Ageru, Morau, and Kureru after verbs

8 Jul

How can I explain what comes after 教えて (oshiete) ? This was a question from one of my blog readers some time ago.
It was too difficult for me to answer from twitter, or a blogpost by text as usual. I found drawing something like a manga might be easier for me to get started. Also, it’s a good chance to play with the scanner I happened to get from someone just recently. 🙂

*Jenny in this story has nothing to do with the person who asked me this question.
*This story is fiction, I made it while I was drawing it.

It’s very interesting but native Japanese speakers like me would never imagine such is the point that confuses you.
You can see…

“-kureru (くれる)” = giving (spoken by the person who receives it, but subject is not that person.)
“-morau(もらう)” = receiving (spoken by the person who receives it)
“-ageru (あげる)” = giving (spoken by the person who gives it.)

They can be connected after 教えて (oshiete) =to teach, but it’s up to who is the subject.

Like Jenny in the story, she is the one who wants to receive the teaching. When Kirin teaches her Japanese, she would say;
“Kirinが私に日本語を教えてくれる” (Kirin is so kind as to teach me Japanese.)
Think like this. =>Kirin gives teaching to me.
Spoken by Jenny but the subject is not Jenny.

“私はKirinに日本語を教えてもらう” (I have Kirin taught me Japanese.)
Think like this. =>I receive teaching from Kirin.
Spoken by Jenny and the subject is also Jenny.

From Kirin’s point of view, she would say;
“私はJennyに日本語を教えてあげる” (I teach Jenny Japanese.)
Think like this. =>I give teaching to Jenny.
Spoken by Kirin and the subject is also Kirin.

When she tells her friend to ask Kirin to teach him Japanese, she would say;
“あなたもKirinに教えてもらえば?” (Why don’t you ask her for tutorials?)
Think like this. =>He should receive teaching from Kirin.
Spoken by Jenny and the subject is her friend.

Her friend asks Kirin, saying
“Kirin、僕にも教えてくれ” (Kirin, teach me Japanese, too.)
Think like this =>imperative sentence
Spoken by Jenny’s friend and the subject is Kirin.
*This is a way of men’s talking. Women would say “私にも教えて” or ”私にも教えてちょうだい”

So watch out who is the speaker and if that person is to receive something or to give something.
I think “Kureru” is confusing, because it’s giving but spoken by the receiver’s point of view.
Oh how difficult to break down our language! (@_@) BTW, I’m not a Japanese teacher. ^ ^;

19 Responses to “Ageru, Morau, and Kureru after verbs”

  1. exotic_japan July 8, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Great post. Most people like to learn Japanese with pictures included like that to illustrate the points. I like your cute drawings, especially the Kirin girl. 🙂

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      Thank you. ^ ^ It's an honor to receive compliment from someone like you. hehehe…(# ^ ^ #)

  2. Amanda July 8, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Nice lesson! 🙂 It's hard to explain your own language eh. I wish I knew how to explain English better.
    For some reason くれる、あげる、もらう are so confusing at first. I remember having a lot of trouble with it but now I wonder why I used to be so confused! I guess it's just practice and seeing enough examples.

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 9:10 am #

      "Just practice and seeing enough examples" I totally agree with you~~. 🙂

  3. nao July 8, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    First, I liked very much your manga! Super! You are talented. No doubt!
    I will also start learning Japanese. )))
    Have read your post, and how I did understand:
    1.Jenny says to me – You should take Kirin's lesson. – verb Kureru
    2. Jenny says – Kirin has given me a lesson – verb Morau
    3. Kirin says – I give (teach) lessons to Jenny – verb Ageru

    Arigato gozaimasu. ))

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      ^ ^ Thank you. hehehe….:p It's just a random casual manga I drew in 20 minutes or so, haha…^ ^; So there was no draft, that's why some letters cannot even be read well. (lol)

      1. Jenny says, "Nao, you should take Kirin's lesson" => Nao, you should receive lessons from Kirin. => Morau
      2. When Jenny says "Kirin has given me a lesson"=> Kureru
      When Jenny says "I have received lessons from Kirin" => Morau
      3, You understand it right. =>Ageru

      o_0 This is really confusing once I break it down, but I think the best way is to practice with many many samples, just like Amanda and Diyana say. 😉

      Ganbatte ne! 😉

      • nao July 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

        О! Arigato! Your comments are very useful.

        Hai! ^_~

  4. Miki July 8, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    @w@ Yeah, ok. I got nothing.
    I teach myself Japanese too but through a really good site (Ive started learning Hiragana! 😀 ) thejapanesepage.com and now I can write very few simple words…わたしわすしのすき。I think thats correct, lol Im not sure~ ^ ^; Mostly because Im learning to write it on paper and not on keyboard. Anyhow, thanks for always sharing Kirin! 🙂

  5. Diyana July 9, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    This is one of the confusing things I faced when studying Japanese. My sensei drilled this in us many times.

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      Wow, your sensei was sticky with this topic. XD So this must be the very point for those who learn Japanese to get confused! XD

  6. sel July 9, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Kirin, you Japanese people are very good at creating cute stuff. It is a nice intro. I had expected that you would teach it by drawing. Wouldn't it be easier by drawing?

    Also, some kanjis without their reading might be difficult for people who are at the level of learning morau/kureru/ageru and who are not using rikaichan 😉

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      Thank you for your comment, and you have a good point! haha, it's so true Kanji is for higher leveled learners. ^ ^;
      You had expected my drawing for teaching? (0w0) That's interesting.

  7. Hellolynn July 10, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    oh kirin… can u draw me a card if i hv a chance to see u in person nxt round???:p i love yr drawings!

    • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

      Thank you! I'm happy you liked it. ^ ^ And yeah I wish I could win the free Singaporean air ticket to Singapore from that Singaporean restaurant. (We've been there several times to collect stamps to enter the drawing. haha!)

  8. rlrd February 11, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    You are very talented 😀 Are you a mangaka ?

    • kirin February 12, 2011 at 7:30 am #

      Mangaka? No way~~ lol
      Thank you for the compliments! ^___^

  9. Paula October 9, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    ok! now I understand this better, thank you so much!! 😀

  10. pampliska December 29, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Thanks a lot. Your drawing are sooo nice. Wishing you the best here from europe 🙂

    • kirin January 14, 2013 at 2:55 am #

      Thank you for your compliment on my drawings. ^ ^;
      Wishing you the best for new year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

