5 Most Popular Souvenirs from Tokyu Hands

19 Jul

★fun goods in variety★
Tokyo Hands (at many locations in Japan and online store for domestic shipment only)

I believe Tokyu Hands has been already so famous among foreign tourists that I don’t even need to introduce it any longer, while at the same time there’s no reason for me to drop it from the kawaii shop page, I decided to share a leaflet I got from Tokyu Hands some time ago.

5 Most Popular Souvenirs from Tokyu Hands

No.1 Sushi Goods…Well, you might like the sushi roller that enables you to make sushi roll without fail. :p

No.2 Health-Related Goods…Oh I love these, too! 😀

No.3 Train Goods
…^ ^; Otaku people and Akiba-kei people may love something like this, I guess. There are many train maniac in Japan.

No.4 Hot/Cold Insulated Bottle (=”Suitou” in Japanese) and Bento Lunch Box
…I’m sure Bento Box is very popular, although I never feel like making it. lol

No.5 Grooming Goods
…Are they anything special? An ear pick like that is designed for those who have no wax but just scurf in ears. (80% of Japanese people are like that, but not myself included. So I’ve never used this type of ear pick, I use cotton bud. lol)

Followings are also popular goods from Tokyu Hands.
Some “Made-in-Japan” Goods

Yoshida Kaban (Porter)…I love their bags. Their design is unisex and long-time seller. My husband has 3 bags, my father has 1, and I have zero. I can use my hubby’s but I want mine, too~. 😄

Goods of Japanese Taste

Well…actually there are “Wa zakka” (Japanese goods such as furoshiki, fuurin, Japanese ceramics and chopsticks) stores on the street, so Tokyu Hands is definitely not the only place you should look for. Well, I’d recommend you should rather look for more specialized stores on the street. Okichihiroba and KarankoronKyoto have many branch stores in Tokyo area. (Even Oriental Bazar in Harajuku have some nice set of Japanese ceramics.)

Kawaii Goods
There are tons of tons of kawaii goods in Japan, just everywhere. You’ll see how fun to have something kawaii in your life! And of course, you can get kawaii things anywhere out of Tokyu Hands, too. 🙂

Japanese Stationery
Tokyu Hands is a good place to shop stationery, as well as LOFT.

Umbrella
Well…actually you can get cuter umbrellas at reasonable price at Blue Bluet or Sony Plaza and Mini Plaza or even cheaper at 300yen stores, too.

Hmmm….they are good as souvenirs but I have to say this leaflet is not sharing how interesting goods Tokyu Hands deals with, because the goods in here can be purchased at any other places. It’s said Tokyu Hands is made from men’s point of view while LOFT is from women’s point of view. These 2 stores have similar goods each other but their concept is a little bit different. It’s true Tokyu Hands has more DIY materials like timbers (and cutting service, too) and variety of tools while LOFT focuses more on fashionable furniture for a single or young couple and new cosmetics and etc. This is probably why I like to go to LOFT more than Tokyu Hands.

Anyhow, Tokyu Hands and LOFT are 2 major department stores that have various kind of goods. But their price is usually not discounted except for the sale period that is usually very limited. If you ever travel to Japan and look for some souvenirs, there’s no way you shouldn’t check out Tokyu Hands or LOFT, really! 😀

***There are archives of kawaii shops listed under the page titled “Kawaii Shop” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.

16 Responses to “5 Most Popular Souvenirs from Tokyu Hands”

  1. Amika July 19, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    We are guilty of #3.
    We have ordered many trains from Japan & had them shipped to the USA.

    In the USA – most train collectors have HO scale freight train layouts. We fell in love with Japanese trains & have been purchasing them for about 8 years.

    We don’t have much NScale in the USA. So if you love it – you have to have it shipped directly from Japan.

    Loved reading thru the other items. Makes me want to go shopping!

    • kirin July 20, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

      8 years of purchasing Japanese trains?! Wow~~(@w@)!!

  2. kelsey July 20, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Thanks! I love Tokyu Hands!!! I always spend too much on Porter and random kawaii goods there!

    • kirin July 20, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

      I hear foreigners like Tokyu Hands as much as the locals. lol

  3. Apple July 20, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    I love going to Loft more than Tokyu Hnads!! ^^ but i didn't realise that Loft was more female-oriented and Tokyu Hands more male-oriented until I read your post! hahaa! Thanks for this interesting post!! ^^

    • kirin July 20, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

      I don't remember where I heard that story, but no wonder I like LOFT more than Tokyu Hands! ^ ^

  4. Troo July 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    *cough* I confess. I own many Yamanote-line goodies, including melody keychains. I drew the line at the piggy bank, though. It was quite expensive.

    I also get a lot of stationery at Tokyu Hands. Copic markers and fineliners, Manga paper, stickers, notepads, that kind of stuff.

    And, of course, whatever kawaii zakka I can lay my hands on 😀

    • kirin July 22, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      Wow, you have their melody goods too? As a Japanese who is stressed out from the JR trains' too many passangers, the melody is the last thing I want to hear. lol

      I shop copic markers at Tokyu Hands, too! I use them to color my drawings of characters on this blog. ^ ^

      • Troo July 23, 2010 at 10:41 am #

        I actually tend to avoid the Yamanote line when in Tokyo if I'm travelling close to rush hours, as it's heavily used by commuters, and I consider it polite to add a few extra minutes to my journey to save the poor folks just on their daily business from having their carriage even more cramped 😀 So for me the melody keychains are a lovely reminder of melodies I've only heard a few times.

        I love Copic markers. They're so reliable and controllable, and the fineliners are unmatched by anything available in the UK for fast-drying, water-resistant detail work.

      • kirin July 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

        I see, it's better to avoid rush hours as much as possible. ^ ^; Commuters are too busy and tired to think of others, foreigners, travellers, moms, kids, or anyone but themselves. ^ ^;

        I may bring the melody with me when I leave Japan for a long time! lol

  5. Niky Casadei July 22, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Love sushi roller! I want it (;

  6. Guest March 31, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    My last day in Tokyo in November, I filled a huge Burton snowboard gear bag (that I bought at Tokyu Hands) to carry all the great stuff I bought there that day. Such a cool store with something for everyone!

    • kirin April 1, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      Tokyu Hands and LOFT should be a shopping paradise to most of foreign turists. I enjoy them a lot, too. Even the locals never get bored of them because they always have something new and cool. 😉

  7. Joanne Greco April 20, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I love Tokyu Hands. I could spend days in there just looking around. I wish I could order from the states, but I don't think it's possible. My favorite items there are the cell phone trinkits and the toilet paper dispenser that you just lift the new roll under the dispenser and the empty roll comes out and the new roll locks in place just by lifting it in.

    Is there any way to order products and hav e them shipped to the USA yet?

Leave a Reply

