First-ever Free Kawaii Giveaway (advance notice)

10 Jul

In order to improve Tokyo Kawaii, etc. to the next level, I am now preparing for the first-ever free giveaway contest. It is taking me some time to prepare for the contest. Meanwhile you may want to subscribe to Tokyo Kawaii, etc. so you should not miss the post when it’s announced. 😉

Also, it may help me a lot if you let me know your wish list by leaving your comment to this post or by emiling me a direct message. Of course it’s hardly possible that I get everything on the list, but to tell you the truth, I tend to think way too much to select something for someone. ^ ^; This maybe the main reason I had second thought about offering a giveaway contest so far.

The other day when I went out to select a little birthday gift for my friend, I guess I spent almost entire day searching and wandering around Tokyo. I think just way too much, “What if she already had it?” “Can I imagine herself wearing something like this? Is that really suitable to her taste?” “Is it durable enough and also looks better than the price?”…etc. It’s endless….(-_-)

When it comes to freebie to be given away, I don’t even know if the winner is male or female, young or mid-aged or old…if he or she likes something in such and such taste, and on and on…then I just cannot choose anything. (X_X)
Anyway, so please look forward to it and don’t forget to check this blog from time to time or subscribe to it so you should not miss it.

Thank you for your patience.
Kirin

63 Responses to “First-ever Free Kawaii Giveaway (advance notice)”

  1. Sharon July 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    i think it should be something that is widely available in japan but not to other countries !also it should be small and light + not fragile so shipping wouldnt be much of a problem.

    i am hellokitty biased so….haha.

    ah im so excited about this giveaway !! thanks for being so nice to us readers !

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you for your opinion. Yes, I'm thinking about Hello Kitty, too. 🙂

  2. exotic_japan July 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    That is a good idea to ask your readers what they want. I tend to just get something that I think I would like if I was not living in Japan and choose that as the giveaway prize and then the readers who are interested in that can enter the contest since you can't please everyone. Good luck with that giveaway. 🙂

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Thank you Tom. Yes, first I was just going to pick up the stuff I liked but the problem was I couldn't choose things well because of my bad habit (thinking too much). 😄

  3. Amanda July 10, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Maybe…pretty hair accessories? And sweets deco! I love anything sweets deco. 🙂
    I look forward to your contest!

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      Thank you Amanda. Yes I actually bought some deco stickers. hehe… ^ ^

      • Amanda July 13, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

        Cool! Also, what about 和菓子?

      • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

        Also nice idea, Amanda! I somehow get rid of the stuff I don't like from the list before I know. Wagashi that is durable for long time is nice. Thank you for your suggestion!! 🙂

  4. namienamie July 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Since there is such a range of people who could win, you could try choosing a gift that is related to something all people are interested in. For instance, something food-related. A lot of people want to try various Japanese snacks, sweet or salty.

    Another idea would be giving away something that is "stereotypically" Japanese… something that you use all the time over there — although I can't think of what kind of thing that would be… (I just woke up ~_~) Maybe anything with a traditional Japanese motif. (For instance a bowl, or bento box~, nice chopsticks, furoshiki, etc)

    Since your blog is really cute (I found it because I was searching for cute-related articles), I think it might be safe to say that many of your readers like kawaii things. What you could do, but this might take more work, is offer "options". So, if someone wins, they can choose prize 1, prize 2, etc. You could make one prize suitable for women and one prize suitable for men. The women's prize could be something like cute keychain, small towel, zipper pouch and the men's prize could be the same, just with more "manly" motif! heehee

    If you have a bookstore nearby, you could try offering something from a bookstore.

    For instance, I'm really interested in Japanese fashion, so some to me magazines would be cool~ Like Alice Deco a la Mode, Mori Girl magazines, etc. Also, anime artbooks ~! Those are really cool, too.

    But seriously, whatever it is you decide to get, I'm sure that everyone will be happy. After all, we all decided to follow your blog because we think you are cool and write interesting articles. We will continue to do so, regardless of what you decide to giveaway~~ ^__^v

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      I like your idea! I actually once thought of offering options just like you kindly suggested me. 🙂 As you point out, I think most of the readers of this blog can be women who like kawaii, but if I offer something only kawaii, that means I ignore male readers. (Again I start thinking and wondering like this, you see… :p) I appreciate your opinion so much because I was wondering as above at the same time I was wondering if it might be too complicated if I prepare options, and I was just confused myself. (How clumsy! lol)

      Thank you very very much for your kind message at the last part. (^ ^) Thank you for following my blog.

  5. Aurora July 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I think figures would be nice as a prize. Little collectible ones, not too expensive, but very kawaii. (And I'm already subscribed. <3)

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Thank you for subscribing. In that way you don't have to miss the official announcement that will be up sometime in this month. (I hope to do it asap. @_@; ) Figures! Very interesting opinion! 😀 Thank you~ ❤

  6. Nohema July 10, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    It's so nice of you to think about your readers! Thank you! That said, I have a suggestion to make. You could choose 5 different gift options to your own taste and the winner can select what he/she wants. That way we'll get to know a little more about you and you won't have to suffer as much.

    I love your posts and I've learned so many thing from them. Just wanted to say a big THANK YOU!

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Such a great idea, Nohema! Just as discussed with namienamie above, gift options will settle my problem!!! Many thanks for your great idea!! ❤

  7. Jasmine July 10, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    If I can ask, What do you mean by Wish List?
    hehe I don't get it, Gomen about that~!

    & that had to be exhausting since Tokyo is HUGE *_*

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      Sorry I didn't make it clear to you. I wanted to ask you what do you think are good as a free gift from me to the winner (some of the selected readers of this blog from the contest)? I meant like Amazon's wishlist. Of couse it doesn't always mean that you can get it when you listed it, but you know…that will definitely help reduce my extra wandering in Tokyo. lol

  8. Marlie July 10, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    My wish list would be Kawaii Bento box items, Some items from the Candydoll makeup collection and Hair items such as bows or even a usamimi

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      I'm always so much surprised but Candydoll makeup goods are also very popular overseas? I'm not familiar with bows or usamimi but thank you for your specific opinion. 🙂

  9. Marlie July 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    My wish list would be mmmm……. Bento box items kawaii ones of course, Some make up items from Candydoll collection and Hair items such as cute bows or even a usamimi which are really fun to wear

  10. girl July 10, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Sounds cool! I look forward to it. 🙂

  11. angel July 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Sounds exciting! I will look out for it. ^___^

  12. marron July 11, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    First of all, YAAAAAAAAY giveaway!
    I like small cute things like cell phone straps, compact mirrors, stickers, Japanese cosmetics( like canmake and dollywink) , food ( like tea and snacks)the like. A small inexpensive, cute item from a cute store like swimmer would be perfect I think~

  13. Apple July 11, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    Haha Kirin! This is cool! ^^

    Like some of the others have pointed out, since many of your readers probably found your blog when they were searching for something kawaii, it's safe to say that your readers would appreciate cute stuffs!! ^^

    There are so many cute things in Tokyo…and your readers may be guy or girl…but i think a safe bet would be food items. Japan has so many interesting snacks that other countries do not have. ^^

    For me, I like cute stationery!! ^^ I love pens, pencils, stickers, pouches…things like that!

    Good luck in choosing presents for your readers! ^^

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      Thank you Apple! The things is I am blind what you guys can get overseas and what you don't. For example, in Singapore you have Isetan and Kinokuniya and they sell Japanese stuff, right? But I don't know what they have and what they don't. (oops, sorry I start to think again.) But thanks to the comments from direct readers of my blog, I now think I can do it quicker. Thank you. 🙂

  14. Steven Stier July 11, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Wonderful. There is something available in Japan which I cannot get in the United States. I would love a 1st grade reader. Simple words. Simple hiragana. Just my speed. Perhaps you have a niece or nephew that has an old copy they don't want. However, I don't know if anyone else would be interested in such a thing.

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      An opinion from male readers counts a lot to me, because this is what I cannot imagine very well, and that was the most of the reason I struggled to select gifts. (lol) I think I will go with some options in which I could include "learn Japanese" option, I guess.

  15. Mia July 11, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    This is a very good idea 🙂 As for the prize suggestion A japanese bento box would be very cute! outside japan, most of the bento boxes sold are for children with the same hellokitty print on the cover @_@

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      Mia, may I ask you a question?
      Bento box…as you can see Japanese people make complicated bento from a lot of ingredients. Do you (those who want bento box in your country for example) also make Japanese-like bento? Or do you put sandwich or somthing in the bento box?

      Thank you for the information how less variety of bento box you have there!

      • Mia July 13, 2010 at 11:59 am #

        Actually only few people use lunch boxes (bento boxes) here because of how rushed our society is.
        People tend to buy convinient lunches that can be carried with one hand such as sandwiches.
        Alot of those who do make 'bentos' are highschool and university students (Including me, a university student)
        And because of that I have always admired how japanese bentos always seem very balanced when it comes to nutrition and how wonderfully decorated they are, some made into cute shapes and others arranged elegantly.
        You see, in my country, the commonly sold types of bento boxes have two, at most three compartments, the biggest compartment is for rice (white rice or fried rice) the second for meat (Chicken, Pork, or Beef) chicken being the most common, and the third one for vegtables sometimes another container can be attached for soup.

      • Mia July 13, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

        it is unlikely to see bentos here with seafood such as fish etc. , fruits, and sweets because the possibility of the food moving around inside due to mishandling is very likely (because the compartment walls are not as high as the cover) and seafood, fruits, and sweets would not be appetizing when mixed with too many different things.
        Not alot of people take the time to cut the ingredients into cute shapes so it doesn't look as good as japanese bentos >_< So I am very much interested in seeing a japanese bento in real life 😄 I hope that was informative 🙂

      • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

        Thank you for your reply to my question. As for me, even a Japanese I'm too lazy to make bento by myself. lol I wouldn't mind working over time and buy bento outside instead of making a complicated Japanese bento by myself. I think like that . :p

      • Mia July 14, 2010 at 9:26 am #

        LOL I understand completely, it's a bit troublesome to do something time consuming like decorating food when it would all be gone in half an hour 😄 that is why I admire people who have that much patience and effort, which reminds me, I love the japanese food section! 😀 the recipes are made simple to follow and the pictures all look delicious! :3 I'm still looking for a restaurant that cooks authentic Japanese cuisine but all I find are fast food chains that sell California roll sushi's and tempura so seeing different dishes and how they are made is very nice, I am opting to try and make the pork ginger this week 🙂 thank you for making that section! I hope you make many more some time soon 😀

      • kirin July 15, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

        I feel exactly as you do. Food is eaten and completely gone in a short time, unlike deco-den or deco-clothes or anything, it's not left. That's another point I don't feel like spending much time to decorate it.

        My cooking section…hahaha^ ^; I may not be a nice cook to be able to show people how to cook properly because I never measure things.

  16. kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Good point! I love swimmer, too. So why not? I'll include gifts from there, for sure! Thanks!! 😀

  17. Troo July 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    I realise books are quite expensive, but perhaps second-hand could be the way forward? This would allow something like an art book or a nihongo hon no akachan, and I've found that the condition of second-hand books in Tokyo is generally excellent.

    Also perhaps a local limited edition Hello Kitty strap, as these are usually unavailable outside Japan (Strapya do a small selection, but nowhere near the range of what's available).

    Stickers (seals?) are also great – they're kawaii, cheap, AND there's a huge variety to choose from.

    I know postage from Japan is surprisingly cheap if the recipient is willing to wait a few weeks, but don't go overboard on heavy items unless you've got the money to cover the postage too – I remember giving away some hardback books once and it cost me a fortune in postage >.<

    Hope that helps 🙂

    • kirin July 12, 2010 at 12:32 am #

      Thank you Troo, for your great opinion! It's so interesting to hear that you don't mind 2nd-hand gifts. From our (Japanese) way of thinking 2nd-hand thing can never be considerd as a gift. I thought of Tokyo limited Hello Kitty, too. But it was so silly of me I didn't think of the postal cost. :p

      • Troo July 14, 2010 at 9:25 am #

        I personally don't mind, because I realise that you'll be paying for all of this out of your own pocket 🙂

        I agree that if it were a more intimate gift, second-hand would be inappropriate, but I suspect that most of your readers genuinely wouldn't mind a second-hand book or two if it kept your costs down and left you more available for other items 🙂

      • kirin July 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

        It's very kind of you, and I was saved by the suggestions that I can even consider 2nd hand books, because I didn't have that idea myself. Thank you! 🙂

      • namienamie July 16, 2010 at 3:44 am #

        Yeah! I think in the case of books or something, most people overseas don't mind second hand. Because second hand from Japan is usually in really great condition. And most people would be really happy to get something from Japan that is not easily available elsewhere.

  18. Ale July 12, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    One thing that I don’t see often but I’ve heard are great in Japan are really cute headphones. Personally I think that would be a great idea since everyone listens to music and most of the readers seem to be girls so it can be girly ones X)

    • kirin July 13, 2010 at 1:16 am #

      Thank you for your opinion! Ah~ you guys don't have that kind of stuff? You see, I have no idea. Everything kawaii is here and there in Japan, and I cannot imagine life without them. haha ^ ^;

  19. Joanna July 13, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    Small accesories (necklaces, earrings, keychains, cell phone straps), japanese snacks that can't be easily found outside of Japan, stationary, japanese skincare/cosmetics. Just a bunch of small stuff would do. Like one of the readers have suggested above, having a set of prizes ready for the winner to choose from would be handy. Good luck with your giveaway shopping!!~ (^.^)/

    • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

      Thank you for your suggestions. ^ ^ These comments are really helpful!!

    • kirin July 18, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Oh I thought I'd already replied to this comment, but thanks to the nice comments here I am getting ready to announce the contest very soon. Thank you so much~~~<3

  20. Mary July 13, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    Hi Kirin, Mary here!

    Sorry for not being here for a while, but your post about the sutsona? is incredible. I enjoyed reading and watching the video! I even included it in my blog. haha. Oh, me too when it comes to choosing gifts for friends, it's very hard cos I don't know whether they're gonna like it or not. But yeah, I'm excited to wait for this giveaway..yeya

    • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

      Hi Mary, it's been a long time. Thank you for your comment and I'm glad you still enjoy my blog. ^ ^ I'll announce the giveaway officially some time in this month, so stay tuned!

      • Mary July 21, 2010 at 1:05 am #

        Yea, of course i do enjoy your blog..cos they are always so interesting topic you mentioned about. 🙂

  21. Ami July 13, 2010 at 4:25 am #

    Hi! I kind of disagree with the first commenter about this giveaway being only available in japan…(unless i am misunderstanding)
    Because people in other countries are usually who likes kawaii things but can barely get their hands on it.

    oh and for the idea? I recommend things with Rilakkuma and Cabochons(decoden things) ^_^

    • ricooche July 13, 2010 at 4:29 am #

      I think it shouldnt be something hello kitty because hellokitty things are available worldwide! maybe something like a "HIME set" or "kawaii school girl set" Containing hair accessories from daiso , make up from candydoll, and kawaii things like cabochons too! DECODEN!! EEK!

      • kirin July 18, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

        I'm thinking of including Hello Kitty Tokyo limited something that cannot purchased from anywhere but Tokyo! 😉

    • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

      @Ami, oh why? I thought her saying "only available in Japan" made sense because I'm a Japanese who live in Tokyo and kawaii things are always within easy reach. The only problem is I don't know what is exported abroad and what is not. BTW, I totally agree with Rilakkuma because I like it, too! Thanks for your comment!

      @ricooche, Hello Kitty and hair accessories…I think I'll include them. But I'm not familiar with "cabochons"…(?_?)
      Thank you for your comment.

      • namienamie July 16, 2010 at 3:48 am #

        Cabochons are these: http://www.etsy.com/shop/delishbeads?section_id=5
        They are sometimes used for decoden or making brooches.

      • kirin July 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        OMG are they called "cabochons"? They are called "deco parts" in Japanese. (@__@) Thanks for telling me that!

    • namienamie July 16, 2010 at 3:49 am #

      I think she means that the giveaway will have items in it that are only available in Japan… which makes sense, because Kirin lives in Japan. So, she'll give away things that she can easily have access to.

      • kirin July 18, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

        I feel exactly the same way as you do! 🙂 Thank you ❤

  22. nozomi July 17, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Hi I'm new to your blog but watch your video's on Youtube..I would agree with most that something only found in Japan would be a very unique gift.

    • kirin July 18, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

      Welcome nozomi, to my blog~~ (^0^) and thank you for your comment.

  23. sindy July 19, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    You should get things from swimmer! they r so cute! I especially love their cake and strawberry things! ❤ and i heard they r cheap

  24. CoOkIeLoVe24 February 7, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    Hello there :] i would want a nice giveaway item… it could be anything but it has to be kawaii 🙂 im into squishies or hello kitty anything really from those to would be great 😀 hopefully you send me something 🙂

    • kirin February 8, 2012 at 1:38 am #

      Sorry, this giveaway is already closed, since it was for the summer 2010, as you can see it from the date of the post.

  25. iza May 27, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    HELLO i would like an giveaway item specialy cause i have been looking for them like the squishies so i hope you send me some 😀

    • kirin May 29, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Sorry THIS GIVEAWAY EVENT IS OVER, as you can see it's a post dated July 10th 2010. 😦

Leave a Reply

