or pre-cooked food. You see how contradicting I am. haha! ^ ^;

Speaking of cosmetics, I somehow cannot help thinking this way. Because of this, I often prefer wearing lip balm or lipstick from the natural cosmetics brand I’ve been using since I was 21, instead of general lip gloss or lipstick. But I may want to check out the lip care essence instead of using lip gloss. :p Oh, I mean, it’s not for making duck lips myself. lol I personally think duck lips are cute, but it’s strange if everyone follows the same pattern of facial expression. Someday people will get bored with it. What do you think?

32 Responses to “Duck lips are the way to be kawaii?”

  1. Steven Stier August 29, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    If I understand you correctly, you are saying that the girl in the first picture is not just smiling. She is pursing her lips to create a specific look. That must take an amazing amount of self awareness and concentration to maintain that look. I don't really see any difference between her and most pictures I see of young Japanese girls. So I guess I am the victim of a nationwide prank. I feel like such a fool. I just thought Japanese women were beautiful!

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      It's difficult to draw a line between normal look and duck lips sometimes, and you're right, the girl in the fist picture may look just normal. But I quoted it because I found it under random collection of "duck lips idols". ^ ^;

  2. Sharon August 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    they look pretty normal to me…and they do look cute. duck lips to me are something like http://antiduckface.com/ …and they look almost silly.

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Yeah, I saw the link before I wrote up this post, and thought that definition of duck lips might be different between western countries and Japan. Compared with that kind of duck lips, I agree with you that Japanese one is even close to normal. ^ ^;

  3. Persia August 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Duck lips are popular to people who follow "ulzzang style" (meaning "best face" in Korean), and to normal girls outside that fashion, but it has decreased now. I like duck lips. I always do them in photos. πŸ˜„

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Many young Japanese girls like to do that when they take photos and purikura. πŸ˜„

  4. iomoo August 29, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    humm…i kind of want to try it lol! πŸ˜›
    i can't find it online anywhere though
    maybe my supermarket will have it.

    i think it's kind of a cute idea, like the first picture looks cute, but i think it looks BEYOND hideous when western girls do it..
    i happen to be half chinese so im exception πŸ™‚

    • Sharon August 30, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      oh, you racist?

      • kirin August 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

        I guess some western people may do it too extremely, right? Just like those who appear on the link that Sharon shared…

  5. megan August 29, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I think "duck lips" can be cute, but sometimes it's too much and looks silly.

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      Yes, when it's too much it looks silly. I agree with that. ^ ^;

  6. Sparklewolfie August 30, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    There is a fine line between cute duck lips and ugly duck lips! If you purse your lips too much and actually look like a duck, then that is too far and looks very fake and ugly. The cute one is more like the :3 emoticon in my opinion ^_^ It takes practice (look in a mirror!) to get it right! I used to make that expression and called it my "hamster face" before I even knew about duck lips ^^;

    It is fine when Westerners make the expression if they do it right I think… just a lot of them do it too extreme and end up with the flat duck lips that just looks funny!

    I think it is funny that there is a lip gloss to make duck lips now πŸ˜€ Japan has everything!

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

      "Hamster face" sounds so cute! :3 :3 :3 ^ ^

      Ahaha! Japan has everything. We try to make everything business. ^ ^;

  7. blooomzy August 30, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    I knew 'dcuk lips' were cute in Japan but it seems odd to have this lip gloss.
    I guess it is like a plumping gloss, the kind that is popular in UK etc. – I say this as I have used plumping gloss and it kind of gives the same effect.

    I want to try this haha

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

      The lip essence is still new and there are not many reviews yet, but the reviews were not that bad. :p

  8. Junko August 30, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    i never thought of this being so popular.. me and my girlfriend do it all the time whenever we want something from each other! hehe ;P

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      I hear it started to be popular in Japan from someone's single tweet. There is even a book how to make duck lips in Japan today~ (x_x)

  9. Maria August 30, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    I think "duck lips" look cute but not on me πŸ˜€

    I feel the same way as you Kirin. I always use lip balms that are "natural" or "eko", I buy them from a vegetarian/eko shop. Occasionally I wear lipsticks or glosses, when I do I always make sure not to lick my lips and wipe my lips clean before eating or drinking (or drink with a straw).

    • kirin August 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      Oh, Maria! I rarely find people who have the same thoughts as mine. I do exactly! I wipe off my lips when I eat or drink. ^ ^;

  10. noonpuppet August 31, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Duck Lips are also popular in my country .

    I think it's cute !! but if you purse your lips too much , it'll become ugly ducks :))

    • kirin September 1, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

      Haha, everyone says so. I think Japanese way is not too much. ^ ^

  11. sedonia2 August 31, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    looking at those pictures, I would never think in a million years the girls were posing their lips into "duck lips!" lol! I just see pretty girls smiling. Maybe it's just me! πŸ˜€

    • kirin September 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      I think it's kind of a fad that people like to follow these days. ^ ^ Several years later we'll look back when we see pictures of all duck lips girls. haha!

  12. Lindsay September 1, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Duck lips are a subject of ridicule in the US. A lot of girls make the "duck lips" (also called "fish lips" sometimes) face in pictures (like the ones you see on Facebook and Myspace), but they get made fun of a lot too. I don't think it's cute. I think it's for girls with thin lips trying to make their lips look bigger and they just look weird.

    • kirin September 1, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      I read that there are pros and cons. If it's too much I think it's ugly but to some extent looks OK to me… ^ ^;

  13. Apple September 9, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    it’s funny because just the other evening, i was having dinner with my American friends. I showed them Popteen and asked them which model do they think is cutest. (They are all guys btw.)

    And then they started commenting, “Why do girls do this so much!!!” referring to the duck lips.

    i said, “Eh? Don’t you think it’s cute?”

    “NO!!!!” they replied with a passion. HAHAHAHA!

    They said octopus lips and duck lips are the worst ever and whenever they see girls doing that in pictures, they really can’t stand it. They think it’s ugly and girls should just smile.

    I told them indignantly that it’s not easy to do a nice duck lip, and it takes lots of practise, and proceeded to show them all my self shots with duck lips just to irk them. HAHAHAHAHA! I do duck lips a lot. I’ve been doing that since I was in secondary school so it’s like 2nd nature to me to pose with a face like that. Hahaha!

    • kirin September 9, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

      Really? I think sometimes kawaii that girls think and that boys think do not match. :p

      • Apple September 9, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

        yes i think so too! >"<

  14. rock.chick February 2, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    hi do you know where to get that lipbalm? i've been searching everywhere but can't find it. i typed lip essence duck lips and nothing shows up =( thanks

    • kirin February 4, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      It's available in Japan. I don't know where you can get it in your country.
      If you want to buy it from Japan, I could help. But it will not be cheap. Original price is 800yen, inbound delivery fee is 600yen, plus my fee and international shipping fee. It doesn't make sense if you want only 1 or 2. Then unit price becomes too expensive to you.

  15. Brendan March 17, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

    LOL, I think duck lips should be called something else, so that people who do that feel ridiculous and embarrassed.

  16. brendan March 18, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    A girl once did that duck face and I said "why are you doing that weird thing with your face," she said "THAT'S ME TRYING TO BE SEXY!" LOL

Leave a Reply

