Kawaii dog clothes shop in Japan

4 Jul

As an owner of dog, I sometimes go check out dog goods stores to buy some treats or toys for Pi-chan. Pi-chan is a Shih-Tzu dog who is weak under hot weather but strong againt cold weather, which is why I cannot enjoy dressing her with cute little clothes. 😦 I only have 4 pieces of clothing for winter season (January and February) and that’s only for the time when she walks outside. She doesn’t even need them inside house during winter.

Dog clothing is so cute and fashionable here in Japan. But it’s also very expensive. Even if it’s handful size, it costs almost the same as our clothes…well sometimes even more than ours! (lol) Thus, what I look for is cheap kawaii one. I cannot expect hella cute and fashionable stuff but I can get so-so kawaii at OK price such as 2500yen. (There are dog clothes priced almost 10,000yen for a single tiny shirt if I look for the store around Aoyama – Daikanyama, for example. But no~ I cannot afford that much for a piece of clothes for my dog!) So where am I shopping them?

★affordable dog goods/clothes shop★
Pet Paradise (anywhere in Japan, on-line and off-line)

Whether it’s on-line or off-line, I often shop at Pet Paradise.


Now they have summer clothes for dog. Look they are so Japanese!

Isn’t it cute when we, dressed in Yukata, go out for Hanabi Taikai (fire work observation) or Bon Dance with dog also dressed with Yukata like this? But no no for Pi-chan. It’s better she stays at an air-conditioned room.

Look, even Japanese national team uniform for the World Cup was available for dog to wear! (This photo was taken a few weeks ago.)

BTW, what kind of dog is popular in Japan?
Chihuahua, Toy Poodle, Miniature Dachshund…definitely small dogs! Shih-Tzu is actually not so popular now. Above all I think Chihuahua is the most popular dog now in Japan. Why? I think there are several reasons.
1) Small dogs are good for small houses.
2) They are too small to require adequate walking everyday, which is convenient for Japanese people who have to work like a horse. Yes, I’m saying they don’t walk Chihuahua outside everyday.
3) Same as above, Chihuahua basically has high levels of self-reliance, they don’t care about staying alone at home. This is again convenient for Japanese company employees who have to spend long hours outside on weekdays.
4) They are weak against cold weather, which gives the owners a good reason to enjoy dressing them with cute dog fashion.
5) Their size is good to be fitted in a carry bag so the owners can take them easily out for cafe or shopping.

Considering these, I see why Shih-Tzu is not popular in Japan. It’s not that small. Even Pi-chan is smaller than other adult Shih-Tzu dogs, she weighs nearly 4kg, and I don’t feel like carrying her in a bag. 😦 She hates being alone, she always stays within 50cm from me! (lol) Staying at home alone is I guess what she hates most in the world. She barely barks but she does only when she has to stay at home alone. She needs 1 hour walking everyday… It’s not as easy as to keep Chihuahua. 😦 (But I love her so much, of course!) I’ll share more and more kawaii dog clothes in the photos below. (Some of them are from different store as mentioned above.)

If I have more free time, I want to learn how to make dog clothes by myself. Then I think I can put decoration like this by myself, which must be so much fun! 😀

These costumes for head are so cute but I know Pi-chan doesn’t like to wear any of them. 😦
Also so many pet foods we can choose from…

What do you think about dressing your dog with clothes like these? Is it too much of human ego when animals have natural fur which is enough to protect themselves from cold weather? Tell me what you think. 😉

23 Responses to “Kawaii dog clothes shop in Japan”

  1. exotic_japan July 4, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Those dog clothes are very cute, but I am surprised that they are so expensive. Yes, I think you have the talent to make your own clothes for your dog and decorate them if you have time. I recently stopped by a pet shop and took some photos of the clothes (not not as good as your photos. Mine were just taken with my iPhone) but I'll let you know when I post them up. And your article are so informative, which is great. My posts tend to be lazy and just post up mostly photos without so much explanation. 😉 good work.

    • kirin July 5, 2010 at 9:41 am #

      I'll try to go check your blog as often as possible, but sorry that may not as often as you kindly leave me comments here.
      Thank you for the compliment. 😀 I'm honored to hear that from you.

      To me, writing is a vocation. Whether I get paid or not, in English or Japanese, I feel that I have to keep writing. I once had this great feeling that was given from God. I felt as if God had made me move when I wrote up a website for someone. I've never had such a spiritual experience at any other work. I was feeling I was happy enough to be helpful to the people who would read what I wrote about. I didn't even mind if I got paid or not for the work. I was just happy to write and to help people, and my key touch was so smooth as if it was led by God.

      • exotic_japan July 5, 2010 at 11:27 am #

        Hi. Don't worry. You don't have to comment on every post to my blog. Only when you have time and when you see a post you have a comment for.That is great that you love writing and helping people so much. You are lucky to have that talent, and that is great that you are using it to help people even without getting paid for it since you enjoy doing it 🙂

  2. Steven Stier July 5, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    What I find really interesting is that there is more English on the store signs and clothes than Japanese. If Pichan is anything like the dogs in our family, she hates to have clothes put on her. But every year at Halloween my sisters dress up their dogs in costumes. Superman, bunny ears, cowboy hats, etc. They hate it but they are "SO CUTE" Sometimes I see these outfits at the Dollar Store. (100 yen store)

    • kirin July 5, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      Haha ^ ^ We like English (but sometimes it goes "Engrish" due to our lack of knowledge lol) because it looks cool to us. I think it's the same over there. Some people think Kanji is cool and so they prefer Kanji T-shirt and Kanji tatoo (and also some of them are lol to us).

      I only dress Pi-chan during her walk and in the winter season. But most of other time she is naked. I don't think she likes to get dressed with dog clothes, either. 😦

  3. Cherry July 6, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Oh, finally ❤ Thanks Kirin, it was really interesting entry! I enjoyed reading *q* These clothes are super cute, here in Poland we don't have such! I wish I could buy lovely clothes like on these pics for my doggy ❤ Your shih tzu is really cute, I've got one too! :p soon I`m going to start dressing her! Thanks again for post! You're amazing bloger! :*

    • kirin July 6, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

      Thank you, Cherry. Yes, finally. haha…^ ^; I wish I had 3 x me who can handle other works for me so I can focus on creating more and more interesting posts more quickly. hahaha ^ ^;

      Your dog will be so cute with dress like this on, too. Treasure your time with your dog. 😀

  4. Hellolynn July 8, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    hmmm.. given the warm temperature in my country…its going to be torturing for doggies to be dressed up in clothes though they look so kawaaaaaaaaaii. but in recent years, i do see some pet shops selling dog clothes but the range we have definitely much limited and no way comparable to Japan. They can be v ex too…guess those doggie clothings are probably imported from your country 😉 once a while, i do see some doggies being "forced" to wear clothes by their owners (probably out of vainty…hee .hee). I could not help but to cast the sympathy look at them as they muz be feeling freaking hot!!!!!!

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      I totally understand what you mean. If the weather is hot, it's nothing but a torture to have dogs get dressed with these clothes. But the ones Japanese stores have in this season are made from special fabric that cools down body heat! Dogs can feel cooler by wearing them. I have not tried them on Pi-chan, (and not intended to do so) I don't know how true is is, but makers and shops in Japan are so serious about selling dog clothing regardless of any season! 😀

      When I went to Malaysia, I saw so many Japanese dog food, clothing and toys for dog at pet stores. At the same time I had the same thought as yours; it must be so harsh if the dogs in this country have to wear something under such hot climate all year long…^ ^;

      • Hellolynn July 9, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

        thumbs up for jap invention!!!!! they can even have dogs clothings which can cool down their body temp. i m totally impressed xD

      • kirin July 11, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

        Me too, it was a surprise when I saw it. But yeah, it's possible, here's Japan you know, people are always crazy about business and working in this country rather than having a wonderful time with family and friends. lol

  5. elizabeth July 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    It is amazing how many dog clothes options are available in Japan… I thought the US had a lot, but Japan has so much more. And I think their stuff is cuter too!

    • kirin July 14, 2010 at 12:23 am #

      Yes, this is only from 1 or 2 shops in the mall. We have a lot more shops online, too! And you know, Japan is a country of kawaii (cute) -crazy, there's no doubt we have so many kawaii dog clothes over here!! 😉

  6. jonnynox July 14, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    I want to quote your post in my blog. It can?
    And you et an account on Twitter?

    • kirin July 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

      I happened to find your comment stuck in the spam filter. You can quote my post in your blog with crediting the original source (this blog) and your content should not be exactly the same as mine. You could add your words.

      As for Twitter, yes I do have an account, as you can see at the right top of the sidebar of this blog.
      Thanks.

  7. Sui February 14, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Kirin

    This is the best pet store! I love it hehehe they have good quality items. I went to Japan in December 2010 and yes I looked out for the store due to your blog. It's amazing, love the beds, love the leash, love the outfits. I so wanted to buy the little red fish hat… so sweet but I managed to refrain myself 🙂
    I love this store, it's quite addictive. The coats are beautiful. Take more photos of the dog clothes Kirin and your days out with Pi-Chan… Kirin what does the name Pi-Chan mean?

    • kirin February 15, 2011 at 3:19 am #

      Hi Sui.
      You've been there? Cute huh? 😉
      Pi-chan's actual name is Pino. I didn't think of any meaning, I just enjoy how it sounds. I call her Pi-chan, with -chan as a suffix. http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/1839 ^__^

      • Sui March 10, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

        Hi Kirin

        The store was amazing! The clothing is so beautiful but yes very expensive. I really like their range and their little cute beds, I was very tempted to buy the strawberry bed but was stopped by my boyfriend haaaaaaaa… lol. I didn't realise small dogs were so popular over there, it was perfect. I have a miniature dachshund, which is the other version similar to your kaninchen you have over there and there were clothes designed just for them.
        Pi-Chan is very cute, take more photos of your outings and of course Pet Shops hehe.

      • kirin March 11, 2011 at 1:18 am #

        Thank you for your comment, Sui.
        Yes, I'll try to write more article about Pi-chan later. ^ ^

        Small dogs are popular in Japan, because they fit in our small houses. ^ ^;
        There are so many cute apparel for dogs today. But Pi-chan doesn't like to wear them so I only have 5 or so. ^ ^;

  8. acne back treatment February 28, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Your Pi-chan is really kawaii! I love to shop at Pet Paradise as well. 🙂

    • kirin April 21, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      Thank you. Actually there are many kawaii dog clothing shops including online shops, but pet pradise is reasonable, cute and there are many branch shops. That's why I like it. 😉

  9. Alexandra April 20, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    these clothes are so kawaii.I want to see Pi-chan in these clothes.He'll look so cute.

Leave a Reply

