Summer sale will be over…hurry up!!

26 Jul

I knew summer sale started at the very beginning of July, but I was too busy to go out for hunting. Well, there are other reasons I didn’t because I don’t like the fashion trend this year (maxi-take wanpi = maximum length dress and this kind of hat) and nothing looks attractive enough for me to shop. As I have mentioned at somewhere, shops in Japan do not sell anything that goes against the trends. That means, there’s nothing I want to buy when I don’t like the fashion trend. (I’d save the money for what I really like to have!)

Anyway it was a surprise when I saw the sign “Final Sales” at a Marui department store in Shibuya the other day! It’s in the middle of summer when temperature is over 35 degrees C, sometimes even nearly 40C everyday!! I know fashion always take the trends from next season, but I wondered if summer sale has ever ended so soon. If my memory was correct, it’s been mid August that “Final Sale” was announced. I even saw some boots for the next season.

Wow…it looked like I totally missed the sale period. I didn’t plan to buy anything but as it turned out, I found myself attracted by these sandals. Whenever I shop, I find the thing I want very quickly. This time was no exception. There were black and white (with mixed color) as other options, but I liked this yellow from the beginning! I knew how I should wear these right at the moment when I saw them. I knew they’d look so kawaii with colored socks, tights or leggings especially dark blue or purple and in autumn! I could imagine it so well and I asked the sales assistant how she’d think about that. To my surprise, she was totally impressed with my idea, saying “You’re so right. I’ve never thought of wearing these sandals in that way. I was only thinking about this season, but you’re right, these sandals are so cute to be coordinated with colored tights!! Now I know…” ^ ^; It sounded as if I were the sales assistant. But I was glad she liked my idea. 😀

They were not discounted for sales, but I loved them. So I bought them. It’s 12600yen. To me, what I like is what I like and that I buy. I don’t care about the trends or everybody’s having. The soles fit on my feet so well and they were very comfortable to wear. Well there are places we can get cheaper shoes but I’ve been a big fan of this brand named WanoNano for over 10 years, and I usually keep wearing a pair of shoes from them for at least 3 years. This day I was wearing a pair of WanoNano sandals, which I have been wearing 3 or 4 summers so far. I went back home with the new sandals on, in exchange for the old ones to get repaired. I will wear them 2 more summers, hopefully. :p

I placed a piece of paper underneath because I already wore them outside house. (Remember? We take off shoes at home.)


Finally I can say good bye to the old pass case I used for over 10 years. I’ve been looking for a new one since I found small holes on the old one. I bought the new one from the left-over goods that waited for someone at the last minute. I kinda like to keep a train pass, library card and keys all together in a kiss-lock type of pouch. 🙂 I think I keep this style for decades.


Oh, I also carry my Omamori (charm for protection) with me. Wait…I have no idea how long I’ve been using that Winnie-the-Pooh keychain. It must be over 15years I guess….^ ^;

It’s such a personal diary, are you sure you want to read something like this? Right now I’m reading the entry emails for the giveaway contest and I found some people are interested in my daily life, as a sample of how a local Japanese live in Japan. I’ve been thinking that my posts are to be designed for something useful and informative, but I guess it’s nicer to include personal posts like what I bought, what I ate, what I did in Tokyo…right? ^ ^;

18 Responses to “Summer sale will be over…hurry up!!”

  1. betty July 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    i totally agree..this is what i would xpect to read in a blog such yours…if i ever decide to have my own blog to be checked out by people living as far as japan…i m sure they would be interested in learning something new of the normal routine of a native from sout italy like myself…..yes bring it on nee san

    • kirin July 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      Thank you for your opinion.
      I was thinking who cares about my personal life when I am nothing but an ordinary person. ^ ^;

  2. Emily July 26, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    I don't like the vast majority of the trendy stuff at stores either! They're way too expensive anyway!I I do like those sandals 😀 shop a lot at thrift stores and second hand stores.

    • kirin July 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      I like to check out old clothes shops from time to time, too. 🙂

  3. rae July 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    I think people like Japan because of how unique her ordinary people are! I was reading the part about the sales person and had the same reaction as hers haha! The sandals is indeed really cute!
    I definitely think it is cool to write more about your normal life and everyday actions in Japan!

    • kirin July 26, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you rae for your opinion. Haha, so our life over here looks so unique to you? I've been thinking this way, the Japanese nowadays live a life like western people. We like to drink coffee from Starbucks, eat bread and pasta sometimes even more often than steamed rice (especially the young do), and dress like western people. ^ ^; But OK I'll include posts on my daily life once in a while. 😀

  4. Phil July 26, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I also agree – I'm very curious about daily life in Japan. I'd like to hear about your neighborhood and your neighbors. Do you have a neighborhood association? I don't remember if you said you have a car or not. I know food in Japan is more expensive than in the U.S. – so about much do you spend on food in a month (if that's not too personal)? So – all kinds of ordinary things is what interests me.

    • kirin July 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

      Very interesting…those are the points you are curious about. I don't have a car, I don't need it thanks to bus and train that come and go on time every 5-10 minutes. It also needs much money if I own a car, for insurance, gas and parking space. (You know in Tokyo sometimes it's over USD650 per month for renting a parking space for a single car!)

      OK~, next time when I write about my daily life, I'll talk about how much for foods and stuff. 🙂 Thanks for your opinion!!

  5. megan July 26, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Cute sandals! I like your idea about the tights or leggings too. I like the boots on the brand's website that have the alpaca and cacti on them–I don't think it's something I would ever wear, but they do make me smile.

    I agree with you about the trends–I only ever buy what I really like! Though, I have liked some of the maxi dresses I've seen.

    I think daily life posts are interesting and can be informative too, and it doesn't hurt (unless you really don't like doing personal posts) to have both informative and personal posts. But in the end, what kind of posts you really want to do are the most important.

    • kirin July 27, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Thank you megan. 🙂
      Their new shoes are not as pretty as always…but the boots looked cute to me too.
      As you say, it's finally I that decide what to write and what not to write. 🙂

  6. Sabrina July 28, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Your sandals are absolutely wonderful! ❤ They would fit well with a dark skirt 🙂

    • kirin July 29, 2010 at 1:33 am #

      Thank you for your comment, Sabrina! 🙂
      Yes, I think so too. And with jeans (like indigo blue color) too. 😉

  7. Maria July 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I also don't like of maxi dresses, they make me look shorter and fatter 😦 And when I go up the stairs I always step on the hem 😀
    I also think that it's better to buy good quality shoes every now and then than buying many cheap shoes every month.
    And your pass case is cute 🙂
    I'd probably think it's a bit weird if someone was wearing sandals with leggins or tights but that's only because it's either on summer when it's hot or on spring/fall when it's cold. I remember I tried that once and my toes felt really cold 😦 no early summer style for me.

    • kirin August 4, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      Oh, the pass case? Thank you~ 🙂
      Right. Cheap shoes are not comfortable after all and sometimes easy to break. 😦
      I have the same thoughts about maxi dress. I think it's too dangerous to ride on a bike, too.
      Fashionable people like to dress now as if it were next month or next after next month. i.e. In Feb. they dress like spring season while they are shivering. But I cannot do this because my body cannot enjoy it at all. I'd be more happy to put on the things I like no matter how out-of-date or out-of-fashion they are.

  8. Tina July 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Nice shoes!!

    • kirin August 4, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks! 😀

  9. Lore August 3, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    I don't like neither dress like that, well, I don't like how it looks on me, becouse they're to long for me and when I walk I clean the floor whit this, but this hat is cook, I bougth one like this and my boyfriend too ( but he looks like a venezuelan drug dealer XD).
    In this sales I bougth a super cute dress!! I felt in love when I saw it, a skirt and…I sure I bougth something more but now I don't remenber what ;p

    • kirin August 4, 2010 at 8:20 am #

      LOL at "he looks like a venezuelan drug dealer"
      Now in Japan everyone is wearing this type of hat and I wonder if anyone wears it again next year when the trend is over…

Leave a Reply

