Don't buy the Kitson Mook!

10 Aug

I made a mistake, Kitson tote and pouch from the Takarajimasha were horrible. I should’ve checked the reviews at Amazon.co.jp beforehand. 😦



Freebie with brand catalogue or fashion magazine – this has been a popular style for a while in Japan. Like Lesportsac, cher, or agnes b, some brands like to sell their catalog with kawaii freebies such as eco bag or pouch at a very reasonable price.

I usually don’t buy a magazine for freebie unless I badly want it. As for Kitson, I don’t like its too much of glittering bags in addition to how overpriced they are. (Kitson is also very popular among young Japanese girls.)

But when I saw the heaps of pleasant pink colored mooks (“Mook” is a coined word in Japanese that means a magazine that looks like a book.) and the nice looking image photo of the content that the tote was simple black and big enough for A4 sized envelope, I started to imagine that this must be something so cute to have with some kawaii charms to be decorated. I have some pouches from Swimmer and especially from Lesportsac, I wanted the tote more than the pouch.

It was 980yen, not pricey at all, and I didn’t want to miss the opportunity like I did at the face roller last time. When I first found the face roller (3000yen), I was attracted so much but that time I was wise enough to go back home first to check out the Amazon reviews to reconsider if I really want it! Then I found it was supported by many users, I went back to the book store to find nothing was left. I looked for some other book stores then but I didn’t find it until today. Ah, this might be the reason I rushed for the Kitson mook without checking the review. 😦

As it turned out, the Kitson tote was the lowest quality, the cheapest freebie I’ve ever seen. It was as good as rubbish! The textile, which looks like sueded fabric, is so thin with no pocket inside or outside. It looks so worn-out and cannot stand as itself. It’s just like an eco bag or something that will end up with a piece of junk once it’s wet in the rain. In that sense, plastic eco bag works even better. I couldn’t believe what I saw when I opened the box. I’d feel embarrassed to have such a shabby stuff in the middle of Tokyo. The pouch is still better than the tote though.

On the way back home, I was wondering how I can make use of this ugly Kitson. I regretted that I bought it. It’s not the matter of the price, I don’t like to be surrounded by what I dislike, but I feel like a looser if I throw it away. I was also curious how the other Japanese users review this tote. It shouldn’t be only I that was totally disappointed at the quality, and I was right. The reviews on Amazon.co.jp were almost the same comments and impressions that I had. I should’ve checked it out before I reached out to the mook. At least if the book stores had a sample tote, I wouldn’t have bought it. (It’s possible they avoided that because they want to sell them. lol Sorry, that sounds mean. :p )

You can see how shabby the fabric is.

I think I should stay away from freebies. I have no luck since the Lesportsac. 😦 (BTW I had it exchanged a month later.) I think that I woudn’t bother to pay 2000yen for some better quality that is enough to bring out from home. Paying 1000yen for such a bad quality means nothing. I feel as if I bought a piece of rubbish for 1000yen. 😦 I think Kinokuniya Japanese book store is located at many cities abroad. If you ever find it, I wouldn’t recommend you should casually buy this mook.

17 Responses to “Don't buy the Kitson Mook!”

  1. Krystal August 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    What a coincidence! I just bought Kitson mook today. I think the pouch is very sturdy, great for storing cosmetics and bathroom amenities for travel. But the tote is weak , so I removed the tote handles and made it into a folder. So it isn't all that bad for me.

    • kirin August 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

      I am thinking of re-making it, too and so I'm wondering how I can do that…

  2. iomoo August 10, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    D: i'm so sorry about this! usually my freebies aren't that bad; i have one that is a japanese betsey johnson bag that was pretty nice, and 2 bags from cher that were amazing that i bought from the kinokuniya in california.
    as you stated, maybe you should remake it? XD

    • kirin August 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

      Most of the freebies from Japanese mook like cher or anything are nice. I'm thinking where I can get the transparent plastic tote in which I can put the Kitson tote.

      • iomoo August 11, 2010 at 12:55 am #

        oh, i see!
        maybe you want to hit the dollar stores like daiso?
        in america, i would have suggested wallgreens because they have a lot of transparent beach bags here πŸ™‚

      • kirin August 11, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

        I'll have to hurry up because now summer goods are leaving stores to be replaced by goods for next season! (@_@)

      • iomoo August 11, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

        aww 😦 good luck!
        (thats strange, usually in america the summer goods stay in the store but just go on sale. maybe that will be the case for you too? XD)

      • kirin August 12, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

        Ah, speaking of 100yen shop, summer goods may remain. My mind was somewhere else because of this shopping experience. (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/5025) ^ ^; sorry…

      • iomoo August 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

        hehehe so cute!!
        best of luck to you! πŸ™‚

  3. Sui August 10, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    First time comment even though I've been reading this blog for a while now. πŸ˜›

    The tote may be bad for carrying heavy things, but I think you can use it at home as a storage bag? Like in your closet for putting accessories (scarves, etc) if you don't have a drawer for those things.

    Or, if you have another bag about the same size that isn't really sturdy either, you can sew the two together?
    There is the option of sewing a mini plain fabric pouch on the inside/outside of the tote to use as a pocket.

    I usually stay away from beauty/fashion mooks because I don't think the price is worth the freebie most of the time ^^;

    • kirin August 10, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      Thank you Sui for your first comment!
      I like your idea to make use of it inside house like that. πŸ™‚
      It's also so creative of you to have such an idea to combine the tote with other small bags inside as a pocket.

      I usually stay away from mooks but only once in a blue moon I feel like trying and I just end up with bad luck! lol

      • Sui August 11, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

        I have gotten into a lot of handmade items/remake fashion recently, so I am always on the look out for how to improve something. I hope the tips help with making good use out of the tote~

        Oh, an idea just struck me, kirinさん!
        Maybe you can add a section on this blog about remake/handmade crafts? You can bring up a topic/item of your own or get email from your readers about things they want to remake and then people can offer their ideas on how to arrange it. I'm sure you already had tons of ideas from everyone who participated in the giveaway contest, but I wanted to contribute my ideas/opinions as well.

        Anyways, you are doing a fantastic job with the site/blog & your genuine desire to make the experience better for your readers is really amazing. I look forward to new posts all the time :p

      • kirin August 12, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        Oh how cool and exciting your idea is~~! Thank you so much for sharing that with me. (^0^)
        I always long for remake fashion, because it's so creative and unique! Right now I don't have time and even a sewing machine yet, but I dream of doing that in the future~~. I have to learn from very basic because I totally forgot what I learned from grade school or jr. high. :p

  4. Sharon August 11, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    for me i will cut out the label name "kitson" sew/ use fabric glue it onto another plain eco bag (made of something white or cream coloured) or plain tee….or use that bag as a cover for fold-able umbrella whose cover is missing…

    havent encountered very bad experiences with freebies yet….but i kind of judge the price and the thing received, if its that big and the price dont "add up" to the real brand stuffs i wouldnt get it. but if its small or something probably it is something of decent quality….

    • kirin August 11, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

      You're right. I guess freebies are not my kind. I don't mind paying more but I just want something proper. 😦

  5. Diyana August 11, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    I bought this too. While I like the pouch, I hate the tote. But I was lucky enough to sell it away. I'm thinking of getting wc mook next month.

    • kirin August 11, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      WC will be so nice, young girls love the brand.

Leave a Reply

